224149 User submitted reviews online!!
Hickory Creek COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (469) 645-9100
CGID2798

Hickory Creek COE

Camp Information
Sites
131
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   10   9   10   10   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Overall this a good park. Very large, with space between sites, most with a brush or tree line between them. Sewage is at a central location, which is no big deal as long as you have the portable gray water tank. There are quite a few pull-through sites but all seem to be out in the open with no shade, which is a big deal in Texas. We stayed at site 20 and will book this site again. We have stayed at site 43 pull-through; it was OK but like I said earlier no shade. Everyone was friendly, campers and staff. The park is patrolled by the local police and they mind their own business as long as you mind yours, not a problem at all. Alcohol is allowed but no drunkenness. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This is a COE campground that is very well maintained. Lots of road for bicycles and walking the dog. Some sites back up to lake waterfront. We had a waterfront slip 92 in a cul-de-sac. You will find tent campers mixed with motorhomes, they do not have sewer hookups but have a nice pumpout on your way out the park. The line can get long if you leave when everyone else leaves. This is a very good campground for big rigs. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
This is a well kept park that is very family friendly. The sites are spacious and the park is conveniently located to the metroplex. There are interior private sites and lake sites. The rate reflects the 50% discount for the senior pass. You are allowed a maximum 14 day stay. There is no sewer but there is a dump station and several convenient bath houses. I love the hiking trails throughout the park and the nicely paved roads provide a nice running / cycling experience in the park. The entrance is locked from 10:00 PM to 6:00 AM, which makes for a mile long walk to the RV sites if you are late. We have camped here many times over the last 4 years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
We have camped at this park many times over the year. Now that we full time, we like to stay here at least once in a while while in town for old-time's sake. This park is a gem. The grounds are maintained, but not manicured...it's a state park. But it's still close to town, if you need supplies. During the week it's nice and peaceful, over the weekends lots of activity! The sites are spacious and pretty level. There is a view for every taste, some waterfront, some more wooded. Our rate is based on the Senior Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
The only reason I didn't give this a "10" was due to the gate locking at 10 PM each night and our campsite was more than a mile from the gate. We were in the area visiting family and friends and got caught in traffic one night, almost didn't make it back in time. Sites were spacious, many with lake views, option for 30 or 50 amp hookups with a small price difference. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
This is a very nice Corps of Engineers park. We reserved a pull through, space 26, and were right on the lake. We were on the opposite side of the campground from the freeway and did not notice any traffic noise. We rode our bikes over to the east side of the park and noticed that you could hear the freeway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Love this place though we loved it even more before they raised the site fee from $16/night to $28/night at the beginning of this year. Still, a great place for trees and lake access and we will continue to come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
This is a very nice very friendly park that is close to Interstate 35E, but far enough away so you can not hear any highway traffic. From what we saw, nearly every site is easy to get in to. Even with it being Memorial Day weekend, it was remarkably quiet and quite enjoyable. The shower and bathrooms were quite clean. I gave it a 9 out of 10 for rather basic reasons. You absolutely can not get any TV stations off an antenna. If you want TV reception, you need to have a satellite system. It would also be nice to have some WiFi, but I assume with the size of this park, that would be costly to set up. We definitely will be staying here several times in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
A good choice on the north side of Dallas. We have stayed here several times over the last 5 yrs. Always well maintained with friendly hosts. Some sites have shade while others are full sun. For a large park close to a large city they do a good job of keeping the noise level down. Yes they do actually lock the gates at 10 pm so if you like to stay out late this may not be a good choice for you. I am sure we will return again. Rate is with a Golden Age pass. Otherwise it is $28. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
Great Corps of Engineers park - with spacious sites and friendly staff. We stay here often on our "Sr. Pass" and get to stay at half-price. Wish it had sewer hookups, but otherwise it's great. This park is a perfect place for pure relaxation and getting away in the heart of the Metroplex. It's quiet and relaxing, yet only 10 or 15 minutes from great shopping and dining. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Nice park. They had our reservation correct. The site had dog waste in a few places, the fire pit was half full of burned wood and the barbeque pit had ashes in it. It would be nice if someone cleaned up the site between use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Hickory Creek is a nice COE park. We were in site #28 which has a great view of Lake Lewisville and afternoon shade. It has 30A electric. Some sites in the park have 50A. Water pressure and quality very good. No sewer at the campsites, but there is a large central dump station. Traffic noise from I-35 is minimal in sites 1-41. We have camped here many times and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
We like camping at Hickory Creek quite a bit when we are looking to stay close to home or have minimal travel time in the schedule. No full hookups are available. Close to lots of businesses and restaurants in Lewisville. We camped in site 23 which was nearly perfectly level and had a great view of the lake. Excellent cellular service with AT&T (full LTE connection too). No access into the park after 10 PM (not even using a gate code), which can be a bit restrictive. Property is well kept up and sites are roomy and well spaced. Great campground if you are looking to stay close to DFW. Play special attention to the detour directions as the published directions are incorrect due to construction. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$14
Very nice COE campground. Lots of trees and lake views. Level sites, very quiet and peaceful. Not sure how peaceful it will be in the summer though! I do not understand the complainer about the price raise. All costs are going up including water and electric. In order to keep the campgrounds open prices have to go up. Our only complaint is the gate closure at 10:00PM. No access back in except to either park another car outside the gate or walk the mile plus, in the dark, back to the campsite! Those were non-starters! So we had to leave the party early in order to be back before it closed. Why can't they have a gate code for campers to come back after hours. Other COE parks do that. They just change the code weekly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$15
They almost doubled the price from last year. No improvement in facilities, just double the price. Our price reflects the senior discount. Increased price has cut down on the number of people here. Except for holidays, looks like a lot of sites are always vacant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$12
Very nice COE park just outside the Dallas Metro area. You wouldn't know you were near a very large city. It was quiet, clean and well maintained. Thought I was in the woods despite being just 0utside a housing development. Will definitely use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$9
Typical COE facility. On Lewisville Lake. Spacious sites. No sewer connection, but dump site available. Well maintained. Can't go wrong here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
We've stayed in this park quite a few times. This year the price is $15.00 instead of $9.00, at least for the 50amp sites. This year they warned of snakes but I didn't see any (thank goodness). The restrooms and showers were not open so couldn't use them. Staff is very nice and helpful. Will stay here again if in the area. Also, we have never seen any of the sewer sites except for some of the Host or Park attendant sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
Previous comments still apply except for the"clean restrooms" comment. There are 3 nice looking restroom buildings. The first one I went into looked like no one had been in there for months, dead bugs all over the floor, dead leaves, just dirty. The next one has showers and faucets that operate by a sensor so that if it detects movement the water will flow until there is no movement. The problem is that you never know if the sensors will work or not. I mentioned this to the volunteer at the entrance station who told me there is no maintenance contract for the bathrooms. I would give this park a 10 except for the bathrooms and the 10PM curfew. Sites are large, spacious and mostly shaded. No swimmable beaches; shoreline is mostly for boats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$8
A wonderful COE park in the Dallas Fort Worth metroplis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Nice Corp CG with sites that feature covered picnic table, grill, and fire ring. There is a hike/bike trail. Big rigs might want to stay out of sites 1-41 as they are more for TTs and pop-ups. Bath houses are large and there are plenty of them. There is a very nice loop for tenters. Most sites are favorable for satellite signals. Verizon 3G coverage is good. The utilities were good. I must agree with a precious reviewer’s comments about the gate locking and attendants. Although it is standard COE procedure, a campground near a large metro area with many entertainment venues should make an exception to locking up at 10 pm; especially on the weekend. Gate attendants were not impressive in the performance of their duties on several occasions. Golden Age and Access card is honored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
This was a great park, very quiet yet convenient to I-35. Shower houses are clean and well kept, and overall property is well maintained. Only reasons for a lower score from us is no sewer hookup but mostly due to locking the gate in the evening. We were there working a job and it made for a bit of hassle, there is a keypad at the gate so I don't understand why it can't be simply utilized like many other campgrounds in order to allow late night arrivals or workers access after evening. Or getting caught in traffic on I-35 as happened to us one evening. We went out to eat left the restaurant with 2 hrs to spare and were only 15 miles from the campground and made it back 4 minutes before "lock down." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$9
About the same as other COE parks except for the gate crew. We had problems with the power (30 amp) the first night there and told the local Camp Host. He submitted a work order but since it was Friday nothing would be done over the weekend. On Monday afternoon I went to gate to find out if anything would be done as was told a repairman was in the park since 8 am. He had 3 jobs for the day. Walked back to site and saw a corp employee washing his hands at a nearby site and asked if he had worked on it and he said he would after trailer is moved. We were planning a 2 week stay as had already been told there were no more spaces available. After MUCH discussion I found out there were at least 4 sites that are not in the reservation system and are not rented. It was finally OKed for us to move to one of these sites. It was a long argument and I would have left the park if there were any options available but there weren't for the period of time we needed. This was around July 4th and all parks near lake were full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$9
What a gem so close to the Metroplex. And there's a Super Wal-Mart and Starbucks about 3 miles north! Nice large sites, some in the woods, some right on the water. Some sound from the I-35 freeway bridge, but pretty minimal. Nightly rate reflects the federal Senior Pass rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
I completely agree with the previous posts regarding this campground. However, it is hard to find. There are no signs whatsoever. The directions on the campground web site only mention to turn right on Turbville RD but doesn't say how far it is. Well, it is the second street and there is a big steakhouse on the corner. Good luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
The park was nice. We don't live too far and wanted to get away for the weekend. The site was nice. The stay overall was good. I rated it a 6 because right at Sunday lunch the park host started mowing the site next to and across from us. Grass and dust blew all around and the mower noise was so loud we could hardly talk. Not very considerate: they didn't seem to care. This was extremely upsetting and it ruined our Sunday family lunch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
This place is a steal for $16 this close to the Dallas Metroplex. We stayed here for a month and it was great. Campground hosts are friendly and helpful. Restrooms were well maintained for a public type facility. Sometimes crowded a little on weekends but the noise was never a problem. It does have a 10 pm gate lock which can limit you somewhat unless you are willing to walk a mile in. Only reason it is not a 10 is because of no sewer hookups (but a great dump station) and no Wifi, etc. A must stay in the Dallas area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
What a nice find for camping in Dallas! We were visiting relatives in Plano, which is about 25 minutes away, but you can easily jump onto I-35 from this park and get anywhere in Dallas you need to go. Our site (#15) was on the water and a great distance from any other campers (except across the street). There is some airport and highway noise, but considering you are in the middle of Dallas, that was expected. The park hosts were delightful and the setting was beautiful. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$9
This is a wonderful park. Very large spots. Clean restrooms. We stayed a week and then extended another day. The area is great with shopping and restaurants as well as a movie theatre within 2 miles of the park. We were in a lakefront space and enjoyed sitting at the water's edge. The hosts are very helpful. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This is a very nice park and was very close to home for us. This is the 1st time we have visited this park. Abundant restroom facilities. Park very well maintained. We found this to be a great weekend spot in the Dallas area and we plan to visit it frequently. Wal-mart within a couple of miles as well as everything you could ever want in Lewisville. You reserve specific spaces at this park. Very impressive!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$16
We spent a wonderful weekend at the park. The facilities were spotless. We'll be returning in September for another stay. It's nice to be so close to the Dallas/Fort Worth area. We spent 3 nights at the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
Hickory Creek Park just re-opened after being closed most of the summer due to flooding. Some sites not yet re-opened because of damage to the pedestals, etc. As is typical for COE parks, no sewer hookups. Very nice lakeside park with good shade, excellent access roads, and very friendly staff. If you're looking for a close-to-Dallas place to stay, this is highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Loved the park. Sites were very large and private. Lots of shade trees. Stayed a week and definitely will return. Especially loved the bike/hiking trail that completely circles the park. Took several daily walks with my dog and enjoyed the peacefulness of the park. The weather was simply beautiful. Took our boat out and found plenty of fishing areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$9
This is the second time we have stayed at this park. Its convenient to the Dallas/Fort Worth/Denton area. My only complaint is that you have to be back at the park by 10:00pm. The gate is locked at 10:00pm and there is no provision for access after that time. In spite of that, we will stay there when in the DFW area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$18
We love this park and will stay here again. Very friendly staff, spotless clean park. One morning a park attendant came around with a pressure washer, and cleaned each picnic table and pad of any bird droppings or other natural debris. Camp sites are very nicely spaced with plenty of room for our big rig. Absolutely beautiful park, can't wait to come back in the spring to see the trees full and green. Some commercial aircraft noise which is to be expected around DFW. No flights late night anyway. There is a nice paved jogging trail through the park, and most sites are level with concrete pads. A fire ring, BBQ pit and picnic table are provided. We had plenty of space to park our towed in front of our bus. The best $18 stay we have found so far. We highly recommend this park, even though we would like to keep it a secret just for ourselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
We camped here for a week and enjoyed every minute. Very clean, large shaded sites and 50 amp service. We loved meeting the park host's, who were very friendly. The view of Lake Lewisville could be seen from many of the sites, it's like being on a peninsula. Overall, we would recommend this park to those that want and expect the best camping enviroment. We love the fact that it's right in our own back yard! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
I've camped here many times and always liked it, some road noise from I-35 and lots of air traffic for DFW but still good. I like the idea of booking the site you want, also like the access to the lake, great fishing. Great during the week, can get very crowded on weekends, did noticed local police driving through the park about 5 times a day. Very close to shopping if needed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
I had a business trip mid-week in Dallas, and we thought it'd be a perfect first trip with our new trailer. After doing a little research, we settled on Hickory Creek Corp of Engineers park on Lake Lewisville, in north Dallas not far off I-35E. The park is close to a movie theater, Walmart, Albertsons' grocery, Starbucks, and more. It's fairly easily accessed from I-35E. The park is large, with large spacious sites, many of which are near/on the water. Most sites have power (30/50 Amp) and are plenty large enough for TT's and motorhomes. There are numerous clean restrooms, with huge showers. The park was well maintained - we saw empty site's having their equipment power-washed, and a mowing crew came by mid-week. There is a swimming area, boat ramps, and play ground. A remote primative area is available for tent-camping, with its own restrooms. The park was full of birds. One thing we did NOT like - unlike Texas state parks, the COE parks allow you to reserve a particular site. This meant that we, arriving on Monday, saw 3/4 of the sites empty and reserved for the week. Why? Because people booked and paid for them for the week, so they could have them on the holiday weekend. That meant that if you had a bad spot in an otherwise empty loop full of GREAT spots, you weren't allowed to occupy them - they're all reserved. I much prefer the state parks method - you can reserve, but that only guarantee's you a spot in a loop...first comers get the pick. Another downside is that it is located in the airport flight plan, so you see a lot of jets flying over for landing and take off. The biggest downside - I-35E is a horrible road - I hate travelling on it. All in all, a nice park if you're in or visiting the Dallas area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Nice Corp of Engineers campground on Lake Lewisville. Sites are spaced apart nicely, walking trails, kid's playground. BBQ grills, picnic tables on every site, sites were nice and level, on asphalt, but lots of trees and grass. Nice views of lake and luxury homes on the other side. Feels like you're out in the country, but town of Lake Dallas is just about a mile away with Super Walmart, Albertson's grocery, which sells beer and wine if you're in the mood. Nice place. We go here often as it's just a few miles from home and you want to get away from the house for a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com