214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Ole Towne Cotton Gin RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (940) 674-2477
CGID2789

Ole Towne Cotton Gin RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   7   5   8   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Very nice park for overnight stay as stated before in previous reviews. Only problem, if rains the sites can get a little muddy but only in spots. We would stop here on a return trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
I've stayed at this park before and had a pleasant experience. The park now appears to be going through some hard times. The pool was drained (probably because of drought) and the general appearance was a little unkempt and maintenance a little lacking. One of the campers said that the owners were very ill and the park was being run by an inexperienced relative. It shows. There is also a railroad crossing very near and the trains run all night. If you don't like train horns, this might be a little annoying. Overall, still not a bad place to spend a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Good overnight place. The sites are level but if there was a great deal of rain they may be a bit muddy. There is plenty of room between sites. US 287 is close but noise wasn't an issue. It was very quiet overnight. We will stay here is through the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice park for overnighter. Convenient off 287 and no problem getting a big rig in. When we phoned they gave us our site number so I just pulled right in and then walked over to the office to check in. Staff was friendly. Good Wi-Fi, limited cable channels. There's a good size field where I was able to play Frisbee with my dog. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Convenient overnight stop off US287 with easy, quick access. A little muddy if it rains; might leave jacks up. Streets and sites are compacted dirt. Enough room. Well placed hookups. Friendly, helpful staff. We have stayed here before, and will probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$28
The voltage spiked to 132VAC in the middle of the night. Otherwise, the park was a nice place to overnight. A few permanent residents, but they tend to maintain tidy areas and are quiet neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
Rate reflects a weekly rate of $148 + electric. This park is neat and laid out well. Interior roads are good, and our site (#36) was level. Sites are nicely spaced with grass between. Utilities worked well, as did the cable TV. Wi-Fi worked most of the time, although it was sometimes very slow. There are many long-term residents here, but the sites are neatly kept. There is some train noise but, other than that, the park was very quiet during our stay. We did not check restrooms or showers. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$29
Stayed here overnight on our way to the Grand Canyon. Easy access to the highway and the GPS took us right there. We didn't use the showers, but wife peeked in. She said it looked nice, but there was only one. When we checked in, they couldn't find my reservation. The lady was apologetic and after producing my confirmation e-mail, we were good to go. The rate included a GS discount. Would have rated the park higher, but the roads are in poor condition. It made it dicey for walking the dogs at night without a flashlight. The cable service was limited, but we didn't need much for overnight. The Wi-Fi was weak, but could get e-mail. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Very nice park, easy access off Hwy 287. Some train noise but not enough to bother you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
While this park has 40 sites, only about 8-10 are used for people passing through. The park is clean, safe, and convenient. There is tons of grass for walking your dog. My only negative would be the noise from I-287 and the trains. Bring earplugs and you will be a happy camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
First time here. Spaces are nice and long as well as wide and level. Owner used to RV and designed the park like they should be. Easy access. Very clean and maintained. Also serves continental breakfast for a $1.00. The office used to be a cotton gin and has been remodeled and it so cute. Owner and her assistant are both so sweet. When in the area I would definitely stay here again. Currently there are some electric line workers staying there but only a few months The owner does not allow indefinite long term stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
Easy access to US-287. Enough room. Very pleasant and accommodating staff, who stayed late for late arrivals. It had just rained, and our site was somewhat muddy, but we left the jacks up; there was grass on each side of the wheel tracks. Close to highway and railroad, so there is some noise. We will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This is a quaint little park. We only stayed one night, but will definitely stay here again one our way back home. It is a small park, but very well maintained. We were coming in later in the evening, so the very nice lady running the park made sure that our spot was marked reserved so that we could easily find our spot and no one else would "take it." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
We stayed here two years ago and found everything to be about the same... the sites are gravel, level, clean with grass and a nice walking area for pets. The hook ups were convenient and it is a good overnight stop when traveling on Hwy. 287. However, we rated this park a 6 because we are tired of parks/resorts indicating that they have cable and internet. We called ahead to indicate that we might arrive after 5pm and also wanted to make sure that we had internet and the access code. The cable TV has only 3 channels (Fox, USA & TNT) with a lot of static. We had to make several attempts to locate the Park internet site (which is an extra $1.00 per day) and it only had one bar... we could not connect to a browser. If you want cable and internet you will be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Nice O/N stop on the LONG road to Amarillo. We've stayed here at least once a year for the past 5 and will continue to do so. They don't do the free breakfast any longer - continental breakfast cost now a whole $1, still the best deal in town. Easy in and out HDT accessible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Nice location just off the highway, but noise was not noticeable. The pool is small but clean and cool. The old cotton gin is a treasure and the owner is a friendly lady. Very hot when we were there but this is a record summer for Texas. The showers were clean and very large. We did not stay for the continental breakfast, but is in the office area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
The other June review is spot on. I also gave the park a 10 rating even without shade. Restrooms are exceptional. There are two for women and two for men, each containing shower, toilet and sink. Deep end of the smallish pool is shaded by shrubs after dinner. Great relief in 104 degree temperature. Temperature still at 94 at 10:30 PM. Very clean neat park. Cable TV with only 4 channels is an anomaly. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Immaculate little oasis. All sites are level gravel, many pull-throughs and big rig friendly. The old cotton gin building is filled with antiques and the pool was a refreshing delight to cool off from the 106 degree daytime temps. There are no shade sites, but there are hardly any trees in this part of Texas anyway. The owner is very nice and we were happy to find this spot (advertised in Woodall's Directory). Quiet and easy access from Hwy. 287. Easy after hours check-in, continental breakfast for $1 per person, honor system 24 hour laundry: $1.50 per wash or dry. The $32 rate is for a 50 amp pull-through. 30 amp pull-through is $30, head-ins are $28 and $31, back-ins are $27 and $30. Tent sites are $18. Rates are based on 2 persons, additional persons over 10 years of age: $4 each per day. There are no CGs on 287 between Amarillo and Quanah and the one in Quanah does not advertise sewer connections, so don't pass this one up if you need full hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This is a fine desert type campground (i.e. not much grass or mature trees.). Yes, noise from nearby highway and trains. Very pleasant office staff. We didn't try the breakfast or wifi. Cable TV weird, limited to 4 channels and we didn't get one, CNN. No network channels. But we would stay here again (not many other nearby choices...) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Level sand/gravel sites. Adequate spacing and length of the "premium pull throughs" which is an extra charge as is the Wi-Fi. . A somewhat noisy train track/crossing across the adjacent highway. Just a business like check in and we were not made aware of any breakfast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Level sites. Good overnight stopover. Easy in and out. Friendly staff, makes breakfast for $1 (biscuits/ gravy, microwaveable pancakes, orange juice). Only downside: could not get WiFi to work well. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
A great place for overnight. Long, level sites, clean, well kept. Breakfast for $1. Cable TV had good picture, but only 5 channels, none of them network. Wi Fi available as pay. Price reflects Good Sam discount and 30 amp. Have stayed here before and will stay again. Park is very close to railroad, and there is horn blowing from that. We ran our fan all night and did not hear anything, but it started up about 6 the next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This is the cleanest, friendliest, nicest RV park we've camped in. The owners/staff are fabulous, the pool is awesome, the showers are pristine, and the complimentary breakfast is great. Not much to see in West Texas, but we look forward to staying at this park each time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This park is darling. There is grass everywhere. The whole park is maintained beautifully, clean bathrooms and laundry which is on the honor system. Breakfast for $1.00 was great. Small store. There is some road noise but not too bad. Perfect for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This is a wonderful park for night or two. The old cotton gin has been converted into a group gathering place, that is a really good area for RV groups. Our Good Sam's club comes here once a year for a monthly outing, and it is always a positive experience. The town (??) is pretty isolated, but that is not the fault of the park. Excellent stopover park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
As others have said, this is a great overnight stop while traveling on Highway 287. It has easy access from the highway but we were not bothered by traffic noise. Trains run frequently nearby and use their horns, but we did not hear any during the night. We did not try the park's WiFi as we have our own Sprint aircard, which worked well. The park was neat and well maintained. Our rig needed no leveling side to side, which rarely occurs. We did not partake of the continental breakfast offered for $1.00 per person, nor did we use the pool, restrooms or showers. We will very likely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
There are no negatives to this park. It's an overnight park while going down 287 and everything is what you need. Easy maneuvering, long level sites, full hookups, cable, Wi-Fi, swimming pool, laundry and a breakfast. I have stayed here twice and will always use it when in the neighborhood. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Clean and friendly. Easy access to 287. Would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Cute and quaint this rv park sets in a tiny town on highway 287 just south of Childress, TX - The building is really an old cotton gin and has many antiques. They have a restaurant as well. Nice level pull through's with easy hook-ups. We stayed for one night and enjoyed the quiet peacefulness. I said $25 for night, but it may have been less, I don't remember. Lady in office was very pleasant. She had assigned us a space right in front of the restroom/showers which we never use, so she let us move down a ways and was good as she got another coach in which made it easy for those folks to use the showers. We'll stop here again and maybe can stay a few days and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
It is a nice place hidden off of the highway. We have now stayed there twice and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We really love this place and highly recommended it if you are traveling thru on 287. The rate is $25, or less with a club discount. The sites are large, well maintained, and they have good management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Very friendly staff. Level camp site. Tables were clean and on cement platforms. Parked on gravel, with grass on either side. Train tracks are near by, it may keep you awake at night if you are a light sleeper. Pet friendly campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
Very open, Easy access to highway, and quiet. Train passing in the distance makes a lovely sound. People are very pleasant and accommodating. Good stop between Amarillo and Dallas when using Rt. 287. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This is a lovely park with a hot buffet breakfast. The landscaping is beautiful. It has a very country setting next to a corn field at the edge of a Texas village. It's worth taking 287 to your destination just to stop at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Great park for an overnight stay. Easy access from Highway but quite, pull thrus, very level, can leave tow car hooked up. Qute use of old gin building. Free breakfast and good food (but was served a little late if you like to leave early). Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Would have been a 10, but WiFI did not extend into the campground beyond the first couple of trailers. Neat off the beaten path campground though. Complimentary breakfast is served. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
WIFI and CATV pretty weak but this campground is very nice and very interesting with wonderful owner. Very quiet at night, the cotton gin is fascinating as is the story of the place. Check web site for concerts when you schedule. Absolutely immaculate, spotless everywhere including baths. Very recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
Probably the most level site we've ever had. Dead center level all directions, no leveling needed. Cute and clean park. Very easy highway access. Quiet. No charge laundry. Free breakfast. Pool closed for the year but hot tub still open. Fascinating building. Friendly people. Everything very nicely maintained. An excellent value. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
For us, this was a perfect park for an overnight stop. We arrived late in the day after calling a few hours ahead to check for a site. The owner was leaving but gave us directions to a spot that was easy to find. Complimentary breakfast of hot biscuits and gravy was very good. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
This is a great campground. The people are very friendly and helpful. We will definitely use this as an over night stay between Dallas and Amarillo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
We were looking for nice, clean overnight stop and this is exactly what you get. The site was level and easy to enter. The owner was very helpful and the complimentary breakfast the next morning go the day off to a good start. I would recommend this place to anyone. It has a pool, exercise machine and a hot tub for those who would like to use them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
This is a great park. There is a mowed (but a bit uneven in places) grass field that we could throw a frisbee for our dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Just a wonderful site in the middle of the high Texas Plains. Free instant telephone service at your site, free laundry, free continental breakfast. Discounts for Good Sams and Escapees. If they would just put in free WiFi, they would have everything we look for in a nice site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Wonderful, quiet campground with wonderful operators. Unbelievable conversion of a cotton gin into a activity center, hot tub area and snack/meal area. Beautiful grass lawns between sites with plenty of room for pulling in and out. Will be sure to stay here again when in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com