220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Houston West RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (281) 375-5678
CGID2723

Houston West RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   8   8   7   7   6   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
This park is easy to access from I-10. It is fairly close to the Camping World and Holiday World stores in Katy. The sites are compacted dirt/gravel and are relatively level. The sites are a bit tight and there are no picnic tables. We actually set our outdoor chairs in front of the motorhome, as there was virtually no room to sit out on the side of the RV. The electrical box at our site looked a little rough, but all checked out and it functioned fine. There are quite a few permanent residents here, but everyone was friendly and the park was very quiet. The staff at the office was very friendly. This is an okay stop if overnighting or spending a couple of days in the Houston area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Easy in and out. Many long term residents. Could walk all the way around a nice pond. Nice lounge and library for book trades. Clean individual showers but could use an update. Adequate laundry, catch and release fishing, pool, and good utilities. Would have been a 10 except for the gravel which was very noisy with many very early departures. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Excellent park, excellent host. Only reason I'm not going with a 10 is the site required me to use a board under onside of the rig to get level. Even though this campground is next to I-10, you would hardly know it. Not sure why as there are no trees next to the interstate but it is elevated above the road. I had a problem with the Wi-Fi but I think it was me. The host did everything she could to get me online but all failed. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$33
These are basic pull-through sites. No frills. Rock & grass. No problem with internet. Bath/showers are clean, but they could spend $20 and replace the rusty curtain, rod, & rings. Trash pick up at site & trimmed grass. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
This was an overnight for us, the park is close to the freeway. The sites are long enough to stay hooked up, but a little close together. The staff is friendly. Fuel and shopping are close in the town. A Lot of the spaces are full with people staying for longer term. The park is clean and the services all work fine. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
A great overnight stop. Easy access to I-10. An older park, gravel sites, but reasonably maintained. Staff friendly. Nothing fancy, lots of extended stay folks, but very adequate. Pull-through was easy to navigate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
Very friendly staff. Roads are compact rock. Sites are level gravel pull through sites. Some shade trees and grass between sites, wide enough for big rigs. Nice place to stay. We were here for over night camping in a travel trailer. Would come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
This is basically a stop over one nighter only. Very nice ladies in office told us the Wi-Fi was good: not true. So slow, unable to even receive a signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
We got the last spot. We had a back in that backed up to the freeway. There was an accident on the freeway that night so we had to get off. This was the most we paid for the least received. For a one nighter it worked. A lot of permanent RV's. Not where I would want to go to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We stayed here 4 nights while our motorhome had some repairs done at Camping World and Freightliner. Staff was friendly and willing to work with us with our indeterminate length of stay, based on completion of work needed on coach. There was a nice small pool, and a lake to the rear of the property. Roads and sites were gravel, sites were level, hookups worked well. There is no cable TV, but over air and satellite worked well. There are many full-timers (not a problem). The sites are narrow and close together, which took the rating down a little. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Easy on & Off. Services nearby. Good for an overnight.Friendly staff. Escort to site.Was not able to use rooftop dish because of trees. Otherwise works for overnight.Would look for another spot next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
There's lots of grass here; maybe because it has rained so much this year and rained here yesterday and today There is lots of gravel at the sites and drainage after the deluge seemed pretty good. I did not see any pet waste and there were doggy clean up bags available. The check-in person was extremely nice and even gave us some fresh tomatoes. We are extremely close to I-10, but our site (20) is further away and we hear no noise at all. There appears to be a lot of long term residents here and some of the campers need to be washed and upgraded, but most are OK. The sites are extremely clean; no junk sitting outside the RVs. We had not planned to stay here but our washer/dryer died and while we are waiting on parts and repair at Camping World (which is about 4 miles from us) we are staying here. We are close to Katy Mills Mall as well and there are some local historical things we want to check out. Our rate reflects the Good Sam discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$37
We came in August 2011 and stayed till March 2012. We cannot say enough great things about this Park. Our Trailer was destroyed by fire back in September 2011. We were so touched by Park Owner; and their employees. They were right there to help us; Not to mention a couple in the Park lent us their 5th wheel to stay in. Plus several ladies came over to help savage what we could after the fire. Also on Saturday Mornings twice a month there are home cooked brunches. Houston West RV has lot of great things; Pool,Laundry Mat, Clean Showers, Internet, Lake, Games, Parties. Plus Your not far from the Mall,Grocery Stores or Hospitals. While Houston West RV Park is near the freeway. It never bothered us for the Park sits up. If you're looking for an overnight or long term Houston West RV is the place. We made many close friends there; who are like family to us. While we recently moved in to a new house; we are glad our friends are close. Again We want to thank Houston West RV Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
The park is very clean with gravel sites and grass just outside your door. We had a great spot and could see the pond. They keep the area around the pond mowed so it is great for walking our dog. The person at the desk, should have angel wings! She was professional, friendly, helpful and was really wonderful to us because we ended up staying a week due to a truck breakdown. The camp is right off the freeway, easy in and out and we would definitely stay again. It's a great place to stop while traveling through Houston, Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
We stayed a week and the fee was $190. Lots of workers because of building around Houston. Workers were quiet. CG manager was very kind & pleasant. She keeps open some sites (gravel FHU pull-throughs) for travelers. This was much appreciated. CG near I-10, but noise acceptable. We will stay here again when we visit family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Nice stop over park. Used to be a KOA but is private now. Pool was cold and so was the hot tub, as we were only there for the night we didn't make a fuss about it. At least the showers had hot water. From the looks of the other campers, a lot are permanent, but kept in good shape. There is a stocked fishing pond but we didn't get a chance to try it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Great for overnight, easy on/off I-10. Great office people. Quiet, nice pool and fish pond. Due to heat we didn't look around much. I'd stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This park was OK for overnight. The site was off pretty far side-to-side, but was just long enough to not unhook. There is a small pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Very clean restrooms and showers. Very quiet. No shade and many sites not equipped with a picnic table. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Very nice park. Level, clean, very good hook-ups. The overnight spots do not have a lot of extra room between sites, but are generous enough in length that it is not necessary to unhook the toad if you just want to park and sleep. Nice size and pretty well stocked store on site. Helpful, friendly staff just like you want to find wherever you go. We did not need/or have time to take advantage of all the amenities available but enjoyed the ones did. One exit away from a Flying-J for those so inclined. It's not the best Flying-J that we've ever stopped at, it has no RV pumps. The park is also situated close to a major RV dealer and a Camping World as well as all the shopping, restaurants and Houston traffic that you care to jump into. We will not hesitate to stop again next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
It is a lovely park. Lots of trees: trimmed high. Nice pet walk. Personnel was very friendly. We will definitely plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
We finished up a 7 month stay at Houston West RV Park. There is nothing negative to say about this park and plenty of positive. The Bathroom/Showers have just been completely renovated with larger showers. The Wi-Fi is fast and the cost is very reasonable. (We understand it is Free if you are staying 1-2 days only). Daily at-site trash collection is a convenient service. The owners and staff are not only very friendly but act immediately to correct any concerns or problems you have. They also welcome any suggestions to make the park even better. You will enjoy the FREE home cooked breakfast buffet provided twice a month on alternating Saturdays. If we ever need to stay in this area again we will look no further than Houston West RV Park to call home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
OK for an overnight stay. Internal roads are very narrow and gravel. This is a former KOA park. Lady in the office was very nice and helpful. For the amenities it's a solid value. We would stay here again. It is a quiet location but still close to I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
The maintenance man was very polite and always busy. He smiled and chatted when coming by the site. Thanks to him, the park looks very nice. It's great to see someone who appears to like doing a good job. The only down side was a group of rowdy Saturday night beer drinkers that partied too loud. They finally quieted down Saturday night, but picked back up on Sunday morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Worked well for our short stay. Well kept up park, friendly staff, conveniently located. Sites not level but should be within the capability of most leveling systems to handle without any problems. Ours was off front/back. WiFi could be slow at peak times. Dumpster wasn't very convenient to our site (don't want to be next to it though) and there were no trash cans near our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
We stayed here for over 4 months. I want to start by stating that if you are only here for a few nights, this park is ok. Sites for short stays are level, but other sites for longer stays are not. Owner is friendly. Manager is a busy body. Park host and maintanence men are wonderful. We moved to a different area of Houston, and after seeing other rates, this park charges too much. Office manager tells me what each envelope of mail is that I received, "Here is your Wells Fargo statement." I even brought this to the owners attention, and she honestly didn't do a thing about it. There are a lot of politics and if you are not in the group, you are out. (I prefer to stay out and have a peaceful life.) We were told we could move to a more secluded site up on the hill, but after a HUGE stink, the site was given to someone else. Park Guests look out for each other, and are wonderful. I will not be coming back to this park, or referring people to it, because of the lack of time and effort from the owner, and the nosey manager. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Very nice, clean park. The new owner is really helpful and kind. The maintenance men are also very friendly and helpful. There are level gravel sites with adequate room between sites. The pool was nice and the area around the pool was clean. There is a lending library or exchange one book for one. The hostess was very friendly. There are activities during the week. One Saturday there was a brunch free of charge, very nice. The rate above reflects daily rate. They do have a weekly and monthly. The park is very convenient to I-10. There are long-term residents in the park but their sites are very clean. We stayed in Site 1 which had a nice tree and picnic table. Not all sites have picnic tables. There is a store in the office that offers essentials such as ice, salad dressings, cookies, etc., very nice. Downtown Houston is about 50 min away. Katy Mills is a great shopping area just 20 minutes down I-10. We stayed for 10 days. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Adequate park. Pool and hot tub were nice. The bathrooms were OK, but the showers were pretty dingy, but clean. Wi-Fi is pay, but you do get a coupon for two free nights. Highway noise could be bad at the back of the park but was not bad toward the front. Friendly personnel, adequate laundry room, nice lending library and lounge. No cable TV, but we got a few channels on the antenna. Gravel sites, pretty level. Probably should be called "Houston Far West RV Park" as it's a pretty hefty hike back to Houston. I'd stay here again, but only if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Well kept park, very helpful staff. Showers and bathrooms were modern and clean. There are two nearby RV maintenance companies and some campers were staying in this park while waiting for repair appointments. Level sites (everything in this part of Texas is level!) with adequate room between neighbors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Clean, no frills, level gravel sites at this park which is conveniently located off the freeway. Located close to Katy Mills Mall and Bass Pro Shop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
This park has been greatly improved in the last 2 years with a new owner. They retained all regular staff, so it is well run. The trashy RV's are gone, and the whole place has been improved, with more to come. There are expanded sites around the perimeter, and the Mobil homes are gone. They have brunches, chili cook-offs, and barbecue contests. Seems to be something going on every other weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$31
Pricey for what you get. Good Sam rate of $31 for 30A was a bit steep but we needed a place to stop for the night. Spaces are clear of tree limbs but a little tight. Streets are gravel as are the lots. Manager was very nice. This is OK for overnight but would not pay the price again unless we were in the situation we are tonight. At least it appears to be well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Clean, level gravel sites at this park which is conveniently located off the freeway. Located close to shopping areas in Houston. Wi-Fi only available in the lounge area was a big disappointment. Trash pickup on site. Some items are available in the office area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This park is very nice and clean. The people are very friendly. We spent the month here and would stop here again: but not in August. Too hot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed here for the weekly rate of $190.00 which is way over priced, and no discount for the weekly rate. Can't understand how the weekly rate went from $67.00 two years ago to $190.00 they can't explain it either. We use to live near by and wanted to visit, but not at this price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
From making the reservations to the arrival very professional and friendly. We were here as a stop over and it was perfect. Excellent pull thru a little unlevel but doable. At night a bit dark. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
The previous recent reviews hit it on the head. Great overnight spot on the west side of Houston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
We stopped here for one night. The office staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a pull through long enough so we didn't have to unhook the towed as were leaving in the morning. The Wi-Fi was very good and quite fast. Site was gravel and level. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Great easy in & out park for an overnight stay. We stopped in late and left early the next morning. Gravel site (back-in) was not very level, and the area we backed up to was muddy, but it appeared it was due to recent addition of sod and grass. Front desk staff was friendly. We didn't use the wifi or see any other amenities, but weren't looking either. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Great site on the outskirts of Houston. We used it as a layover for one night. Extremely helpful staff. We needed late check in, and they were more than glad to help. Very clean. Gravel pull thru, but fairly level. Less then 1/2 mile from the interstate. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Not a fancy stop, but a clean and safe one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Clean. More an overnight stay location. Right on highway I-10. Wifi was very good. Narrow spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
Nice overnight campground outside of Houston near Camping World. Park is tight but accommodated MH with little effort (had to park toad in front of MH) Slips are gravel and mostly level. Wi-Fi was intermittent and mostly too weak to use. Staff was very friendly and helpful, they had our LP refilled while we were out shopping (@$2.85 pg). I-10 is close by so may not want for a long term stay. Big plus is location, just outside of the metro area but close to all necessary amenities. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Very good park with a reasonable monthly rate. Owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. Trash collection at your site. Local propane vendor delivers promptly. Walmart only eight miles away. I found the park very quiet. I'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This park is really nice. The owners are super friendly. They helped us out with a late check out and put us on a site with easy access to a field where we could walk the dogs. It isn't the most glamorous park we've seen, but it is clean and well maintained. The playground is nice, lots of room to walk the dogs. They even gave the dogs treats when we checked in! It is close to the highway with great access. However, it still feels like the country. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Very tight roads inside park, free wifi worked great, nice grass between sites, we stayed or 5 days while in the area for a family wedding. We had advance reservations, and the staff was easy to work with when we had to change our arrival date due to medical problems. It is a little on the pricey side, especially for being a pretty average park with very narrow roads and a large tree that need trimming on the exit route. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
This park was "adequate". In all honesty, I expected much more based upon the ratings in Woodall's and Trailer Life Directory as well as from the full page ad this campground has in each directory (coincidence?). This is an old KOA, the sites and driveways are all gravel, and despite their ad, big rigs find the driveways a little tight. There are a several long term residents, and a couple of those sites are looking a little trashy. It served its purpose as a stop along I-10, but that's about all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$26
I can't really classify this as a nice park. The sites are hard rock and while rock the streets were graded down and are now muddy. Streets are extremely narrow (only as wide as your RV) and sites are so close you cannot maneuver without driving across the grass. A lot of old broken down RV's and loud motorcycle noise when they drive through the park. Golf carts drive so fast they are a hazard. Highway noise is awful if you're parked at the south end of the park. The staff was friendly and helpful but unfortunately the park is just old and run down and no money is being spent to maintain it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$26
Convenient to I-10, but no freeway noise. We had a long, level pull-through. There are acres of mowed grass for walking the dog on three sides of the park. Free WiFi (that worked) at our site. Clean laundry with six washers and dryers. Very friendly and helpful staff. Reservations are strongly recommended. While in the office, I heard the clerk turn down two callers because she had no sites for their planned arrival dates. We got the only remaining 50 amp site when we arrived at 1:00 PM, and that site was reserved for the next night. Watch carefully for the road to the park. It isn't marked very conspicuously. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
We used this for an overnight stay on our way through Houston to points west. We arrived late, and having told the host that we were overnighters when we made the phone reservation, he put us in a very convenient site at the front of the park. Very thoughtful. There was very little road noise in our site. Clean facility and level gravel sites. Friendly staff. They are celebrating their independence from KOA in October. This is a great stopover park in Houston on I-10. Be aware that the turn into the side street leading into the park is a little hard to pick up at night due to several business entrances in the same block. They should consider marking it a little better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Our stay at this park was very nice. You couldn't ask for a more pleasant staff. They go out of the way to make you feel comfortable. It was formerly a KOA and since they dropped the KOA affiliation, they are making many improvements to an older park. The owners live on-site and are always visible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
This campground is pleasant and very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. I will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Disagree with previous posters. Unfortunately, there's not much to choose from in Houston, and we had to stop to see friends in the area. The campground was very disappointing. It was not paved, it was too close to the highway, and the area around the campground was a mix of poor neighborhood with loose dogs and industrial parks. The "lake" was more like a swamp. There were a lot of folks who seemed to be construction workers living there on a semi-permanent basis and who liked to drive around the small campground in their golf carts. Friendly folks, just a weird place compared to places where we normally camp--out in the woods. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
Excellent park. Not junky at all. Free wi-fi that worked incredibly well. Park is very well maintained and has easy I-10 access. Some sites could be a little noisy but we had one that was quiet. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$23
Very friendly, new owners. Plan lots of improvements. A pretty busy park with a decent mix of long term and overnighters. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com