220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Houston East RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (281) 383-3618
CGID2711

Houston East RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   8   7   7   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Good Sam discount. Nice park. Paved sites but tight maneuvering for our 43' coach. Real grass! Good Wi-Fi and cable TV. Easy access. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Paved roads and sites, shaded, fairly level. No problems with water or power. Mostly long-term residents, generally well kept. Quite a bit of interstate noise all night long. You will not find friendlier, more helpful office staff anywhere. No escort to site, but sites are well marked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Easy in and out, but it is on a frontage road so make sure you read the directions on their website. Nice grassy dog walk area. Nice pool with guests and children enjoying. Park about full with long term stays doing highway work. All sites were nicely kept. Wifi is usable, but cable didn't offer any digital channels. Friendly staff. We would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We were fortunate to get the last site at this park. It appears to be pretty full occupancy with fifth wheels housing workers on the pipeline with apartments, cabins, and storage. It has the KOA design, but has been updated nicely with all paved pull throughs, modern hookups that worked well. It is very close to I-10, but easy to access once the turn-arounds are understood. Pool, laundry, shade, but not much atmosphere. There were children here, but not provision for them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
This was a "surprise" campground. We weren't expecting this near-Houston location to be so nice and so well-kept. It was quite full but we were able to stop of the I-10 highway and found a site available. The check-in (after hours) was easy. There's plenty of green space for dog walking and the entire grounds is paved or grassy. Nice! The staff was very helpful with our questions the next morning, and we were extremely impressed with the showers and pool area. They even offered me free coffee when I checked out. I will definitely be back. Our price reflects the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
Good easy pull thru sites. Easy on off from highway. The traffic noise from I-10 seemed especially loud this time. Friendly folks, good basic amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
Rate is based on $199 per week, stay 6 get one free. If you only stay a night or two here, you won’t be disappointed. Resort is a bit of a stretch, but it's fine for a stopover. We had high hopes when first arriving. Staff is friendly and present; park was clean. There are many longer term workers here, but most keep their areas fairly clean. Electric worked fine; water pressure is very low; we used our house pump for showers. There are a few older units in need of some TLC but nothing that causes you to cringe. There is a laundry, bath house, pool, propane, and nice little store. There is significant traffic noise from Interstate 10, nothing to be done for that, but while in our unit, it wasn’t that bad. Wifi is OK, worked well enough to check headlines and email. A major drawback, we felt, was the 2 large, skittish, almost feral dogs that roam around the park all day from a neighboring property. The staff claims there is no leash law in this county, and they can’t do anything about it. It makes trying to walk for exercise or enjoyment here rather difficult. We took to carrying mace with us when we did try. Although the park staff claims “they don’t bite”, there’s always a first time. Of course, as a result of these dogs, some people in the park assume its OK to let their dogs run without a leash as well…so the problem is compounded. Workers do not pay any attention to the speed limit at all; most had big diesel trucks and loud music playing as they enter and exit. This park has potential to be a great place to stay while visiting and touring in the Houston area; however, we probably wouldn’t stay again because of the dog issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
I would not suggest this park for rigs over 38 feet towing cars. Turns are very tight due to cars and trucks parked on edges of streets. Sites are narrow and barely 60 feet long. Many trees and few satellite friendly spaces. Many sites occupied by long-term residents (based on the amount of personal stuff piled all around). Park was clean and recently mowed. Would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
Good overnight stop. Easy check-in. No escort to site. Did not see specific area to walk the dog, but had no trouble finding a place to take him. There were many long-term rigs for workers in the area. Quiet at night; no issues. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
I don't understand the 5 star rating that Woodall's gives this property as it is not a resort. It is a very nice place to stay for any length of time. Very well kept sites with fresh green grass and well located shade trees. Paved, level, parking pads with picnic tables and full hook-ups. Mostly permanent residents, but well kept sites and quiet friendly people. The I-10 noise could really be a problem for lots of people. I used a big fan to drown it out so I could sleep. Bathrooms and showers were spotless and the pool would be nice in warmer weather. We had no complaints about our stay except the highway noise, and might stay here again if needing an overnight site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$33
Very nice campground. Friendly helpful staff. My only complaint was the Interstate noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$33
The campground is right off Interstate 10, which makes it very convenient for an overnight stay, particularly for those of us who are not bothered by highway noise. The office staff is very friendly. The bathrooms and showers were clean and the showers had great water pressure and nice hot water - very welcome after a long day of traveling. The sites are level concrete pads with grass and we had a small shade tree at our site. Very nice sites. There is a large field next to the campground for dogs to run off-leash. It isn't a fenced doggie park, so it would be off-leash only for dogs who enjoy other dogs and people. The literature from the campground states that it is an "adult park" and no children are allowed over the age of 5 for monthly customers. There is no playground equipment or recreation available other than the pool which is a non-heated outdoor pool. I wouldn't come here with children even though the campground states that overnight and weekly guests can have children. There is absolutely nothing for children to do and nowhere they could safely play. I would have rated it a 10 if they had facilities for and welcomed children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
This is not a resort. It is only an RV park. It is just about full with oil field and pipeline workers who leave very early in the morning. Site was level. Wi-Fi was acceptable. Check in was slow and frustrating as the worker had difficulty hearing. If the wind was out of the north the truck noise from the interstate was almost intolerable. It's not really close to any nice restaurants. And there's nothing to do here, so a two night stay is about as long as we could handle. We would have only stayed one night but it was raining cats and dogs, so we stayed an extra night. It is doubtful we would ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
Very nice Campground. Very friendly office personnel! Nice level cement Pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
The sites were level and all concrete. Cable TV worked well. Wi-Fi worked well. The fans in the some of the showers were noisy. The laundry area looked clean. I would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
We have stayed at this park, off and on, for over a year, while my husband receives treatment at MD Anderson Cancer Center. It's an easy drive to the hospital, shopping and downtown. The staff has taken care of our dog when we had long days at the hospital. When my husband went through chemo last winter, they came and got our propane tanks and filled then, then hooked them back up. I've never seen a staff so friendly and willing to help you in any way. The park is clean. The sites are well maintained. As for being big rig friendly, I don't know what the previous camper's problem was. We have been in 4 different sites and never had a problem with space for the rig, the truck and our car. The sites in the back have space for two vehicles to be parked side by side. Yes there are a lot of trucks here. You need a truck to pull a 5th wheel. Duh! If you're looking for a park with a clubhouse, golf course, spa, etc., then no this isn't the park for you. If you want a quiet, friendly place to camp while staying in Houston, come here. I've recommended this park to people I've met at the hospital. If you don't have an RV, there are cabins and apartments here that are cheaper than staying in a motel and you'll have a kitchen. Which you won't have in a motel. (To the reviewer who said he'd never come back here. That's fine. You're not the kind of neighbor we want.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Big mistake. This is not a big rig friendly park. There are only a couple of sites able to accommodate a 45' Quad-Slide coach and toad. We were squeezed into E1 (J1 is big enough) and our front mirror stuck out into the cross lane in front and our toad stuck out into the cross lane in the rear. Just a foot or so, but enough to be worrisome. This is an old KOA that's been taken over by someone else and not improved much or updated. There is a newer section toward the rear that appears to cater to long-term fivers. The park is full of workers and live-ins and every conceivable version of pickup truck. The trucks are parked at various angles up and down the cross roads in the park and that makes getting out of your site extremely difficult without an RV shoehorn. We had to un-hook our toad and back out of our site in the morning and then re-hookup. Not exactly what we had in mind when we reserved a pull-through. It was raining. Yes, rain in Texas. That was the good news. It kept the giant ant beds inactive - including the one right in front of our door. Dog walking is decent here. But we will never stay at this park again and would advise Big Rig people to seek another waypoint. There are several in the Houston area. We made the wrong choice. Getting off I-10 and into this park and especially back onto I-10 is confusing and a little tricky. I had to ask the dumpster truck driver how to get back onto the freeway heading west. Most friendly guy I met in Houston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Decent park but needs numerous upgrades and updates. The water most of the time is orange from the old rusty tank. You complain and they say just to run the water for a while instead of fixing the problems. Laundry room, and bathrooms with showers are nice but hot since the AC doesn't work and they don't want to fix it apparently. Ant beds are terrible and they do not treat them. Also the pool is dirty a lot from not being cleaned out. People in the office are friendly but the owner doesn't want to fix things up right. There are no kids allowed over the age of 5. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
Nice smaller park. Friendly helpful staff. Located along I-10 east Houston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
The park is an old KOA, but has been kept very clean. The facilities need to be updated some, but like I said, they were clean. The owner is there most days, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We visited for a month, and it was a safe quiet place. The spots are roomy and grassy. We checked out all the other RV parks in the area, and this was the best place by far to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
An OK park for an overnight. Getting a little old looking. Could tell it was an old KOA park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We were passing through and stopped for one night. The park was 90% full of workers. Nice long concrete pad. Streets within the park were very narrow and lots of broken up concrete and potholes. Most vehicles were parked in the roadways as the pads weren't long enough for both the RV and truck. Office personnel were extremely helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
We spent one night here because it was on our route to our next location. We were looking for a comfortable place to spend the night (meaning get some sleep). Between the drag races nearby (with live band and fireworks), the people riding motorcycles in the park, the screaming kids, and all the other activity that happens on a Saturday night, this was not the best place to try and get an early night's sleep. The sites were very close together (not much room between each RV) and so many people were parked on the road instead of on their site it was VERY tight trying to get in and leave. It seemed like a decent park and might be quieter during the week. Most likely would not stay here again. The employees were friendly and helpful. The wi-fi worked very well and was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
Handy for the I10, 20 miles east of Houston, friendly, helpful staff. The rest was awful. The noisiest site we have ever stayed on - the I10 rumbled the whole night. The sites are close together and soul-less. The toilets were filthy and the showers weren't much better. Also, they are no longer a KOA site; KOA sites are usually excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Great overnight stop. Clean and convenient. Would not stay here for an extended time, but great for a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
Friendly staff, concrete roads and pads, shade trees at most sites. Fine campground, everything neat, clean and orderly. I-10 close but not a factor . This campground a nugget. Thinking about coming back next year and staying much longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
The new big rig sites were full and the pull-thru we were assigned was just marginal. We had to be very, very careful to avoid another coach getting into the site, and then we had to stop in the middle and trim a tree. We had to look out for trees as we exited the site in the morning. We were over 60' feet long and when we made the reservation, we told the friendly gal at the desk we did not want to take off the tow vehicle. Just another reminder that we should ALWAYS investigate the site before forking over our money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
Way Overpriced for what you get. Stench of dumpsters was everywhere. Left early. Never again at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
Rate was with Gold Card discount. The only bit I would add is that the road to the park (Frontage Road) was under severe construction as of early March; down to one lane, perilously uneven (tilted) and with unthinkable drop offs on each side. We enjoyed the park and the staff, and the road was no problem for our Class B, but large Class As, particularly with toads, should call first to get a status report. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
Decent enough park but not a good value for the money. We were there one night. On arrival we found we'd been bumped from a pull through to a back-in site without notice and moved from the newer part of the park to the older gravel section. Turned out to be a good thing and after the initial surprise we were pleased with our site. Being in with the older, smaller permanents made it much easier for us to navigate the roads, which although adequate are a little tight for a very large rig. Just mention the switch to make readers aware it could also happen to you as this is a problem for some who find it difficult to back in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
A nice park at a stiff KOA price. All pull-throughs. Good utilities, good placement. A small but nice pool that "technically" closes but in actuality stays open all night. Reasonably quiet. Free WiFi was nice, and the park was clean, but you can find plenty of non-KOA parks with equivalent features for $10/night less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
We stayed there during the Katrina evacuation and the owner was very helpful in finding space for as many as he could. The park was very nice with pull through sites, grass areas and a pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2005
$29
This KOA which accepted Good Sam in 2004 no longer offers those discounts. This is an average campground that works very well for an overnight stay between where you've been and where you're going. Staff is friendly. Interior roads and sites are paved. Our site was fairly level although we could not fit our combined 55' of truck and RV without unhitching and parking the truck at an angle and partly on the grass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Okay for overnight stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Did not serve cont. breakfast as advertised - only certain times of the year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$24
One of the nicest KOA's in the country. Owner has spent huge sums to improve this park. Is is first class in every way. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com