206704 User submitted reviews online!!
Victoria Palms Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (956) 464-7801
CGID2759

Victoria Palms Resort

Camp Information
Sites
1300
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   9   9   7   10   8   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
We have stayed at Victoria Palms several times and this year stayed two months and had a very nice pull thru spot. It is now an Encore park so there are some changes. Reservations were handled very well but registration when we got there was a little slow. We appreciate the gate security at this park. People for the most part are friendly. We enjoyed the beautiful pool, on site restaurant and easy access to shopping etc. Lawn service (which we heard was a new vendor) needs improvement. The resort was not as full as previous years when we have stayed. If we return to the Rio Grande Valley, this is where we will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$31
We stayed here for 50 days and couldn’t wait to leave. Victoria Palms is a nice looking tropical resort with attractive landscaping and well maintained lots. They have a hotel, a restaurant, two nice pools and hot tubs. There are palm trees and citrus trees everywhere. Attractive looks are not what makes a good resort, you have to be comfortable, and it’s difficult to be comfortable at Victoria Palms. The bathrooms are clean, but they are icy cold. They are never heated. The water to wash your hands is very cold. It’s too cold to take showers. We have never been cold anywhere else but here. There are tons of activities here but a total lack of direction from the activity office. The lady director was rude to us and acted like we were stupid for asking questions about events going on. There is a total lack of direction here. At the New Years dance just before the band began to play, two drunken men began fist fighting at table 46. They rolled in the aisle and finally broke the fight up themselves. There were plenty of activity people around but they did not interfere. The police or security guards were not even called. Anywhere else these men would have been thrown out but not so at Victoria Palms. One of the fighters went to the other side of the ballroom for the rest of the night and that was it. There is a very large singles crowd here and they have their own events, dances and meetings. They keep to themselves. But the worst feature of this resort is the wholesome unfriendliness. Out of 12 parks we have wintered in, this one is definitely the least friendly. To be sure, there are a few friendly people here, but in general this is not a very friendly park. A lot of people look the other way and don’t wave back. It’s hard to make friends here at this resort full of snobs. The prices are okay comparable to Florida but very high for the Rio Grande Valley. A word to the wise, if you are expecting comfort in paradise you won’t find it here. We will not return, as we’d rather be Snowbirds than Winter Texans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$50
We had never been to the Rio Grande Valley before and reserved the month of January at Victoria Palms after spending December in a more modest park. We didn’t make it past January 12th at Victoria Palms. We were members of Thousand Trails and took advantage of their reduced rates. Our January monthly rate was approximately $562.50, plus $.14/kwh for electric. We chose Victoria Palms because it offered the most amenities of the Encore locations in the RGV. Everyone was very friendly and the other residents we encountered were quite friendly too. Victoria Palms had the following extra amenities: Cable TV (90 channels) and Wi-Fi at the RV lot, well paved interior roads, trash pick up at the RV lot, a computer room with available technical assistance, an on site restaurant and guest hotel, a selection of DVDs for checkout, and twice as many pools and hot tubs. Here is the down side. Victoria Palms is a very big RV Resort Park. The activities we had enjoyed elsewhere in December were not as open to walk-ins here. Aerobics started an hour earlier in the morning (7am). Although there were two pools, they were smaller and more crowded. We had a harder time finding an RV lot in which we would be level (all the lots sloped toward the streets with the utilities at the far end) and our RV needs to point a little uphill to be level. This would not be a problem for an RV that wasn’t also our only means of transportation. The shower rooms were often cold and the showers had an automatic water shut off system that made taking a shower a royal pain. The 90 channel cable TV supplied did not have PBS which was available over the air. The on site restaurant did not offer anything that interested us. We do not think of ourselves as food snobs, but creamed chicken on a waffle as a feature menu item did not give the restaurant what we would call a five star rating. Over all we did not fit well with the gated community retirement lifestyle or with South Texas or Mid West cultures. The clincher came when our RV driver’s door window shattered while driving on the freeway access road within a mile of the park. It could have been a rock, but at that angle? It could also have been a bullet or a pellet. As soon as we got the window repaired, we left. To their credit, the park refunded our unused time. We ended up paying $269.70 and no electricity charge for the 12 days we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
I stayed with a rally group so we had a special rate. The staff were very friendly and had welcome packets for us. The park is lovely, and I had orange trees beside my site. The pool was large with two hot tubs. We had use of the White House which was our meeting room complete with everything we needed to cook and eat. The only reason I gave it a nine was the wi-fi wasn't always very good, and I had difficulty getting online a lot. Otherwise I wasn't ready to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Our nightly rate based on monthly stay. This upscale park has recently been sold and is now an Encore Park. Many concerns have arisen as a result of the sale of this property, and changes will definitely occur. The swimming pool is the nicest we have ever used in any RV facility and is kept at a steady consistent 82*. The dining room is one of the nicest in the valley, as is the ballroom. This has been our eighth year of spending the winter at this resort, and we have always been proud to say that we stay there ... We hope none of that changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$34
We stayed here for 3 months. The park offers great activities, very well run restaurant, and friendly staff. The sites are large with cement drives and patios. On the down side the Wi-Fi was slow and could not get the service on occasion . The park then gives you a router but you have to pay 20 to 30 dollars per month to upgrade your service to where it should be. The demographics of the park are more for advanced years and there should be younger themes to attract future clients. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Great park. Rate reflects monthly rate, plus electricity @ 16 cents/KWHr. Amenities are excellent, the park is very well kept. There are lots of activities. The staff and residents are very friendly. We stayed a month and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
A real nice park in a real bad area. As with most larger parks, the seasonal residents don't mix much with the monthly residents. Management wasn't overly friendly or helpful, but not rude either. Their reservation and rate policies lacked a bit to be desired, so be careful with future reservations. We were assigned to a site in the older section of the park, and they were very small and hard to maneuver the big rig. The newer section was bigger and better, but we were never given a choice upon registration. Lots of activities on their list, but never used any of them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$34
This is a popular park and reservations are suggested. We enjoyed this park very much. Didn't partake in all that they offered but did appreciate the large camp spaces in the annex area and the courtesy of all staff we came in contact with. This certainly makes up for the experience we had at Palm Shadows RV park in same city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
This was our second winter in VP and we were less impressed this go around. It seems that slowly, but surely, this once premier park is losing its top of the line status. Mis-management and poor management skills; potholes; more trailer trash; unkempt landscaping; more and more permanent homes; very poor Wi-Fi system; and just a generally poor attitude by the owner and those he hires. Thank goodness the people who frequent the park, or own park models here, are still the friendly sort!! But, many many homes are for sale now. We originally thought we may buy a park model here, but have changed our minds. Won't be back for any long length of stay, if at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
Management needs a change. It's their way or the highway. Many people complaining and many changing parks. Now requires 4 month reservations. Residents in park are great. Very friendly. Park very well kept and all the things you could want to do. Park is super. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
The best thing about this park was the RVers - friendly people willing to chat. Big park with three distinct areas. The RV area is tight with spaces barely allowing enough room for your tow vehicle, which must be parked across the front of your RV, Poor excuse for grass at each site so the owner would be better advised to replace the weeds and dirt with some stone. If you have a dog, find yourself another park. With 1300 sites, they provide one small, dirty, fenced area. This was the poorest setup I have ever seem for dogs in a large park. WIFI was barely adequate. Their claim that this is the premier RV resort in RGV seems says little for the RGV. I will not be returning to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
This park is fast pricing itself out of business as its owner is raising prices tremendously every year and seems to think people will pay the same prices as they do in Florida for a seasonal stay. The valley is nice, but it's not Florida! We were here from January through April and the rate reflects the average cost per day including electricity on a pull through site. With all that said, this is the best park in the Rio Grande Valley. We checked them all out because we like the area, the people, the cost of living, the proximity to Mexico and services available there, and the weather. We didn't like the wind or the hot/humid temps of April and would never stay past March again; our dog was extremely allergic to something in the ground cover and the burrs are simply dangerous to man and animal! The park has so much activity scheduled, you could never do it all. The pool is outstanding, but for 2 months, you can't get in it because there are so many people. On site restaurant food was not good. Propane delivery at site; cement sites with full hook ups; paved streets with curbs; grapefruit trees on most sites; no grass, just TX scrub and dirt (if you can't stand dust and a dirty RV, you won't like it here!) except for people who live in mobile homes and have cultivated grass. There is an on-site P.O.; the wireless was good, but modem was a problem because you can't use Outlook for outgoing mail. We had to re-install our Verizon PC card to have protected internet. Cable TV was outstanding with many premium channels. There is a free landline hook-up for local calls. It doesn't have the most friendly staff; not much to do outside the park except S. Padre Island and Progreso, Mexico, but plenty to occupy yourself with in the park and there's lots of seasonal Winter Texans. Pet friendly, but not very good facilities for such a huge park, although they say they will have running water, a bigger dog park and better facilities next season. We will return until the park is too expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
We return to this park every winter for at least a week. Many amenities for winter residents. Spotty internet service if that's important to you and perhaps there is a watering ban because the grounds were very dry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
Park was great. The dog walks were really far from our site which made it a long walk every time. Other than that we had a wonderful stay of 8 days. All facilities were very clean and staff were really friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$34
Resort overrated, needs new management, we will not recomend this resort We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$21
Nice resort with great facilities, would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$21
We stayed for 4 months and enjoyed the park, although there are some problems with having to move sites unless you pay all 4 months in advance. They are not very helpful/knowledgeable with the reservation system so you can stay in one place if you want to extend stay. The electric meters seem to not be calibrated correctly. Our electric bill was higher than we ever paid ($120 month @ .15 cents per kw) and we did not even use the a/c unit. Overall we thought the park is nice but over priced for the high season (Jan. Feb.). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
This was the least friendly park we've ever used in 10 yrs of motorhoming. People walked around with required name tags like a children's camp. The staff in the office rudely ordered me out while I was paying because I held my 14# terrier rather than leave her in the 32 degree rain. The showers were not heated and required repeated pressing, every 15 seconds, to remain on. There was little opportunity available for walking a dog. The internet was very slow. We left as soon as weather permitted. Overall, I would avoid this strange, unwelcoming park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$32
This is a full service resort. There are two distinct areas where Victoria Palms could concentrate to really improve their standing as the best in the valley. First, The resort has gone to the dogs! The only non-pet area is the old and smaller (original) park area. In the rest of the park there are dogs everywhere. There appears to be a concentrated effort by the dog owners to pick up after their animal, but dog waste broiling in the hot Texas sun, in the handy containers before they are emptied, is less than inviting. Further, the garbage is collected only twice a week. Outside those two days, guess where the park insists you deposit your trash? You guessed it, behind the restaurant in a non-covered, sorting bin, where that same hot Texas sun ripens the trash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Stayed here winter of 02/03. Free phone and cable, as well as hi speed internet on site for 2003. $100 refundable deposit on hi speed modem. This is a full service resort with activities to suit almost everyone during winter. Free citrus trees on site. Very clean at all facilities. Adult resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com