220808 User submitted reviews online!!
San Luis Pass County Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (979) 233-6026
CGID2776

San Luis Pass County Park

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   8   8   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
This appears to be a fisherman's paradise. Also, some great kayaking in the area. Campground was well maintained and staff was very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again and intend to come back in warmer weather to enjoy the kayaking! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We stayed 3 nights on back canal side of the park. Very secluded park popular for fishing. Many families. Other than the group directly across from us that were up all night, the place was quiet. I used earplugs so they didn't bother me but I would have expected the host to quiet them down at 10 or 11 which didn't happen. A maintenance guy told me this is typical esp on weekends here. Very scenic and well run campground. We'd stay here again, with earplugs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
Nice park with night lighting for fishing. The sites are well laid out, but are very short and close together. Prior to going, make sure to stock up on supplies as groceries are 30 minutes one way. WiFi was out when we were here, and for several days before we arrived. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Great place to stay and fish. Gated entry and level pads. The staff people are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Camping here was really nice for a few days of camping. The rate we were charged was based on if you live in the county or not. The out of county rate was $32.00. The park sites are paved and pretty much level. The streets are paved also, with plenty of street lights for night time walks with your dog or cat. They have Wi-Fi, but we did not use it. Friends that we were camping with told us that the Wi-Fi was working OK. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
San Luis Pass County Park ( N29.07998, W095.13170 ) is found on the west side of the bridge to Galveston, TX. We mention this because following our GPS to the park street address we missed the signs indicating the park location turnoff. The park itself is right on Galveston Bay and all the level, cement FHU sites look to provide you with some view of the bay. Their sites are tight with grass strips between each camper. We arrived right after spring break and before a huge storm so the park was about half full and pretty quiet. Fishing, birding, walking the beach and just chilling are the only close by activities. They do have a camp host to render any assistance you may require. Restaurants, golf courses and grocery stores are at least 10 miles from the campground so come well stocked before you plan a weekend or more at this park and note the office is closed on Mondays so get reservations and gate/bathhouse codes ahead of your arrival. Also be aware that they charge an extra 3% if you pay with a credit card – something that we were not told when we made our reservations so our nightly fee reflects this “not cool” add on. The park Wi-Fi worked well for us and our Verizon cell and MiFi also performed as expected. Many “locals” book this park for lengthy stays – especially in the spring and fall when they say the flounder, red fish etc. are biting. Since we’re not into fishing we would not use this park if we were passing through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
A great small park in a beautiful location. On a small island, surrounded by water, wetlands and beautiful beaches. Not crowded and very quiet. Only 30 miles from Galveston which is a great place to visit. We Will return!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
This was our 2nd stay at this park. The waterfront view of the sunrises and sunsets were absolutely amazing. Not a lot of activities other than fishing. Because of the undertow, swimming is not recommended. Quiet and well kept park. My only recommendation is to request a site on the first row where the back of your camper faces the ocean: not the bay side. Sites on this row are much easier to back in especially with a 34' or longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
The park is back and good for fishing with one exception, the bridge needs to be dredged out so people can have another place to fish. It was crowded spring break weekend so there were a limited number of places to fish. Spend money to dredge out the bridge area please! This will make the park the GREAT place it once was. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Great place to just relax and fish. Otherwise it is very far out with nothing do do. No restaurants or shopping within 25 miles. Laundry is good. Park has been restored from a hurricane. Concrete pads are nice but interior roads could use some work with lots of annoying speed bumps: why I don't know. I have never seen an RVer speeding through a campground, especially one with a locked gate where you can't get in. Be sure to call ahead to get the gate code, as the office tends to be closed at times when it is supposed to be open. Sites are close together; our awning was over our neighbor's sewer, and we were on Row A, which is probably the best row. We would probably come back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
This park has reopened and it is nice, but not the same as before " Ike." No lights on the bridge for night fishing, and the water flow under the bridge is not there anymore. That was a great spot to spend the night and meet people while fishing! I hope they fix this soon because I'm not sure I will be back till it is done. The staff is always helpful as before, but I go to fish!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
After being closed for a little over a year due to the hurricane the campground is now open. Only one row of RV sites is now open, but more opening all the time. Playground has not been rebuilt, don't know if they plan on doing that or not. Close sites, but worth it for some of the best fishing anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Park is now closed due to damage from hurricane Ike. As of Dec. 2009, they have not started making any repairs. The bridge to the campground is gone, so is the deck area. It is a great campground for fishing, but the sites are very close, but worth it for the fishing. Hopefully they will start working on it soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
This park was very nice.We enjoyed the time spent there because we where surrounded by water. We where there to fish and go to the Beach.The staff was very nice and helpful. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
We go to this park every year in October for the Red Fish run through San Luis Pass. The park is gated and on an island, accessed by a bridge. There are 3 piers and a lighted sea wall on the island for fishing from. You can walk along the beach and surf fish, or fish from the San Luis Pass Fishing Pier. There is a store nearby with all necessities. The park staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
As previous posters have experienced, this is a very "tight" RV park. We were unable to put out our awning due to the lack of space, and our truck just barely fit in our spot when unhooked. There was no enforcement at all of parking regulations, trucks were continuously parked in the narrow roads. Also quiet hours were not posted anywhere and we left early due to the amount of noise, day and night. This is a fish camp for those who want to do nothing but fish. On the plus side it was very clean, and with better management it could be a wonderful place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
Sites are a little small. The Fishing was great. The park attendants were very friendly and helpful. Quiet. Ocean was within walking distance. We had a great time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
We stayed here for a long weekend. Upon arrival the park host is visible with a sign and check in is no problem. The sites are very small and hard get into. To make matters worse there were cars and trucks parked all over the camp ground. Our site was not big enough to fit a 30 foot camper and tow rig in the spot. The park host came by late one night and woke us up to move our vehicle from our site and put it at the end of the camp ground to help with the parking situations. He was very unfriendly to several of the guest that night. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Park is at a great location, some sites you can back right up to the bay. Great fishing, lots of families with children on weekends. Sites are very close together, in some cases you cannot open your awning. On weekends the park looks like a parking lot with vehicles parking all along the road, sometimes making it hard to get to your site, if you leave and go to town, you may not find a parking spot for your truck. Even with all the problems, i will return, its the best fishing along the coast, and great views. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$16
Location is on the bay side, not the ocean. The bad: 1. Very, very close sites. I almost hit the trailer next to me with my awning. 2. Power was soft, had 3 brownouts and 1 outage 3. Park management didn't do a very good job of keeping vehicles off of the roads, so the whole place looked like a parking lot. 4. Quiet times definitely not enforced 5. Death by mosquitos! The good: 1. Close to excellent fishing/crabbing/ocean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com