206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Balmorhea State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 66 user reviews. Phone: (432) 375-2370
CGID2704

Balmorhea State Park

Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   5   9   10   10   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$17
$17 per night was for a 20/30/50 amp electric with water and cable TV site. In addition, a daily entrance fee of $7 per person is charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. Asphalt sites are mostly level. Each site has a concrete pad with a picnic table (some covered) in addition to the fire ring and BBQ grill. Desert shrubbery and mountains surround the campground but each site is mostly bare dirt/sand. Animals we saw during our stay included roadrunners, rabbits, and 13-lined squirrels. The highlight of this park is the 1.75-acre sparkling clear spring-fed pool where the depth ranges from three to 25 feet and swimmers, waders, SCUBA divers enjoy the water that is 72° – 76°F year round. Grocery shopping is very limited and expensive nearby. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. Spacing between the sites is very generous. We received three bars Edge on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well on four bars of Verizon 4G LTE. Cable TV had 43 channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
A busy park with swimmers and scuba divers enjoying themselves. All sizes of RVs and many tenters. Sites level. Staff very helpful. Relatively easy off and on I-10 with just a few miles to travel. Beautiful area for birding. Fort Davis NHS about 30 miles away. No shade except under the picnic shelters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Park is clean, staff great, level sites. Sites were a little close together compared to Davis Mountains state park. The Springs were fun to swim in even in December (the morning air temp was 25deg) and we were able to get in. Our family likes to hike and there wasn't much hiking at the park. We stayed two nights which was perfect. The park was pretty empty beginning 12/26. It is clearly set up for warmer weather with large parking lots by the springs etc. We enjoyed our visit and being relatively close to I-10, it is a good stop off point. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2013
$17
The entry fee causes this park to go from a 6 to a 5. There is nothing in the park or the adjacent area to do and the fee is too high. Additionally, the bathrooms were extremely dirty; fortunately we have our own bathroom so we were not forced to use them. We would not stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
Very nice State Park and if it had sewers this may have gotten one of our rare "10" ratings. Long pull thru that was paved and level. Good line of sight for roof mounted satellite dish. We would stay here again even though we rarely stay at places without full hookups. That is how nice this park was. Do not like the camping fee and the park fee both being charged, but it is what it is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
Love this place! Second year I've done a one-night stopover. This park deserves MUCH MORE than an one-night sleepover! The amenities are wonderful and the park is super clean. The rate cited does NOT include a $7 park fee. Verizon coverage was 2 bars of 5. Site #31 was listed for a 40-footer. Our 39-ft trailer on a long truck fit...just. Note these sites do NOT have sewer. Beautiful, isolated, and quiet. We'd return again but only if we can stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
I rated this camp ground a 10 on a scale with other public campgrounds, not in comparison to a private RV resort. This is a great place to stay for a night or longer. We've been staying at RV parks along the I-10 corridor and are fed up with highway and train noise. Balmorhea is so quiet it almost hurts your ears. No lights at night also makes for near perfect star gazing. The spring fed pool is fantastic. Staff very friendly and efficient. Just a very enjoyable stay and well worth driving 4 miles off I-10. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Nice, small park in west Texas, with a 1.7 acre spring turned into a swimming pool. Free Wi-Fi near the office. Good Verizon coverage for mobile hot spots (if you have it). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
The only thing this park has going for it is the springs right next to it. It is old, dirty and hot! It does have bathrooms, they are big enough in size, but not well kept. It is gravel and easy to navigate through. The sites are all pull-through which was nice and easy to get out fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
This park is all about the San Solomon Spring, which flows roughly 1 million gallons per hour, and the huge swimming pool that was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) over seventy years ago. The campsites are clean and level, the pull-throughs are worth the extra three dollars per night, and you get cable, if you like. Wonderful stop for anyone going cross-country, or anyone who likes a good swim. Pool is open 8-8, every day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
Friendly staff and park hosts. Lovely mountain backdrop. Spacious and level camp sites. Bats flying out of picnic shed roofs at sunset. Desert and barren ground. Next trip I will stay at Fort Davis State Park as it is more scenic and has plenty of hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
This is a very nice state park. Rangers are friendly and the park very clean. Very quiet and out of the way. Some camp areas are crowded, but there is plenty of isolation between sites. Site were level. We were only there one night, but would love to return at some time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
We loved this park. It was clean, sites were semi-private and large. Restrooms were clean. Staff friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$11
Price represents a senior rate. Note though that if you don't have a Texas state park pass they charge $7 per person per day extra!. Still the park is convenient to I-10 and is super quiet. It is a bit tight for those of us with 40' or greater. Just take it easy and you won't have a problem. We'll stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$31
It's a little too hard to rate this park without being too critical, so I won't. It has everything needed for an overnight (or two) and the swimming pool is particularly nice. The front office staff is excellent. The pull through sites are a little tight but manageable and level. Considering the location, this is an excellent park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$17
A sweet spot for a couple days rest on our way to FL from MT. Too cool to swim at 41 degrees, but a beautiful, quiet spot. The showers are basic and the area isn't heated. Great WiFi from the phone, but the TV is poor and mostly analog. Not a good investment for $3/day. We bought the Texas State Park Pass and got half off the second night and free entrance for a year: in case we get lost. We'd return, but in warmer weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$17
Wonderful, short, overnight stay. This would be a great destination park as it has the "world's largest open air swimming pool" (fed by hot springs). Mine was a 11PM arrival and 8 AM departure. Easy pull-throughs, some 30 and some 50 amp/cable. $14/$17, does not include $7 park entry fee (if you do not have TX park pass). Verizon 3 bars of 5. No Wi-Fi. I would return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Very nice desert setting. The highlight of the park is the fabulous and huge spring fed swimming pool. A great place for the whole family. Kids would love it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This has been our first night stopover for the past few years when traveling from Houston west. We look forward to a refreshing dip in the pool at the end of a long hot day of driving. The sites are large, clean, and level. it is far enough from the interstate for peace and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$31
I agree with the last reviewer. The pool is closed but they still charged us $7 per person to enter the park plus our RV site fee. There is nothing else to see here other than the pool. We are already paying for the parking. The RV sites are nice with the covered tables. Compared to the RV sites we could see on the side of the road on our way up here, this place is great. Even with no pool, we would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Awesome desert oasis! Great place to re-certify an open water dive in this 20,000,000 gallon per day natural spring. It is in a desert, and there not a lot of other things to do but admire the quiet serene landscape. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Conveniently located just 7 miles off I-10. This is a small park but made a lovely overnight respite after a 7 hour drive from New Mexico. Sites have electricity (30&50 amp), and water. Some are pull-through, and some have cable TV. There is a pool and dump station, but no laundry. As is so often the case with state park Wi-Fi, it was exasperatingly slow. In addition to the $14 campsite fee, there is a $7 per person park access fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Beautiful campground with a backdrop of the dramatic Davis Mountains. Level cement sites with attractive adobe shade shelters.Very helpful park staff. Unfortunately, the days we spent here the famous pool was closed, but we still enjoyed the park and surroundings. Great for day trips to Fort Davis, Marfa and Alpine. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$31
This was a great place to overnight while traveling on I-10. Plenty of room for our 40' keeping the jeep attached. Not many in the park this time of year so really quiet. The are nice covered picnic tables. I rated this a 9 as there are no sewer hook ups. There is also No Wi-Fi but got AT&T with a strong signal. No problem in the open spaces of west Texas to get satellite. There is an interesting element of this park and that there is a natural spring there that was turned into a very large swimming pool and even in January there were folks swimming. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
A very nice State Park with the added attraction of restored wetlands area where we observed a multitude of water fowl. It is clean, well maintained, easy access; not much around though. Looks like it would be heaven for kids in the warmer months with the spring fed pool. We stayed here instead of Van Horn to avoid risking snow/ice at the higher elev & were glad we did. Fee includes $7/person State Park admittance. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$31
Thoroughly enjoyed our visit here. The artesian well fed pool is definitely an experience. It is like they have built a pool around a pond & you have the opportunity to swim with fish, ducks and turtles. The campground is very well cared for and it is easy to get in and out of. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
What a great place. We camped here 2 nights. Only planned on staying one night but stayed an additional one to wait out the high winds in the area. The pool was amazing. The park was quiet and we were entertained by the resident roadrunner. We had very good cable TV and iffy Wi-Fi. The rate reflected a daily park entry fee which made it a little high but we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Very nice campground, quiet and clean. The "pool" is amazing although it was too cold and windy for us to use it. Why are Texas state parks so expensive? This one charges 14.00 to camp, but then charges an additional 7 dollars PER PERSON. Again, why not just charge 21 dollars and then a "per person" charge. Obviously you have to have at least one person to get in the campground...I guess that just bugs me. We'd definitely camp here again if we visit Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Okay for one night, very quiet, pretty views to the desert and mountains, level site, space just adequate. Not a lot to see or do apart from the Springs. Bathrooms clean but basic, no Wi-Fi. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Our second time here and once again we enjoyed our visit. The tremendous attraction here is the spring fed pool, enormous in size and warm for swimming. The paved pull through sites are level and most come with a ramada and table. The 50 Amp sites have cable and they are an extra three dollars per night. Its nice and quiet and dark at night here. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Was pleasantly surprised at this clean, convenient state park campground with all it's amenities. We always try to find 50amp, cable & Wi-Fi conveniently located off the interstate. Normally you don't find those in a state park, but this one has it all. Very pretty setting with mountains in the background, quiet & peaceful. We will definitely stop here again if we are in the area. This was a stop-over for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Wonderful place to spend a few days!! The sun may get hot, but there are covered picnic tables at each site and wonderful views. Easy distance from the interstate and room for our 40' motor home. The BEST part is the wonderful natural pool! Crystal clear, 20+ feet deep and a natural wonder. We used snorkel and fins to explore the pool and check out the natural bottom of the pool. The history and geology of the place is fascinating. Budget issues have left the wetland viewing station in a state needing repair, but the park is clean and a real oasis in the desert. Easy day trip to Pecos for some sight seeing at the West of the Pecos Museum. I would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
We liked this park. It is small but nicely laid out with good spacing between sites. The interior road and the sites are paved with asphalt. Each site has a tile-roofed shelter with a concrete pad and table. Everything including the heated restrooms and showers looks modern and clean. The park's attractions consist of a very large warm-spring-fed pool and a reconstructed marsh that attracts a lot of birds. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
The main attraction here is the giant swimming pool. All sites have water and about half have 50 amp and cable TV, the other half have just 30 amp. Sites are fairly well spaced, but open with mostly dry grass between them. A 45 minute trip to Fort Davis, a very interesting day trip. Verizon voice and internet, and ATT voice all worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
Nice park with long sites. Power and water were good. Not many people there this time of year, so it was quite. Only a couple of people in the pool. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
We found the campground of this State Park excellent for an extended stay. The spacious paved 50 Amp pull-through sites are parallel to the loop access lane. Each appear to be level and there is a graveled utility island between the pad and access road. The Wi-Fi network can be acquired from the most western sites nearest to the lodge. It is weak and subject to frequent disconnects. There is a very good sewer dump within the campground along a loop. The big plus and main feature of this State Park is the 2-acre, 72 F to 76 F. spring fed pool. It is within easy walking distance from the campground. There is a small clean restroom in need of upkeep and upgrading. Day users will sneak over to use the campground's restroom. During our stay the campground was quiet each night with extremely dark sky nights. Over nighters arrive in the late afternoon and leave early the following morning. So we had the campground to our selfs each day. Some of the sites have an enlarged ramada. A few are home for a couple hundred bats, which fly-out at dusk. We stayed here 10-nights and will likely return here anytime we are traveling on I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This State Park has the pool as its main attraction and is well laid out with level sites. My only gripe are the showers which are push button, just on the side of warm and need some adjustment to the timing, come on guys 20 seconds of water per push in a park that has one of the largest spring fed pools pouring out over a million gallons of water per hour does not quite cut it. Overall the pool wins and hey just forget the shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
We have stayed at this park several times. The large, spring-fed pool is the centerpiece of the park, and we finally swam in it on this trip. We brought our masks and snorkels and stayed out in the deeper, less busy area of the pool. We were here on a weekend, so the shallower areas were somewhat crowded. The campground is in a desert area, with modest vegetation. We had a pull-through site with water, electric, and cable TV. Each site has a picnic table and shade cover. Verizon broadband was weak but usable, even with an external antenna and amplifier. The park is small, so there is not a lot to do other than swim in the pool and look at the reconstructed desert wetland (cienega). Nearby Davis Mountains State Park is a better "destination" park, but this one is a great place to spend a couple of nights, and is just a few miles off of IH-10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
We stayed here one night on our way out of state. The pool is amazing and is the main draw for this area. Locals come to swim and picnic. RV sites are well spaced. Sites are open (no trees), but we expected as much. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
What a fun place to stay! Amenities are sparse in the RV Park, but whatever is lacking is more than made up for by the gorgeous swimming pool and state park surrounds. This is a true oasis in the desert. No sewer hookup is available but there is a dump station. Showers and restroom are old but conveniently located and handicap friendly. The park rangers went out of their way to give us the best available pull-through site, which made it easy to leave our towing vehicle hitched and ready to depart early the next morning. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$32
This is a neat and clean, well run state park. San Soloman Springs is a great swimming hole, the water is clean and warm. The park itself is a typical desert park with well spaced level sites. We probably wouldn't spend more than single night here but we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Very nice park when travelling through Texas, off Interstate 10. Has a huge natural swimming pool that seemed to be warmed by hot springs. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$17
I only stayed here overnight and it was cold so didn't walk around the campground a lot. RV pull through sites have 15/30/50 amp electric, water, cable connection, covered picnic table, fire pit and charcoal grill. There is a Wi-Fi hotspot at the main office and I was able to get a good signal at my site using an external Wi-Fi adapter, speed was good. Verizon cell signal was good. Sites are large with a lot of room between sites. Not a lot of trees so the sites are not very private. Roads and sites are paved. Dump station located in campground. Campground was clean and well maintained. Interesting desert wetland area that you can walk around. About 10 miles off of I-10 but it is worth the trip if you want a nice clean campground to stay at. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
This is an older park but we liked the layout of the RV spaces. Plenty of room between spots and several pull throughs. The surrounding scenery is beautiful. Very large fresh water pool and interesting history in this area. Rates are reasonable. We will come back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
It is an extra clean well maintained park. Come prepared as there is no park store. It is pet friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
This park has an incredible pool which goes from 2' to 25'. The water temperature stays between 72-75 degrees year round. The bathrooms were clean. The park was very nice and a good place to stay with children. There were people in the pool when we stayed there. The pool size is approx. an acre. We would stay there again. The only negative is the showers were separate but the area where you would put your clothes was a common area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$17
This was our first time here in '09. The pool felt great and was crystal clear. Busy time of year with Spring Break in full swing. The park was totally full; lots of campers and trailers, but still very peaceful. Very quiet overall, cool breezes, and great views. Now to the not so great; seems that staffing is a bit shy, some trash blowing about the grounds and a couple of pocket motorcycles buzzing about at excessive speeds. Even after reporting the deficiencies and picking up some trash ourselves it did not seem to have an impact. The site we stayed at was not covered and the table was very worn due to weather. Some brush control would be a good addition to the park. The bathrooms were clean but could use some updates, fixtures were rusting and some were stuck running. All in all it was a great time and we will return; the pool can't be beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
The previous review for this year (2009) described the park well. It is a clean, safe park. Only the pull thru sites have cable TV. The $14 camp fee does not include the internet reservation fee or the daily use fee. I would like to add that the park does not have Wi-Fi as stated on-line. They said internet hasn't worked in months and they knew of no plans to fix it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
This price is just for the campground, you also have to pay the park entrance fee per person, per day. It actually worked out cheaper for us to buy a Texas State Park pass to cover the entrance fees. We've stayed here before and love it. It's about 5 miles from the I-10 so very convenient but far enough away that it's absolutely quiet and peaceful. The biggest draw back is that the sites don't have a dump but the showers were close and they were clean, but old. Each site has a table and benches under a shelter, plus a fire pit. The ranger lives on site so we didn't worry about security. The very best thing about this State Park is the huge, spring fed swimming pool. It is supposed to be the largest fresh water swimming pool in the world. When we were there at the end of January the water was 75 degrees and we loved swimming around with the catfish, turtles and numerous other water life. There are also a couple of diving boards that our children loved. If you happen to be passing this way make sure you spend a couple of nights here. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
This was our first outing as a family in the new Fifth Wheel. I have to say I was impressed with Balmorhea State Park. The pool is very refreshing but does get very busy with locals, tour buses, church groups, and divers throughout the day. Millions of gallons of water tend to attract lots of folks in this desert environment. We took our dips early and then enjoyed Balmorhea, Fort Davis, and other area attractions throughout the day. Quite camp ground over all, friendly staff, and is a nice base camp for exploring the Big Bend area of Texas. I would recommend making reservations ahead of time, most of the park was full even during the middle of the week, might be tough just to drop in and expect a site. Larger rig friendly, hook ups were in good condition. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
We stopped here one our way back to central Texas. Nice state park, but not very big, and there is not a whole lot to do outside of the park that doesn't require a 30 to 50 mile drive. The pool was magnificant, crystal clear, snorkels are a must. We stayed here two nights and I was ready to go, it was hot in the day and the pool gets pretty crowded during the day with picnickers and day use guests. McDonald Observatory is about 40 miles away, it was clowdy on our visit, and Marfa is 50 to 60 miles away to see the Marfa Lights, I passed on the extra driving. If I had it to do again I would have stayed in the Davis Mountains State Park. We drove into this park on or way back from the observatory, very big park, lots of trees and wildlife. Plus there is Indian Lodge, built by the CCC in the 1930s and by the looks of it very well kept. We supprisingly found a restaurant called Black Bear Restaurant in the Lodge and had a good meal. Balmorhea is a nice little park, just keep in mind all the locals and field trippers that come in to use the pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
This is an extremely old park, and since it is in the desert there is not much scenery, except the lake. We were more than a little dissappointed with this park. The lake is really neat and it was not a bad park, but it was on the bottom of the list of parks we have visited. The park staff was grumpy and the only thing that kept the kids entertained was the rabbit running around. We cut our trip short and headed home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
This is an excellent stopover for a night or a place to use as a base to explore the Davis Mountains area. The cold clear spring water in the huge Balmorhea Springs pool is unique, and people come here from all over to scuba, snorkel and just plain swim in the waters year round. All the RV sites have covered picnic tables. These are adobe styled and painted white. The cable TV reception was excellent, and all utilities worked great. They have a dump station for campers to use. The only negative is that the Wi-Fi signal doesn't reach any of the RV sites. It does reach their motel rooms though. You can drive to the Entrance ranger station and use the Wi-Fi service, which you must purchase from TengoNet. With our discounts we paid $14.25 per night. We will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$17
Small but great. Lots of room for big rigs too. There is Wi-Fi, but plan on spending time at the camp HQ to get the signal. Pick a site with a shelter to hide from the sun. The springs are great for year round swimming and diving. Several groups came in to do night dives. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$24
Access in and out is good. The roads and sites are paved. Some sites have cable, and some have picnic tables under a pavilion. Rate reflects $5 per person park entry fee. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
A typical state park--built in the 50's or 60's for travel trailers in the 22'-26' range when slide-outs were unheard of. Larger rigs might fit but just barely, and one has to hope their slide-outs also fit the site. The bathrooms needed renovation (missing shower curtains, soap dispensers, etc.) and overall a need to do a system renovation. This is a reflection of the poor state funding rather than the staff that served the park. The park supports a unique desert wetland environment that deserves greater priority from the state budget. The fee also is misleading. Although the camping fee is low, additional charges are added for each person or vehicle entering the state park. The total charge would be nearer $26 per day. Private parks in Texas normally provide a better product for this cost level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Swimming pool is a swimmers dream. Grass ever where. Trees everywhere . Lovely mountain view . And has a very nice motel on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$14
The rate is based on the purchase of an annual pass. This is a nice state park and the employees were very courteous. They now have Wi-Fi available but you must be in the vicinity of the office to get the signal and it is a pay system. I sat at a picnic table just outside the office and it worked fine. None of the sites have sewer hookups. We enjoyed our stay here and even used the pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
This is a wonderful park. The pool was refreshing and excellent for swimming and snorkeling. The sites are spread out and each has a covered picnic table and grill. We saw lots of rabbits and enjoyed the sunsets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$24
We had read about this park and wanted to see the spring/swimming pool. I think this park would appeal especially to those who are camping with children as they would get a big kick out of the pool. We were able to get a pull-thru site on the outside of the campground loop which gave us more privacy than those on the inside of the loop where you are pretty close to your neighbors. Besides the swimming pool, there is a small restored wetlands area and the grounds of the park are quite pretty. Accommodations are also available in San Solomon Springs Court which was constructed by the CCC out of adobe bricks made on site in the 1940s. Texas state parks have a rather complicated registration procedure and fee structure. There is an entrance fee as well as a camping fee. We would stay here again if we were in the area, but I don't think we would make it a destination stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$14
The nightly rate was based on purchasing a Texas Park pass. A really charming CG with a warm water spring that is very busy, we were told, on the weekends. The spring was enclosed by the CCC and looks like a pool but it is a real spring and you will swim with the fishes. Although there is no shade, each site has a covered picnic area. Birding is excellent. Not much to do in the area but a great place to rest and recoup after a busy travel schedule. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$17
Overall ok however there are several issues a potential camper must know about: 1. If not a Texas state park pass holder you must pay $5 per person per day (13 or older). This is not included in the camping cost. Example it was $32 per night for my family. 2. Camp ground portion is very sparse. No trees just basically cement, dirt and picnic table under cover. 3. No shower doors or curtains in the restrooms. Do not think that it is not a nice park to visit because the swimming area was great and the kids really enjoyed swimming there but it gets very crowed on weekends and holidays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
Beautiful desert oasis. It is a small park with the main attraction being San Solomon Springs. You can swim, snorkel or scuba dive in the crystal clear springs, the water is 20-25' deep at the deepest point. Davis Mountains State Park and the University of Texas McDonald Obvservatory are both nearby and worth a visit. All of the pull throughs are arc'd forcing you to turn when setting up with a big rig and making an awkward angle when hooking back up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$14
Great little state park at a charming site in West Texas. Lack of sewer hookups makes it difficult for long stays but it's an interesting location. We would stay here should we pass through West Texas again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2004
$15
This park is truly is a desert oasis. Out in the middle of nowhere is the largest pool I have ever seen, built around an artesian spring that produces one million gallons per hour of some very clear water. A circular area of the pool 200 feet in diameter (and 25 feet deep) encloses the original spring. Two arms extend off this circular area, each about 300 feet long. One arm, which follows the original spring flow, is 25 feet deep. The other arm is 3 to 5 feet deep and suitable for small children. The campground can handle big rigs with many pull-through sites. Fee is $12 for water and electric plus $3 per person per day for the park entry fee. Not much to do here but swim in the pool, but after 3 days in Big Bend National Park with 105 degree temperatures, this was a welcome site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$17
Very interesting park. Has a large spring fed swimming pool. Interesting fish pools & streams. Park has motel & campground. Campground is not designed for big rigs-smaller motorhomes, small fifth wheels and trailers are fine. Sites are narrow, mostly pull-thrus that are blacktop. Park is clean and quiet. Great place for camping with kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com