224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Bliss RV Park (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (915) 568-0106
CGID2762

Fort Bliss RV Park (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   1   9   9   9   10   8   6   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
One of the most beautiful military campgrounds we have stayed in. Management very friendly and helpful. Called a couple hours before arriving, since they don't take reservations. Manager told me they had 10 spaces available. The park is quite full with students for the base, but had no problem being accommodated. Very nice pet area. Whole park is great. Will definitely come back when in the area. The $16 rate reflects Golden Access discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
I rated this park so low for only ONE reason: the horrible traffic noise that comes from Hwy. 54 which is within a rock's throw of the park. There was noise coming from traffic all day and all night. The park itself is beautiful, neat, clean, friendly staff, etc...all you look for in an RV park. I find it hard to believe that they would put a park in that location EVER. We would NEVER stay there again, no matter what the price due to this noise (and pollution coming from trucks, vehicles, motorcycles, etc.)! Now you know and can decide if it is worth it to you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
Paved with concrete throughout. Army Morale, Welfare, and Recreation NAF personnel were outstanding. Plenty of room, quiet, and policed by the Fort Bliss MPs. In sight of the AAFES shopette/Class VI. US 54 is right there for access to the city. Beautiful views, privacy fence from the surface street. The next time I am in west Texas, I will stop there. Stayed through the holidays to visit with family. Excellent value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
Friendly staff - after-hours "nite-host" checked us in. Great facilities, including game-room and picnic pavilions. Paved streets, parking, and patio - fairly level; typical desert landscaping, with mature trees. Six-seven foot wall surrounds campground; MP's patrol regularly. Adjacent to post Class-6 and gas station. High school on north side, and across from post housing - so watch for school hours and kids on foot (old Logan-Heights area). Newer Walmart about a mile away; long-time steakhouse up the hill behind campground, on Alabama St, has views out over Ft Bliss and east El Paso. Pay attention to WX - leeward winds are sometimes brutal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
Awesome park, and host was great at our arrival and very helpful. We were amazed at what a great park this is for military and their families. We were guests of our military son and stayed a month. The park is in a great location, and the upkeep is great. Love the pet area. Would rate this higher, but it did not have a swimming pool which would be nice in "hot" El Paso. All the other amenities were awesome. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$19
This is for military personal but they can sign in a guest to stay. Very clean. Concrete pads, level. Some have BBQ grills, all have picnic tables that are handicap friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Expanded park in 2010, but no shade in that area. Huge dog park, nice cement sites with patio and table, plenty of room. Rate reflects Golden Age discount. Staff very pleasant. Back of the park very noisy from Rt. 54 traffic. Lots of military residents here, no reservations, first come basis. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
This park is highly rated, but its just not our cup of tea. Easy to get to from Hwy 54. This is a big city campground, with row after row after row of other campers. Sites are level and spacious, hook-ups are easy and convenient, nicely landscaped but no privacy. Not far to the base and the enormous PX and commissary. Staff is pleasant and helpful. The mini-mart is convenient for fueling up on the way out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
This is a great place to stay. I agree with the previous reviews, but will add the following: We had a 2 day dust storm with 60+ mph wind gusts and the rock wall around the campground does little to protect the campground. We were in the old section. There is a high school across the street and the booming bass from the car stereos in the afternoon is almost as bad as being next to a train track. This was our second stay here and we would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
This is an exceptional RV park on a military base. We arrived after hours and the host was very helpful and came by to check on us after we set up. All sites are level and concrete. There is no grass or shade, but the breeze was great and the views of the mountains and city are great. Landscaping is gorgeous. No reservations are accepted, but we were able to get a nice site in the newest section. We really want to go back and stay here again. Security cruised the park regularly which is a nice feeling. Quick Stop/Class 6 store within walking distance. Excellent hookups for the motorhome. Easy in and out and accessible to town. We followed the "less stressful" entry instruction from the Military Campground Guide and it was longer, but very easy. There is some noise from the expressway, but the prevailing wind keeps it from being annoying. We'll definitely stay here again. Discount for having a Senior Access Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Staff was courteous and helpful. New section of sites accommodates big rigs easily. On site exercise room had treadmills, ellipticals, and a stationary bike. Need to go to family room to get Wi-Fi but we had Verizon wireless router so was not an issue. Climate was the only problem ... gusty winds and a dust storm so if you come in March or April be prepared to "lock down" anything that can blow away. Would definitely come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
El Paso doesn't offer much in the way of quality parks, but even if it did, this park would stand out above the others. Paved interior roads, concrete sites and pads, sparkling restrooms, and a beautiful community center make this place special. Check-in was quick and friendly, and using our Golden Access pass resulted in a $12 day fee. Hookups are all centralized and work well. If given a choice, opt for the old section, which has trees and some shade; the new section has small trees and no picnic tables yet. The post is a short drive and has an amazing shopping area, the "Freedom Center", with huge PX, numerous shops, a 10-screen theater with first-run movies for $5, and restaurants, including a Buffalo Wild Wings. El Paso isn't exactly picturesque, but Sunland Park on the West side has good shopping and a casino. Surprisingly, the city claims it is the safest large city in America even though the border to Juarez is very close. No problem in the park, it's fenced and patrolled by military police. A great stay - the best in the area by far. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$7.0
Golden Age Pass accepted, so rate was 1/2 or $7.00. Very easy to get to. Friendly staff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
This is a really nice military campground. No reservations though but we had no trouble getting a site. It is not on the base but is patrolled by security. There is a military fuel station/mini mart right across from the campground that sells diesel fuel. Base is not far away and the PX is wonderful. The commissary is also great but a new one is under construction. We were in the new section and the laundry/bath house facility was really nice. The only drawbacks for those sensitive to noise is the major road that runs in front of the campground and also the crime activity along the border. Rate reflects weekly rate plus National Access Card discount. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This was our third stay. If you are traveling on I-10 or if you have business at Fort Bliss or Beaumont Army Hospital, this is a very centrally located RV park. It has always been well maintained. The expansion is due to open Nov. 19 and looks very close to that now. The community room has a full kitchen, modem hookup and WiFi, TV, as well as a fitness room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Except for the lack of internet access, this is an excellent Campground. Exceptionally clean, run by an retired Sergeant Major with a personal interest in the reputation of the CG. All pull throughs and big rig friendly. Accessible by only Active or Retired Military, 100% disabled Vets and ID card holding DOD employees. Well done ARMY!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$12
If you have a National Park Golden Age pass you will get a $2.00 discount on space rent. I would have given this park a 10 if it weren't for the traffic noise. The park is right next to US 54 which goes through El Paso, and we were in site 68 which is in the last row next to the road. The laundry facility is neat and clean, $1.00 to wash and 75 cents to dry. There are 6 washers and 6 dryers which I think is a little low for 73 sites. When we arrived there were only 2 spots left. They are in the process of expanding the FamCamp to an additional 59 spots. The spots are all concrete with a concrete patio,a picnic table and a bar-b-que. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
One of the nicest parks in which we have ever stayed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
We camped here for 2 weeks. The area is quiet and beautiful. Great for climbing on rocks. Interesting history. Volunteer guides are religiously dedicated. We might stay here again. The park is dedicated to preservation and not to guests. Controls seem excessive and unnecessary. 1/3 of the park is open for exploration without guides but the number of visitors is restricted at any one time. How does this protect anything? Are 1/3 of the petroglyphs expendable? Are people going to respect them because there is a limit to the number of visitors? Walking on the trails is restricted to single file lest one step on sacred desert soil. The park gates are closed after 6 p.m. and the staff neglected to tell us that the gate code is changed every Monday. We had a nice stay at La Quinta in El Paso at the State's expense. WiFi is available but shut off at night and on weekends. You must agree to certain terms each day before connecting. Some state-defined "no no" URLs are blocked. Restrooms are "one holers" and one shower each so there can be a wait in the mornings. The Park caters to young rock climbers that come from all over the world. RV campers are accommodated mostly as a necessity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$13
Fort Bliss RV Park - El Paso, TX - This is a military campground open to military and DoD personnel. It's located north of El Paso fairly close to downtown and easy to get to off of Hwy 54 (exit 25). There are 73 mostly level sites that have a paved patio and drive. All are full hook-up and supposedly have cable TV. We got more channels off of the rooftop antenna. We had to set-up the satellite dish. Check-in went well, and we used the Golden Pass to get $2 off nightly fee. We asked to be placed up away from the main highway but were told that only spaces next to the highway were open. As we walked the park after supper, we noted two opens sites up in the park. Hmmm. Credibility took a hit. There's a nice pavilion with lounge and fitness room. Excellent. Laundry has plenty of washing machines and dryers. $1 to wash, .75 dry. Bathhouse was clean and had several showers. Park also has a small playground. Dogs are allowed and under control at all times. Across from the park is a nice shoppette and fuel station with the lowest price we saw in El Paso for diesel. Highway 54 in front of the park is very busy, but not much noise actually makes it to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$13
Please note - this campground is for Military only! We made the mistake of coming only to be turned away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$13
A very nice park. Clean, comfortable, close to Fort Bliss, and cheap. I stayed for 3 weeks and found the amenities such as the exercise room, laundry, and club house to be a bonus! I was in site 58 which is farther than most from the free Wi-Fi, but was still able to receive the signal. I only wish they would throw the switch and let the cable TV signal flow to the pods at the sites. The 24 hour Fort Bliss Police patrols were a comfort. The only thing that wasn't was the noise from highway 54. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
Campground was clean and well maintained. Sites were well laid out with nice table and charcoal grill. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only negatives were wind and traffic noise. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$13
Great RV park for military ID card holders. My Golden Access card got me a $3 per nigh discount. The entry is somewhat tight, and the registration parking slots are too short for big rigs, but after getting past registration roads and turns were ok. They have the best laid out sites/slabs w/integrated patio that we have seen, though our slab was somewhat low in the front causing the front (where the entry door is) to be a little high after leveling. Though we were a good distance from the clubhouse, the free WIFI did work most of the time. It did drop out and/or just quit working from time to time. We were close to the freeway, but with double insulated glass didn't really notice the freeway noise. We will definitely stop here again in the future! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$13
The only thing that keeps this park from being a "10" is its proximity to an elevated freeway which amplifies the traffic noise. This was one of the neatest, cleanest parks we've ever stayed at. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$15
Very nice campground. Very clean. Bathrooms are very clean. Shower stalls are large. Nice clubhouse with some dishes, utensils, and a stove/oven. WiFi is available in the clubhouse. Close to Mexico. Very windy. We stayed during one of the windstorms and had to dismantle our tent trailer. One 5th wheel sustained some minor damage. Check weather conditions. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$15
Military only. This park is an excellent representation of how to manage a park. All facilities were clean and secure. The only drawback it the park's proximity to US 54 - a bit noisy at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
This campground is on an Army post, so you must have a DoD ID card to stay at the campground. It's a great place to stay if you're passing through on I-10. Clean, but packed in tight. Bathroom and laundry rooms very clean. Lots of space for pet relief in and outside campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$12
You will not find a cleaner campground in the U.S...the absolute best campground we have ever stayed which include the $80 per night CG's on the Ocean and those located in the Palm Springs area...if you are former Military then make this your place to stay while on the road even if it is for overnight...easy in and out with 42' rigs. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$12
The absolute best Military Campground we have stayed in...very very clean...we look forward to staying there each time we travel through El Paso We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com