220505 User submitted reviews online!!
Tres Rios River Ranch was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (254) 221-0018
CGID2787

Tres Rios River Ranch

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   5   5   7   1   8   3   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Okay place with level grass sites. Very little shade. Wi-Fi works well. Gated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$1
Price reflects C2C membership rate. This campground is very nice. We were greeted by a very friendly woman and escorted to our site. The sites are very level and large; also sites are grass. Big rig friendly. There were trees throughout the campground. Even though we were here during the "off season", there were daily planned activities. There is a restaurant on site, laundry room, game rooms, pool and access directly to the rivers. Great Verizon phone reception. Wi-Fi was not strong. Security gate to get in and out of campground. We will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
My wife and I were asked to spend the weekend at this facility while also evaluating it. We were given a slightly shaded site near the kids room. We were required to attend a "sales presentation" on Saturday morning. Before that, we walked the park and thought it was nice, but needed several areas remodeled due to various reasons (ie., rotten wood on cabins, muddy sites, no paved sites, etc.). We thought the park was a nice "old fashioned" type campground. The restrooms were not clean. In fact, while there I entered the Men's Restroom to discover a handicapped gentleman trying to get in a stall, but could not due to not having the required width. Moving forward, we attended the 10am Sales Presentation. We were given a riding tour of the facility by a nice lady. She was new it seemed. Upon return, she was scolded by her boss for running over by 10 min on the ride. Later, we were told that we would need to write a check for approx. $16k. We did not see nor believe this!! We decided to withdraw and then the "boss" came over and preceded to offer us a fee of $5k for 1 year. We departed after being insulted....never would return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$10
What a beautiful park. This park would be an awesome oasis in a beautiful setting “if” not for their required sales pitch. This is a “members only” park; however they do have a number of permanent residents. Sales “pitch” took 3.5 hours; they wanted $13,000 for their 8 parks and Coast to Coast membership. Quoting “free” camping as their benefit, however Coast to Coast does not offer free camping with any of its memberships. We explained from the beginning we were Coast to Coast already and it still took 3.5 hours and they dropped their asking price to $5,520. The sites are fairly level, and spacious. Most of the buildings have been renovated or are in the process of being renovated. This park was originally a YMCA camp in the early 1900’s. Staff was friendly and helpful. As we were there for Halloween “weekend” there were an abundance of activities. Fishing isn’t half bad, although actually getting to the river is “rough”, not handicap accessible by any means. Bathrooms were dirty even though someone signed off saying they had cleaned them. Showers were pleasant, after we cleaned the stall. They do have a swimming pool, although it was locked during our stay. No hot tub. Laundry facilities are in a newer building and well maintained; $1.25 for washer or dryer. Wonderful free Wi-Fi; good clear cell phone service; no cable however good antenna television. We did have an issue with electric; hubby finally had to help resolve a few major problems at the main breaker box. Water pressure was extremely low, and none existent at times. The “old” camp area has beautiful mature trees, some dropping “huge” acorns, others dropping “yummy” pecans. Would recommend this beautiful park, only if you are already a member of Coast to Coast, ROD, or AOR; otherwise avoid this park and their sales pitch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$3
Nice RV park. We spent a week here under ROD, so we paid $3/day for 50amp service. No problems with hook-ups, & staff is friendly. Rooftop satellite dish worked fine. Sprint cell phone was in roaming all the time but worked fine. The Sprint hot spot, being in roaming, worked slowly. Good laundry facility with 5 washers & dryers, $1.25 each. Only a couple miles from downtown. Green Pickle has great burgers. Grounds are very well kept with large grass sties, and gravel roads. Nice trail along the rivers & creek. Outdoor pool not yet open. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$60
BEWARE!!! We were given 2-3 free nights as a promo for Ocean Canyon pitch. It is a big camp in a lovely setting but the showers had no lights and the bathrooms were very basic for a "resort" but the biggest thing is their pitch. Check out "Ocean Canyon Properties" on the internet before you go, they have an F rating from Better Business and there is no "buyers regret" refund in Texas if you change your mind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
We are a member of OC Properties and usually stay here about once a month for the weekend. Nice private park for OC members. Staff is great and will lead you into your spot. Spots can accommodate the largest of rigs (ours is 40' and have no issues getting into a spot). Bath house are adequate. The small town of Glen Rose being close is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
We visited this resort because of a Camping World invitation to listen to a 90 minute sales pitch, double that unless you sign-up. The sites are level and a few with shade. The Wi-Fi is slow and you have to disable Explorer protection to get it to work. The sewer connections are poorly installed where you have to try and make stuff flow uphill. You can tell people have had problems because of spills. Some sites had power issues and we experienced low voltage. The office staff was friendly as were fellow RV'ers. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Rate reflects guest rate. This campground hasn't improved over the past 2 years since our last visit. Our grassy site was roomy and easy to get into however it was full of sticker burrs and was literally underwater after heavy rains over Saturday night. The site turned into a mud pit. The staff is friendly and helpful however the Wi-Fi at no time worked and there absolutely is no cable TV for the RV sites. Kitchen facilities needed a good cleaning as did the restrooms that I saw. The grounds are in a park-like setting and there is a nice walking trail. Excellent place to go unwind from city stresses if you know what you are getting in to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
We camped at Tres Rios as part of their marketing at Camping World where you get 3 days for free if you listen to their 90 minute membership sales pitch. Well the sales pitch ended up being almost 3 hours, the netbook pc that they provide for free is a piece of junk. The park overall is OK, but pretty old, all sites are dirt and while they do have trees, all the shady spots were taken as they don't have very many 50A sites in the shade. My recommendation is that if you don't want to drop about $9K for a lifetime membership, don't waste your time as there are better alternatives in my opinion. And, the gifts they provide for wasting your time are junk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
We camped here several years ago and really enjoyed our stay. Now it is owned by a campground association. The rate is for non-member, one night stay, and they put non-members in sites close to the road and in the open ie: no shade. Thus the poor rating. We were tired and ready to get off the road, so paid the steep price. AC's running drowned out any noise. You can get a 2 night stay for $19.95 if you take their pitch to buy a lifetime membership. Pads are grass, you are escorted to your site and everything was clean and neat. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This is a beautiful, HAPPY place. It has friendly workers We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$4
We camped under ROD so paid for 50 amp only. It is a membership park and we felt welcomed and 'like family' from start to finish. Everyone was very friendly and the staff even checked after a day or so to see if everything was alright. I gave it a 9 because of the dust on the roads and suggested to them, they might want to use pine oil to keep the dust down (environmentally friendly). It is off the main road so is quiet and we enjoyed walking along the rivers (there are three). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This park is nice to visit. They advertise a $19.95 rate for two nights. However, you have to submit yourself to a 90 min. Sales pitch. This is a scam, if you don't sign up for the nearly $9,000 cost the salesman will get very smart with you. Don't fall for the sales pitch. As far as the site. It was level and did not have a fire pit or grill. There are flood lights that are as bright as a Comanche moon. Very distracting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$3
This is a nice, well kept park that is very family friendly. Nice grassy sites. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed here using ROD so the rate is for the 50 amp service. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
We stayed here on a monthly rate using 50 amp. Rate was $497/mo and it included unmetered electricity. This is a membership private park. They do have a public area that non members can use; however, reservations can not be made for these—it's first come. The park is clean, well maintained. Very scenic with the rivers running around it. Park staff leaves much to be desired. I would have given this park a higher rating had their staff actually enforced their rules and respected their paying guests. On 10/10/09 the park rented out a building in the park by the public campsites to a party with a very loud DJ. The booming base of the music literally vibrated the camper. Sheriff on hand at the party measured the decibels at 82 but couldn't shut it down unless it was over 85. So management would have to do something, which they didn't. Quiet time for the park is 10pm. They allowed the party and vibrating base to continue until 1 am, expecting their paying RVers to tolerate such a nuisance until that late in the night. Many of our neighbors were equally annoyed. I wouldn't suggest ever paying to become a member of Ocean Canyon Properties when you will be asked to tolerate such special events. And if you are not a member and are thinking of staying nightly, I would avoid the park on Saturday nights when they seem to book parties. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
For the most part everyone was friendly. Security was excellent! We enjoyed the schedule of activities for the kids everyday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
We camped here with our two children ages 4 and 9 over the Easter holiday weekend. All of the staff there were so friendly and helpful! They had a very nice lodge, playground, volley ball nets, horseshoe pits and a lot of extra activities going on that were a lot of fun for family time together. They were so good to the kids! Everything at the campground was very clean! You can tell they have been doing a lot of hard work cleaning this campground up! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This is our home Park for our Ocean Canyon RV Membership. This is an older park but since being taken over by Ocean Canyon Resorts many improvements are continuing. One note is that this park will be going private. Numerous and spacious spots. Pretty level spots too. Pool was very nice and many activities for children. Cabins looked nice and more are currently being added. Access to the 3 rivers is very close with tubing, canoeing and boat access close as well. Future improvements include having tubing and boat access to the rivers right on site. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is minutes from Fossil Rim Wildlife Park and Dino Valley State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
We have just returned from Tres Rios River Ranch and are quite disappointed. The park is nice enough. Has excellent water access to Squaw Creek, the Paluxy River and the Brazos River. The staff seems friendly and helpful. The sites are somewhat close and quite dusty but this is Texas in the summer so dusty is to be expected. What we did not expect was the haphazard way in which the park is maintained. We arrived on Thursday and stayed through the following Tuesday. The bathrooms were already somewhat unclean on Thursday but quickly became a fetid, stinking mess by Friday and remained that way until they were given a cursory cleaning on Tuesday. Complaints to the management were quickly dispatched to their workers, however the workers were extremely lackadaisical in performing their jobs. When a toilet became clogged and overflowed in the men's room, the worker came out with a plunger and fixed the clog, but left the filthy mess on the floor. No one ever came back to clean it. There was always mud covering the floor, even in the showers themselves. It was impossible to get dressed after a shower and not soil your clothing in the process. Also, although there are over 300 sites at this park, there is only one bathroom. In the women's side there are 3 showers, one of which worked only sporadically during our stay. This should be a great place for families with children. They have a nice pool and lots of room for kids to play (including a fun playground), yet because of the filthy bathroom conditions, I doubt we will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
We are actually staying here while I am writing this review. There are many sites here, though mostly narrow and due to the lack of rain it is very, very dusty. Everything we have outside, like chairs, tables, grills etc. have a fine coat of dust. Staff is helpful and friendly, and wireless internet is helpful to find local attractions and stores. There are a couple of Walmart's with in 15 to 25 miles away. The intown grocery store is well stocked. Get here early, on a Thursday if possible. We came in on Thursday and by Friday evening this place was packed, probably not to capacity because this place has numerous spaces, but by viewing the spaces left, I wouldn't want them. The pool is adequate, lots of river access although I did not see one person canoeing, or swimming in the river, maybe because a lot of the river access I saw had high weeds and lots of eroded banks. Most of the river bank area and river access looks to be accessible by primitive tent campers. Judging by all the fire rings and beer cans on the river's edge that area can get packed as well. We didn't see many tent campers as it is over 100 degrees everyday and very dusty at this time of the year. I know this sounds kind of negative but over all I give this place a 5 out of 10. The sites are somewhat level and mowed, but I prefer a solid pad. Showers are okay, restroom are okay as well, they were clean enough just a little old. There are quite a few cabin rentals, if you can call all of them cabins, some nothing more than an extremely large trailer house with 5 or 6 front doors. Many rigs here are permanent, weeds growing around them, stuff stuck in nooks and crannies around their sites. To sum it up this place is kind of like a summer camp like it used to be in the 1920s, not a resort. It would be a great place for kids to run around and be kids if they took reservations, this place is crammed with cars and tighter than sardines right now, cars everywhere, lots of motorhomes have multiple visitors with multiple cars. So if ya like hot weather, dust and lots of kids running through your space, albeit friendly kids, this is the summer place for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
I went here not knowing what to expect. The previous two reviews were conflicting. I found the second or the positive one to be correct. This is not one of those large resorts with modems, concrete pads, etc., but it is a very good family park and it was easy to find and manuever in. I parked in the open area in the middle but there are still trees in this area. Granted the sites were grass, but it was well maintained and level. The sites have side-by-side, but with so many, no one is that close to each other unless they area travelling in a group and want to be. The tent sites are on the lower levels on the creek and river banks and the cabins are in the back area, so everything is separated. It was a holiday weekend and many people were in the park, but we didn't notice and noise or people running through our campsite. I would definitely go back again and would recommend it to others. They don't take reservations on rv and tent sites, but with so many sites they are never crowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$26
This is a very unique park, and we've stayed here multiple times. It was a summer camp built for kids in the 1920s, and many of the old structures still exist. It has one of the oldest concrete swimming pools in existence. The surroundings are beautiful, Huge trees growing along the river bed make for a wonderful place to take leisurely strolls. We camp with our kids, and the management brings in a variety of activities, like river rafting, horseback riding, etc. The downside to this place are the sites themselves, grassy sites at a lower grade than the gravel driveway is trouble (we were there once during a rainstorm, and a big diesel pusher required a towtruck to get out), and the only 50 amp hookups are around one pole in the middle. The sites are ill defined, and would be very cramped if the place ever filled up, which it never does. Best bet is a back-in spot along the left side as you drive in, under the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$20
All sites were grass, narrow, short, mostly SIDE-by-SIDE hookups which puts rigs too close to each other, we didn't like any of those features. There are some "cabin type" rental units. Some of the RV sites appeared to have been occupied or stored there for sometime (grass growing up under the rigs, "stuff" stored under the rigs, etc.). Only a very few sites had 50Amp service (our site was 30 Amp). Probably an OK place for river fishing if you don't have a large trailer or large motorhome. New manager (only one when we were there) was often not on property during office hours. Inexperienced teenage staff damaged (tore hole in rear bumper while we were parked in our space) our new motorhome while 'mowing' grass with a large tractor equipped with hydraulic front bucket and bushhogger (of all things!). Rowdy, noisy groups during nights we were there. We had been looking forward to staying there, but we were very dissappointed. This experience taught us to be much more selective when choosing a place. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com