221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Dinosaur Valley State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (254) 897-4588
CGID2785

Dinosaur Valley State Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   6   7   8   9   9   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Great place to take the kids. We had so much fun in the river looking at the Dinosaur tracks. The little museum they had was great as well because it gave us some relief during the mid-day heat. Campsites were clean, and I loved how historic the place was. It was great for my kids to learn some history! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
A good state park with a lot of dinosaur information, including per-historic tracks in the riverbed. Near the Fossil Rim Animal Park and a good place to stay for a few days while you take in the attractions in the area. Great pie in town at the Pie Peddlers. Staff very informative and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Good park for walking and biking. Dinosaur prints were very interesting! However, there is no phone or internet service and no TV antenna reception. We were in site 16, but all the sites seemed fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Enjoyed our stay. Grandkids loved the dinosaur tracks. Picnic tables are on opposite side of RV at most sites so not user friendly. There is a long set of stairs behind one of the campsites that takes you down to the river. 7 dollars per person per day park use fee. Had several sites that would work for groups (up to 3 trailers). Restrooms were very nice and clean and central to campsites. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Rate does not include $7 per person entry fee which is waived for annual pass holders. The dinosaur tracks were not visible due to recent rains which made the river too high and dirty, but it was still fun to be in the water. Some of the sites are very close together and would probably be best for a family or group that needs more than one site. Some sites are very tight to get into so a big rig might not be able to fit. Local attractions Dinosaur World and Fossil Rim Wildlife Safari make this a great place to stay. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The sites are really great. Most are spacious and level. We stayed in #4 and we had lots of room to spread out. There are walking trails through all the sites leading to the bathrooms and along the river. The river was wonderful. Shallow with some deeper areas for swimming. We spent hours playing in the water, skipping rocks and catching crawfish. The dinosaur tracks are cool but kind of hard to see. We weren't able to eat outside because of the massive amount of flies. We must've killed a hundred of them. Bathrooms were clean. The price of the campsite does not include the $7 per adult per day fee you have to pay. Kids 12 and under are free. We would love to come back here again armed with fly swatters and fly paper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Great park for the kids. Nice fire pit / BBQ grill at each campsite, but watch the lengths of the sites. Most of them were fairly short, so our 30' 5th wheel was too long for most of them. Park was well kept, friendly park personnel and great trails. We'll come back for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We took the kids camping for the weekend. I am glad we made reservations since there were only a couple of spots left when we checked in. It's a beautiful park with lots of trails. We had a nice hike through the woods. The kids loved it! The fire pits and picnic tables are nice. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is another beautiful state park that is well maintained and comforting. We were behind schedule so I called ahead to check availability. The office staff was very gracious and assured us of a place to stay for the night. We did arrive after hours and were able to find a spot with no problem; however we were here in the middle of the week. This is a very popular park so weekenders will need to have reservations. It is heavily wooded in the camping area, giving you a little more privacy than normal. There is a lot of wildlife to look at and nice scenery all around the area. The dinosaur tracks are the biggest draw. Get up early and head to the sights to see them before the masses get there. I ran by them on my morning run and they were easily visible. By 11:00 the silt in the river had been disturbed and the tracks clouded up. I can’t leave out the trails in this park. Bring your walking stick and bug spray. You will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$26
The nightly rate does not include daily admission fees. We bought an annual State Park Pass for $60.00 that is good for a full year. The staff is extremely friendly at check-in and at the park store. Sites we rustic, tree covered, with no grass. River access was good, and the dinosaur tracks are well marked for visitors to see. Despite cool weather, the kids had a blast swimming in the river. Dump station is not level, so don't expect to be able to fully empty your tanks. It rained almost the whole time we were there, and without grass, our site was muddy. We will return again, but in warmer weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We brought our grandson to this park and had a wonderful experience. The staff was great and the trails were a lot of fun. This park is a wonderful place to learn about Dinosaurs. Thanks again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
The park staff were very friendly and accommodating. The park is laid out in a somewhat confusing manner, so get a park map before you leave the park office. It's a beautiful park with lots of shade and good access to the river, although you have to drive to it. The river access is not close to the camp sites. The sites are nice and most have trees providing some separation between you and the next site. Some sites are more secluded than others. Some sites are also quite a hike to the bathhouse, while some are closer. Park staff can tell you which are closer to restrooms or more secluded. Restrooms were clean and recently renovated. Showers looked nice, but I didn't use them so I can't comment on hot water availability. Only two areas provided good access to the river and the dinosaur tracks, even though more are listed on the map. This is a beautiful park with good amenities and friendly staff. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We enjoyed this park very much. The scenic trails by the river are very well maintained as is the campground as a whole. We were fortunate that the river was low and the dinosaur tracks were visible. Campground personnel were very knowledgeable and helpful. The grandchildren loved it. We will definitely return to Dinosaur Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Took our 4 year old grandson here and he loved it. Lots of things to do in the area, Fossil Rim Wild life area, Dinosaur World and the Tracks in the river bed at the state Park. Sites are large and all are back-ins, We have a 40 foot diesel pusher and the camp staff was very helpful in informing us which sites were large enough for us. Park sites only have 30 amp with water and no sewer. Roads were wide enough for us to travel through and there were no over hanging branches, The park does have lots of trees. Our site was level, all sites have a picnic table, grill and fire pit. Would recommend this park to any one with children or grandchildren. This park does get full on weekends so it is a must to have a reservation for the weekend. During the week is the best time to go, not as crowded and a great amount of choice of sites. Would have rated this park a 10 except for the no sewer at sites and only 30 amps We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Staff great,grand-daughter loved the park. Were able to park 35' motorhome with triple slide without a problem. Loved the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
$25 fee, plus an entrance fee per person makes this a pricey campground. Smaller trailers and MH won't have any problem with the narrow roads, but in a larger MH or our 36' 5th wheel, the narrow road and dense cedars make it interesting to get into a site. The sites are close together, and most are back-in. With a larger rig, the number of usable sites to back into is limited. The area is a great area to explore and have fun in, but because of the volume of people so close together, do expect to have peace and quiet. We arrived mid week without reservations, but it was March. However, we couldn't stay for the weekend because all of the sites were reserved. We will stay again, but try to miss the crowds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$20
This was our second time at this park. The first time we went it rained most of our trip. We hiked the trails, which were great and also made for some great photos. The atmosphere is friendly here. The dinosaur track areas are neat to see and the rocks we crossed to get there was exciting to cross with the water flowing over. Our dogs chased balls in the water and enjoyed it. The water was a little chilly when we went, but what isn't in Texas during March. The dinosaurs at the front of the park also make for creative photos and add a great element to this park! My husband and I stayed here with our two nephews and 3 dogs. I love staying at this park because of the trails, the flowing water, and the nice atmosphere! We will be back again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2004
$25
Beautiful area, even if the sites are very close together. The dense cedar trees make it seem like you are truly in an isolated area. However, there are several negatives to this campground: 1) price is higher than other Texas state parks (maybe because it's so popular and close to Fossil Rim Wildlife Park) and 2) fills up almost a year in advance and because you never know about the Texas weather while camping in spring and fall, you take a chance that you'll be camping in a downpour. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$21
Sites are level and wide but a bit close -- offset by the foliage, giving somewhat of a sense of seperation. Each site has picnic tables and fire grills. Interesting place to visit if you like Dinosaur stuff. Several fossilized footprints in the nearby stream bed. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com