223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Mad River Rapids RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (707) 822-7275
CGID271

Mad River Rapids RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   8   9   10   8   8   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$47
Nice park near downtown. Very quiet - did not hear freeway noise at all. Spaces in the back are very roomy. The two ladies in the office were very nice. There is a Mexican restaurant next door but we did not eat there. Absolute BEST Farmer's Market on the downtown square on Saturdays from 9am-2pm! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
I rarely comment on campgrounds if I feel previous comments are accurate. I'm commenting on this park because of the electrical issues mentioned in previous comments. We too had problems with consistent power. Out power went on and off. I must be parked close the same fellow who told the previous camper that the problem was that he was a 50a plugged into a 30a box. I was told the same thing and told to go inside and throw the switches from 50 to 30 amps. I explained noting like that existed, and besides it is 65 outside and we are using virtually no power. When I showed him our Progressive Industries surge protector indicated the power was fluctuating between 105v and 119 volts he got upset and told me the park had no problems and it was our rig. Moral to the story, although the park is very nice, they do have power problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Clean and convenient to Humboldt State. Good overnight stop. Site is paved with grass between sites. Access roads are wide with easy movement for big rigs. Office staff very helpful and friendly. Good access to Hwy 101. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
3rd stay here. Entire park is reliably clean & peaceful. The Mexican restaurant (walk from your RV) was good. We'd have rated higher except that the Wi-Fi has been oftentimes problematic and unreliable. Also, we feel it is high priced for this type of area. We expect to pay higher, for example, in San Francisco area, but not in Arcata! That said, we will still stay here again when back in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
Great stop, Easy on and off Hwy 101, about 8 miles north of Eureka, about 1 mile from Hwy 299 to Redding. Dog friendly, kid friendly, clean pool and spa. About 8 miles from Eureka Costco and Walmart. Nice long pull-throughs. Concrete site with lots of grass. Great cable and Wi-Fi, Verizon OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$46
Mad River Rapids is an excellent choice for RVers. It is clean, well-kept, and the staff is wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
Great overnight spot in the Arcata/Eureka area. Clean bathrooms and laundry. Good Mexican restaurant right next door. Sites level with good satellite reception. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Very nice, clean park. We have stayed here several times and staff have always been accommodating. Good restaurant adjacent. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2012
$38
Watch the power! Arrived after hours. They say they have 50 amp sites, but I couldn't find any. Two of the 30 amp sites I checked were low voltage (104 volts), finally found one in a different row that was 117, so I used it. About 20 minutes later my power went out and when I went to check the breaker the resident across from me said the whole park is out. It had just happened a couple hours before also. At this point another resident marched up to me and accused me of shutting the park down because I plugged my 50 rig into a 30 (apparently he doesn't know what breakers are for), then my resident neighbor other side joined in also, saying something about I should find another site. First guy then walked away and about 2 minutes later power was back on for the night, so maybe he knew how to reset it? Noticed another review commenting about the power, so this park really needs to address the power issue. Definitely would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
Rate reflects 10 percent Good Sam discount. Nice grassy sites and park appears well cared for. We arrived when the office was closed and envelopes were provided for available sites, with honor system to pay in the morning when the office is open. Will return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
Group rate. Nice park. Our row lost power and with in 15 minutes they had a person out and fixed the problem. Not a destination but good for over night or longer. As noted could use more 50 amp sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
Price is part of a group. If this location had more 50 amp sites I would rate it higher. Sites are relatively wide. Interior roads are paved and good for larger rigs. The camp store is well equipped. The pool looked nice. Restrooms were very nice. I would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Overall nice park. Easy access from freeway, short drive north of Eureka. Nice seperation from other campers, pleasant souroundings, easy in and out for 40 foot coach with toad. Pleasant staff. Nice Mexican restaurant next door. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
I was a bit concerned about stopping at this park after the last review, but it still looked like the best in the area. We had stayed at the park a few years ago and we remembered it as being OK. This time we found it quite acceptable. Some of the turns in the park (and around the traffic circles coming in from the highway) were pretty tight for our 45’ motorhome towing a large jeep, but they all worked. The first site suggested had shrubs that would have been a problem with our slides, but they quickly moved us to a very clear and open one with a 70’ pull-through. I didn’t check the restrooms, but the rest of the park was clean, quiet and had very helpful management. The sites have 30 amp service, but since air conditioning is seldom required, this is not a negative. My only complaint was that the sewer drain was at the far back of the space, and since we didn’t want to disconnect our Jeep, required an extension to connect, but worked fine. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
The Good: California Welcome Center is around the corner. There is a good Mexican restaurant next to the park. The pool was warm, but didn’t go swimming. Restrooms semi-clean. Laundry worked and was $2.50 a load. The Bad: No Security. People from outside the park came in to use the restrooms. They have a 3 digit “secret” code. Our site, according to the older lady running the “mini-mart”, was the only one available for the night. She either lied, or about 15 reservations didn’t show. We had a site with small children next to the busiest road in the park. The sewer line was too small for our RV, and it caused a nasty mess. Lots of dog excrement all over the grassy areas. You need to register with a local company to use Wi-Fi. After staying at a beautiful RV park in the Redwoods the previous three nights, Mad River was a big disappointment. Not sure why the other reviews are so good? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Great level sites with generous and well-tended grass area. Pet area quite small, not fenced and does not allow for exercise. That said park is very friendly to dogs whose owners pick up. Extremely quiet in the evening. Toni's restaurant (walking distance) is fabulous for breakfast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$33
Easy entry and egress from/to #101. Arrived and left in the dark as we were returning home. Sites a little narrow but level and paved. RR facilities clean. Pool closed. Had trouble with Wi-Fi but did not have a chance to discuss with managers. Very favorable impression so would return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
We stayed for 3 nights and will do that again. The sites are all paved, pull through and backup in, longer and shorter ones with enough grass between the sites for awnings and slideouts. Big rigs don't have a problem. However, the pavement is about as wide as the RV and when walking around it you are walking on the grass. No problem with that, but on rainy days that grass gets really soft and then you change from slippers to boots. Additionally, the pavement is uneven and provides plenty of spots where water accumulates on rainy days, watch out. The hookups are OK and worked fine even thought the Wi-Fi kicked me out every once in a while but came back on again. The washrooms were clean not super clean and maybe already a bit dated and could use some updates or renovation. The noise from Hwy 101 is minimal and actually, you could only hear the ambulance or police using their sirens. Staff was friendly and helpful and I really can recommend this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Great park and will definitely stay here again. Well-spaced level paved sites with easy access and lots of pull throughs. Friendly staff, clean restrooms, and good proximity to the Arcata/Eureka area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
Clean park, seemed well maintained, office staff okay, decent location. Enjoyed a lovely dinner at Folie Douce in town (convenient). We stayed here 2 nights; would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Clean & attractive. Plenty of space in a nice area. Management was friendly & helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Nice, friendly campground with a level concrete slab, lots of grass, very pet friendly, shade, and a small store. It's a Good Sam park and there was no pet fee. Lovely area and very cute town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
This is a very nice park with large sites and grassy areas between the sites. Though it is near the 101 there was no highway noise. We would definitely stay here again. Nice people, a mini mart and good laundry facilities. Also close to downtown Arcata, McKinleyville and Eureka. Really loved this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Spent 10 days here. They have a weekly rate which is very reasonable. This park is very clean from the sites to the restrooms. The management is very friendly and helpful. We stay in this area once a year to visit our daughter but this was the first time in this park. This park is very convenient and close to everything. There is some road noise, but mostly from road construction on the bridge. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
Nice park with good spaces and hookups, but the staff wasn't very friendly. It's a good place to stop over for a night on the way to somewhere else, but we won't stay here again for longer than that. Nothing "bad" about it, but nothing that made it stand out either. We had reservations for 3 nights, but left after 2 because we found a nicer place on one of our day trips in the toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
Very clean, friendly park. Sites are both back in and pull through. They are level with grass on either side and easy to access. There is a playground and pool for family fun and two dog walk areas. The park is open, so not a lot of privacy, but the cleanliness more than makes up for it. Small mini-mart on site with perishables. Friendly staff. Very easy after hours check-in. Very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Weekly rate including tax reflected. Located just off Hwy 101 outside the city. Very clean cared for park. Sites are level asphalt and spaced apart with grass. 3 different restrooms sites: 2 of them had laundry facilities and all were very clean. Pool area is shared with the Quality Inn motel next door. There is a Mexican restaurant at the park entrance, and a small family restaurant, open 24 hours around the corner. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Ok campground, but there are better in the area. The park is reasonably clean, but older. More of a family park than an adult park. Not the quietest park we've stayed at. Asphalt is cracking or broken in a lot of areas. Grassy areas are primarily comprised of weeds. This park is past its prime and needs a little TLC to be above average. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
The staff was friendly, and the location was near lots of restaurants and the coast. There were some issues with sites (they mentioned the one we were on initially had electrical issues; then the next one had flooding issues; finally, they put us on a shorter site that had no issues). Older park, mostly 30 amp hookups, but easy to get in and out. The advertised store (open to the public) was not well stocked. It's a good stopping point near Eureka for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
This park is really nice. The manager and the ladies at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. The sites are grassy and well-maintained. Very peaceful and very close to downtown Arcata. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
We were not sure if we wanted to stay here by the mixed reviews. We ended up doing so because it is the only park in Arcata. Our experience was very mixed. The first night was terrible. Our site was in the back next to rundown neighbors. There was absolutely no Wi-Fi. The staff was fairly checked out. Second night, the staff was great. They were quick to accommodate us and registered us to a new site so we could get Wi-Fi. My final review is this park is an OK overnighter to see the sights. Just make sure they can park you in front, if they can't then you might want to move on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This park is old and run down. The Wi-Fi only works around the office. There is an odd mix of travelers and homesteaders and crackheads here. We wanted to leave but they do not give refunds. Only usable as an overpriced, overnight port. Oh: the Mexi restaurant next door is sub-Denny's quality with green-grey, low quality food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
The sites here are nice and wide with grass. The staff was friendly and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Adequate RV park. Friendly staff, always two people there when I visited. Large store on site. Narrow pads and just grass sites. First site had bad power. Second one had buckled pavement. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$33
This is an older park. There are no 50 amp on the pull-throughs. I had 30 amp only. The pull-throughs have the connections all the way on the back of the pad so I could not use the sewer and leave the toad connected. There are lots of permanent residents. The pads are good and level, but very narrow, pad. Tight turns on exit. Not a destination park even though they claim it is on their web site. The web site is much nicer than the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This is the first time in 10 years of visiting campgrounds, that a young lady behind the counter told me to not come back if I didn't like it using very foul language. I just complained about the cable TV connection being very fuzzy. I can't believe that the owner would employ somebody with these customer service skills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
Bath and laundry facilities clean. Level asphalt pads were what we paid for. Manicured lawns and pleasant trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
The park has nice big spaces with grass which was good for the dogs. Arcata is a beautiful town to spend several days exploring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Dogs barked all night at the managers home behind our space. No WiFi at our site. Lots of long-term older RV's. Wouldn't stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$36
Nice quite park with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Interior street corners are a bit tight for maneuvering, but the sites are paved, level and sufficiently roomy with plenty of spaces between them. Well maintained park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$36
Nice quiet park. Great place to stop on your way back to Interstate 5 . Very clean and the WiFi was decent. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$31
Half of the sites filled with seasonal residents. Quality Inn next door had some RVs and some of its "residents" were pretty loud and encouraging their dog to bark. WiFi did not work and the attendant did not know why. Lots of grass between sites, but it needed to be mowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$45
I don't know where they got the name since we didn't see a river, but this is an excellent park. It's a little hard to find and its entrance sign is small, but it's worth the search. It has large, clean sites and the most helpful staff we encountered. Many amenities, including an indoor pool. There's a restaurant on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
This is a lovely park with grass, trees and concrete pads with patios. The park is an easy on and easy off place. It is an oasis if you have been away from restaurants and shopping for a while! Fun place to explore. We would return to this park We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
This is a decent place, fairly well maintained and clean. Sties are large enough and nice space between sites. Sites and streets are asphalt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This is a good campground if you need a place to stay while you do lots of day trips, such as Crescent City, Ferndale, Old Town Eureka, Samoa Cookhouse, and various beaches. It was much better than the Eureka KOA a few miles away. Mad River was very clean and quiet. Most people who pulled in just stayed a night, maybe two, and were on their way again. No one sat outside their rig and not many people walked around. Each site was very deep (we fit our truck and trailer no problem), had green grass, and some of the sites (including ours) had a small tree. It was close to the 101, but you didn’t hear the traffic. The bathrooms were very clean and the laundry room would have been nice if 3 of the 6 dryers weren’t broken. The selection in the store was pretty limited. The game room had half dozen video games, a ping pong table (free), and a pool table ($1.00). It was a good place to stay if you plan to do various day trips, but would not be my choice if I wanted to hangout at camp and relax day after day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
The Mad River Rapids RV Park located in Humboldt County, sits just off of Highway 101 on Janes Road between Arcata and McKinleyville, California. There are 92 full hook-up (30 amp) paved sites, some with shade, and 39 drive-through sites, with the remainder being back-ins. Each site has cable TV and there is WiFi service in most sites. The sites are level and well landscaped. The park is extremely clean with restrooms and showers, dumping station, public phone, laundry, and a food store with RV supplies. It has a heated swimming pool, spa, horseshoes, recreation hall, game room, and playground. Pets are allowed on leash, and there are several designated dog walk areas. The park doesn’t allow tents or sleeping outside of your RV. There are no open fire pits, but each site has a picnic table. One nice feature is that there is an excellent Mexican restaurant located at the parks entrance, a flat short walk from anywhere in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
What a pit. All the reviews we read were outstanding. The maintenance man must have taken the last couple of years off. This is the first place we have paid for and left early. Sprinklers were broken. They watered our rig each night. Couldn't get in your truck without walking threw 4 inch deep mud. Grass was un-kept. Some scary fulltimers, looked like they lived here fulltime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Good clean and modern facility. Our site had a faulty vacuum breaker on the water connection that made all the grass around the site soggy. Otherwise recommended. Ate at the Sea Grill in Eureka, excellent but pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Nice park, very quiet. Access was easy off of the 101. The County park beach was not far away and it was really nice. Access to town was also simple. Very friendly at check-in and check-out - offered suggestions for eating spots. I recommend this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Pleasant, comfortable CG, clean and well maintained. Friendly helpful staff. Lots of grass and trees, but still satellite accessable. would have rated higher, but our site was narrow and short. Had to park truck elsewhere. Convenient to quaint and historic Eureka. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
Very near exit on Hwy 101 but little traffic noise. Strip mall located about 1 mi. from camp with grocery store. Located on the north side of Arcata and close to Eureka which has most of the population. Great place to stay when exploring the north CA coast and redwood forests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
This park seems to get the extremes of the reviews. I think it's a decent park with wide spaces and except for the grass needing to be cut, it was in good shape. The location is convenient to major hwys and tourist things to do. Biggest problem as stated in a prior review is that the WiFi doesn't have any range at all. I was within 150 feet of the office and barely got a signal. They really should invest in a tower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
An older park but in fairly good shape except for length of the grass. Good ingress and egress. If, however, you want to use their "Wi-Fi" you will have to park your motorhome in the lobby of the office since it only reaches outside a few feet. Can't these people afford a few bucks for an outside antenna? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Best we could find in the area. Clean, well maintained and easy to get in and out of. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
This place is horrible! The manager was a drunken buffoon, all he did at night was bark orders and drink his beer. He even kicked out a young couple who brought their new born baby because someone complained about the baby crying at night. This place is straight out of the twilight zone. We will never be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
Sites paved and grassy. Fairly level. Older park but nice and fairly clean. I think a good value for the dollar. Hot tub was small (6 person), very clean, and had nice jets. Still have to be next to Mini Mart for free WiFi. Electrical are mostly 30 amp. and located at the rear of site. Staff nice, friendly and helpful. Several older permanent trailers in the park. A couple of nice laundrys, one with TV and reading room (in rear of park). We stayed for 2 nights. Not a destination park but nice for a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Camper review below (rated it a 1) needs more practice; they'll change their mind after 30 or so parks. BIG, grassy, level sites, pool, spa, tennis court at a VERY reasonable $25. Laundry/restrooms are immaculate. WiFi is iffy, unless you're in direct line with the office/MiniMart (54, 13, 14, etc.) Tell them when you reserve that YOU NEED WiFi. (It's not good IN the office, but I got it out front). I found the hostess very amiable, maintenance personnel were jovial and busy, (maybe a camper's attitude plays a part in the RUDENESS.) Had NO trouble with power, or night-time sprinklers, (the office tells you they water at night). Try the hottub the 1st night (not the 3rd night like we did. Was NICE and bubbly! Truly not a 'destination' park (like AZ with game-rooms, activities, etc.) but perfectly comfortable day or week while you tour the area redwoods, bay, etc. The Mexican restaurant next door (Fiesta Grill) is an 11 out of 10!!! WONDERFUL, don't miss it! Walk over to a special fresh fruit margarita and chimi: they are HUGE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This park was always one we recommended, but no more. Very disappointed in the upkeep of the park. Could be very nice. Seems management is not interested in details any more. Sites are easy in and out, but just not kept up. Hope this improves, but at the moment we will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
We have been RVing full time for six months now. This is the worst park to date! The power is constantly going out. The managers are the rudest people I ever met. When the power goes out, (apparently because too many people are using too much, although I was just using my TV) I had to walk to the manager's house in the cold and rain because they shut their phones off(answering machine only.) When asked to turn their phones on so I could call on the cell and not have to walk in the cold dark rain, she nastily said no and slammed the door. For this treatment I paid $28.31 !?! I could dry camp and have more fun. Don't go!!! They don't even have a number low enough to rate this park!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Another over rated California coast park. They share ameneties with the Quality Inn and they do have Wi-Fi that only works in the office. The front of the park was mowed, the back where we were put, hadn't been in awhile. The sprinklers sprayed water everywhere and to a height over halfway up the side of the motorhome. Make sure to ask for a space in the front section as the back are residents. (The tag-along next to us had grass waist-high around the hook-ups, towels for curtains and an unregistered vehicle; and two sites up as well). Power was so-so. We're only 30 amps and I couldn't run ANYTHING if the air was on, as it popped the breaker. Office help not much help, just ready with lots of excuses (i.e. the manager is pregnant.) The only reason for a 4 rating is the bathrooms were relatively clean as long as you didn't look up, and they allowed dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
Nice park. It's not a destination park, but great for an overnight stay. Sites are paved, staff was polite. Overall a nice place to stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$26
This is a nice park and it is big rig friendly. It is clean and quiet. We stayed overnight and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2004
$26
This park is visually blah; there are no trees and few shrubs. The staff was not really very helpful at check-in and were not very visible during our stay. The bathrooms were not necessarily dirty, but there was one toilet that went unflushed almost the entire time we were there and the other toilet stall had no TP the first 2 days. The showers were reasonably clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$35
An overall nice, clean park near Hwy 101. All paved sites with nice landscaping, but no large trees or shade. Store and office area are combined and were run mostly by teenagers that were not very helpful during our stay. As another reviewer noted, not a resort destination, but clean and well maintained none the less. If you are near the Eureka area, check it out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Has paved sites and streets; the common site width is 40 feet. Has 40 pull-throughs, coin laundry, tables, patios, store, some RV supplies and ice. Priced right: the best park that we have ever stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Nice clean park but no resort type destination. We stayed to visit Eureka, Humbolt Redwoods State Park, Ferndale, etc. on vacation this summer. Should of stayed in some of the nicer parks in Eureka itself. Road in front of park was undergoing renovation so dirt, dust and tractor noise was constant. Nice overnight park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com