223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Leisure Camp & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (512) 213-0112
CGID2766

Leisure Camp & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   9   9   4   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
A hidden gem on the San Marcos River. Centrally located for access to shopping in San Marcos or BBQ in Lockhart. Tall pecan trees provide plenty of shade. Swim beach separate from fishing area. Playground, pavilion, concrete or gravel pads, swimming pool, etc. Big rig friendly. Large fenced pet run with green grass. Quiet and relaxing location in the country. We pulled in for an overnight stay and didn't want to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This is a campground that offers full hook-ups, 30 and 50 amp with good river access (San Marcos River). In addition, they have cabins for rent and tent sites, if that's your thing. They have showers, for $.25 cent and have toilets, four of them actually, which considering how busy this place gets on a summer weekend, is about 6 short of what they really need. This campground is very pleasing to the eye and not much has changed since I first camped here 20 years ago. The sites are extremely narrow and you feel like you are invading your neighbors space. Over the years our family has grown and so has our camper. When we were traveling in a 26 footer the space size wasn't much of a problem. Now that we have upgraded to a larger 5er, with slides...much more of an issue. Once you pull into your site, not only should you check to see where your electric, water, sewage hook-ups are located but you must check to see if your awning and slide-outs can fit in between your neighbors. It reminds me of camping in Yellowstone, if you've ever been lucky enough to camp inside that National Park. This place, like Yellowstone is very pretty and also like Yellowstone, its very tight camping. Additional information is they offer tube transports, have a pool (can get very crowded), and have a little sack shop that offers small items and finger food. We found, and always have found, the management team here to be very accommodating and generally very good. Keep in mind that this is a very popular park and you will be competing with other campers who camp here every year and consequently set up their camping reservations a year in advance. You can usually get a spot within a week or so before your stay but, you won't get one of the "chosen" ones. I feel that I should also note that they charge an additional fee for both additional car and campers. I towed my 5er and my wife and kids, each brought a friend, followed me in the wife's Expedition. We were charged $10 extra each day for the additional car, never-mind that we were able to park the extra car "on site" and caused no additional space. And each campsite fed is based on 2 people. Huh? Most campgrounds allow at least 4. Any more than 2 per campsite is charged an additional $5 per person, per night. I think this is a little sneaky way of them gaining from us an additional $90 for a weekend stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
I am basing this review for traveling with children. Normally this is not the type of camping I like however with grandkids this is a great place. The park is kid friendly with two playgrounds depending on age. The river is great for beginners to float. You can walk to the far end of the park and float back in about 25 minutes. The campsites are close together and some are tight to back into. Its pricey but we will bring our grandkids back again, We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Beautiful park, great location. Nice staff, very relaxing place. Easy getting in and out, good spaces, down on the lower level had really nice spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
Very nice park with lots of river frontage. Playground for kids with a plain but free putt-putt course. Nice dog run and a small, but clean swimming pool. Had full hookups on a pull-through site. There are cabins close to camp sites so extended family can visit. Management was very nice and led us to our site. Will be staying here again next year. Would have given park a 10 except it's a little tight getting into and out of some of the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$41
Very nice campground. Enjoyed our stay. Variety of different sites, some with full concrete pads, pull throughs are gravel and some back in grass sites. Utilities worked fine. Charcoal grills and fire pits at every site, which I thought was nice and used them both. Did not try to use cell phones or internet. River was clean and surprising pretty warm for this time of year. Big dog run, beautiful pool area, and other amenities. Lots of wildlife in the area. We got to watch numerous skydivers jump from the plane from our campsite, which was pretty cool. Only reason I gave it a 9 was because of having to back up a ways in order to pull into our site. We will be back and have already booked our next stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Had a great time, as always, at Leisure Resort! This was our fourth visit in three years, and we're continuously impressed! The new manager was great - very personable, friendly, and attentive. Since the San Marcos River is spring-fed, we didn't have to worry about the low water levels like the Guadalupe. Had a really fun time, and can't wait to return in October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This is the 3rd and final time at this park. Now run by a management company (?). I really liked the way it was run before: they use to care. Now it's just another notch in a corporate belt. Stayed with them last year and early part of this year. WOW. Now would keep on driving. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
We had a great time at Leisure Resort! We didn't encounter any rude staff during our stay. In fact, it was quite the opposite! The new manager was very friendly and helped us with directions to Luling. We did hear that the park is under a new management company, and it's really never looked better! We've stayed here before and will continue to come back. The best days are ahead of Leisure Resort! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Called and made reservations a few days before our stay with a lady. My horrible experience began with this phone call. This woman was rude and impatient to say the least. Once we arrived, we had a wonderful time as we always have here, except for dealing with some of the staff members. It is my understanding that this family resort is now under a management company, and it's sad to say but, you can definitely tell. This place has lost it's small town family charm, the employees look miserable, and the manager guy is completely lost to say the least. A very sad turn of events for a family park that my family has visited for years. Not sure we will be back anytime soon. Thanks for the good memories for a once great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
We've stayed at Leisure Resort a few times and really enjoyed our time there. We heard it was under management and wanted to see what it was all about. Needless to say, we were very impressed! The new manager was extremely helpful and pleasant. You could tell the park has a commitment to the guest experience, as the activities were well organized and the park was very clean! Keep up the great work, we will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We stayed at Leisure Resort for the month of April since it was too early to head north. What a treat. It was so relaxing. The red birds and hummingbirds were abundant. It's right on the San Marcos River. Everyone was so friendly. We did not stay in one of the cabins, but looked in them. They are the best cabins and cottages I have seen at a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
This was a very nice park next to the San Marcos River. It was relatively empty except for regulars. The site was level. The bathroom was clean. It was very quiet and pretty. The girl in the office wasn't overly friendly, but she wasn't rude. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$39
We've heard a lot about this park and we won't be back. People were nice enough, but the park is just a mess. Wife commented on the bathrooms being filthy and ancient. It was raining while we were there, the roads looked more like lakes rather than roads. Lots of big ruts. I drive a 4x4 rig and didn't want to chance it, it was that bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
Our stay was not at all enjoyable due to repeated power failures for three days. Then: the park personal were rude, one had to take garbage outside of the park to dump, and the advertised free Wi-Fi on their website, was in truth only available in, or very near the office and had no power service unless they would let you into the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
They charge for everything. 36 a night plus, plus, plus. We paid 50 a night to be crowded next to neighbors. No shade. Very overcrowded. Unfriendly staff. We went tubing and water was so low we had to walk the river. They charge for showers. Line for the MENS bathroom was 15 minutes. Dog waste at our site. Pool was standing room only. We camp a lot and will drive right by this place next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
The park grounds are extremely enjoyable. The river great. The pool was nice, although a bit small for the number of people visiting that weekend. For a small family, driving one vehicle, I would recommend it. Other than that, think twice due to the "nickel-and-dime" that this park does. The base rate assumes 2 people per RV. There is an additional $5 per person over 2 people. In addition, we had friends visit. They were charged another $6 per person for day use passes. When we decided they should spend the night, we were told they would have to pay an additional "extra vehicle" fee of $10. I told the night guard I would settle up as I left at the end of the weekend. I was then approached 4 more times in one day about the extra $10 fee. As for the pull-thru sites... They were long, which was nice. Our 32ft, plus pull truck, plus visitors car all fit in the pad, with room to spare. They had some trees, which provided some shade. Some of the trees still need some time to grow, however. The pull-thrus are very close, however. There weren't many RVs there when we were, but if there were, we would have been right up against them. The grass medium between pads was hardly big enough for the small picnic table that is provided. And even then, the neighbors electric and hoses are in your "yard". The electric was a problem, too. We have a brand new RV, which we take out every weekend. We have learned what can be run at the same time without breaker issues (amp issues), so we are careful. Within 30 minutes of arriving, we blew the parks breaker for the first time. This repeated many times over the next hour even though we had turned EVERYTHING off except for the air conditioner. Finally, we switched to a different sites electric (since they were so close). This worked for a few hours, then the whole thing started again. In the end, it turned out that their electric couldn't handle us having the A/C and electric water heater at the same time. We switched to LP water heater and the rest of the weekend went find. Also.. It appears that they have handled their previous Internet connection issues. I had no problems at all with connectivity. It was fast. The pool, as I said, was nice. They also have a sand volleyball, thetherball, mini-golf and small park. The park is not very toddler friendly, however, only having one small slide and 3 swings for toddlers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$37
In the winter this place is wonderful! Quiet, clean, friendly staff (although not always too well informed). Great winter prices make it perfect as a home base to visit San Marcos, San Antonio, Austin, New Braunfels! Winter weather very nice and sunny with low humidity 85% of the time (occasionally cool and windy). I was a snowbird and stayed 3 months :-) I have also stayed here in the summer (for a weekend) and it was a completely different situation! Noisy, smelly, roudy, over-crowded, expensive! Do go, you will love it, but only from Nov to Mar! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Our entire family thoroughly enjoyed this park. It is in between Luling and San Marcos without too much around except Mother Nature. The river was perfect for floating with several river outfitters to shuttle you if needed, but you have to rent their tubes. We decided to shuttle ourselves back and forth from a bridge up the road (since we brought our own tubes) with a nice familiy a few sites down. Free is always great! The park has a swimming pool, volleyball court and several other activities for families. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our site was level, but several sites down near the river area would require leveling. The water pressure was good, even in a packed park. Sites are close together but we enjoyed our neighbors on both sides of our rig. We will be back again in summer 2009 to experience some R&R away from it all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$18
This park was great for a winter stop. I am sure in the summer it is packed. We had a river view back in site. They have a 50% off coupon on their website, so used that. Were told that the premium sites were going up to $40 per night in the spring. Wi-fi did not work well at all. Very weak signal no matter where you were in the park. Manager's were aware of it and did not attempt to use it at all. Cabins were cute and so were the treehouses. Very quiet and cozy park. Spent an enjoyable Christmas here. Great place to see San Antonio and Austin from. It was about halfway between. Nearest grocery and shopping was about a 15 or 20 minute drive away. We loved it.. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
We found the staff friendly and accommodating. The grounds were nicely kept with plenty of trees. Great view of the river, with a nice walking path along the river (San Marcos River). Pets are welcome with a fenced area for the pet to run and do its business (owners were expected to clean up afterwards). Each site had a picnic table and grill. The tent sites also had a fire ring. Tubes were available for rent at $8.00 each which included being picked up and brought back to the RV park as many times as you wanted to go down the river. My only complaint was that the RV sites were way too close together. The awning from each RV literally almost touched the next RV (less than 4 inches). The showers were clean, but they did charge 0.25 cents for a four minute shower. The tent sites were nicer than the RV sites – more shade and closer to the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Road to the park is bumpy and not paved, staff was not friendly, road through park in narrow and windy, 34 ft 5th wheel "squeezed" through, sites are very close together, week-end crowd is very loud, management did not attempt to quieten, would not recamp at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Used Passport America. As before mentioned, the access road is rough and dirty but thankfully short. I camped during a non busy time of year and had plenty of room but would have been unhappy with the campsite width if the park were full. The grounds are well kept, staff is very friendly and helpful. It is much nicer that many of the other RV parks in the area that have no trees and no view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$33
We arrived at the park and were disappointed with the access road from County Road 125. The access road is rough gravel. Once in the park the roads are paved but narrow and care must be taken to maneuver between some areas. There is not much room between the pull thru sites. The park itself is scenic and clean. The staff (workcampers) has been pleasant and helpful. I rated the park as I did only because of the access road, surrounding area has nothing to offer and lack of nearby shopping. The nearest grocery is 8 miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
My husband and I attended the Texas Parks and Wildlife Expo. There was a representative there that gave us a flyer with a coupon on it for 25% off at Leisure Resort in Fentress, Texas. They were advertising a Blue Grass Festival and pot luck dinner for the weekend of October 20 and 21st. We thought it would be nice to meet some other campers and felt this would be a good way. When we arrived and checked in we were told they would place an $8.00 fee on our card that would be refunded if we checked out by noon and when my husband asked if we could have a end campsite the guy was not at all accommodating. The park was only partially full, which is strange this time of year in Texas. After we set up and walked around we found signs every where saying don't do this and that. These were not even friendly reminders. Then I noticed that it cost for the showers. I was appalled. And when we went to the pot luck we found it was not sponsored by the park, but instead was a group of friends that get together each year and rent the pavilion. We had not prepared for dinner as we thought it would be pot luck and I only made a desert. Thank heavens the people were nice enough to let us crash their party and eat. We will never stay at this park again. And we camp somewhere once a month. We felt the resort misrepresented themselves and were interested in nothing but what they could charge fees for. The people have absolutely no people skills. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Had a great time with our kids at this campground. Beautifully kept grounds and easy to get to river access. The shade trees are wonderful and tall and the sites were long and wide concrete pads. We loved having our own campfire right at the site and the store keep plenty of chocolate on hand for smores! Kids had lots of fun swimming in both the river (first time for them!) and the pool and playing mini golf...making them nice and tired for bedtime giving hubby and I some quiet time in the evening by the fire. Highly recommend this park! We will be returning in our RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$33
Easter was our first visit with this park. Very nice park. We had a concrete site overlooking the river. There were lots of activities for the kids, the facilities & grounds were clean and staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
Nice place but attitude of management poor. Workamper took us on a short cut to our site (we were not given a map)and led us into a tree damaging our trailer. Management took no respnsibility even though their workamper did not take us through the correct road to our site, and kept waving us on, while watching us, until we hit a tree branch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2004
$35
We made the mistake of camping here over 4th of July. The crowd was wild and drunk! The police had to arrest someone. We never saw the owners try to control the situation. The place is expensive - you even have to pay to use the showers. It is probably a nice place to camp when it is not a holiday? They seem to tolerate a party crowd. Not a place I want to return with my kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Was wet and rainy when we checked in, but didn't have any problem. at first impression, it wasn't that great due to some long term sites, and the drive to the campground, but as the weekenders got there it got better. When the trees leaf out and the summer gets here, this park is probably a jumping place. I disagree with some of the previous reviews as to the staff. We were treated very cordially and each morning one member of the staff goes around on a golf cart and checks on anything that needs his attention. For those who want to tube the river, enjoy the quiet or fish a bit this isn't a bad place. Definitely close to some shopping and a Camping World. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
We spent 2 peaceful nights in this country park. Our site overlooked a river. The facilities were clean and the employees were friendly and helpful. We will stop anytime we are near. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$22
From the moment we arrived it was apparent that this park was interested in one thing and one thing only; the fees it would be collecting. We felt the attendant was rude and too concerned with what we could not do instead of telling us of the parks amenities. We found the sites to be too close together, and there was no grass around us. The bathhouse and bathrooms were not clean. Someone had allowed their dog to use the bathhouse as his bathroom. It stayed there for two days. We also found the General Store to be lacking in supplies, which was misleading from their advertisement. We will not be back and would never recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This was our first visit to this park and it is beautiful. Our site overlooked the river. Lots of shade. It was so quiet and peaceful. The grounds were very clean. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable with activities in the area. Anytime we are in the area, we will return there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
We recently stayed at Leisure Camp during our summer vacation and found it to be a wonderful place for our family! The camp is located in a quiet setting away from street noise so you really get to enjoy nature. The camp has wonderful river access that allows one to swim, tube and fish right from the camp. The extensive camp grounds are very well cared for, only enhancing their naturalstate. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to us throughout our stay, helping us with area information and events. We originally met people from the camp at an RV tradeshow and they were as genuine at the camp as at the show. We highly recommend this camp to anyone! As for the previous person's posting, all I can suggest is that before entering any campground you should read their policies and guidelines first before agreeing to stay there. Each one is a business and is not there for RVers to take advantage of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$19
The current management of this park does not believe in repeat business. I'm surprised that they did not charge to even look at the river. Had a guest drop off a member of the family after a day of shopping, guest stayed 1 hour and left. We were actually charged for a full day use. Management came to door approximately 20 minutes after guest arrived to notify us of the charge and to remit at the office. Will not stay again and do not recommend this park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com