223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Colonia del Rey RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (361) 937-2435
CGID2747

Colonia del Rey RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
210
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   4   8   6   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This park is nice. Well located near Padre, easy in easy out. Office staff was pleasant. The children's playground is unkempt, and the sites are small. Other than those two things, we enjoyed our visit and will stay again, We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Pros: Clean bathrooms and showers, nice laundry room, level sites, nice picnic tables, good Wi-Fi, close to beaches and restaurants, check-in was smooth, office helpful with extra quarters for laundry, nice laundry area, easy to find location. Cons: Tighter camp sites, hard to get in/out with a bigger rig, also there seemed to be many full-time residents which detracted a little bit from the feel of the park. The weather was cooler and windy while we were there, so weren't able to try out the pool and didn't use the hot tub. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$29
The campground itself was nice. Good location - near shopping, beaches, and restaurants. Free WiFi, but spotty service. We stayed in an upgraded site which was concrete, with a weekly rate. Other sites are gravel. Laundry room was OK, older machines. Staff seemed abrupt. Overall, good park. We would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$38
I was very disappointed with the park. When we checked in, the staff seemed not to care and didn't give me any information or receipt. We were on our way to find our campsite when someone in a golf cart did come and help us find it. The dog park was probably 12x12 (very small in my opinion considering there was no where else to walk them). You are packed in like sardines. I will never go back here. If you are a winter Texan you may enjoy it as the neighbors seemed friendly. Wished I had stayed at a local State Park. We had no where to even sit outside as the spot they put us in barely contained our 43 foot trailer so we had to park our truck beside it. The Wi-Fi was so slow I used my cell as a hot spot. I think it was $38 a night as I never got a receipt and it was $144 charged to my discover for 4 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
The good: friendly staff and the hook-ups are convenient. The bad: roads are narrow and sites are cramped. Road noise is annoying and goes on late into the night. Lots of permanent residents. Wi-Fi didn't work at all for us. Would not stay again, but that's just my opinion! Not much choice in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
This camp ground needs a serious Wi-Fi network upgrade. We used one of the lower cost sites and could not use the internet for the week we were there. I did a walk around with my Kindle Fire and could not get much better even in the club-house either. The campground was clean; the pool was great, but the hot tub was out of commission for the week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Good resort in Flour Bluff. Near by shopping and eating places. We stayed one night, and we liked the location, and the office staff was very friendly and helpful and took us to the site. We were given a very nice, level, pull through for truck and rig, and hook ups were in good shape and worked well. Has pool and hot tub, did not use but looked in good condition. Would stay again for longer time when back in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Why a 7? There is a mix of good and not so good here. Paved roads and mostly paved sites are the good. We had a pull through with plenty of room for out 40 foot and toad; although, we did have to unhook to get in. Water pressure is pretty poor and the Wi-Fi is worse. Barely enough to get email. Pool looks small but decent enough. Lots of full timers here, but that isn't a concern for us. Staff is very friendly. It is a big enough park that we were able to do a few loops with the dog for his exercise. There is a Super Walmart and an HEB just down the road. The poor Wi-Fi and water pressure loses them points. But if you don't need Wi-Fi, this place is fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Staff was very friendly and easy to work with. We arrived late and it was a little confusing to find our site, but the staff came out to ensure we were settled in properly. Nice shady park, pull thru was graveled and maintained. All hookups were easily accessible and in good working order. Shopping, restaurants, beaches, and entertainment was well within reach of this site. This is an older park with several permanent residents. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
Well cared for campground. Most sites are concrete. A number of long term renters. Bathrooms are nice enough, and the laundry is very nice. The pool is solar heated, which means it was cold. Hot tub was not working the first 2 days we were here. Relatively quiet, a little road noise. Very convenient for entry to Mustang Island or North Padre Island. Shopping convenient. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
We picked this park for the proximity to Mustang Island for the birding. We were very pleased with the park and all its facilities. We had one of the deluxe sites, we parked on concrete, had a patio, picnic table and BBQ grill. We didn't go in the pool, but it looked nice. The laundry was quite big with carts to transfer your clothes. The ladies in the office were very friendly and helpful, each and every time I approached with another question. There is an HEB grocery store just down the street and WalMart is less than a mile away. We will definitely be returning here again when we return next fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$29
For weekly motorhome sites 38-43 are more spacious. Large percentage of permanents. Average park but does not meet the standards of "Best Parks." Close to Padre Island. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
This park is terrible. The gravel sites are very uneven and we could smell sewage near our site. There was also a cat urine odor, as well as cigarette butts and dog feces everywhere. The pool was not clean. We camped here for one night and did not feel safe, so we stayed in our camper and left early the next morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
We stayed here for 3 nights and found it to be a pleasant campground. The sites are no closer together than most parks. The office staff was extremely helpful. When we arrived I asked if our reserved site had shade and was told it didn't. One of the ladies drove me around in a golf cart to show me which sites were available, and I was able to choose one that was shady. Most of the sites did offer shade. The campground was about 20 minutes from Padre Island, which wasn't much of a beach. We would stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
This is the most crowded RV park we have been in. Forget about putting out your awnings. Very unfriendly park, mostly permanent residents, unsightly rigs and campers. Not close to much and very noisy due to traffic. Definitely not as advertised, if you read their website it must have been written by the owner. Have been RVing since 2007 and would never come back here. Much nicer parks around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$26
Our rate was Good Sam plus the new $5.00 1 time discount through Good Sam. The park was clean nice friendly people, our sight was a small pull through on gravel. There were a lot of dogs, but well behaved, also there were a lot of cats that belong to the the long term residents. My wife and I have been there before and will go back again. This time we notice several campers had children, they were mostly in one area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
We pulled in and the staff were quite friendly. The park is clean and we decided to stay for a week. By the 2nd day we regretted paying for a week. Wi-Fi was slow on a consistent basis. Dog area is very small, and every time we were there (4 to 5 times a day) there was waste from other people's dogs. We stopped using it. Bathrooms were iffy: clean 'enough' for me but not my partner. Showers were adequate if you went shortly after it was cleaned. Water pressure was very low; toilets had trouble flushing at times and twice I could barely wash my hands of soap. We did not have a tow vehicle, and there was really nothing to see in walking distance or biking (schools and fast food areas); however, only 3 blocks from major food store HEB. Lastly this isn't a complaint but more of a concern. One resident has many cats (at one point I saw at least 4 full grown and 5 kittens) and cat bowls of food/water on the site. Cats started to come onto our site and of course excited our dogs at times. Went to the office, and they said we are the first to complain. We informed them it's a concern as well as a health issue to have so many stray cats attracted to that site. They didn't appear to want to address the issue. Kittens are cute, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$11
We were going to spend the winter at Colonia, but found the "Winter Texans" to be so snobbish and cliquish we looked for another park. Getting a seat at the pot luck dinners is hard because "the group" save seats for their buddies and even save seats for friends who don't even live in the park! The cable TV is below par and the Wi-Fi is on, off, weak, and not dependable. The management raised the rates this year and probably will again next year. It's an adequate park, but the snobbish winter Texans ruined it for us and I'm sure many others, too. The rate shown was for a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Thank you for the opportunity to stay at this park. No place is perfect; too many people complain about too many things. This park is well managed with owners on site daily and an extremely well informed office staff. The owners and their employees are most friendly. Many activities are planned and well attended. some sites are not as large as others. The staff will work with you as much as possible to find a satisfactory site. There are some permanent residents. Mostly winter Texans who make a grand exit in April; most returning again in Oct. Clean restrooms, showers adequate, (only because of low water pressure). There is a swimming pool and hot tub. A laundry is on site. There is nearby shopping and, of course,the entrance to Padre Island is only ten minutes away. The wi-fi is slow but is being continually worked on to improve the service. There are many dogs, and yes, some people are neglectful about picking up after their pets. Very friendly winter Texans. We will be returning again this year for the experience of greeting old friends and meeting new. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Rate is with Passport America. Your basic Winter Texan park with small sites close together. Some were grass sites others were concrete. Older park, but very adequate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
This park apparently was voted a "Best in America" park and advertises highest rated park in Corpus Christi. I would disagree with this honor. While the park is more than adequate in amenities advertised we've stayed in much nicer/cleaner parks at lesser (regular) cost, and some of the amenities are flawed. The restroom/shower room A/C was not working entire time of our stay: 4 nights. And water pressure was quite low. Electricity was poor. Electrical lines are not thick enough for a park of this size and cannot handle all the campers' needs, i.e: A/C, fridge electric, microwave and coffee pot. A pigtail plugged into 50 amp helped a bit for our 30 amp needs but still, with just A/C our voltage regulator was borderline with unsafe (in the red). So we kept our fridge on LP, made coffee with A/C off, etc. Pool is very small and bottom has some rough spots: husband's toe got cut. Staff was fairly friendly/helpful but not overly so, especially when I asked if Passport America rate was still $14-$18.50/night per the directory. Rates are not what are quoted in the Passport America 2011 book. Regular rate to date is $32 for gravel, $40 for cement. Our $20 rate reflects their P.A. discount Without the 50% discount we would not have stayed here. Dogs barking were annoying but as an animal lover figured it's the owners' fault. Overall, the park was OK, average. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
Although they advertise "80'", concrete slabs part of the 80 feet is down hill and unless you have levelers that extend 4 feet you don't want to believe it for some sites. We had a "pull through" but had to disconnect because the turn to get into the site was too tight and we couldn't pull far enough forward without the front end going down hill. The long time residents of the park felt they didn't need to abide by the "7.5 mph" speed limit that was posted throughout the park nor did they slow down much for the speed bumps. I'm sure the local shock absorber companies do a land slide business in this area. They were easily doing 30 mph down our "street"! There were many people out walking their dogs and the cars flew by them like they had no business being out in the park. Unbelievable. This park is good for a few days stay but we wouldn't stay here for an extended period. It would probably be safer to camp out in the median on the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Nice laundry, but expensive. Wi-Fi POOR and costs $4 a day. If you don't have exotic electronic gear, forget it. Good location. I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$50
We stayed here for 3 months, Jan/Feb/Mar 2011. I put nightly rate in as $50 but don't really know as we paid by the month. We really enjoyed staying at this campground. People were friendly and very helpful. Campground was clean and well taken care of. Many organized activities and everyone was open for new ideas. The only thing we didn't like was the endless Texas wind, which the campground had no control over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$29
The facilities are nice and there are a lot of activities in the campground. We picked a drive-through site that was cement, long and level. Utilities were well spaced and sewer was downhill (why do so many other campgrounds have uphill sewers connections and long reaches for water and electric?). The cable TV was clear with a lot of channels. The WI-FI signal was very weak at our site, so we opted not to pay the extra $4/day for what we felt might be poor service. The fellow campers were friendly. Expect to see a LOT of dog walking. We felt very safe with the Fire Department and Police Department within a couple of blocks. The campground is also positioned well for area sights and services. Our only disappointment was the office staff. We paid $28.80 per night, which was the Good Sam rate. We have stayed here before, but will probably try a different campground near Aransas Pass on our next visit to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$15
This is a clean, cramped RV park. It is OK for a short term stay. The sites are small and you have little room to spread out. If you have a pet, you will deal with the nasty prickers that are in the grass almost everywhere. One bad thing about the park is the constant sound of what seems to be a diesel generator, 24/7 from the lot next door. You may have to close your window just to tone it down. It is a little like water torture. We had planned to stay for the winter, but the humming from the noise and the semi-city location was not what we wanted. The road in front of the RV is fairly busy and a little rough to get in and out of the park. The worst thing about this park is that it is located next to a cell tower. For a short term stay this would be OK, but for long term, the EMF radiation is probably not healthy. Doing a search on antennasearch.com, you will see that this entire area is a hot bed for towers. There are 50 of them close to the park, with the cell tower less than 50' from the park. This is not a healthy area and certainly not a vacation destination. This park is close to good shopping and is a light city area. I don't agree that this should be listed in bestparksinamerica.com, but that is a good selling feature for the owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Park was clean, sites were level, and it was fairly quiet. Had lots of permanent residents. Electric was good. I'd go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
The Colonia Del Rey RV Park is just "okay"...it is clean, sites are fairly level. (They insist you park your coach to the back and park your 'toad' in front.) However, it is only a mile from the Naval Air Station, so many of the campers here are permanent and there is much traffic early morning and evening hours. The Hot tub was out of order, due to vandalism; thus giving us a uneasy sense about our neighbors. The Park guide you receive when checking is is very misleading as 3 of the 4 pictures are of the actual park, the forth is of the ocean and beach. Which you can not get to without getting in your car and driving to it. The whole 'feel' to the park is cold, as though you are an outsider and we even are retired military with the bumper sticker that says so. I rate this one a C+ and probably will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
A decent park. We were here for four nights and toured the area each day by Jeep. Lots to see and do around the CP area. WiFi is available here but only for a fee, so we used our Verizon card. Has a nice laundry room. The pool was small and somewhat dirty so we didn't use it at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
Cable reception was terrible and a $4.00 charge for internet which was not stated in the Passport America guide. It was so far from a high rated park, with old trailers with junk stored next to them. This was the most over rated park we have come across. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This is a nice park. A little tight on space, but well-maintained. The nicest thing about the park is it's manager. She is one of the most pleasant managers we've ever dealt with. Friendly, helpful, great sense of humor. Her volunteer staff is also made up of really neat women. We stayed for the month of April: cost was $385.00 plus electricity. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Nice park. paved streets and small patios. The swimming pool is the smallest I've ever seen in an RV park. There is also a hot tub. The Wi-Fi was good. Our spot was very long and wide, not all are. There seemed to be a lot of people that stay there either full time or seasonally. There were huge trees over us so we didn't get satellite reception but our Verizon worked well. The park is very convenient to Mustang Island and shopping. There is a HEB within walking distance. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Roads in park are cement and in good shape. Our site was pull thru, long, wide, level, cement pad, had a table, BBQ cooking equipment, cable TV with lots of channels, 50 amps, water and sewer. We also had lots of trees, plants and flowers around the site. Staff was helpful at check in and will take you to your site. Other sites are a mixed bag of dirt, gravel and grass. Staff will try to place you in the correct site to fit your unit. Small playground equipment for kids. Small dog walk inside a fence near front of park. Short drive to beaches from here. Fi-Wi was $4.00 per day and we did not use it. You will have road noise if you are near the front of park. Everything you may need like H.E.B., Wal-Mart and places to eat are close by. Lots to see and do in this city. Verizon cell and air card worked well here. A nice park to visit. Rates were a mix of Good Sam and Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
This is a nice park to spend time in if visiting the Corpus Christi area. It has easy access to many of the sites in the area. The park is a little crowded and takes some tricky maneuvering to get a large rig into the site and get out. There are a lot of long term trailers in the park. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
We were traveling through Texas on the way to Arizona and decided to stay at Colonia Del Rey. We ended up staying an extra day here. It was very nice and the people were very friendly and informative. Great restrooms, laundry, and pool area. Would definitely stay here again for a longer period if in the area. It would be a good destination park for anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
This is an older and VERY TIRED campground. Very cramped sites. a few concrete pads but many sites are gravel. Too cold to use the pool, but 8 people overcrowd it - no more than 10' x 18'. We spent a week here, but I would hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
We took one of their premium spots which equates to a nice concrete pad with 50 amp hookups. Good spacing between rigs in this area but the less expensive spots were very crowded. As mentioned in another review the park roads are narrow for navigation. Warning - There are power lines running over the park and one of the lines is only 15 ft high. I climbed the roof ladder and had I not taken a look up at the top would have stood up directly into the line. The interference from the power lines has limited Verizon coverage too. Pros - Suburb location across bridge from Padre Island; 3 blocks from supermarket and gas; Excellent laundry facility with clean industrial machines. Cons - Loud neighbors and day time air traffic from NAS; low power lines; tight navigation of rig. Overall - we originally planned on staying 2 weeks but changed our mind and will only stay the 1. An okay park for short stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
The park was okay, easy check in, a lady escorted me to my site. Some interesting residents. I'm really upset that the Coast to Coast rate is 25.00, the regular rate is 28.00! I also have PPA but couldn't use it on the weekend, although they were no where near full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
This was our first time staying at an RV park in Corpus Christi, Texas. The people are very friendly. All the shopping you would want is close by. Good fishing areas and beaches are also close. We would definitely recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a Coast to Coast rate. Like other reviewers: the amount of permanent residents seemed concerning at first, but their sites were kept up and very clean. Staff here was very friendly and took the time to give us advice on local eateries, etc. I also have to agree that this place was very tight for pulling a camper. We camped here in a 38' 5th wheel and if that end spot on the curve heading out to the exit had been occupied when we left, I think I would still be trapped there!! The bathhouse facilities were extremely clean (cleaned every morning in fact). They have individual bathrooms containing the toilet/showers/sinks that I thought was great and they had A/C. Being August, this was a plus! This park is also a little off the Corpus Christi "beaten path" which we liked. I gave this place an 8 due to the tight spots and paying for Wi-Fi. In 2009: I don't think anyone should be paying for Wi-Fi, and that includes hotels too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
After staying one night at this park, my opinion about it changed a little bit. At first, I was turned off by the amount of permanenet residents living there (as their sites were NOT maintained very well and had quite a bit of stuff laying around), however, the staff was very friendly, the public grounds were adequately maintained, and the atmosphere was charming. I spoke to many of the park guests... no one had a negative thing to say about the park. The spaces are very narrow. One of the staff seemed put out by my truck being in the road DURING HOOKUP to leave, so this is why I rated the park as an 8. Otherwise, our stay was great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
This is the Passport America rate. I thought the interior roads were narrow. There are a lot of long term/seasonal/workers living in the park, not a negative, but lot's of them. I stayed in a pull through, trees and narrow roadway made it difficult to pull my 40' motor home out. It took some work. The Park is clean, and staff is friendly. All that being said, I would come here again, but be more selective as to what space I am assigned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$37
We were disappointed in this campground. The sites were helter-skelter like a tornado had set them all down. Many of the sites were extremely close. Extra charge for wifi. We had a premium site for $37 and there was nothing premium about it. We were there two days and none of the other campers acknowledged us even though we always waved. The ladies in the office were very nice and helpful. It's not someplace we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
We stayed at this campground for 13 nights. Although the campground is not situated in a very nice part of Corpus Christi, it was close to all areas around the city. The site itself was level but like the rest of the campground it was not eye appealing. Everyone was extremely friendly in the campground but there were many permanent residents. The showers and bathrooms were very clean, the cable worked fine but WiFi was not included in the price although it was available. There is a large Heb and smaller WalMart within walking distance. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$37
Very nice park and dog friendly - great management and facilities. Many activities to do in the park including a dance, morning walks, and bbq's. Ended up staying in a Premium Daily Spot due to the cheaper ones not being large enough for 3 slide-outs and size of our rig - nice level concrete slab but slots are extremely close to one another and there is quite a bit of road noise 24/7 including police cars and fire engines. May want to try a spot in the middle or back if you stay. Camped here in a fifth wheel - may or may not stay here again. Definitely the nicest campground we have visited in the Corpus area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$27
We stayed at Colonia Del Ray for 5 months. The park is located within a short drive to the beach. It is a clean and friendly park. Sites vary depending on rig and price you want to pay,some concrete slab some gravel. The showers were very nice. Basically they are 5 or 6 small individual bathrooms with a toilet and shower and sink,all well maintained. Good laundry room with plenty of washers and driers. There is a clubhouse which hosts many parties etc. Office staff were friendly and helpful. Pool is nice and open most of the time. Free cable service with a decent selection of channels. Wifi is through Wireless Web and is patchy. Sites are fairly spacious and well maintained with electric, water and sewer. Some of the sites are located close to the main road and can be quite noisy. There is a small dog area but nowhere to walk the dogs except around the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Nice park, quiet, close to most everything especially the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$31
An urban RV park, not scenic, but in an area of low development. Quiet, well-managed. Only a few miles south of the Corpus Christi Naval Air Station (where our son is at present) and practically on top of the bridge over the Intercoastal Waterway to Mustang and Padre Island. We felt the security was good, the bathrooms were outstanding and the staff helpful. Obviously the place is geared to snowbirds judging by the activities listed for those months (and we are told it is hard to get into). We stayed approximately 3-weeks in May into June and were pleased by the location. CC is a small city and very easy to get around. This park is only a few minutes from the best shopping in the city and it was very easy to take day trips to the outlying areas. The pool was closed during our stay. We were parked near the front gate (handy) in the overnighters spots. The breeze is great, the shade isn't but South Texas is hot wherever one is. Several CC residents (and RV techs) stated they thought it the better of the CC RV parks (less amenities offered by some others). We didn't want to camp next to the beach, but were never constrained in access. Keep expectations reasonable, this is an excellent park overall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
We originally reserved for 3 nights enroute to north Houston area to visit a nephew. Being Passport America members we did receive the discount although the price was higher than the latest Passport America book indicated. After the first night, we found out that our nephew, being a commercial pilot would have to fly the day we intended to arrive. This parks no refund policy is very strict. We would advise all rv'ers to reserve nightly unless absolutely sure of the length of their stay. The sites are very narrow, but the plus side is they are paved and clean. Will not return because they don't understand they are in the rv park business and we rv'ers are always on the move. Management would be better suited for a mobile home park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
We stayed here the month of March in a fifth wheel on site #2. The staff is very helpful and nice, they never treat you like you are a bother to them. The place is very clean. The hot tub is hot and clean. Pool could use a pool heater due to cool nights. Sites are roomy for this part of TEXAS. Near all major stores. Great fishing from shore or boat. We stayed here in 2005 and came back in 2007. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
As a previous poster mentioned, "there are numerous folks living in this park". However, that same poster also indicated that there were "piles of junk around their trailers and RV's". This is no longer (and maybe never was) totally accurate. While about 8 sites in the back of this park are a bit on the "rough" side, there are most certainly not "piles of junk" anywhere in this park. This is a nice park with mostly level concrete patios and sites and the staff is very friendly. The downside here is that the sites are VERY narrow (mine was less than 18 feet wide), the park could have been designed a bit better (some sites are tricky to get into), the pool is a bit small (get 8 people in it, and it's crowded), and the rate is a bit high. Our daily rate of $27 was only because we paid for a week. Otherwise, it would have been much higher. All in all this is a nice park and we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$34
Park was a disappointment, based on prior reviews. We stayed a month before moving down to the RGV. Managers and employees were very distant, we observed little or no warmth in their attitudes. The park is in need of a lot of "TLC". It has too many old rundown RV's in the park that had a lot of "junk" sitting around the trailers. In the month we were there, no grass was cut nor was there any visible maintenance completed other than the pool and hot-tub. A "junk" parking lot at the rear of the park is very visible. Many of the back street sites are gravel as well as their vehicle parking. This causes a lot of mud tracking. This could be a very pretty park with good management and a heavy effort on cleanup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
We have mixed feelings about this facility. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful, which alleviated some of the negative aspects of the place. It's less than a block away from a fire department station, so the siren noise as the trucks left the station got really annoying after 3 weeks. We were located right at the front of the park, in what they called the daily sites. These were very close together, but we did have a patch of grass outside the door. Other sites further back had only concrete and rocks. There are numerous folks living in this park, as evidenced by the piles of junk around their trailers and RV's. You wouldn't see the junky places unless you walked around to the back section of the park. We probably won't go back. We felt it was quite expensive for the small, tight sites, especially after we found a place a mile or so away with huge sites and big trees for much less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$35
This one is very nice. It's not hard to find and the place was very clean and well maintained. The office staff was very helpful and friendly and we checked in on a day when the weather wasn't nice, but they still were cheery and led us to our site. At first it looks to be a bit crowded, but there isn't any problem getting a big rig around in the park and even though you might be close to your neighbor, there isn't much noise. Plenty of Winter Texans use this one. There are some permanants and some park models, but every site is well landscaped and kept tidy. The only drawback is it's a bit pricey for the area, but I guess you get what you pay for and it does have the amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
Stayed in this park over the weekend prior to the 4th of July. The only negative that I can think to say about it is that it is not particularly convenient to downtown Corpus Christi, although it is convenient to the beaches and local shopping is very convenient. The best part of this park is the staff. Even though we came in a couple of hours after the office closed, we were greeted by a couple of hosts who opened the office, checked us in, and led us to our site in a golf cart. They also provided lots of good advice on things to do and places to eat. The park has a nice feel - it's primarily a full time park or monthly park with a limited number of short stay sites, but the result is like being in a neighborhood. The permanent sites are very well maintained, you are much more likely to see big pots of flowers on the permanent sites rather than old cars on blocks. Lot's of landscaping, nice pool, even a large hot tub. We'll be back to this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Very nice park. A lot of good work has went into this park. Small number of sites in front and rear of park are close. About 80% of sites have large cement pads and lot of space around each site. Small number of trees here. Light wind blows in off the Gulf of Mexico. Small play ground equipment for kids. Some road noise but it was not a problem. Park is very clean. Staff was nice at check in. Wal-Mart and a large super market close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Nice park, but packed in a bit tight, usually between people that are staying seasonally. Modem hookup is in laundry building, and you usually have people waiting to use it (only one hookup). Lots of grown trees, shading the area. This is good, normally, but not during rain--as it tends to be muddy in the shady spots. 4 roomy private restrooms/showers (one toilet, sink, shower behind a closed locked door)--that were always clean. But, as seems usual in RV parks--no soap provided for washing your hands. Probably the closest park in Corpus Christi to the bridge to Padre Island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com