206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Lonestar was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (979) 826-4111
CGID2797

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Lonestar

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   4   3   1   9   8   8   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$49
Disappointed with the park. Took the kids during the Halloween themed weekends and the organization of the activities was just a mess. Everyone just seemed jammed in the RV section of the park and the staff was very unfriendly at the front desk. Could not even attempt to fish in the pond due to the overgrown algae. On the plus side, the facilities were in nice condition, I just felt as if I was going to have a panic attack with how many people were there. Not going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
We have come here a lot over the last couple of years. I think we have at least 6 trips. Over the last 12 months they have made a lot of upgrades to the park - some good and some bad. We were in site 31 and I can't believe how close we were to the site next to us and behind us. They have turned that row, that used to be a pull through street into back-in sites. This doubles the amount of campers in that row and it is TIGHT. Our back door was less than 4 feet from the next sites sewer hookup. Just very cramped. The new lazy river, updated slides and activities were great. But how packed it was really limited our enjoyment. The other thing, which the park can't control, is the lack of respect people have for campsites. We constantly had people cutting through our site to get to the rows behind us instead of walking 15 feet to the side and going down the road. This forced us to keep our dog inside all the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
Took two granddaughters for a 2-night trip. Park is really tired, dirty, not well maintained and activities are very pricey. Several water features were not operating due to maintenance issues. Public restrooms and showers were really trashy. Like another reviewer complained, there are a lot of "day users" who don't care about cleanliness of facilities. Lots of adult beverages consumed and offensive language by day users ( who wear different color wrist band). I would dread staying more than a night or two. Staff is not overly friendly, half of which were students sloughing off, and the other half retirees. Drainage water everywhere with stagnant scum. All water features were cloudy and full of pine needles. We will not return because there are far better camps with nice amenities for the same or less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
Pop-up campers are treated poorly. Crammed into an open field with tents. No quiet time enforcement. Showers were disgusting, with standing water on floor of changing area. No air circulation in bathrooms. Toilet paper runs out at night and doesn't get refilled until 10 next morning. This was the 3rd time I have been here and it will be my last. The only saving grace for this campground is the water park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2013
$65
My wife, granddaughter, and I stayed in a cabin and we had the most horrible camping experience we’ve ever had. The management and staff were all really unprofessional and was rude to us. They are now selling “Day Passes” for non campers and the place becomes overwhelmed with wall to wall teenagers and young people cussing, drinking and getting drunk early in the day and in front of the Kids Park? So, if you are even remotely hoping for a nice relaxing “Camping experience” or fun with the Family and kids then go somewhere else. The establishment appears to just be seeking maximum amounts of money from over booking and filling the park beyond capacity at the expense of the overnight campers. OK, so here’s the worst part….Yes, it does get worse! They actually have NO SEWER system that goes to a public utility; they are on a septic system that drains to a leach field. 200-300 sites or so including cabins and literally have thousands of people going to the bathroom that drains in to a leach field! The smell is unbearable. On the second day, the public toilets we used by the pool area wouldn’t even flush anymore because the septic was full and over flowing. We wish we would have listened to those bad reviews and not given them any more chances. We lost a valuable Family vacation that we can never get back. So, please consider yourselves fore-warned! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
We LOVE Jellystone. We have stayed here several times. The first three times in a cabin, and then we purchased our travel trailer. We go at least twice every year. The kids really enjoy all the water activities. We have a family tradition that we paint a ceramic each visit in the craft barn. We also go to the candy bar bingo which we enjoy. It is clean, very family friendly and we've only had one or two staff members that I didn't feel were friendly. But most of the time, the staff is amazing! They have hired staff to monitor the pools which is way better than when it was volunteer. There is always some kind of activity going on to participate in: hay rides, scavenger hunts, crafts in the barn. They also have mini golf, fishing pond and a huge dinosaur inflatable slide that goes up certain times of the day. We stay busy the whole time we are here. And I love the fact that they have staff available for late check-in. So even if you arrive after dark, there is someone here to check you in. It gets bigger and better every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$75
Nightly rate includes the "activities charge" for the 3 of us. Higher rate for the "Holiday Weekend," even though it was the middle of the week. Overall, this is what I expect from a RV RESORT. The 2 water slides and 2 pools are the big draw during the summer and everything was open and working for the posted hours for our whole stay. Kids loved the evening movies under the stars, but bring your own chair! The majority of the staff was very helpful and friendly, but one guy almost ruined the whole experience for us. Everything was clean and any maintenance problems were resolved by the next day at the latest. Limestone sites were level enough that nothing else was needed, but the dust can be an issue with no wind blowing it away. The staff informed us that they are adding a 3rd slide and a "Splash Park" where the petting zoo used to be. Lots of construction currently going on, but will be really nice when done. This was our first time at Lone Star Jellystone and we will be back. THE KIDS HAD A BLAST!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Loved it here! What a great family campground. Our children were so busy at the waterpark, they were little prunes! We can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
The negatives: Have to agree with some of the other reviews. The friendliness of the staff is hit and miss, very disappointing. We were assigned a site with no shade which made our summer stay very unenjoyable. This was our first visit so we had no idea which sites were shaded and where they were located within the park or that you could "request a site for an additional fee" at the time of booking. We found a few shaded sites empty while walking the park and asked to be moved but were told they were already reserved and we would have to just deal with it. However, the sites remained empty our entire stay. While the golf carts are a wonderful option for quests (if you want one, better reserve at the time you make reservations, none available when you get here), the dust they leave in their trail on the dirt roads is awful when sitting at your campsite. The positives: The water activities were great and the kids really enjoyed themselves. They also enjoyed the outdoor theater and crafts, although they were a little pricey! We would stay here again (would reserve a shaded site). Overall, a great place for the kids!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
While the water slides (two) are the allure, the park offers little else. There are 2 pools, but one is always closed. The pools also do not open until very late in the day (10:00am), so for those with children trying to go early and miss the sun, it is not an option. The park allows "day visitors" which over populates slides and pools, leaving little room for their "over night" guests. Customer service and professionalism are lacking. Most employed at the park are elderly, leaving a small lack of patience for children. Their day time activities also include an option for a paid craft and a free nightly movie. While bikes are convenient to get around the park, the gravel caused several to fall and injury themselves. The golf carts are an option, but at a very high cost and they are limited. The dust from the gravel also engulfs your camp when anyone passes by. Shade is limited, both at your camp and at the pool. The lake was suppose to be catch and release, but there was nothing to catch. We tried to stay a week, but left the park early dissatisfied. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$50
Great place for kids/families. Everything was clean, staff was out picking up trash, all the water activities were open for the full day, staff was friendly, free movies in the evenings, very nice park. Only drawbacks are that sites are somewhat close together and many activities (bicycles, golf carts, ice cream, etc) are an extra fee. Overall this park definitely lived up to our expectations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
We love this park, but the winter rates are ridiculous, hence the low rating. We were charged the daily rate to camp, plus $7 per person PER DAY for the activities fee. The big slide was open for 1 hour per day, and the pool was open for 2 hours per day. That, to me, does NOT justify $7 per day per person, which for a big family really adds up. Plus, our cousins wanted to come hang out with us for the day, and they charged us $15 per person for them and they couldn't even use any of the activities because they were closed! This park is nice, and fun for the kids, but the prices have gotten ridiculous. The staff were also hit or miss as far as helpful and kind. We will think twice before wasting our money here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Very fun park for the kids. Lots of activities and great water park and pools! Sites are fair, not much shade or grass but lots of dirt. Gravel roads and pads, but ours was pretty level. Don't go for scenery or camping, go for the kids! Good camp store with everything you might have forgotten. Good free WiFi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We arrived at the park and requested a drive through space for two nights (Wed/Thurs). We were informed that only one space was available. When we arrived (unescorted) to the space, we discovered it was in full sun and would not accommodate our trailer. We observed many spaces empty with ample shade. I called registration and was again informed none of those shaded spaces were available! Furthermore, the site was very unlevel and the picnic table and fire pit were located on the sewage side of the site. There was no explanation why the shaded sites were not available. We asked and received our cash refund but were short changed and my wife had to challenge the reservation desk. We ended up getting our full refund and left the park never to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$53
We just completed our last visit to this park. We have stayed here about three times per year over the past four years. Initially, the park was much smaller and family-oriented. The camp workers were retired residents who worked in the park and facilitated the activities. The park has now become a "cash cow." The main draw for the park is the water features, which are so crowded even on the weekdays with local residents "day-users" that you cannot safely enjoy them. Most of the camp workers are college-aged students who are rude and irresponsible. The restrooms and common areas are dirty and in disrepair. The racing slide was poorly managed and we witnessed many adults and children being injured on it. Our son received an injury due to the negligence of the slide "attendant" (who we observed texting on her cell phone rather than monitoring the slide and rider conditions). When we spoke to the management they said that they were aware of the problems and are trying to deal with the issues. Go to this park at your own risk! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Bring about a 20 foot sewer line!!! Great for small kids. Sites are not laid out well and are just grass/dirt. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
What can I say .. my kids adsolutely love this place. A little expensive but with all the activities they offer you can understand why. Had agreat time, only complaint is that the roads get very dusty - I wish they would come by with a "water" truck to knock the dust down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$56
Not a bargain park by any means with a camp charge plus a dayuse charge per person. Most (but not all) of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Camp store had a little of everything. Has miniature golf, electric carts, and bicycle rentals, outdoor movies, fishing pond and a cafe provided a broad range of activities. However, the biggest attraction is the pool and water slides, which were well attended by the campers but still easy to find open lounge chairs for a base camp. The lines for the slides were not long and made their use most enjoyable. There were only a few motorhomes in our section with several empty rows of drive through slots. Pads were gravel and fairly level. Each site had a picnic table. However, the Pond side of the park was wall to wall tent and cabin campers. I would not want to stay in this park on a holiday weekend when, according to staff, it is usually full. This is a great place for children 11 and under, particular if they have actually seen a Yogi Bear cartoon. We would, and will stay here again but we will certainly avoid Holiday weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
We camped here in late October due to business in Waller. The price we were charged for two retirees who used NONE of the few amenities which were open during the week for the three days we stayed included a $7 per day per person "amenities charge". This is absolutely LUDICROUS and probably the reason there were less than a handful of non-workampers staying at this park. When we arrived on a Sunday afternoon there were four workampers visiting in the office and two on golf carts within 20 feet of our rig visiting, and we were left to our own accord to find our site. Then there were the low branches we had to dodge to get to it. While walking the dog I waved at one workamper on a cart who looked right at me and did not respond. Rude people and rude policies seemed to prevail. Very dark at night. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
Best place to camp with kids. There are so many activities to do and the kids loved the little waterpark area. Sites are close together and it rained so it was muddy. Didn't like the per person additional charge. We hope to return again this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
This park was more crowded than I could have imagined. Given, it was a Sat in June still very crowded. The previous reviews are correct that there are many activities for young children, a great play room for toddlers and a great water park Being this is a kids park, the amount of alcohol being drank and cigarettes being smoked is record breaking We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We have camped at Jellystone many times because it is a short drive from our home in Houston, and it's a great place for kids for a weekend. The amenities are definitely kid oriented, so if you are looking for peace and quiet, this is not the place for you. They have added another water slide to go with the splash pad and pool. We camped over Memorial Day weekend, so they also had karaoke, lazer maze, a big slide (non-water), and a parade. There are some extra costs if you want to participate in arts and crafts, but not unreasonable. They also had an affordable breakfast on Sunday morning. My only complaints would be that you are charged extra for each person by day (for every person). I think that the site rates should be based on a certain occupancy and then charge for extra people. The only other complaint is the same one every time we camp here. It seems that the camp workers here do not realize or get fed up with being in a campground that is kid oriented. They are very grumpy and rude to kids and adults. In the past, there were a few that seemed very nice. Unfortunately, on this trip, we did not encounter anyone that seemed to be in a good mood. I realize that it's hard to find workers for relatively cheap labor, especially when a campground like this one means a lot of work. But if that is a problem, then they should go elsewhere to camp work. We will continue coming back because it's a great weekend getaway and absolutely great for the kids. It would be a lot more enjoyable if the staff was a little more friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We visited this park last year twice and it was a lot of fun... Even better this year than last. They have made some really nice improvements and I would HIGHLY recommend this park to anyone with young kids. Maybe middle school and over kids would get a little bored? Maybe not, but if you have young kids it's ideal. Very safe and controlled environment, extremely clean restrooms and showers, well stocked gift shop that includes RV supplies & food. Especially if you are traveling from Houston this is an ideal weekend getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$61
Very nice family park to visit for a weekend trip. The rate reflects the nightly rate plus the daily rate of $7 per person in your campsite (we had 5 people in our site). The park is well maintained and the staff is very friendly and really helps watch after the kids. We enjoyed the swimming area and the planned activities. Most sites required some leveling and the hook-ups were easy to access. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
The kids and adults absolutely loved the waterpark! The bathrooms were clean. The cheesy Yogi Bear entertainment would most interest smaller, 7 and under, children. The crafts time offered in the main building was fun but expensive once you buy all the stuff the kids created. The storytime was just an old video of a Yogi Bear cartoon but, again, best for the youngest set. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
First of all, the nightly rate is just the base rate. They also add on a $6 per person day use rate that really adds up for a big family. Overall, this was a good park. The kids had a blast (ages 3-11), and there were lots of activities for them to do while we were there. Beware of hidden costs that add up quickly (such as the arts and crafts projects, ice cream sundaes, etc.). The putt putt golf area was very rundown and had lots of dangerous areas, but still usable with close parental supervision. My 2 oldest kids loved that they could ride their bikes all over the campground. My 4 year old was upset that the roads were rocks and his training wheels wouldn't work on their roads so he couldn't ride his bike. The petting zoo was not as described. The door was locked, and all you could do was buy food from a little vending machine and then hold it through small holes in the fence. My kids were dissapointed because we assumed that "petting zoo" would mean you could actually PET the animals! Our fault for assuming. Also, there was always a line at the registration building which also doubled as the gift shop. The employees seemed to be in no particular hurry and not in a mood to help anyone. Overall this was a great weekend, but there are definitely things that could use improvement. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
This is a great park for kids. I would probably not go back to this park if I did not have young children. The staff makes you pay for every little thing. The pools are big and fun for the kids. The sites are small and cramped and there is very little privacy. The roads are extremely narrow. The fee per person for the first three nights is absolutely stupid. This is the only park that I have seen that does this. Its not like your getting anything extra for free to justify this extra fee. This campground would have gotten a lower score from me if I did not have children. We will most likely be going back but only for a short time being that this is the most expensive campground that I have EVER been to. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$26
This is a really nice park. The sites are very close together, so don't come here for a private weekend retreat. This is for entertaining the kids. There was a lot of construction while we were here, they are about to open a new section of campsites. The kids loved the water slides and petting zoo. The putt putt golf was also a hit. The park employees were so nice and the visit by Yogi Bear was the highlight of our days there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
This is a park for families as the previous comments relate. My rating would have been higher if we had children with us. The RV sites are not laid out well, and the access roads are very narrow. Large oaks provide welcomed shade, but made navigating a trailer a little difficult. Not all sites have 50 amp service. The WiFi was very strong at our site. We stayed on a weekend, and it was completely full. If possible, I recommend staying during the week or wait until after Labor Day. The staff were very accommodating and polite. The park is in the country so come with your provisions. This is not a park for adults. Children, on the other hand, will have the time of their lives. I don't like their per person add on price, they could justify a higher price to include 4 persons and have no complaints from me. They are in the process of increasing the park size by at least 50% to include a second water park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Great fun for the kids! We went during their Halloween Scare Party & my son & his cousin had tons of fun! Water park & separate swimming pool. Free mini-golf, tennis, badmitton, horseshoes -- get all the equipment from the office! Petting zoo. Crafts (some cost extra). Sunday morning pancake breakfast (extra). Hayrides, Friday night movies. Expensive, as now they charge per person as well as the site fee. But for the kids -- well worth it! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Stayed her over Labor Day weekend. They required a full 3 day stay for holidays. Previous two reviews are correct. Lots of stuff for the kids. We did crafts on Sunday afternoon. Swam in the water park 2 times each day. Movies at night were nice except for the mosquitoes. Would have given them a ten but our neighbors across from us were very noisy until 1am on our 1st night and well past 11pm on the other 2 nights. I assume quite time is not strickly enforced like the brochure states. Bring you bike as it's fairly big and you can ride around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Loved this place!!! Our two kids (ages 4 and 7) didn't want to come home! Main feature of the campground is a good-sized waterpark area for kids (and adults, too!) as well as a separate swimming pool. The kids liked the hayride and the arts/crafts session (small charge for materials) on Sunday afternoon. The owners and staff were very nice, friendly people. Park is kept very clean. We will definitely go again!! Must check out the virtual tour on their webpage! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Your kids will absolutely love this park! There are plenty of things to keep them busy .. tennis and basketball courts, mini golf, petting zoo, hayrides, fishing, outdoor movie at night, all day planned activities on Saturdays and, best of all, the waterpark. The store and gift shop carry a very good selection of things without over charging. The newly built bathrooms and showers are clean and private. There are a few long timers but they are to one side of the park. Would have given it 10 stars but, in my opinion, the playground needs to be updated We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
This campground is an excellent place to take children. We took our 3 year old granddaughter, and she had a wonderful time. The water park is geared for all ages, but especially nice for small children. They also have an adults only pool. They have nightly outdoor movies, hayrides, and planned activities on the weekends. All the staff is friendly and very helpful. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
This park has been upgraded since last year, and is worth the stay. They have just opened a new water park for the kids, have an adult pool 18 years and older. New animals at the zoo, restored their put-put green. They have alot of activities for the kids and grown ups. This is a nice place to get away, even have fishing and log cabins to rent. If you have kids or just want to get away, this is a nice spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
This park has had reviews in the past and was listed as being in Hempstead, TX. although it is close, it has a Waller address. About 2 years ago new owners took over and have made drastic improvements. There is a waterpark, fishing lake, hayrides, and various other planned avtivities for kids. They have a wide range of sites to accommodate everything from large motorhomes to tents as well as cabin rentals. There are still some improvements to be made like additional shower and bathroom facilities and a renovation of the playground and mini golf course. The RV sites are in need of better definition as they are grass and dirt and not well defined and can create problems getting level. All in all this is a great place for kids and the staff is friendly for the most part. I would have applied a better rating if the sites had been better arranged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This was our third trip to Jellystone. Although it's not my first choice, our two young daughters love it. This trip proved to be worse than our previous ones because Yogi was not there (he usually raises the flag and this weekend was touted to be special as the kids were supposed to have "breakfast with Yogi.") They always show a movie on an outdoor screen for the kids and we were very displeased at their choice to show a PG-13 film to a group of children who were all probably under 10. I got a apology from Jellystone's corporate headquarters but I'm not sure if we'll ever go back to this particular park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$24
We made reservations to stay at this park for my daughter's birthday. We went to the park to check it out since we live within driving distance and told the owners/staff that we wanted to drive trhough to make sure we reserved the right area in the campground. They were very rude and told us that we had 10 minutes and they would be watching for our car. They also said that they better not see us drive over 5 mph. It was vastly overcrowded, can not have a campfire at your site, the staff was rude, the place looked trashy. Maybe I'm spoiled on state parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com