221563 User submitted reviews online!!
Davis Mountains State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 89 user reviews. Phone: (432) 426-3337
CGID2767

Davis Mountains State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   8   10   5   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
We were in the full hook-up section which had cable TV which is really nice! Water pressure was good as was electric service. However, sewer connections were above grade and unusual. Good birding location with two bird blinds with water features. We had a pair of elf owls visit our campsite (number 6) for 3 nights in a row at dusk which was a big hit with us and our fellow campers. Excellent food at the Black Bear Restaurant at the Lodge. Each staff member with whom we had contact was absolutely great. We plan on returning! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Full hookup with cable sites available as well as just electric/water. Full hookups were all pull-through sites with nice picnic tables. Most had some shade available, but a few were without. Park is very convenient to McDonald Observatory and I would strongly recommend a visit to the facility. I attended an afternoon tour of facility and the Star Party offered 3 nights a week. What fantastic presentations for both programs. You do have to drive up a winding road to get there - it's the highest road in Texas - but it's well marked. Quite a few trails to hike at the park but my time was limited and I did not get to enjoy any of them. Two Javalinas walked through the campground one evening, helping themselves to any food left out. They were not intimidated by people nor were they aggressive toward people standing nearby to take photos. Park was clean, bathrooms spotless, ice and firewood available although fire restrictions at time of visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Excellent home base for McDonald Observatory and Ft. Davis State Park. Local grocery is limited and fuel is sparse, so be prepared. Sewer hook-up was difficult with the closure they had and not below grade level. Wonderful hiking areas and a nice drive loop and the scenery and 'quiet' were amazing! Must be close to sender for WiFi but is possible. Sites were mostly level and somewhat shaded. Would certainly stay here again if in the area......who needs a 'resort' when good enough will do! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
We love this campground even though the sites are tight for our 45' with slides. We stayed in 16 last year and 9 this year. Now that they have Wi-Fi we don't need to drive to the lodge for emails. Cell access is still not available unless you drive to the top of Skyline Drive but take the drive at sunset or sunrise and the view is amazing. Wildlife is everywhere, they have a new birding view area, the lodge is nice and the breakfast buffet is great. It's quiet, easy access in and out, and the staff and rangers are friendly. Not much of a town in Fort Davis but Alpine is close and there are lots of historic sites to see in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
Clean, nice roomy sites, level sites, nice amenities (nature center, Lodge, scenic drive to the top, hiking). The McDonald Observatory was an excellent evening trip up the mountain--well worth the money and time. The stars were phenomenal since the area is so dark. Highly recommend this destination. Excellent staff. Lots of javelinas roaming the campsites (could have been due to the park being just opened from an extended closure). We only stayed two nights but wish we could have stayed longer. We plan to return. The park was relatively empty the last week of December. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Davis Mountains State Park will be closed to all day and overnight use from Tuesday, September 3, 2013 through February, 2014. Indian Lodge will remain open for overnight lodging, and the Black Bear Restaurant will be open during standard business hours. The closure is due to major upgrades being done on the park’s utility systems; in addition the trail system in the Limpia Canyon Primitive Area will be improved and six miles of trail added. The park’s new bird viewing area will also be completed during this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We stayed here for 4 days. Perfect place, silent during day and night. Used 2 of our coupons, second day half price, so extended after two days. WiFi only at hotel and information center. Lots of birds, javelinas. Pull-throughs are good, some are a little better for a big rig, but they know at the front desk. Even cable at the full hookups. Perfect we will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We stayed here 4 nights and received 1/2 off the second night and free entrance fees for all days. We loved seeing the javalinas which were out in the early morning and evening. The park is clean and well maintained. While we were here we attended a 'Star Party' and a daytime tour at McDonald Observatory (a must do). We also walked the Fort Davis Historical Park and watched their movie, which was very educational. Additionally we drove to Big Bend National Park - so lots to do in the vicinity. We had space 20 which was a pull-through on a hill. We had the back of the trailer down near the ground and the front up as far as we could put it. No shade but a veranda over the picnic table. We would definitely come here again. Please note: If you need to wash your clothes or vehicle you can go to Alpine TX. It is 30 miles but a real nice ride. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We spent 2 nights here. A little hard to get to from the interstate but definitely worth the trip. I highly recommend this and other Texas state parks. Very clean, well maintained, and very helpful staff. Cable TV didn't work and wi-fi was so weak that I couldn't log on. Hey, this is camping, don't we go to get away from some of this? Anyway, I was surprised to find the bathroom actually heated when I visited it early one morning. Would stay again (for sure). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
This is a very nice state park, spacious sites, full hookups, lots of wildlife. WI-FI is only available at certain locations. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
This park sits in a valley with the Davis Mountains surrounding it. Fort Davis is about three miles down the road with restaurants, gas and the Fort Davis National Historic Site. It cost us $25 for full hookups and cable for the first night and because we had a TX State Park Pass we did not have to pay the entrance fee and our second night cost $12.50 (you get about 4, 50% off coupons for camping when you buy the pass). The campground looks up towards the mountains and it is an easy ride of about 11 miles up route 118 to the University of Texas McDonald’s Observatory. There are 94 sites for tents, w & e, and full hookups. Bath houses were OK. Sites for full hookups 17 to 28 did not seem to be level but the area we were in 1-16 were very level and great sites. There is the Indian Lodge just up the hill with a restaurant but there seems to be concern that they recently changed the menu with higher prices and took out a number of favorite items. It is a great place to camp and when it is hot in Texas this area seems to be comfortable. There is an amphitheater, wildlife viewing, scenic overlook drive, playground, bike trail, hiking trails, primitive equestrian camping, interpretive center and dump station. We would come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We are repeat visitors here! Very friendly staff and very nice facilities. Even has cable tv! We especially liked the ranger education programs and the bird watching at the Interpretive Center. We seldom rate a campground a 10, but this one is deserving! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
History, Hiking, Javalina! If you like being in the wilderness, this is a great place. Quiet, dark, remote, wildlife, yet the campground has cable TV. Clean showers/restrooms. MacDonald Observatory is 13 miles away. Fort Davis historic Army Fort is nearby. Fun place. If you are a disabled vet, get your Texas Parklands Passport for Vets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
Loved the state park. Lots of activities. Quiet, remote. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
One of the finest state parks we have stayed in. Big, individual sites with canopies and concrete patios in natural setting. Spotless washrooms with large showers. Good hiking trails. Interesting National Historic Site and observatory nearby. Restaurant at Indian Lodge within park. All this, and cable hook-ups too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Our site was level, area was clean, handicap restroom was clean and spacious, park rangers and hosts were helpful, roads are well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
The campsite is $25, but they charge another $5 entrance fee, effectively $30 per night. We were welcomed by a group that was gathered there. During a pot-luck dinner we were joined by a doe and her bouncy fawn. Later 3 javelinas came by to check us out. The park has lots of shade trees. There hiking trails and a road to the top of the mountain. Nice view at the top. There is an observatory up the road with visitor facilities. The town of Ft Davis has some interesting shops and a restored fort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Everything about this campground is fantastic. For the RV sites excellent properties include: site privacy, convenience of hookups, view, picnic table quality, clean restrooms, site size, convenience of layout. I highly recommend this campground to any RVer in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
We have been to this park 3 times now and love it every time. The whole family loves hiking through the mountains and make sure you wake up early to watch the sunrise from the overlook. We were pleasantly surprised that the fires did not damage most of the park. It is a state park, so the restrooms and showers are somewhat rugged, but more than adequate. We just happend to be here during the Perseid meteor showers and it was spectacular. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Stayed here for a week. The park is excellent in most ways. I stayed in site 24, and most of the sites in this area (17-27) are a little tricky to get level on. All sites have a covered picnic table set on a concrete slab. Like many reviewers have said, the wildlife is abundant and they come right up to the picnic tables while you're eating (I think some people have ignored the "Do Not Feed the Animals" policy). My only issue with the park is the Wi-Fi was not working, and the staff seemed not to be in any mood to get it fixed. Cell phone reception is almost nil until you get up on top of the scenic overlook. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
I totally agree with the previous well-written review. I would add that the interior roads and sites are paved and reasonably level, especially given that the park is in the mountains. It was serene and peaceful. Good restaurant at Indian Lodge inside the park. If you like to hike and commune with nature, this is the place. However, it will be getting hotter soon since it is high desert in west Texas. We plan to go back for another visit when we can. Things to do outside the park include McDonald Observatory, Marfa lights, Big Bend National Park, Guadalupe National Park (mainly hiking), Terlingua, etc. One of the best places that we have stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
This is the first 10 rating I have given and it is well deserved! The Park Staff were absolutely great and treated us like old friends. The park is on the edge of the Chihuahuan Desert and their rainy season doesn’t start until July, so park was dry, but this is arid west Texas. We were in the full hook-up section which even has 49 TV channels! Most sites have shade trees or shelters. We had no cell service until we drove up the mountain to the overlook, but didn’t miss it! About 6 javalinas came out from under the RV one morning as we were sat down to coffee, deer wandered to within 40 feet of us. There are two bird-watching areas set up in the park and we were not disappointed. Lunch at the lodge was excellent! We recommend the nearby McDonald Observatory’s Twilight and Star Parties, and also the botanical garden at the Chihuahuan Desert Research Institute southeast of Ft Davis. The park was clean, the staff periodically checked the area, we felt safe, and we loved our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
A very nice state park. We had a back in water/electric site as the full hook up sites were all reserved. No cable TV at these sites, and nothing on the antenna. The cost was $20 plus $5 each person per day. We had a small restroom near us which was heated on cold mornings. The dump station was on the wrong side as we exited, had to drive round the loop behind the main bath house. Wi-Fi worked OK but we had to go every day to ask them to reboot it. The Sunday lunch buffet at Indian Lodge was excellent. The Fort in the town of Fort Davis is worth a visit, as is the McDonald Observatory; especially the star party. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Sites were somewhat out of level, but workable, roomy, covered picnic table. We were in site #19. Sewer connection was higher than should be for good drainage. Wifi not usable at site but good at Interpretative center nearby. Cell Phone good at top of Skyline Drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
If you like the high desert, this is a great place to camp; beautiful mountains, lots of clear nights for star gazing, and pretty areas to walk. We only stayed two nights but I can envision returning for a longer stay. Also, we were thrilled to find a state park with full hook-up and cable! CG was almost empty in the winter so we could choice our site. Lots of space between sites, utilities were good, nights went below freezing so you need to disconnect your water hose. The rangers were friendly. There is a small interpretative center in the CG and a telescope observatory (shows start at 6pm) ~13 miles away. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
This was a challenging park to evaluate. Made online reservations for two nights. In the end this cost $28 per night: $20 for the car for two nights, and $4 per occupant (2 in our case) per night. Rangers at the park office were efficient and helpful. The area is great for hiking and mountain biking for the technical rider. Skyline Drive is the place to be for sunsets and stargazing on clear nights. It's open until 10pm nightly. Javalenas and Mule Deer abound. A herd of Javalinas meandered about the park, quite willing to share it with humans. Park staff was working on the main camp restroom propane tank while we were there, so no heat or hot water for our two day stay. Restrooms are small (two showers, two sinks) and basic. McDonald Observatory is 11 miles up the road. Their evening star program was wonderful. The town of Fort Davis is 3 miles down the road and worth a stop. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
A very nice state park . Got Wi-Fi and cable TV, pull through sites, with full hook ups. We were surrounded by mountains in a valley. Saw wild life right by our motorhome. Nice location to visit the Ft Davis National HS. Would stay here again, hated to leave. The staff was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
This is a wonderful place to spend a few nights or a couple of weeks. The sites are nestled among the trees with creeks and mountains all around. Great hiking and just lovely peace and tranquility. There are many pull through sites (we had #13) which are really very convenient, but not your typical pull through. In fact, one needs to pay attention to the trees all around as you pull into and maneuver the rig - a nice inconvenience really because of its setting. Would gladly return here on a return trip, and would stay much longer than the 2 nights that we camped there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Great place to stay. They have full hook-ups and electric and water. Full hook-up sites were pull throughs. Nice park with mule deer and javelina. Good idea to have reservations. Lots of hiking trails. Beware: no cell phone signal! You can go to Fort Davis. Go eat at Mary Lou. Thursday is fried chicken and Friday is catfish all you can eat!! Stayed here for 5 days, would do so again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
This is an absolutely beautiful park. We were in pull through site 7, which was a full hookup site. It was very quiet, and we enjoyed visits by both deer and javelina. We were surprised to find cable TV service, not a norm for state run parks. Other than a need for some tree trimmings, the park was well maintained. We will return again if we come back to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
This gem was a great find for us. It's not often that a state park with such reasonable rates has space for our 40 foot motorhome and cable TV to boot! Our site was a bit unlevel and had a long and uphill run to the sewer hook-up but those are minor inconveniences for such a beautiful setting. There's lots to do in the area and we enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant twice during our 6-night stay. The rangers we met were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Davis Mountains State Park is in a beautiful area of Texas! We used to tent camp here quite often. The tent sites are in a separate location from the RV sites. Lots of hiking trails: some easy, some quite challenging. Lots of wildlife to observe and photograph: deer, javelina, quail, buzzards, and many others. The rangers are friendly and helpful and can point out areas where you might have success spotting wildlife. The restrooms and shower facilities were clean (carry your own hand soap or hand sanitizer as some restrooms don't have a dispenser). We enjoyed our site once we got parked and hooked up. We spent time sitting outside and watching Nature. Star gazing is incredible at night! No light pollution! The area is in severe drought and suffered a grassfire which burned many acres and parts of the lovely town of Fort Davis. However, restaurants and shops are open and the old fort and the observatory are open as well. Well worth a trip down to visit! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Rate is with TX Park pass. Full hookup sites are spacious, but many lack shade, and have little vegetation to cut the wind. Full HU Sites #17 and above are located on the side of a hill, where it is very difficult to level. Covered picnic tables on patios and 50-amp are pluses. Fabulous views; excellent birdwatching. They say the only places to get Wi-Fi are outside of the HQs or interpretative center. However, you can get great Wi-Fi from the full hookup sites on the hill. The town itself is a few miles away, but has excellent Wi-Fi and 3G cell coverage throughout the town. Not bad for a town of about 1,000. The cable TV has only 50 channels, but includes Cinemax and Showtime. And you cannot beat $20/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Built by CCC. Lovely, spacious, well separated sites; mostly pullthroughs. Lots of birds, occasional javelina (watch your pets) and a few deer. Friendly and helpful office staff. Quiet. No light pollution because of proximity to McDonald Observatory. Elevation: 5000 feet. Be prepared for altitude adjustments (headache, nausea, fatigue, shortness of breath) if coming from lowlands. Black Bear Restaurant is on State Park grounds; lovely setting, great food, large portions, inexpensive. Water pressure = 75# Environmentally unconscious; no recycling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
This has to be one of the most beautiful RV parks in Texas. Can't say enough about the setting. Lots of wildlife including bird feeding stations. Pet owners take note that there is a large number of javalina in the park. If your dog is aggressive and off leash, you could have some big problems. Wi-fi doesn't work except at the lodge. Beware that while the cable works great some of the hookups are at the wrong end of the site. Had to make a 40 foot cable run. Staff was friendly and helpful. Don't miss Fort Davis National Historic Site. It was beautiful and informative. MacDonald Observatory tour is also a don't miss. Take the circle drive to Alpine and Marfa. LaCasita in Alpine had wonderful Tex-Mex at cheap prices. Would stay here again if we are ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
Large spacious sites, but they have some fairly aggressive slope from front to back if you are in a large rig. Had problems with the sewer being backed up even though we were at the top of the hill. You will see lots of deer day and night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
This is a really nice, well-maintained park with great personnel! They were very knowlegable about the area and sights to see. Great hiking trails in the park! We will definitely be visting them again! Note: We were unable to get cell phone signal at our campsite, but went up Skyline Road to the top and were able to receive a signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
This really is a nice park but not so nice as to pay $28 a night. Hookups and site was all good. We were here on a Friday and Saturday night and the only RV in the entire loop. No wonder with such high rates. The office staff was all business and no smiles or chat. Not unfriendly but obviously just there to do a job and get back to whatever they were doing when I interrupted them. I definitely will not stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Beautiful sunrise and sunset! Clean but older facilities. No problems with connections in below freezing temperatures. Enjoy what the area has to offer and know that both the Big Bend Ranch State Park and Big Bend National Park are a long drive south. We base camped at Ft Davis during our Big Bend region trip but agree that we will take the trailer south when we return. McDonald observatory is very close. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
Very nice park, paved roads and gravel sites. Saw many deer in park and had Javelina in camp site. Power and water were good. No cell (AT&T) except on top of mountain overlook. Wi-Fi worked well. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
An exceptional park, but judging by the previous review, only if you stay in the full hookup sites. Our 40' motor home with tow easily made the turn-around at the end of the loop, and our site (15) was very large, hookups were convenient (except cable TV), and we had a large cement patio with metal awning and a fire ring. Views were spectacular, and we were treated to deer and javelina wandering frequently through the site, with the howling of coyotes in the distance. The cable TV was very good, and our site also gave us a clear view of the DirecTV satellite. Verizon cell was only usable from the top of the overlook, but surprisingly, the Aircard worked fairly well at the site. What makes this park special is the area; McDonald observatory and the Star Parties are unique and educational, the Fort Davis Historic Site is one of the best restored Calvary forts in the country, the scenic loop drive is beautiful, and the Marfa Mystery Lights are not to be missed. The park lodge restaurant is a nice place to eat, but try Nel's coffee shop in town. We enjoyed our five-day stay and will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
I've been wanting to visit this park since '03 and finally got my chance. Yes, it is a great park with spectacular views of the landscape, wildlife, and night sky. Lot's to do in the area besides. But as another reviewer mentioned, the campground itself is not the star of this show. First, the shaded partial hookup sites are small as was the cul de sac for which to turn around. Although the park office lady insisted we'd fit in site 29, we'd have literally had to back our 53 feet of trailer and tow vehicle into the loop just to do so. There simply was no room to maneuver within the loop. We ended up in site 55 in open sunlight with overhead power lines cutting across the campground. But the best part here is that each site in this area features a fire pit and covered picnic table on the OPPOSITE side of your rig. Every time we stepped out of our trailer, there were our neighbors staring at us from their picnic table. Can you say 'no privacy'? Their fire pit was 12' from our trailer. Had they decided to build a fire, I might have considered retracting my awning. Oh and there's more. On the morning of our departure, our drive to the dump station (the only one in the park) ended with the drain on the opposite side of our trailer. Since our hose wasn't long enough, we had to drive to the park office turn around and come back to dump. We then had to drive the wrong way through the full hookup loop to exit. I'm giving the Fort Davis area and the park itself a 10, but the campground gets a generous 6. That averages to 8. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This state park is beautiful and is located in the west Texas mountains. The sites are very large and spread out so there is sufficient privacy. We also had plenty of shade at our site. The park is conveniently located only a few minutes from the town of Fort Davis. We would highly recommend this beautiful state park, and we hope to visit it again soon and get to spend more time in the park the next time we visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Nice park, but we prefer others. The mountains, of course, were stunning. Great views, beautiful sunsets. Our site was not very shady, but some were. The Lodge was very interesting and beautiful, had decent food. Spent a little time there each afternoon in the cozy lobby checking our email. The only phone service was at the top of Skyline Drive (where the sunsets are best seen). Plenty of trails, though the dogs didn't take too kindly to the ants. Found a few ticks on them as well. Nature happens. No ice for sale in the campground, but there is a decent little grocery store in Fort Davis, about 4 miles away. Great bird blinds. Saw no javelinas until the very last evening we were here (7 nights total). The McDonald Observatory was cool, but not worth the time and money, in our opinion. 200 people (including us) stood in line to look through seven telescopes, four of which were viewing the same thing, so we basically just stood in line for 2 hours. The drive up to it was FAR more awesome at sunset than actually being there. Two hours and $20 we'll never get back. Overall, though, our trip for Davis Mountains was a great experience. So much to see out there: we'll definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This is one of our favorite state parks. Wonderful views of the Davis Mountains, good hiking and lots of wildlife. They maintain a couple of excellent bird feeding stations. Full hookups are available, including cable TV. The Chihuahuan Desert Nature Center is nearby, and worth a visit. They have great garden and minimg displays, and wonderful hiking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
Great Park. We stayed 3 days in the water and electric sites which were somewhat narrow (in some sites), and difficult to get into in some areas, however there were enough sites that were big enough for a 32 ft MH w/2 slides. The Indian Lodge had great Wi-Fi and restaurant. Hiking was great and you can't beat the price and location in the Davis Mountains. Will definitely be back and maybe get a full hook-up site to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
We had a water, sewer, electric site that was less private than the water and electric, but roomy. We had trouble with cell phone reception on the campground, but could get service up on Skyline road. We used WiFi at the lodge. The park was clean and quiet and the bathroom showers were hot. We brought our dog and enjoyed the hikes over to Fort Davis. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
We were told this state park is one of the best in Texas and we were not disappointed. We were in Site 14 with full hook up (FHU). There are two sections with FHU – one with more shade than the other. The FHU sites are all fairly long pull-throughs and much roomier than the water & electric (W&E) sites which are all back-in. We initially took a W&E site but the road to the site was narrow with low overhanging branches making turning around and backing in tricky. Electric was very good. Campground was quiet. There are no laundry facilities. Wi-Fi is available within the park at Indian Lodge and was very good. No Verizon cellphone access in the campground area. For cell phone access, you drive four miles into Ft. Davis or up the scenic Skyline Drive. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
We loved this state park! Full hookups, including sewer, and no problem with 38 ft fifth wheel. Great hikes and scenery, and a visit to the nearby fort and McDonald observatory, all make interesting day trips. The wildlife in this park is amazing. The deer and the javelina are everywhere, and especially like to make regular trips through the campground to see what's going on. I don't think a day went by that we didn't have at least 10 or 12 javelina walk by the rig. I was up in the bed of my pickup one afternoon when I turned around and had two deer looking over the side of the bed rail to apparently see what I was doing in there! Also had a coyote wander through one afternoon to see what was going on. Will definitely stay here again when ever we are in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
This is a real 10 state park. Wonderful sites, full hookups with cable TV (many channels). Scenery, roads, skyline drive, hiking trails - it's all here. Outdoors at its best in a gorgeous area full of fabulous things to see and no Wal-Mart for more miles than you can count and no strip malls either! The real rate though is the camping fee plus $4 per person per day - unless you have Texas State Park Pass ($60) - if you stay long enough or can use it at other Texas state parks. Don't miss this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$22
The only reason I did not give it a 10 is that it does not have a pool. Has paved roads and the sites are full hookup with cable TV. Even had Showtime! There's abundant wildlife but be careful to lock up all your food. Wi-Fi is available: you have to drive up the hill to the Inn but it works in your car. Your cell will not work except at the top of the mountain. Even the restaurant was excellent. I wish this park was closer to home as it's one of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This was one of the best state parks I have stayed in. It even has sewer and cable TV. Sites are mostly level. This time of year it does get a little cool at night. You need to make a reservation. We called a few days ahead and could only stay 2 nights; they were already booked for the rest of the week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Be certain to reserve ahead, as more and more people are discovering this cool mountain retreat. It is remote enough that the park provides cable television hookups. Go up to the Indian Lodge, a wonderfully maintained CCC constructed building. The restaurant is mediocre, but the ambiance is worth the experience. The night is dark, the stars are spectacular, the refreshing breezes in the middle of the West Texas desert are great. Take a side trip to the Fort Davis National Monument or the McDonald Observatory for a star party and a peek through a telescope at a distant galaxy or planet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This was our first time staying at this state park, and we can't wait to be able to return. The location is beautiful. The trails were nicely maintained, and the wildlife was abundant. This is a great spot to stay while exploring the area around Fort Davis. You feel like you are truly away from it all, but you are close enough to town if you need to run in and get something. Each campsite has a fire ring and a covered picnic table. The facilities were all very nice and well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
While only our fourth trip in our trailer, we thoroughly enjoyed this state park. The sites are a stone's throw from each other, but with the shade trees you feel some seclusion when you face away from the road. The park is close enough to town that it's easy to run to the store, etc., but it's nestled far enough into the mountains that it feels like a getaway. Wonderful scenery in the area. Don't miss the view from the top of Skyline Drive at sunset. We saw javelina and deer wandering the sites each evening. Indian Lodge/Black Bear Restaurant in the park was also good...the lodge itself is neat to look around. Also, don't miss exploring nearby Alpine and Marfa. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This is one of our favorite spots, and we have stayed here twice. Wonderful scenery. Quiet location. Lots of trees and privacy. Picnic tables. Restrooms are a little old, but clean. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Great park. We stayed 6 days and loved every day. Convenient for a lot of day trips like McDonald Observatory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
This is a very nice state park in a great area. Sites were large, paved and all hookups worked. Our site, and others I saw, were not totally level, but the setting made up for that one small thing. The park has wildlife, deer, javalina were spotted by folks in our group. We had 49 cable channels and there was internet in the nearby Indian Lodge. Close to McDonald Observatory which has star parties about three nights a week. Highly recommend those. Cost about $10 per person, but worth every penny. Little town of Fort Davis is quaint and interesting. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
We camped here for 4 days. No full hook ups were available for us at the time. Staff was efficient but not particularly friendly. They failed to inform us that Wi-Fi was available at the lodge in the park and instead told us about the library in town. Sites were paved, fairly large and nicely laid out. Charcoal fires were allowed even though dry conditions prevented ground fires. Very nice hiking in the area. I had cell phone coverage with my Motorola in Space 59. Fort Davis is a friendly small town worth visiting. Javalina, a fox and deer walked through the camp at dusk. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Price reflects a weekly rate and use of the Texas Park Pass for daily entry. This is one of Texas' best state parks - large sites with picnic pavilions and fire rings, full hookups with cable TV, and a great scenic drive. No Verizon cell phone or air card reception in the park; however, the Indian lodge (which has a fair restaurant) has free WiFi. This is a great destination park and also a good place from which to visit McDonald Observatory, Fort Davis National Historic Site, and the "Marfa Mystery Lights". Fort Davis has a fair variety of restaurants, one grocery store, and two gas stations; all are pricey so stock up before arrival. Our stay was detracted from by being told at 4:30 on our second day that we would have to move to another area before 9:00 AM the next day due to cable TV work; and that we had to report to the office before 5:00 to receive another site. The ranger giving the notice was not particularly helpful or professional. Other than that, this is a quality park and worth the trip. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
A very nice State Park. One of the few that has full hook ups at the site. The roads are paved and the sites are gravel. Metal shade structure at each site. No laundry facilities. The rate does not include a $3 per person per night entry fee. The fee is waived if you have a Yearly Park Pass. The pass is $60 a year. Worth it if you plan on visiting other parks throughout the year. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$22
This is an excellent State Park. Nice destination Park. Full hookups including cable TV at some sites. Great hiking trails and beautiful scenery. The park restaurant "The Black Bear" has good food. We stayed here over the Christmas Holiday's for 9 days. Plenty of wildlife in the park. A herd of Javelina Hogs comes through the grounds in the evening so don't leave pets unattended outside. Alpine is 25 miles away. Marfa and the "Marfa Lights" are 26 miles. The McDonald Observatory is 13 miles and is a must see. Go to a "star party" in the evening there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
One of the best state parks. Our rate reflects the camping only fee. We bought a TX park pass for $60 which we almost broke even on. Otherwise, there is an additional daily fee of $4 for each adult. We spent 8 nights in site 27, a full hook-up, pull-through site with cable. The section of the campground we were in went uphill so it took some leveling. The other section is more level. We would be happy with any site in these two sections. I would imagine that the vegetation and trees would be most welcome in the heat of the summer. Most sites in these two sections were occupied. There were several unoccupied sites in the electric/water only sites. We had mule deer and javelina visit on a daily basis. There are great hiking trails with views. Friendly campground hosts. This is such a pretty area and convenient to so many things to do and see. We had a hard time leaving. We definitely will return. This is a great park to bring your bikes. We were here during the dormant time of year (end of December) for foliage but I bet this is especially beautiful in the spring, summer, and fall. By the way, we had fajita lunch at Indian Lodge. The food was just ok - not fresh tasting as I know the Spanish rice and refried beans were canned. It would not take that much to make food using fresh ingredients. The service was abysmal and we won't go back. Too bad as we would have enjoyed more meals if the food and service were decent. We really enjoyed the Chihuahua Desert Research Institute and the historic Fort Davis. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
This is a terrific park where we camped for five nights in March. It deserves the wonderful reviews it has been getting. The park is hilly rather than mountainous and thus hiking is not difficult. As with other parks in south and west Texas, there are lots of good birding opportunities. The interpretative center is very well equipped and staffed and should be visited. Some sites have cable TV: a huge bonus for a state park. The town of Fort Davis, although quite small, has some interesting shops. If you visit this park, be sure to enjoy the great vistas by hiking to the top of the scenic hill or driving it. Davis Mountains State Park is definitely a park to spend some time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
Davis Mountains State Park is a wonderful place. We stayed in site 10, and it is a great site. It is not completely level, but we easily compensated for a slight decline (front to rear). Our site had full hookups including cable TV and a nice picnic table underneath a grand old oak tree. We enjoyed the hiking and mountain bike trails. The deer were extremely friendly and came by our site each morning and evening looking for food. (Please don't feed them.) We attended an hour long session on owls at the interpretive center. The elder gentleman that gave the presentation was outstanding. We laughed quite a bit and learned quite a bit as well. We also drove over the the McDonald Observatory on Friday night for the Star Party. We highly recommend this if you have children as they will really enjoy it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This state park is the very best. Our 2008 visit was the first winter trip we have made here and it is just as great in February as it is in the summer. Quiet and spacious and so relaxing you never want to leave. The staff are beyond praise. This park is what makes Texas! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
What a great place to stay. Beautiful surrounds with a nighttime sky not to be believed. The staff at the park was great. Our thermostat on the A/C broke and we call the manufacturer and had it delivered to the park. The staff delivered it to us and offered to help install. We travel with four (yes four) large well-behaved dogs and they were welcome with plenty of room to walk and play. The only thing I don't like is it is too far from home to visit every weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
I loved this park. Every night the deer and javelina would come to our camp. We also had a skunk one night and saw other animals. We had a shade tree, but not all spots did in our loop. Each site had a picnic table and most were on cement slabs with a tin roof covering. Also each site had a fire pit that you could grill on or have a campfire. The McDonald Observatory is near by and a must see. We went to a star party one night and it was great. Historical Ft. Davis was very interesting also. We were in a 32' travel trailer and stayed here 6 days. We didn't want to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This park is one of our favorite places to park. It has spectacular scenery on top of the mountain. It has spacious camping sites. Some sites have full hookups plus cable TV. There are many pull though camp sites. There are some sites with complete shade all day. There is lots of places to walk and explore. The restrooms are a long walk from some sites but the hosts keep them clean and the showers have shower curtains. The wild life is abundant. Deer, javelina, skunks, raccoons, and lots of birds. We had our grand daughters with us. One night javelinas surrounded our trailer and our picnic table. That is something that they will not forget. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Very nice campground. Had full hookups, which is really nice for state campgrounds. We saw a great deal of wildlife. Several deer came within 10 feet of the trailer. We watched them for 30 minutes. We also saw quite a bit of other wildlife. There is a little restaurant in the park at the "Indian Lodge" Hours are a little limited, so check before you plan on a meal there. The campsites themselves were very good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
The rate is based on the purchase of an annual pass. This is a very nice Texas State Park and the sewer hookups were a nice surprise. If they had Wi-Fi, I would easily give this a 10 rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
What a delight to stay in such a beautiful park with full hookups. Our kids enjoyed the wildlife every night. We plan to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
We now have a favorite state park in Texas. What a wonderful park and such a friendly staff! We can't wait to return. If you're into birdwatching, this is the place to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
Personnel were very well trained and was excellent with local area information. Personnel were very friendly. The park is a great place to take a family. Excellent restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
We pulled in here mostly on a whim, expecting to dry camp. What a neat surprise to get a full hookup site, complete with cable! The sites are large, and there's tons of wildlife. This is a little off of the beaten path for the I-10 traffic, but its worth the side trip. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
This is my favorite campground. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The park is situated in the Davis Mountains of West Texas. There are lots of trees and several shaded full hook-up sites as well as lots of wildlife that includes javelina, deer, raccoons, foxes, skunks (well-mannered), and a wide variety of birds. Cell phone coverage is spotty in the lower areas of the park, but a short drive up to the scenic overlook yields a strong signal. Hiking trails are excellent and horseback riding is available nearby. You will also want to attend a Star Party that is hosted by nearby McDonald Observatory. We never get tired of coming to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Loved this park. We booked for 2 nights and ended up rebooking for 6 nights. Deer and birds were everywhere. The mountain views are spectacular. Only problem we had was the distance of our cable connection. We had to borrow additional cable from the park host since our 25 ft cable was not enough. Apparently, this is a common problem since some cable connections are on the opposite side of all other connections. Close to McDonald Observatory. Make sure you have the majority of your groceries since there is not much to choose from in Ft. Davis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$24
This park definitely deserves the great reviews. The trails, scenery and wildlife are definitely not what you expect in Texas. Don't miss the McDonald Observatory nearby, and take the scenic loop drive around Fort Davis and surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$19
It's not so much the campground, which is quite nice, that makes this worth the trip but the surroundings in which the campground is located. The Davis Mountains are beautiful! There is an abundance of wildlife and bird feeding stations in the campground attract a variety of birds for visitors to see. The north half of the park, the Limpia Canyon Primitive Area, has backcountry hiking and primitive tent campsites. The south half of the park is more developed with partial and full hook-up sites. Also nearby are Fort Davis National Historic Site and the University of Texas McDonald Observatory. Don't forget to go take a peek at Indian Lodge, a beautiful hotel in the park that was built in a Spanish style by the CCC in the early 1930s. I only gave the campground a rating of 7 because although it is a good campground it is not the real star here - it is the land itself and I would rate that a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Full hookup sites are great for a Texas State Park. Other TX SP's should take note. Our group had 4 sites for 3 nights. This was our 5th year. Deer walk right up to your site. Great bird watching stations. Good food at lodge. Reservations are confusing if made over the phone. All loops have the same name. If you desire full hookup sites, ask for the most expensive. Reservations are almost mandatory for a full hookup site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$14
Price is based on the purchase of a Texas Park Pass. This park has: 28 (Full H/U); 32 (E/W); 32 (Tent) sites. Lots of hiking trails, good birding and wildlife. There was no cell phone service, TV or radio in the park. Beautiful park. Would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
The very best State Park - bar none. It just takes so long to get there. But hey, that's what makes it so great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Our favorite campground in Texas so far, and one of our top five in 16 states. Very quiet and peaceful setting in a small valley. Tons of wildlife in the morning and evening--keep your pets inside at night and on leash during the day. Great hiking trails throughout the park and neat things to see nearby. Pets thoroughly enjoyed the area and kept us up at night barking at javelina and deer tromping through the wash. Local roads are great for cycling, we recommend Ft Davis and the observatory. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$14
Camped here with a tent trailer and had a very nice time. Bathrooms and showers where clean. Many wild animals roaming about. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
This is the best park in Texas. Plenty of room, lots of big sky, quite and peaceful. Park Rangers are the friendliest and most helpful of any state park. We have made this a must visit park for the past twenty years and it has never disappointed us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$22
Good sites, security, cable tv available, several areas to visit. Good stopover for a day or two on way to Big Bend. South of I-20 and I-10 merger. " Nice campground, but warnings to watch pets and children due to Javalina and other animals. 2006 was our 3rd year to spend several days there. Here are pictures of site #9, one of the best. Reservations are hard to make. All loops have the same name. Sites 1-14 are level and have full hookups. We had two sites in the full service loop. Make you reservations using a computer, so you can pick the desired loop. Call the park itself the morning you plan to arrive and ask them to assign you a site at that time. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
What a great place to visit. Cool clear nights and very quiet. Great place to road bike. Some of the most challenging hills (for Texas) you can find. The only draw back is it is a Loooong way out there. Once your there you forget everything else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Good birdwatching! Big sites. Lots of deer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$16
Very clean and very quiet. Kids enjoyed the 9 miles of hiking trails and much wildlife. The nearby McDonald observatory is a must see! Most nights are clear and cool with a sky full of stars. A day trip to Balmorea State Park, horseback riding, and the quaint town of Fort Davis made for a wonderful visit. I would definitely visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com