220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Castroville Regional Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (830) 931-0033
CGID2739

Castroville Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   9   7   9   8   5   9   1   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Beautiful city park. Very quiet and peaceful with river and walking trails. No frills, but very nice and park host is excellent. (Enforces rules but is very friendly and helpful). We have been coming here for about 7 years. It is one of our favorite places, but WIFI is poor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
Very close quarters to fit our large 5th wheel into. Passport listed them but manager advised they quit accepting Passport America. Manager was very helpful and recognized that the campground was run down and in need of repairs. Other than that, it was quiet and uneventful for our 2 day stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
We were placed in the overflow area. Since there were no pull thru sites available this was fine by us since it was much easier to get in and out of with our 36' TH. Management was friendly and being right inside the very large city park meant lots of open space for walking our dog. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
We love this park, but the r v park has about been taken over by small old trailers and FEMA trailers. Still a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
This is a nice small RV park attached to a large public park. Sites are all gravel, level and shaded. Rate is Passport America rate. Public swimming pool, playgrounds, picnic tables, jogging trail and hiking trails all within walking distance. Tucked back behind the city: no traffic noise at all. A number of workers have trailers here but they're all well: kept and very friendly. The camp hosts are nice and very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We stayed at the park for 5 months. Jan-May. It was very nice. Has all paved pads. Nice big shade trees. Pet friendly and the people where very nice. It has one of the nicest community parks next to it, that I have seen in South Texas. It also has a security fence. The price is unbeatable with all the luxury. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
This is a great old park. Everything is old including the bathrooms and showers. They are wiped down sometimes. People with dogs let them do their business where ever they want to and nothing is done about it. Their rate is 275.00 per month including 50 amp electric. 30 amp is cheaper. We stayed 3 months and only left because we couldn't wash our trailer and it gets filthy from all the birds and dust. We would stay again but only for a month at a time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
We think this is the best kept secret in Texas. The park is quiet and peaceful and well kept. The park hosts are friendly and very accommodating. The laundry is good and we thought everything was great. We plan to return for another month and bring friends with us. We plan to spend at least two months next winter. This is our favorite campground! We do wish they had cable T.V. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
We have stayed at this park for several years now, but will no longer stay here. Earlier post said Ken was a good host, yes he was. Sorry to say the new hosts are not on par. They have 2 barking dogs that they can't or won't control. Earlier post said the park ranger made the guest feel secure. Glad to hear that, because that's all he does. He lets his dogs run loose and never picks up after them. Both the host and ranger have items left outside their RV's that guests of the park are not allowed to leave out. One of the reasons we return to this park is because of the Wi-Fi. This winter the reception has been terrible. This issue has been discussed with no satisfactory outcome. The recreation room has become a depository for old couches and other odd objects. Not a welcome or homey place anymore. We feel that the rules should include hosts as well as rangers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
What a cool RV park situated within the Castroville City Park. The Medina River is about 100 yards away. Ken the RV Park Manager is the man. Well maintained, RV park is chip and seal and plenty of alternate parking for cars. Easy in and out with back gate to exit. Only drawback was no credit cards accepted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
We intended to stay at the Castroville Park for only one night then proceed to Corpus Christi for the winter. The park host informed us that the monthly rate was recently reduced to $250 including electric and WiFi. The regional park is ideal for long walks and has some invigorating trails in the nearby hills. The park is very dog friendly and the 100+ acres is sticker-free unlike most places in Texas. The Park Ranger lives in the RV park near the host at the entrance so security is excellent. The locals that use the park for picnics and exercise are very friendly. The RV park has a small coin operated laundry with near new machines and there is a rec room with a computer and printer for guest use and a large kitchen area. There are no organized activities but the community has line dancing and water aerobics for seniors. We decided to winter in Castroville for the reasons listed above. We full time in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
A very friendly, well maintained park, with a very charming town and people, very helpful people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
This is a family type campground which is located right on the Medina River as it flows through town. It's part of a much larger park with all kinds of facilities. We were there for Labor Day 2005 and there was quite a mix of campers including some hunters. It's close to San Antonio via excellent road and Castroville is a pretty and historic town. Shade trees are big and beautiful but we got in late so we didn't put the awning down and never got around to it the rest of the weekend. The park manager is a wonderful person who did her best to make us feel welcome, particularly with getting a 40' vehicle into some tight spaces. Gave it only a 9 for lack of WiFi although the modem connection in the rec building worked fine and fast for a dial-up. Castroville was settled by folks from the Alsace region of France and has a unique history. There's also a Texas State Historical Park (the Landmark Inn) on the main highway. The Sunday service at the downtown Catholic church was very memorable. There are a couple of Alsatian restaurants in town and we went to one after church. Rates are very reasonable at $20/day, $120/week, and $240/month, all of which include electricity! Plan to go back for an extended stay once we go to fulltiming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a family type campground. That said, the only one's here at the same time as my wife and I, were retired travelers. It's 18 miles to San Antonio via excellent road, and lots to do. Shade trees are big and beautiful, so I didn't feel a need to put the awning out. The park manager is a wonderful person who does her best to accommodate most any need. The only reason I down-graded at all was because of no cable TV hook-up, and they're considering doing that. I fully intend to head back there in 2 years and will stay at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com