214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Oaks RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (979) 732-2610
CGID2743

Happy Oaks RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   5   5   6   4   7   4   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
A rundown park that is just for the desperate. Listed in Passport America and over priced at 50% (cash). Freeway noise never quiets down. It is an easy off and on and near a fueling stop. Several permanents that appear to have been parked for a long time. We won't be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Spent 1 night here in May. Very close to interstate, traffic noise will bother you if you are a light sleeper. The management was friendly. My site was a pull through as it appeared most were. Most of the site appeared to be rented to long term stays and they were up early starting vehicles to go to work. The only restroom I could find was in the office and it was a single room much like a mobile home restroom with a toilet, sink and tub/shower. All and all it was ok for a 1 night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Decent place to spend night. Gravel/dirt roads, lot of permanent trailers and park models, interstate traffic close by. However, clean enough place and friendly owner. We had a shady pull-through site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
Rate reflects Passport America discount, and you should Not pay a cent more. CG is a parking lot with trailer homes in the back. Front RV sites are across from the highway, although it became white noise at night. No trains blaring through. Staff helpful, free Wi-Fi acceptable but slow. Verizon air card and cell work fine. This is a stopover CG only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
The Passport American rate was $20.00. No way is this park worth $40.00. It is mainly a mobile home park. There is absolutely nothing to do here. We understand it is under new ownership, but still can not see a $40.00 rate. The sewer connections are covered with a 2 liter soda bottle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$15
Campground is right on I-10. You will hear highway traffic at all times. There were probably 15 or 20 FEMA type, park model trailers that took up all of the sites away from the interstate. No water working the day we were here. This is just an overnight park, nothing more. The park is clean and the staff was very nice. If you need help setting up your site the manager will assist. Easy in and out pull-through sites. You will not get any roof antenna TV and cell phone signal is zero bars. Price of $15 was okay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$15
We stayed here 2 nights. Good level pull through site. The manager was helpful and friendly. They have satellite internet in the office and if you are close enough you can get a good signal. Skype does not work well on satellite setup. Very easy on/off I-10. Would stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
This park is handy off the interstate and for $15.00 Passport America, is okay. No way is it worth $30-$35 a night. Was told there are new managers and the price has gone up from what is stated. Must have cash, no checks or credit cards. One bathroom with a tub, which looked just okay, and was for both man and woman. No toilet paper. Glad we have our own. Sounds like new owners are moving trailers in, so may not be an RV park in the future. Might check before planning on stopping here, although it is easy to get back on freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$13
No Wi-Fi. No fire ring. Rate is Passport America. This place is what it is. A good overnight spot worth paying the $13 for the AC rather than Walmart just down the road. You pay, then go out, and pick whatever empty spot you want. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
A very handy park to get to right off of I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
It makes me sad to see the ONLY other two reviews for this RV Park, and it is even more disheartening to know who wrote those reviews. The other two (bad) reviews were written by competitors of this campground. I know because they brag about this and laugh, and are not discreet in doing so. This RV Park is extremely convenient, and does not deserve the bad reviews. I have to RV frequently and have stayed in no less than 17 RV Parks in and around the Houston, San Antonio, Texas area. On my list of RV Parks great for over night stays: this RV Park rates a 7 from me. I do not have experience with a long term stay here, but I have had to stay two nights at a time and I have not found what the other two reviews say to be true. Please give this park a chance and decide for yourself. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
This was our worst camping experience. We arrived late and followed all the instruction at the office which was unattended. After filing out the paperwork and putting it in a mail slot we attemped to find a spot. The electrical, water and sewer layouts were very odd and unconventional, so it took some time to find a spot that I could actually hook up to. I have very a long electrical cord, fresh water and sewer hoses but was still barely able to hook up. After I hooked up, the manager agressively approached me accusing me of attempting to dump and run. They were relentless and kept accusing me, despite the fact that I had deposited all my information at the office. She would not leave the site and was extremely rude and disrespectful. I finally insisted she go check her drop box for our information and let us get to sleep. This whole affair took 1 - 2 hours and we didn't end up getting to sleep till 1:00am. At 7:00am they knocked at our door to tell us checkout time. At 7:30 they started to mow the lawn and loudly empty trash cans, elimiating any possibility of further sleep. When I went to settle up the bill I got an unending list of how I agrivated them. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! We felt like unwelcome criminals the entire 7 hours we were here. They have no respect and are very discourtious to their customers. What initially looked like a good deal at $18.75 ended up costing us $2.60 per hour to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$16
This park claims in it's web site to be quiet. It is located directly on the access road for Interstate 10 and is anything but. The park is overlit with sodium vapor lights which make it nearly impossible to sleep.The lights are equiped with switches at ground level but even consider turning them off. If you do,you will quite likely suffer the manager's wrath. We did and were quickly screamed at, threatened with eviction and very nearly had local law enforcement called. The manager provided us with a list of her medical conditions and implied that we were somehow responsible for nearly sending her to the hospital. This person is very unstable, making for a very unpleasant experience to say the least. If your needing a spot in the Columbus area, check out the Columbus RV Park. Much better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com