214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Oakdale Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (254) 897-2321
CGID2786

Oakdale Park

Camp Information
Sites
240
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   10   6   9   8   8   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Deferred maintenance everywhere....city took over recently and needs to do lots of updating. My husband said worst bathrooms he has ever been in. We were the only motor home and there were only 2 other trailers ....so only 3 customers in the park. It is now a city park with a huge pool, cabins and RV spaces. We stopped here for over night on to Weatherford tomorrow for FMCA rally. Did not try Wi-Fi, baths, cable or anything else. No library. Would not stay here again. The work campers and receptionists were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Nice city park with large public pool. No Wi-Fi or cable. Good Sam discount used. Long level gravel pads. Electric good. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We stayed 3 days at Oakdale last month and had a great time. The restrooms and showers were very clean and staff was very friendly. We visited fossil rim and the state park while we were there so we ran short on time on our last day so we decided to stay a little longer. It was cheaper to pay for the full day instead of paying by the hour. We took our time to pack up and only paid $25.00. It was a quiet stay at the park. Our son had a great time walking around looking for crickets at night. They had a very large pool at the park, but it was closed due to the season. Family friendly park. Great location to town. Will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
Love this location across the street from Big Rock Park. You can access the jogging/walking trail from Big Rock Park which goes over the river for a scenic outing. Staff was very friendly. Swimming pool is huge. Evenings were very quiet on the grounds. Grounds were clean. Parking was level with plenty of room for our auto. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Nice campground, not crowded, plenty of room, lots of shade and the largest pool I've ever seen (at an RV Park). Highly recommend and will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This is a city owned park. They have added several new sites that are not on the map provided on the website. We camped in the new part. The site was very long: 36' coach, pickup truck and still a lot of room. The manager is very accommodating. She told me if I didn't like the site we were in, to just move anywhere we were comfortable. The reason people go to this park is the huge pool. It does cost more: $3 per person for an all day pass. There are pavilions that can be rented and a lot of cabins. This is a very family friendly park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
We enjoyed our stay especially Big Rocks Park which is directly across the street. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
This location still has lots of road and new site construction gong on so there is a lot of mud around. The pool is the main attraction here and there is a charge for using it. We stayed in a grass lot which was OK because it didn't rain. The hookups in the old section are a mess in that they are mostly at the wrong end of the site for a motorhome. We had to pull out and turnaround to get access to the sewer connection. The new sites had great hookups. Overall nice park for families that like huge swimming pools. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
This park is now run by the City of Glen Rose and is in dire need of upgrading. RV sites are grass and dirt and most are not very level. The restrooms/showers were in extreme disrepair and I would not use them. The park was about 1/4 full with mostly permanent residents. Many of the residents were occupying two sites, one for their RV and another for their vehicle. They have a very large swimming pool which I suppose is a big draw in the summer (it was not open yet). I believe this park is too expensive for what they have to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
This is an older park located near downtown Glen Rose, maybe a bit worn but very comfortable. It has grass covered sites and some sites have big trees for shade. There are some picnic tables. There are some tent sites.There are many cabins for rent. The place has lots of kids. There is a huge pool called the "Oakdale Plunge", which costs extra on weekends ($10 a day), but is free on some weekdays for campers. The park is across the street from the city's "Big Rocks Park", which was strewn with big boulders, along a little river to swim and wade in. It was just a short drive to restaurants and shopping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
This is not a resort park but, it was adequate, relatively clean, adequate spacing, fairly level. Kind of a tight squeeze getting into camping area but trees were trimmed adequately to prevent dragging over coach. Choose exact camping spot for yourself and check looks of electrical boxes (some quite good, some marginal). Golf is simply great at 36 hole facility run by the county about 5 minutes from campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
To be fair, we are newbies to this whole experience, but we found this RV park to be quite adequate. Right across the street is BIG ROCKS, a city owned park which the Paluxy River runs right through. The water is shallow and great for kids. The park is "older", celebrated it's 40th year this year. There is a great pool, 60's style set up. Lots of Bluegrass music can be heard here at different times of the year. They hold different festivals and celebrations throughtout the year. We also enjoyed going to Dinosaur Valley State Park located less than 3 miles from there. Shallow water in most parts of the Paluxy enable visitors to see clearly many dino prints all along the waterway. You should also visit the Creation Evidence Museum located near the park. All in all, we thougth this RV park was a great first experience. Staff was friendly, helpful. They also have cabins available for rent. We camped here Easter weekend 2003 in a 34' bumper pull Laredo by Keystone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$20
We stayed there in May of 2001, place had tree limbs hanging down over the roads that almost gave me a heart attack to think they might rupture the rubber roof. The place isn't big rig friendly at all. You go in and pay, then you go and find a spot. Trouble is, if you don't find a spot, and go to turn around, you almost have to exit the park to get back to the camping area. The site we chose, we had to use blocks under our wheels plus the jacks to get our coach close to level, but not level. A pic on their site shows about a 32' RV, but it's about the only place you can get a big coach in. Notice the rising elevation in the background. It's a nightmare site to get level. Grass was almost 10" and unmowed, rock roadways had deep washouts. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay unless they can go and check it out for themselves to see what I'm talking about. I have also written to Woodalls and let them know about the rating they gave, and I should have been refunded for buying their book, since they promote campgrounds for anyone who wants to be added into their book. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com