223405 User submitted reviews online!!
South Shore Park on Lake Bastrop was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (512) 498-1922
CGID2709

South Shore Park on Lake Bastrop

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   10   9   9   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
What a great campground. Made the reservations on line because we heard that it fills up fast and we were glad we did. Our spot was close enough to the lake, that it was only a few steps to drop the fishing line in. The space between sites is awesome and you almost feel alone. We stayed during the middle of the week, so don't know how busy it is on the weekend, but we may find out later this fall. Looking forward to that! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Campgrounds are clean and quiet. We stayed at one of the sites that have full hook-ups. From our site (26) we were somewhat able to see the other sites but for the most part the ground covering limits the view into other sites. This gives a nice impression of being "alone." There weren't maps available when we arrived so finding our site was a little frustrating. Once there we had a good time. The day use area was very clean and laid out very well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Another very nice LCRA park, quite different in feel from the north shore park. This one has almost exclusively back-in sites that have dense undergrowth so you can't see your neighbors. Not enough space to park large truck and mid-size car, but plenty of overflow spaces spread around. Waterfront sites do indeed give lake access, but most don't give a lake view due to the undergrowth and don't include sewer. Day use area is fantastic! Trails are wide and level. Our dogs did not find too many burrs in their fur. Rate reflects $20 camp fee and 2 x $4 admission fee. You can get a book of 10 for $30. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Outstanding campground. Sites are large, pull-through and lots of room between sites. Park host was friendly and very helpful. The park and camp sites were very, very, clean. Our first time at this park, but we will be back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
This park was protected from the wildfires of last summer. It is like a COE park with roomy sites and space between them except for a few double sites that would be good for families/friends camping together, but it is like a TX state park in that you cannot reserve a particular site. It appeared that you can go and pay for your site and choose one & a cone would be placed to mark it as already taken. We arrived around 3:30 on Good Friday with a reservation and had about 6 sites left to choose from. We chose #1 as it was a nice site with a parking area right behind it and our kids were coming to stay with us and they were able to have their vehicle close to our site. The water front sites are more "water accessible" than being able to see the water. Our granddaughter caught her first fish here and there were several boats on the lake. The rate shown is for a non waterfront site and does not include the daily registration fee per person over 12 of $4.00. They do have discount fee books you can purchase of 10 $4.00 fees for $30, so that saved us $10. Also there is a $5.00 non refundable reservation fee. The one negative that we found is when coming from Bastrop on Hwy 21, the turn for park road is at a dangerous place as your view is partially blocked by trees and the oncoming traffic really flies so you just have to be patient to turn pulling a big rig across this busy road. I feel we will return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Very nice park with what appears to be some recent improvements. There is a nice common area now on Lewis Point, with benches, tables, etc. A large picnic area has new pathways and there is an improved swimming beach. The swimming area was recently cleared of underwater vegetation which is prominent in the lake. Unfortunately, lake water is used to cool the electric generating facility, so the pool-water is too warm in my humble opinion. Restrooms and showers were clean but shabby, ie: faucets and showerheads need to be replaced. No soap dispenser in the men's lavatory at my visit. Note: the $20 camping fee does not include an additional $4.00 daily use fee for each adult, plus a $5.00 reservation fee if you used the Parks & Wildlife reservation center. Finally, my water pressure gauge registered nearly 90 pounds at the faucet; consider using a pressure reducer. All in all a very nice facility; I'm sure we'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Very private sites with nice concrete pads and quiet. Lot of room between pads. Bathrooms and showers very clean but could have been a little warmer. The hosts seem to be on top of everything keeping it a nice campground to visit. We used to stay at Bastrop State Park, but when we discovered this park through the advice of a friend, it became a much more favorite place to stay. Very easy check-in - you can find your spot, drop your rig and go back and pay. Currently it is under some construction as they are updating the picnic areas and installing sewer sites. That will be great when it is completed. They have a reserved section for 50-amp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
This is a very nice campground, clean and well-maintained. Park personnel were very efficient and accommodating. We had sites #16 and #17. These are right next to the lake and are handy for launching kayaks or other small boats which don't require a ramp. Only drawback is that this is a popular lake access point, so there's quite a bit of foot traffic. Sites were neat, clean, and required minimal leveling. The park also has lakeside and park side cabins for rent. I didn't inspect the interior, but the outsides are quite attractive, with ceiling fans on the porches. We will definitely return. We really liked this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
Nice family park. Much like a state park. Our site was fairly level, very shaded and private feeling. The lake is very warm because it is an electric plant lake. Without a boat, the swimming is limited due to the large amounts of hydrilla. Very friendly staff and the sites and cabins (where my brother's family stayed) were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Lake Bastrop was a fairly nice place. This is the first LCRA (Lower Colorado River Authority) park we have stayed at. Each site had a concrete pad, a fire ring, picnic table, and a grill. We stayed at site 17 which is level side to side but needed a little adjustment front to rear. Site 17 also backs right up to the lake. The staff was friendly and helpful. The reason I didn’t rate the experience higher than a 7 was two things. 1) The lake is way too warm to be swimming in July. It was like bath water. I had heard Lake Bastrop was warm, but I didn’t expect this temperature. 2) We went on a few of the hiking trails, and the horseflies just about carried us off. Unless you want to fish in the warm lake, stay at Bastrop State Park right door. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$17
This is one of our favorite parks. In the summer that are plenty of shallows to the Lake to wade/swim with the kids. In the Winter, the fishing is fun. Over half the sites are waterfront and they are all very private and shady. Our kids love this place and we go 2-3/year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com