224255 User submitted reviews online!!
Daingerfield State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (903) 645-2921
CGID2752

Daingerfield State Park

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   8   10   8   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Love this campground. Need to book early if you have large rig as there are limited large sites. We have camped here many times and always love it. Camping under trees. Great camp fire areas when there is not a burn ban. Fire wood available at office. Exact nightly rate may be different as we use park pass with discounts and free nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We just purchased our 5th wheel after years of saving for a truck and a camper. We chose this campground as our first trip out, even though we hadn't ever been here before. We LOVED this campground. It was kept very clean (the bathrooms and the shower was very nice). We stayed in the "Big Pine" loop, which has 10 pull through spots that are very big. Our first night we stayed in spot #1 which was very private looking towards the woods and very close to the bathrooms. Our second night, most people left and we moved to spot #6 which is on the very end, lakeside, and very private. It has direct (private) access to the lake (I sat on a lawn chair next to my own private area of the lake) and also the 2.5 mile path around the lake. Our spot was surrounding mostly by fully mature pine trees and some deciduous trees (no leaves this time of year). It was a nice large site and best of all, we didn't have to level at all in spot #6! I was very impressed and happy with this campground. I wish it was closer to home so we could come on the weekends! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Very nice campground and park, clean with friendly staff. On map, middle section of 10 pull thru sites is going to be big rig friendly, if your over 30' and these are full your choices will be limited to about 3 more sites. Playground consists of swings and slide only. Nice views of lake from point with swimming. Park also offers hiking trails. Will come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
This is one of our all time favorite Texas state parks. We've been coming to the park for decades. We love the peace and serenity the park offers. We RVed there with a group of 20 from our church and came down to the park to cook for the group. Last year the park went through a total renovation and improved the infrastructure. Many of the roads have been repaved and smoothed out and all new restroom/shower facilities have been built. The park's staff did an incredible job renovating the park but keeping the "character" of the park intact and not changing it. My wife and I can't say enough good about Daingerfield State Park. Jefferson, one of our favorite Texas cities, is a short 30 minute drive from the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
This park is a very clean, well kept park. The restrooms have recently been redone and are very nice. Small lake provides fishing and boating. Many nature trails throughout the park provide ample opportunities to explore nature. My kids love it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
We've been RV'ing at Daingerfield State Park for decades now, starting out tent camping and finally in our present travel trailer. We were wondering how the year's total renovations were going to affect the "character" of the park. The new renovations in the park are fantastic. The sites in Big Pine are now very level and all sites in the park have full hookups. During the renovation process, all the old bathrooms/showers were torn down and replaced with newly built ones. Daingerfield State Park is truly a very special destination for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Really pretty campground in a wooded park. Full hook-ups, peaceful setting. Good TV reception, very strong Verizon, however very poor AT&T. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
We stayed here the weekend after the 4th of July, just after the park had reopened on (July 1st) from their major renovation project. They have built new shower/restroom facilities in all the camping areas and have added full hook-ups to most of the RV campsites (including the Dogwood and Mountain View sites). Previously, the full hook-ups were only at the pull-through sites (Big Pine). Unfortunately, the newest full hookup sites are very short, so longer RVs will be difficult and next to impossible to accommodate. Keep in mind these were formerly tent campsites many years ago so you are parking an RV in what used to be the parking space for your car. These new full hookup sites are very sloped. Be prepared to use many leveling blocks. The shade trees are wonderful and the lots are spaced fairly far apart. We used the swimming beach and went to the new camp store. It has all been completely renovated. There are paddle boats and canoes for rent on the small lake. We could barely get an AT&T cell phone signal so forget about using an iPhone here. We enjoyed our stay and plan to visit this beautiful park again. I rated this a 9 due to the extremely sloped sites and limited space to park a tow vehicle. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
This was our second stay here. The first time we were evacuating from Hurricane Katrina. This time we were here on business and the weather turned cold. It snowed several inches and we lost power. It was not a problem because of our generator. Actually quite an adventure. The maintenance people quickly removed downed trees and limbs and made the park serviceable. The pull through sites are a bit tight for a 42' motorhome, but very workable. Probably too many trees for satellite reception, over the air had several channels. Beautiful park, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
Daingerfield State Park is not the fanciest park in the Texas State Park system, but it is the park where we go to get away from it all and relax. We started camping in this park when we had a tent. We stayed 5 days over the New Year's holiday and didn't want to leave when we checked out on Sunday. It's been several years since we've stayed at the park and all was the same upon our arrival. The park was just like we had remembered it, perfect in all aspects. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
This is a beautiful park with 10 very nice paved pull-through full hook up sites. Each site has a fire ring, picnic table and grill. The sites are nicely shaded and separated from the other sites by trees. Our rig needed considerable leveling. Five of the sites have direct access to a lovely, clean, spring-fed lake. The park offers swimming and has a swimming platform in the lake. When we were there in the fall, canoes and pedal boats were available to rent on the weekends. There is a nice hiking trail around the lake. The other trails noted on the map from the visitor center have not been marked or maintained and are impossible to follow. During the day, this park is very peaceful and quiet. Our one complaint - and a big one it is - is that two large dogs kept outside in the fenced yard of the ranger's nearby on-site residence barked frequently all night long every night, keeping us from ever getting a good night's sleep. They start at about midnight and end at first light. They must sleep during the day. Although the outside temperature was perfect for sleeping, we had to close our windows and turn on the air-conditioning in an attempt to sleep, but even that wasn't enough. We will be making a complaint to the Parks and Wildlife Commission. We would love to return but would only do so if assured the dogs are not left outside to bark during the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This is a wonderful little state park. We stayed just as the leaves started to turn for the fall. 10 sites were full hookups. 5 of those were lakefront and the other 5 were just across the road. Definitely try to get a lakefront site if possible. All of the sites were fairly secluded from each other by vegetation. We had no trouble getting into the space. It was a little out of level, but not bad at all. Staff were very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
An older CCC built park, but it's beautiful. The only thing you have to watch are the narrow roads. It only has 10 sites that can handle the modern larger MHs and 5th wheels, but they are full hookups and only two of them would require some extra care in getting into. The front office personnel are very helpful and the Ranger is friendly. Good fishing in the small lake and the views from your campsite are great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
A quite park with tall pines mixed with some hardwood. The full hookup loop has paved pull throughs. Some sites are tight due to the close proximity of large pine trees. In addition, some sites are not level nor smooth, i.e. the roots of the pine trees have grown under the paving causing bumps in the paving. The lake is very nice. We rented a paddle boat and a canoe. You can fish without a license. There is a trail around the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$12
One of our favorite parks closer to the DFW area. Small quiet park around a small lake. Not too many camp sites and no noisy power boats or jet skies. Very clear water and ideal for swimming and canoing. You can rent canoes or paddle boats. Nice shaded sites. Perfect for a summer retreat. Nice hiking path around the lake. Not too long, and easy for smaller kids. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$12
This is a beautiful park situated on a lake; it is known for its fall foliage colors. The park is very well maintained; it had the cleanest restrooms and showers I've seen in a long time. Park staff was extremely helpful. There are only ten sites with full hookups, but the dump station was very convenient. It has a park store; canoes, kayaks are rented year round; fishing is permitted without a license since the lake is totally confined inside the park. I can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
Our stay was great. Not a busy park, but plenty to do. We enjoyed the fact it was not a park with too many sites. The lake was 88 acres and only for family activities and fishing. Motor boats only at idle speed. The scenery was excellent and the park employees were are very helpfull and nice. Will be back in a few weeks before school starts. The kids all enjoyed the trails and swimming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
We did a drive through only here. It is a beautiful park, thick with many trees. Since we pull a 39' 5th wheel, we wanted to know in advance if we could fit. The trees are very close to the pads and we are not comfortable going there with the unit and trying to use the S/O's. Many sites would not allow the canopy. Other than the closeness of the trees, its a beautiful park and TX has done a great job here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$15
We have been going to this park for many years. Our first trips were in a popup and the park is great for that. The sites are not especially large but are nicely separated due to the vegetation between the sites. We enjoy it much more now since we have a fifth wheel and can use our own bath facilities. The bathhouse in the main camping loop is decrepit and full of spiders and has been for years. Other than that the park is one of the best in the TX system. The swimming area is spectacular and the trail around the lake is easy and fun to do with your dog. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2005
$16
We've been camping at Daingerfield for over 10 years now and it is by far our favorite Texas State Park. On our last trip, we camped in the Big Pine area which has full hookups. We can't say enough good about Daingerfield. A side trip to Jefferson is always a must! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$13
Daingerfield is actually one of our favorite State Parks. It is one of Texas' best kept secrets. Sites are well spaced, very shady, lush, green, and the lake is great for swimming as it is small and spring fed. There are canoe/paddleboat rentals available during summer and in the winter the Pine trees make the park smell like Christmas. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com