219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Destiny Dallas RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (940) 497-3353
CGID2756

Destiny Dallas RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   6   6   7   9   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
First of all, calling this RV Park a "RV Resort" is a huge stretch of the imagination, if not a down right lie. It is a former KOA that has a white paint scheme and a new name. The pads are gravel, narrow, and short. While the pad was level from side to side, it sloped down both front to back. After 15 minutes of wrangling, I finally got enough room to slide out the slides without hitting my neighbor's slides(after I had the slides out, you could not walk between me and my neighbor, you had to crawl under the slides). I also found the "sweet spot" where my 5th wheel was level front to back without deploying the Lego step blocks. While I heard little traffic noise from the interstate, there was a lot of internal traffic from people who live/stay at the park with loud trucks (the diesels with straight pipes) that made it hard to sleep or enjoy being outside. They supposedly have an age and condition restriction; I guess it did not apply to the 1980s Prowler that had an orange tarp as the roof. I stayed here based on Woodalls 5 star rating, Woodalls was way off, more like 2 stars. While the restrooms are clean and well maintained, the pool is small, the rec room is small, and both were crowded with just a few people. The only positive comments that I have besides clean restrooms is the staff was very friendly. I might stay here as an overnight stop, but this is not a place I would stay at for more than a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
This park is OK for what it was designed for (mainly), an overniter when in Dallas area. We have stayed here when passing through DFW area a few times. There are many,many permanents or long termers, but the park is well kept and pretty clean overall. Book a premium site if you want plenty of room for pulling in and out. Not too many to choose from in the local area, but this one is probably the best. We have tried all of the others before. The RV wash is a very nice feature to clean the rig when leaving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
This park is sometimes hard to maneuver for the bigger rigs. We have stayed before and perhaps would stay again due to the fact they have pull thru sites. As long as you are up front it's not too bad. Our site had a thirty foot stretch to get to the sewer but the maintenance guy fixed us up with extra hoses. We are full timers and haven't run into this problem in five years but they did take care of us. Laundries are clean. Staff is nice. Pool is clean. Big rig car wash on property. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
This is NOT a resort - it's an RV campground. It's got great in/out access from I-35 and it's close to family so we stayed. There are ALOT of full-timers here, and very few spots are open for transient travelers. The pool which we used yesterday was VERY warm (yes it's TX), but can't imagine what it would feel like in July or August. The bottom of the pool was dirty (leaf grime), like it hadn't been cleaned in sometime. We asked for a pull-thru in our reservation (well ahead of time) - did not get it. Our back in site is gravel and has weeds, sticks, cigarette butts, and miscellaneous bits of little litter from past guests. There are trees though, which provides shade for some of the RVs. The park is relatively quiet, only hear some of the freeway noise, but we're back in a ways. Disappointed that Good Sam gives this a 9.5 -10 - 9 rating - no way it should be rated that high. I didn't use but toured the shower/bathrooms - clean - but old and outdated and very small. My hubby said the men's was worse. Shower floors are cracked and have graying plastic liners that are showing age. He doesn't frequently show his disappointment, but he said he's letting Good Sam know that this RV Park needs a new review. Other posters have said the management is working on revitalizing this park - hmmm, maybe, though didn't see much signs of it during the week we were here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
The site was gravel, the trees too close, and we had to back out or risk customizing the coach. The sewer connection was seriously uphill - I had to lift the hose to drain while standing in the rain. Access from the northbound lanes of I-35 was across a too narrow overpass whose side rails are protected with 16 inch thick wooden beams - and you can't tell until you try the left hand turn. RV wash bay with balconies to wash the roof are right next door. The noise of I-35 was intrusive. We would stay here again if in a big pinch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$41
Facility (7). Overall convenience to Denton and Dallas area is great. Highway noise a little loud but not under management’s control. Many, many “permies”/long termers; a “bit” junky looking at these sites. Nice dog park. Be careful if you request a specific site and pay it forward; it may not happen. Destiny’s name should be “Park or campground”; not “Resort”. $2.50 daily fee for electricity in addition to daily rate. Laundry (10). New equipment. Very, very clean. One of the best we’ve seen. Sites (4). Our site was a little un-level. Site was not clean when we arrived. Site had many weeds, fallen twigs and branches from trees. BBQ grill provided at the site had cigarette butts, cigar stubs, ashes and used plastic baggies in it; appeared not to have been cleaned in many weeks, if not months. Very nasty! It seems management could have their maintenance crew “police” each site for litter and cleanliness after campers vacate and not have to be asked to do so. Adding gravel and raking gravel at site would also help with appearance and possibly leveling. Doing these small items should not be a big deal or costly event and really upgrade parks appearance. Hooks up/Internet (10). Great! Overall Rating (7) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
We stay at Destiny whenever we come to town for an extended stay of 1 to 3 months. The showers and bathrooms are always kept clean. Landscaping is nice with fresh herbs too! Friendly stafff.Lots of shade. The park is a mix of snowbirds, permenant residents, and montly stays. Call ahead as the park does fill up quite frequently. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
We are full-timers with a 38', 13.5' high RV and have been at Destiny for a year. This is an excellent RV park whose staff is working hard to improve the park and provide excellent customer service. I can only speak of my own experience, and my experience does not agree with some previous reviewers. The new Internet antennas installed last August provide excellent connections. (Yes, the ISP is TengoNet). I would guess that about 35% of the park are long-term, friendly residents at any time, and the vast majority of those residents have very well kept spaces. One will have to go far and wide to find a more professional and friendly staff whose goal is to provide the best customer service. Yes, there are some RV spaces that might seem a little close, and there are some spaces that are not quite level. This park is located on a low ridge and it would be impossible to not have a few spaces close or a few spaces with a slope. There are many pull-through spaces and some back-ins. Yes, there is a surcharge for electricity based on current energy prices. It's the Texas grid! In the years we camped here before full-timing, the staff was always helpful in accommodating our requests. The restroom and shower facilities are always spotless. In the past year, there are new washers and dryers. And during the winter months, there are potluck dinners. During the year there are "coffee hour" get-togethers for the campers. This past winter, the staff would check with the campers to assure that their propane tanks were filled even when the roads were covered with ice! The park owners and staff have plans to expand the number of RV spaces and other improvements. The biggest downside to Destiny RV is totally out of their control - I-35E construction. This is a multi-year construction job which will result in a better I-35E and easier access to Destiny RV! They will even get their own right-hand turning lane! But for now, if you are coming from the north on I-35E, I would recommend exiting at Corinth Parkway, following the frontage road through the light and down to Destiny RV Resort entrance (about a mile). If you are coming from the south on I-35E, due to the older (circa 1959) bridges, I personally would recommend going past Destiny RV several miles to exit at Mayhill/State School Road, turning left back under I-35E, then getting back on I-35E southbound to exit at Corinth Parkway (see above). It is way easier to negotiate the turn under I-35E at Mayhill! Destiny Dallas RV Resort is an excellent base location to visit the Dallas and Fort Worth areas. If you plan to go to downtown Dallas or the Parkland Medical District, the DCTA A-Train Med Park station is nearby which will transfer you to the DART Green Line light rail. This is an excellent transportation method to avoid all the I-35E construction! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
We spent a week in this park. It is OK for convenience and location. We were charged an electric fee of $17.50/week in addition to the above rate. I called the park for a reservation and was told they could not accommodate us for the dates we wanted. I then went online and was able to complete the reservation for the same time period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
The park itself is a good park. Lots of regulars, and long termers, but everyone was friendly. Staff was helpful and courteous, facility was clean and well kept. Unlike some reviewers, I had great WiFi reception and access. The pool was very clean and nice. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to return to north Dallas. Be aware they charge a daily electricity surcharge they don't mention ahead of time. Now for the negatives: Dallas roads and getting around are a nightmare. Avoid I-635 if at all possible, it's a chronic, multi year construction terror. If you come to this campground from the South, you must use I-35E North exit 460 and double back to the camp; beware of narrow lane 90 degree left turn at the overpass. And Dallas has a bizarre system of one-way freeway "access roads" running parallel to the freeway lanes, which mandate multi mile loop arounds to get wherever you want to go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
No discount available for short term stay. After staying at their sister location in Phoenix, which was very good, we were shocked at how different this one was. Many long term campers close together so park appeared crowded and cluttered. Many sites had more than one vehicle. We were in a pull thru site which was not level, when legs leveled up, one front wheel was barely touching. Sewerage drain was uphill from coach so wouldn't drain properly (we do not have a pump); electric was fine; water hook-up was very low to ground and was packed with dirt. Had to clean dirt backed up in spigot before connecting hose. Site could have used more gravel/stone so that it wasn't so muddy. We had to go around the outside perimeter of park to get to site; no escort, signs hard to read. As we drove around perimeter to get to site, tree branches dragged against top of coach; turns were tight. This is not a Big Rig friendly park. Our motor home was only 40' ft, so those of you that have bigger rigs with tow vehicles be warned. Couldn't wait to leave; would not recommend to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
A beautiful park with lots of mature trees and many long pull thru sites. The new manager is terrific and every one on staff is so friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub are always clean and adjusted to a perfect temperature. The laundry rooms and showers are in top condition and there’s a great playground for the little ones too. There are fresh herbs growing in the park which you are encouraged to use. We've been full timing for over 16 years and always choose this park to spend the summer when visiting family. We love it here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Lake Dallas is a home base for us. Whenever we are in town we choose to stay here. Destiny has very clean bath houses and laundry facilities. Lots of trees, and sites are mostly level. Tango internet is horrible and is the only downside of this park. New management in 2013 is great. Many friendly, long term and seasonal campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$34
Staff was cordial and helpful. Laundry was recently upgraded with nice new washers and dryers. Nice terraced sites. Pool was warm with nice hot tub. That being said, the negatives are that you fight the I-35E traffic whenever you need to leave the park. There were nearly no sites that appeared level. Our site was so off kilter we were never able to level the door side. Seemed a bit pricey for the area. We won't likely be that far north in Dallas to need this park again; however, I believe we would search out other parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Park is mostly filled with long-term residents and long-term weekend/holiday RVs. The long-term sites are well shaded and further away from the highway. We we there for 4 days and were located very close to Interstate 35. The highway noise was very loud and non-stop. Internet service was from TengoInternet. After 30 minutes of unsuccessfully trying to log in, I called Tengo and they did something that got the system working. However, performance was extremely erratic and was mostly awful. Awful even for text-based forums and email. Forget watching a ten second video clip. Much of the time we were there, I had to use our limited Verizon bandwidth to get a reliable connection. The park has a car and RV wash facility, but it has a 13' clearance. There was a $2/day surcharge for electricity, even though temps were cool and there was no likelihood of using air conditioning. I think we would try to find a different park next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Front desk employee very friendly and helpful. Very nice park with long pull throughs and clean restrooms. The park is great, clean and with a friendly environment. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
People in office are not helpful. Actually they are somewhat unhelpful. Internet service is non-existent. Spaces are not conducive to large rigs. Too many full time residents. Park is run down and dirty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
I am not sure how this park gets good ratings; they are right next to I-35, and you can hear all the traffic going down the road. The staff is not warm and friendly; they are cold and appear to be very uncaring. The lots are close together, unlevel and trashed. Their rules say to pick up your lot, but it seems they enforce the rules when it deems their mood because our lot had cigarette butts all on it. We stayed for 3 weeks, and we had to fill out a form with rules and guidelines that talk about no refunds even though payment had been made. Next time, I won't be staying here. This was close to my stepson, but next time I would rather driver farther to see him than stay at this park. This park has lots of full-timers living in it. We told them we needed a pull through space, and they gave us a tight, back in space. Run from this place and stay farther away from your destination. If someone opened a nice RV park this one would go out of business. No good RV parks in Denton. This is my second attempt to stay at this place, and it will be my last. It is going to be a long 3 weeks here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$42
Very large RV park with 184 sites but well managed with very friendly staff. Only negative feedback would be that the lots were closely located together. Great location with close proximity to the big city and all it has to offer. Did not use much of the amenities other than the very clean laundry room because our dryer was on the fritz and the on-site car wash which was very convenient. WI-FI was sufficient, water pressure was fine, and power service fine. We stayed here for three weeks and other than the rate being a little higher than we would like we can honestly say that we enjoyed our stay. In the future we will attempt to locate an RV park less expensive but if unsuccessful, we would return without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This is a nice quite park with large sites and 2-clean laundry rooms. The only problem we found with the park is its built on a slope which cause the sites to slope a little bit from side to side. You may have to block your wheels on one side for the RV to be real level. We would come back again. Park very clean and at the entrance they have a car wash and RV wash facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
The only negative of this large, quiet and clean park was the absence of cable TV. On the positive side, we received nearly 16 local channel by antenna. Most sites are very shady, a real plus in the Texas summer, but only those in the few unshaded sites or who had portable satellite dishes (many did) could receive satellite TV reception. The swimming pool was large and clean, with an adjoining hot tub. There is a game room with regular activities held there. Wi-Fi reception was great at all times, and the staff was exceptionally helpful. We stayed for two weeks and will stay again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
One of the better parks that we've been to in TX. Stayed a week. Very nice hot tub & pool. Laundry was unavailable as they were getting new machines but had not arrived yet. Very nice staff. We received Dish network even through the trees, which were welcome during the heat of the day. Restrooms were clean, if a bit small. It would be nice if they would fence in the dog area, but at least there is a dog area and a clean one at that. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We checked in for a week and had an issue with our main slide, as we were setting up. A neighbor came over to see if he could help, saw our problem and promptly gave us the name and phone number of a mobile RV mechanic. Got a part ordered and it took longer to arrive than we liked, but the resort was very accommodating. We had to stay a few extra days to get everything fixed. Very helpful, nice staff. Bathrooms were very clean as well as the showers. Pool was a bit small but everyone seemed to be enjoying it. There is a car and RV wash facility in front of the park, and very reasonable. We enjoyed our stay, and would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
We arrived late, our info was at the office door. Park was quiet, love the RV car wash being on site. We needed to leave a little after check-out, which they accommodated. This is the 2nd time we've stayed a DD and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The park is crowded and has overgrown trees so high profile vehicles will have trouble. Satellite TV is a crap shoot but Verizon worked well. The Wi-Fi was unreliable but the pool is OK. Our site was unlevel and took all our efforts to level the coach and then the sewer was 30 foot away. There are a lot of rules (2 pages) that are mostly ignored by the long term residents. The work out facility is a joke but there is a great RV/car wash at the entrance to the park. You must maneuver 2 large speed bumps on the way in. I-35 has a bit of road noise but can be silenced by the AC. Just a good average park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Very good place with courteous people. Except for gravel sites, it would be a 10. Was a KOA back in the 90s. Quiet although close to I-35 E. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Pretty park! Lots of big oak trees. We certainly would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Interior roadways are paved; sites and small patio areas are pea gravel. Our site was narrow and unlevel with slanted railroad tie edges that caused difficulty getting in and out of our camper. This particular site has poor ingress and egress. Picnic table was in good condition, no fire rings. Dumpsters throughout the campground are unsightly. Although near I-35 we found our location to be quiet enough for sleeping (a constant hum of traffic 24/7). We'd stop in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Sorry, this is no resort by far. It is the most kid unfriendly park we have stayed at. The electricity bills are unbelievable. We paid more there than we pay at our home!! There are no activities, and you don't feel welcome to use their recreation room for fear you might get it dirty. No, thanks. We can find a warmer more welcoming park else where. We will not be staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
It's an OK park, but fairly expensive. Nicely landscaped which keeps the noise down a bit, but you can still hear a lot of traffic. Good Wi-Fi connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
The park has become run down. Sites are not level. The staff is unfriendly. We saw and heard staff yell at customers. The Wifi is unreliable. Most of the time we couldn't get on line. The park is expensive and the electric rate is high. Some monthly sites are full of junk and messy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
The park is not as nice as it used to be (2 years ago). Good location when needing to be in Dallas. Sites are tight for larger RVs. Not a lot of choice in the area. Lots of road noise towards the front of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
Clean, tidy park with lots of well trimmed oak trees. The pool and hot tub are clean and for adults only. There is a grassy area with some playground equipment. Very nice laundry and bath house facilities. Adequate TV reception with antenna. Some spaces are narrow; however, if choices are available there are more spacious options. Sites are level and pea stone and lanes are paved; therefore, there is minimal dust. Most sites have small grassy areas. Main drawback to park is its proximity to Interstate, which has heavy noisy traffic all night. Each time you extend your stay and pay with a credit card, there is a $2.50 transaction fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Very busy park and popular so call ahead particularly if you need a large pull through. Lots of trees but well trimmed, however if you use satellite be sure to mention it. Be sure to exit #460 NOT #459, as the park entrance is only 100' past #459 exit and it is difficult to "Get Over." If you are a big rig "Call Ahead" and all will be good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
We found this campground to be a nice overnight stop. Many sites were shady, but we had a good satellite signal. Our site was a bit close to our neighbor on one side. We could have passed over a coffee cup from slide-out to slide-out. We did not try the Wi-Fi. The staff people were friendly and helpful. One problem was that the office did not open until 10 am on Sunday morning. The campground is very quiet with many long-term campers. (Their sites were very well-kept and decorated with plants and flowers). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$44
Rate reflects premium for 4 adults. This is a nice campground. The roads are paved, sites are gravel, and there is grass between and trees. There is a bath house centrally located in addition to the ones at the front office. We arrived after hours and had no trouble finding a site. Although we don't plan to stay - just stopping overnight - This would make a good longer term stop. The site is not level, we had to put 3" of blocking under one set of wheels. The electric and water worked fine, as did the free wi-fi. I see recent reviews say they charged for wi-fi so maybe they've been listening. Unique to me is the large car wash facility at the front of the park. While we didn't use it, we might on a different trip. It is large enough to accommodate our trailer. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
Nice park but would hardly consider it a "resort". Lots of long term residents and some of their sites were cluttered with "junk". The maintenance guys site was the worst of all. I can't believe management/corporate condones that. The Wi-Fi was horrible for a service you have to pay for. Nice car/RV wash on site; lots of trees, some sites are tight and face each other but there are alot of large sites as well. It would be nice if they escorted you to your site which is just good customer service. This is a nice park overall, but management needs to get some of those long term people to clean up their site because it takes away from the beauty of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
I loved it. Trees everywhere, plus lots of shade. Our pull-through site had huge trees and a picnic table. It wasn't perfectly level but was close enough so that we (beginners) were able to get level fairly quickly. The person who checked us in was very helpful and friendly and put us in a site that was very easy to get in and out of. We'll stay here again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We've stayed at this park before & would again as it's convenient to what we do in the area. I-35 noise is not an issue as the previous person also indicated. Some sites are tight depending on the size of your rig & because of the big trees located throughout the park, satellite can be an issue. There is a nice car & rig wash at the entrance of the park too. They do charge a $2.50 daily electric surcharge which we weren't told about & had to inquire what that was on our bill. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This is an urban RV campground very near I-35E, but don't let that stop you from staying here. The freeway noise wasn't an issue, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You are close to all the shopping you may need, and a good sized RV business is a couple miles away. The RV park, while having many long-term residents who have some of the better sites, is very clean and well maintained. There are lots of leafy oak trees providing welcome shade from the Texas sun. The outdoor pool and hot tub are excellent! The sites are gravel with grassy areas between them. Some reviewers felt the sites were narrow and tight; we didn't find that to be so for us, although a very long big rig, may have some problems getting into and out of sites. One thing that keeps this from being a 10 is that they DO NOT have cable TV. Be sure to ask for a site that would give satellite access if you want to watch TV other than antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Site was not level. The 50amp service was placed too low to the ground to use. There was no cable and pay internet. A bit over priced for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
This park is at least 30 if not 40 years old and right off of I-35. Large sites, unlevel, gravel and dirt which become gravel and mud if it is raining. No cable TV and Wi-Fi is at an extra charge per day. By the time you add it all together it is quite expensive for what you get. Proximity to Dallas is not worth that much. May stay again but I doubt it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Management of this park is great. Bathrooms, laundry, and roads are great. Sites are good, but some are tight. Pool and hot tub are very well kept and clean. Wi-Fi is terrible, especially because each laptop must pay for connectivity. Simple page views were often very slow, it seemed like the days of dial up. If I have to pay $30 per week for us to connect two laptops to Tengo-Internet service, it should be smoking fast! This is not a one-time occurrence, we have stayed at this park a few times. I hope that Destiny will decide to invest in a park owned system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
A good park though not necessarily a "resort" park. It does have a pool, etc. Pull through sites are good but some of the back-ins could be tight. Cost is high since WiFi is an extra charge. Should be included in a resort type park at this price. We'd stay again for a short time period but go for a pull through site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$41
We liked staying there. The speed limit was a little silly. It was hard to drive 5 miles an hour without riding your break. The security stopped us many times and asked us to slow down. There were only 4 washers and 4 dryers. The people were friendly and so was their staff. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
The park is very clean and orderly. It even has a car and RV wash station. It is a restful place to spend a few days except, there is no cable TV and satellite reception is virtually impossible because of the large trees. We asked for a spot where we could receive the satellite signal and the attendant was very helpful in selecting a place. She said if I had a problem she would move us. Unfortunately we were set up when we tried the satellite and it would not come in because of the trees. We gave up and were able to receive the major network stations with the digital converter. Also we did not like the private side to private side layout of the sites. Our neighbor was not there during our stay so we had our privacy, but we did not like the arrangement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
Have stayed here before, but had to cut a stay short this time. Our site was unlevel, unable to get satellite signal, there is no cable and over the air TV was very spotty. The site also was poorly arranged in that our passenger side faced the passenger side of the neighbor. Unfortunately, the neighbor had 4 or 5 very young, active, loud children who were up playing at the crack of dawn. Our dog is used to people at RV parks, just not in our front lawn so she joined in the ruckus. Park was understanding, if not happy about our early departure, so we were not charged any additional fees. This park is fine if you do not need TV service and don't mind taking the chance of facing your neighbor. There are way too many trees to gamble on getting satellite service at your site. Be warned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Destiny could be a first class act. We spent nearly 6 months here and made the stupid mistake of befriending the long term residents that run this park. The staff is basically friendly but don't cross them, this is a tight community. We were asked to leave after complaining about some of the adult activity by a certain female resident. They will not release a Corporate number. Manager is a cohort of the most metastatic female offender. We were glad to leave even before asked to. We also were asked to move sites several occasions because of problems some sites have with plumbing and electrical. Good Luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$27
Nice clean park, close to I-35E. Friendly staff. LP sales on property. Pool clean and updated. Some longer term residents, but all we met were friendly and kept their lots neat and uncluttered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$37
Ditto to all the other posts, but a little pricey for overnight stop. I will probably stay else where next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Very nice park, trees are a bit overgrown, however. Getting satellite was tough, but we got it finally. Nice pool area. Beware the highway exit, if you miss it you are going a long way before you can turn around. Also, if you are driving during rush hour the Dallas area traffic is horrible. There is a lot of road noise at the front of the campground, but it is much quieter near the back. It is surrounded by apartments and residential areas, but they are nice and we felt very secure. we will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$37
Nice, well-kept park; nice pull-throughs, nice shade. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous. Facilities were clean. Convenient to freeway and nearby grocery stores, wal-mart, restaurants in both directions. Noise was not an issue during our stay. Tengo internet fee based on daily, weekly, monthly rates. No cable hook-ups. Access into the park is a bit round-about due to the freeway exits being either before or after where the park entrance is situated, but was not a big deal. Our RV had some maintenance issues during our stay, and the park staff referred us to a wonderful mobile RV repair man who fixed our problems on-site and promptly. Would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
We spent a month at this park and paid the monthly rate. The park is very well maintained. The wi-fi, although at additional cost, is excellent. The staff is very friendly and the campsites are well appointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
Beware this IS NOT a "5-star" "Resort". Mostly resident trailers. Resort = vacation, this is not a vacation park. Kids catch the bus for school, folks go to work, no night-time fires, etc... Rules are not enforced, thus there is tons of "stuff" around each camper. This trailer park is located in the middle of a neighborhood of homes and 5 feet from the freeway I-35E and you can hear the noise you will need a noise maker to sleep at night. It is good for an overnighter but no longer than a quick weekend if you have business in Ft.Worth/Dallas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2008
$35
This is basically a transient park. Gives motor homing a bad name. The only saving grace for this park is that it is close to Dallas but at least somewhat in the country. Expressway noise is a negative, no activities, it is really a place for transient workers to live, not on vacation or retired. From the look of many of the sites, trailer trash might be a better description. We met friends here for a three night stay and didn't hang around the park for most of our stay which helped. Don't waste your time or hard earned money as there must be something better. I just have no suggestions because am not a fan of Dallas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$41
We came back, one more time. The park was still fairly full, not knowing who are permanent or not. We still think that it is one of the best in the area and will continue to return. Our site was level and roomy, and not one of the premium sites that we have used in the past. As I said, we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$36
We have been here a number of times and have been pleased every time. Although there are a substantial number of long termers, they are in a separate area and the entire park is well maintained. It may be tricky to maneuver if you have a big rig, but it can be done. There is adequate room between sites and most have some grass adjoining. Some of the sites are not level, but most are. The WiFi is good (I'm using it now) and steady. Despite being close to I-35, noise doesn't seem to be a problem. With the dearth of RV parks in the Dallas area, this one stands out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Campground rating by others was very accurate. Older. Many long term residents. No cable and trees made satellite difficult. Tight roads. All very accurate. Electricity was marginal. Breaker tripped a couple of times, and at least twice the power went off in the entire campground. Still, the campground was clean, the trees gave shade to almost every unit and the location was central to where we needed to be. I'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$34
This is a former KOA campground. The roads within the park and camp sites are too narrow for a 40' motorhome. Many sites are not level. For us, there are too many trees as we have a satellite and TV dish on our roof and need a clear line of sight to pick up the satellites. The per month rate is quite reasonable. The monthly rate does not include electric. The rate for electricity is $.15 per kilowatt which seems a bit extreme. We stayed at the park for approximately three months. The laundry facilities are great. It is close to many sites in Dallas and Fort Worth. The staff is also terrific. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
This was the worst, large scale park we've stayed in the past 10 years. The sites were gravel and mud, and ours was so close to our neighbor on one side we couldn't walk between our motorhomes with slides extended. The "grassy" areas were 90% weeds and our dog's feet were filled with burrs from the designated dog run. Some full-timers dogs were out without leashes and we had dog waste in our site. We paid for a weeks Wi-Fi service and it only worked 3 of 7 days, and they couldn't help with that. They have a great wash facility and helpful staff but a terrible park with mostly extended stay, 5th wheels and older motorhomes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
We've stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed. There are a large number of permanent residents, but that has not been an issue. The location is the best for us at this time, but with KOA buying a campground in Arlington, we'll give it a try. Not all sites are level or easily accessible for a big rig, and the WIFI, for a fee, is the absolute worst that we have encountered in the last 2 years or so. The connection keeps dropping even though we are in line of sight of the antennae. That said, we will, in all likelihood, return, time and time again, although we will check out the "new" KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
Very easy access from 1-45 but very tight turns inside the park. We barely fit in our site and had to park the car elsewhere. Turn into the site too tight for a rig our size and very challenging. There were larger sites available which also had better entry angles, but the larger sites appeared to be for longer term guests. Lots of permanents. Lots. But nicely maintained. At this price we would check out the area competition before considering another overnight stay. They wanted an additional $4 per day for their WiFi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
A very nice park with nice sights and an accommodating staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
Great place! It is more like a community setting than a campground. Lot's of shady sites with plenty of long pull thru's. Their maintenance crew is exceptional. Their site fees are somewhat high but worth it because of their location and amenities. It is located near Dallas-Ft Worth with all kinds of shopping, entertainment, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
A former KOA. Very clean. Site level. Good location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$32
This campground was a little pricey given the quality of sites and amenities. Staff was welcoming and friendly. Good location for Dallas access which we needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$29
This is a very nice park in the heart of the Dallas area, right above Lake Lewisville on I-35E. Lots of trees and shaded areas. The park is very clean and the laundry is one of the cleanest I've seen. The staff works hard to keep up the grounds. There were a number of "fulltimers" during my stay but plenty of spaces for the overnighter. There is a pool and hot tub and the park is nice to walk around as are the surrounding neighborhood. The park is on I-35E but is far enough back to get away from most of the noise from the highway. We stayed here for two weeks during Christmas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$26
A very nice park. Well maintained. Friendly staff. Quite a few "long-timers", but sites are clean and well kept. Will certainly return here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$27
Stayed here while attending the NASCAR race at Texas Motor Speedway. Good, level gravel sites. Room for awnings, slideouts. Staff helpful & friendly. They led us to our site and helped with hook-ups. Easy on/off I-35E. Have a car/RV wash on site.We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Very helpful staff show you to your site. Big Rig and pet friendly. Motorhome car wash on site. Easy access to I-35E into Dallas. We stayed 2 weeks in 2004 and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$34
This park is beautiful. We've stayed here before and always appreciated the cleanliness of the campground & friendliness of the staff. Now they have high speed wireless internet & that was OUTSTANDING. We travel full time & like to stay in touch with family. We just sat at our picnic table and got online. They have added many new amenities. We will always stay here when in the Dallas area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Near big city campgrounds are usually a compromise but this one is pretty good. Has all the usual amenities, nice staff, close to Wal-mart and many eating places along I-35. Easy on and off interstate. What does it lack? 1. A severe weather action plan. 2. Beautiful surroundings. I would return if I need to be in the Dallas area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$31
Close to area attractions, yet nice country atmosphere. Staff was friendliest of any park we've stayed. Led us to our site. Made sure we were settled in before leaving. Great satellite signals. The sites were extremely clean. We felt really welcome, not like we were paying someone's bills like at other parks. We've made future reservations already here. Will definitely tell ALL our RV'ing friends to visit this park. They also have some new cottages for daily rental. Very nice. Don't miss this one! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$30
Very unlevel sites, a former KOA. Poor facilities definitely not worth the high price charged for the Destiny name. Staff rigid and campground hard to access for big rigs north-bound out of Dallas. Other campgrounds in the area offer much more for a lot less. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com