219084 User submitted reviews online!!
Bastrop / SE Austin / Colorado River KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (512) 321-7500
CGID2706

Bastrop / SE Austin / Colorado River KOA

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   9   10   8   8   6   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$49
Appealing features include spacious pull-thru parking, location on upper bank of Colorado River with extended wood deck view, and friendly check in reception. I would stay again . Millenicom hotspot (Verizon) had poor reception; however, the site's free internet provided worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Rate includes KOA discount. Super clean, nice people, easy on/off the highway, convenient. Stayed one night, long enough to relax in the pool and do laundry. Yes, there was highway noise but the convenience was worth it. Paved roads, concrete sites - long and level - grass between sites, short walking trail to the Colorado River. Sprint cell worked well, clear satellite signal. Big rig friendly. Entrance is in the front, exit is out the back into a residential neighborhood. Follow the sign posted at the exit. It says no waterfront sites but tents can camp very close to the Colorado River. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Rate was military rate. Super clean, grass cut, paved spacious sites, scattered trees and very friendly staff. Park is parallel to Interstate 71, so some may be bothered by the traffic noise, but it did not bother us. We were in a almost perfect level site at ten pull through near the park down by the river. We were the only motorhome, all others in the 1/3 or less occupants were 5th wheels, campers, airstreams, etc. We were here for one night on way to Lake Buchanan...quaint historical town with many old buildings and cute shops. This RV park is very close to HEB and Walmart, plus restaurants. It is a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
Very nice campground. We had a site right down on the river, which was nice; deer out grazing in early morning right in front of us. We had our back to the highway, which probably helped, but the highway noise did not bother us. No trash pickup at site, and we only saw one dumpster. We had a minor medical emergency, and there is an excellent 24/7 facility about a mile down the road; it is a branch of St. David's Hospital of Austin. The entrance comes up quickly; if you miss it, you have to go under the highway and make a u-turn through a couple of lights. That was the way we left the park. If you take the exit (which is on a different side from the entrance), to travel east, you have a pretty good slope to go over. After looking at it, we were concerned that we might drag, so we opted to take the first right turn, instead of the second as we left the park, and make the u turn, going around to miss that bump. We enjoyed our stay very much and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This is a great park. We often are willing to pay the price for a KOA when we know the quality we are getting. The owners were extra friendly, and the landscaping staff was constantly at work, even in the extreme heat. The restrooms, showers and laundry room were spotless. The deck next to the river was lovely. It is very near stores and restaurants. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
Great staff. Pull through with tables and close to the river. Bastrop was a great tour for us. Easy in and out for our large rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
This is a well-kept park with small shade trees on some sites. You can walk to the end of the park to sit at the river's edge. Wal-Mart, Starbucks, HEB and many stores and food opportunities are within walking distance. Main Street (about a 1 mile walk) to downtown Bastrop offers numerous dining opportunities (try Maxine's for local flair and Ramos for the best frozen margarita). The only negative about this park is the constant road noise as the park is located under the Route 71 bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
We stayed here because of a previous great experience. This park has now been sold to KOA. We won't be back. More expensive, some of the amenities are gone and there was a site with college age people in four tents right down from us. We paid 45 and another group in our party paid 55? We never got a reason why there cost was different. We had the same type and size of trailer. This is not the same park as when the previous owner had it. We have never been to a KOA and liked it. If you like KOA? Then you will be in heaven. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
Very nice park, close to highway 71 but fairly quiet. Everything works well and the folks who run the park are very nice. The laundry is clean and well maintained. We stayed here in for a week and will do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Bastrop River RV Park is not quite that. Yes, the river is there at the end of the campground, but you cannot really see it, unless you walk around or drive down to that area. Pull throughs have two RV's to one site, so its back to back. Sites are level and have a picnic table and a barbeque, grass between sites. Highway 90 runs along one side of the campground, and it is noisy and not the best view to look at out of your RV. Security gates and surveillance cameras add to a secure feeling. Lovely pool, spa, and sauna. The bathrooms are large and spotless. Walmart and other large stores are in the area, as well as some good local restaurants. Close to old historic Bastrop. We thought it was expensive for what it was; however, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
Great CG - even though it is right next to highway 290, the noise did not bother us at all. Slab sites with good hook-ups and cable. Nice areas to walk the dog and a really lovely park next to the river. Owner was very helpful and checked us in at 8am even though the office does not open until 9am. Pool is unheated but would be fine for summer. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$41
Friendly host and very well kept park. Easy to get in and out and to park big rigs. Everything here was squeaky clean and neat. The only drawback is that you really are right next to the highway and it is noisy. It did quiet down at night but you could still hear every car that when by. Lots of folks wintering over here I think. We would stay here again if we had to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
Really nice place. The manager was very friendly and helpful. Restrooms are EXTRA super clean! Kids enjoyed the pool. Has friendly neighbors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$41
We love this campground. At first we was nervous about staying here because of the reviews. The highway was not near as bad as what some say. The lady at the front desk, who we think is the manager, was very nice. She even told us her site number if we needed anything after hours. She called the camphost and had him show us to our site. He was cutting up with us and made us feel right at home, we even met his wife who works here also. Our campsite was very large and had a grill, table and grass area. All the sites were paved. We did have to pay four dollars for our internet, but it was very fast and good. We didn't go in the pool or hot tub but they looked very clean. They even had an ice machine free of charge. The bath house was the nicest one we have ever seen. Had very clean and large showers. There was a walk way down by the river with chairs to set and relax. One of the chairs did need repair. We did see alot of pets but the campground must enforce clean up because everything was very clean. The one thing I must say is make sure you use the right gates. The lady at the front desk told us which ones to use and we went out the wrong way: there was a big speed bump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$41
I'm reviewing this park because I feel that anyone renting a site here should be prepared for a possible irritable owner. I have learned (this is my second experience with difficulty getting my money back) that people graciously "take" my money, but ungraciously give it back. We stayed here and the manager was very very nice and helpful. However, we needed to leave one day early. So we packed up and proceed to the office where we found that the office was not opened until 11 a.m. on Saturday and 12 p.m. on Sunday. Although the paper we were given stated that the office was opened at 9 a.m. At any rate, my husband talked to the owner on the phone who wanted to give us a "rain check". But not knowing if we would be coming back, my husband declined and asked to have the day's rate returned to our credit card. We waited while the owner drove over to the office. One problem we had was that the trailer directly behind us was leaking water the entire time we were there. We reported it to the manager who promptly took care of it, but the next day it was leaking again. The water drained under our trailer and our electric cord was lying in the water. Plus when we left, my husband had to stick his hand into that water to open the plug to the sewage. When he stuck his hand into the water and opened the sewage drain, much of the standing water drained into the hole. The owner, let's call him LN for Little Napolean, proceeded to say that any return to our credit card would be a $5 fee, because the credit card company charged him five dollars. My husband said, "you can give me cash instead". LN replied that he never gave cash back with a credit card transaction. Then he proceeded to give my husband back $31 on our credit card. My husband said $41 minus 5 is $36, not $31. LN said, "What, you didn't get a 10 percent discount? You were supposed to get a discount." I don't know what the discount was for, but we knew nothing about it. So for three days, we paid $123.00 instead of $110.70. So instead of us owing him $5 for the credit card fee, he really owed us $7.30 which we didn't get. My husband explained to him that something had come up and we needed to return home. He also mentioned to him the water leak. LN said, "well, I wish you would've told us before now". Which my husband replied, "I did and it was fixed, but it started leaking again". Then LN grabbed the phone and started chewing out the manager. Then LN jumped into his car and drove down to the site to see the leak for himself. When he returned, he got back on the phone and called the manager back and apologized for the way he talked to him, saying in effect, "this guy made it seem like there was a flood down there." By this time, my husband was getting upset, and said, "no I did not tell you that there was a flood. I merely told you that there was a leak. I thought you might like to know because it's costing you money." In addition to the owner's poor behavior, the RV park is located just beneath a major overpass which is quite noisy. It is a pretty site and is near the Colorado river in downtown Bastrop. Getting into the park can be tricky too, especially if you have a long RV as the entrance is at an abrupt angle to the frontage road and the space to park while you register is not very spacious. Also, when we went to use the showers the first night, the temperature inside the bath house was 62 degrees. But we told the manager who promptly raised the temperature for the next day. Overall, I would have been happy to return to this park except for the owner's behavior. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This was a very nice,friendly park. The roads and sites were paved with a patio and table with some grass at each site. The restrooms/showers were the best I have seen very clean with large showers and excellent water pressure. There was river access for walking or fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
We stayed at this park for the second time because of the location. The staff is very nice, courteous. Clean, immaculate park. Great pull throughs. I was ready for the entry gate this time and had no problem. The reason it does not get a 10 from us is road noise, goat head stickers, and fire ants. My wife got bitten on the foot by fire ants as we entered the dog park . Only two got her before she got free of them, thank goodness. Also the park is way over priced since Wi-Fi is available at an additional charge of $3.00 a day. It should be included at that price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$14
Best showers ever - probably the nicest, cleanest restrooms by far anywhere we've stayed. The nearby highway is extremely noisy. There is an ambulance service that runs from Bastrop to Austin that passes by a dozen times a day with the sirens blaring. The river and boardwalk is awesome. Sites are level and well-maintained. Hookups are all perfect. Wi-Fi is an extra charge, but worth it for steady, fast service. Staff is super friendly and flexible. Most of the places we looked at in Bastrop were right by the highway (so noisy) but we would definitely stay here again. They do have restrictions on the year/model of your rig, but we had no problems with our restored '87 Winnebago. Price reflects monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$44
Very friendly staff. I was going to arrive after the office hours and the manager stayed to ensure I made it in and got all the required codes, gates and showers. Sites very clean and hookups in good shape. Lots of sand burrs, pets and kids beware. Gated area a plus, only people in the Park that should be there. Road noise is an issue, but I have had much worse. WiFi is an additional charge, but has strong signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Well maintained, highly rated RV park. One of the top 5 RV parks we have stayed at in 25+ years of RV'ing and 6+ years of full timing. Road noise was only negative, but have seen far worse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This was the 2nd time we have stayed at this RV park. Very well maintainted campground, very clean. Friendly staff, pool was well maintained when we were there. The only problems were: 1. Very noisy road traffic. Even with the Motorhome A/C blower on high, the outside road traffic is loud at night. 2. The entrance speedbump has the potential to cause your vehicle to drag bottom. You can see on the speed bump where other cars have scraped bottom. The best idea is to NOT exit out the front gates. Exit out of the rear gates instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
Pool not cleaned all week. The grass is full of stickers. Watch the kids and pets. Cable TV was good. Good Wi-Fi but it costs $3 per day/$15 a week. Nice sites and good roads. The gate worked just fine for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
WAY over priced for what you get. Access isn't easy and LOTS of road noise. Park itself is nice, large pull throughs for overnight, appears mostly long term tenants, manager is friendly. We stopped overnight so didn't use the gate that others have noted is a problem. Wouldn't mind the road noise (we've had worse) but at that price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
A really great park. It has a lot going for it. Unfortunately, it has a lot of noise from the nearby highway. Still, it has a lot going for it. The entry is tricky and not well marked for the unintiated. They also have a gated entry that requires a code at night. Unfortunately, the code didn't work. Thought it was just us until two people couldn't get it to work either. Luckily for us, our friends dropped us off and we were able to walk in. Don't know what happened to the others. Because of the noise, I doubt if we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
Very neat and clean park located next to the scenic Colorado River. The fishing deck with rocking chairs was a peaceful, relaxing touch. The only negatives were the very, very noisy highway traffic located only a short distance from the park, and the office personnel seemed to never be available when needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$38
Paved roads and level sites. Lots of pull thrus. Many permanent residents. Arrived after hours, gate code didn't work from outside and no attendant on site. 1st power pedestal had issues, burned my plug and it was my fault. Waited hour for someone to help and he wasn't very friendly. Waited 2 hours after opening time and no one showed. Left, but paid few days later. Too much hassle for me to stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$40
This park is family oriented, the owner has children and are well-behaved. They played with our children most of the time. The sites are very roomy with room for your vehicle and slide-outs. The park is on the Colorado River. You can fish, or even sit and enjoy the view on the deck they have that is nicely done. They have a store located on the premises just in case you run out of something. I would give this park a 10 if it weren't located just off of Hwy 71 and you can hear the traffic, it's not that bad though. The campsites itself are nice and big and it's definitely a kid friendly/family oriented park. They do have a pool, washer/dryer, vending machines. If you have children, don't forget their bikes, the roads are paved and perfect for skating/riding bicycles. We would definitely stay here again. It's VERY clean, I think that's their top priority. The owner and his wife are extremely nice and try to meet your every need. I would recommend this campground to anyone (and I'm pretty picky!) Way to go Bastrop River RV Park, that's what we're talking about!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
This was a very clean park. Perfectly maintained. Nice river frontage property. Easy access to the highway. Yes, it has the cleanest restrooms you will ever find. My only complaint is that the owners have an 8 year old kid that rides around on a golf cart, telling people what they can do and not do. The park allows pets on a leash, and my pet was on a leash, and he drives up and starts hassling me about my little dog, telling me that I must keep her on a leash, and pick up her waste. Well, first of all, my little quiet dog was on a leash, secondly we always pick up after her. My point here is that although he is obviously a respectable and responsible 8 year old: no adult wants to be, or should be told by an 8 year old what to do and not to do. Especially that we are not doing anything wrong to begin with. It just rubbed me the wrong way. It was the owners kid, and he appears to be a good kid, but he definitely knows his daddy owns the place. Good park otherwise. Not sure what happens if you just ignore him. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Park entry is tricky but quite useable. Study the instructions carefully. Park is clean with some road noise from adjacent Highway. Pull throughs are actually two units long so if one unit is in place then the second unit on the site must back in. WiFi is very good at cost of $2. 50/day ($7. 50/wk), free cable TV with 50 plus channels, and hookups were first class. I downgrade this park slightly because of road noise and no true pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
Nice, wide, cement pull-throughs. Very clean and located on Colorado River. Friendly owners, cleanest restrooms I've ever seen. Walking distance from several restaurants. They are in process of putting in a pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This park is a brand new park it was just opened when we were there in Oct 2002. This park had the cleanest and nicest restroom/showers ever. Instant phone hook-up and cable all for $25. Once the shrubs and trees grow it will be really great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com