223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Serrano Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (909) 866-8021
CGID280

Serrano Campground

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   7   8   8   8   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
We camped here for two days, spot #42. The park is clean, quiet and park personnel friendly and helpful. The sites are very nice, some are sloped though. Restrooms/showers clean. The roads throughout the park are narrow. Walk to the lake is probably a half mile. There is a small convenience store close by. Bike/walking path runs through the park. Using your Federal Senior Pass card will get you a discounted rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Be aware, Rules at this campground ARE NOT enforced as stated in the park handouts! Quiet hours are not enforced. Too bad pet owners DO NOT pick up after their animals, leaving poop behind on sites. There should be a limit to number of animals per site just like number of people per site (4 large barking dogs per site is absurd). People are so rude and inconsiderate, truly amazing, it can ruin your entire trip. Sites are close. Normally a nice park, but weekend visitors are out of control and think they are only ones around! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Nice campground in the woods. Leveling the rig was a little tough due to the angle on the pad, but it's doable. Thirty amp electric, but the water pressure is a bit low. Site #44 is a good long site. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Very nice, clean and wooded campground. As previously noted, some of the sites, including the one we stayed in (62), have the picnic table and fire ring on the opposite side of the RV door entry. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
What a pretty campground this is. However, despite how the map looks, it is not on the lake and the walk to the lake is about 1/2 mile away through other people's property. Beautiful big trees, friendly staff, many many birds, and quiet (at least when we were there in April). Our only quibble was that the ranger lined all of us RVs smack up next to each other when there was plenty of space in the campground, so you might want to ask if you can cruise through and look for your own spot. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
1st time at this park, but certainly not the last. I usually go to Mammoth for the mountains but this is just as nice and a lot closer to home for a So Ca local like me. Park was quiet and clean. Saw lots of hosts/maintenance people at work. Everything you need is not more than a 10 minute drive to the city of Big Bear. Very close hike to lake with nice paved hiking/biking trail. Many hiking trails in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$43
This is a very nice National forest campground. The sites were good size and paved. The patio area was dirt though. One of the down sides was that some of the sites had the patio area on the opposite side of the rig as the entry door (site #60 that we had). It put the picnic table and the fire pit on the wrong side as well. It just made it inconvenient to set up chairs and the rug on the same side as the other amenities. A storm came through and dumped 8" of fresh snow the first night we were there. Pretty but it turned the dirt area around the rig to mush when it started to melt. We had to have the rug on the door side so we could enter the rig without stepping in mud. The amenities on the other side were kind of useless. Beautiful quiet area though, great for kids and not far from town. The 30 amp electric service worked well, as we needed to run a space heater most nights to keep the cold at bay. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Serrano Campground is a wonderful place to stay. I usually try to get a satellite view of parks I'm not familiar with just to get an idea of what I may be getting into. The satellite view does this park no justice and could even be discouraging. It is in a National Forest and is near the Big Bear Ski resort and a stones throw away from Big Bear lake. You are in the country but very close to civilization so amenities are not far away including a country store that is in walking distance that kind of serves the campground and other camping near by. The park gets plenty of snow so you might think that it is a seasonal park but it is open year around. Look forward to visiting it in the winter someday. We will definitely stay here again God willing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
This is a National Forest Campground. Friendly staff. Very well maintained, level back in sites, plenty of space between sites, very quiet day and night even when full on the weekend. We loved our stay here, and will go again. Close to Big Bear City. A bike path runs east about 3.3 miles to the outskirts of Big Bear City with great lakeside views! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
This is a beautiful park. There is a road but very little road noise. You are surrounded by huge pine trees everywhere. I do not think there is a bad spot in the park. They have a wonderful asphalt trail that winds around Big Bear Lake. There was snow in the mountains and one ski area still open. Sleepy town which feeds off the snow in the winter and the lake in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
This was our first time at this campground and we loved it. It was so peaceful and the staff was very friendly. The grounds are kept very clean and the lake is a short distance away. There is a bike and walking trail and just down the road from the Discovery Center. We will return, the scenery is awesome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
The PCT(Pacific Crest Trail) real close. Lots of trails. This is perfect for my family. Clean showers and beautiful scenery. Will come back soon We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
This was a great place to stay at. Lot's of walking trails and hiking right off of the park - you can even get to the Pacific Crest Trail after a short 2.5 mile hike! The views were great, and the camp host and rangers very friendly. We showed up at night after driving the back way up via the 38, but the ranger was great directing us there too after we couldn't find it on our GPS. It got cold here at night, but it was great for a fire. We left gong down the front side (330) and I don't think I'll do that again - I'll stick with the back route. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Nice campground with big sites and pretty well spaced. Some may be a bit difficult for big rigs to get into. Friendly staff and they keep it pretty clean. The town was pretty nice also, although we got here one week too late, everything had closed down and they were getting ready for ski season so we didn't get to ride up to the top of mountain or anything else like that. Would go back again, very relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Excellent campground. We had a no hookup site. There are only 32 sites that have hookups Lots of trees and shade. The site we had was large and had plenty of room. Close to the city of Big Bear. Verizon cell service and net card worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
Love this campground! We having been coming here for 3 years now and stay here at least 4 times a year in the Snowberry Loop. This time we stayed in site 48. Fairly level, clean, with lots of room around us. Blue Jays jumping tree's around our campsite, lots of squirrels and lizards in the summertime. An easy walk (for me anyway) to the lake. You feel like you are away from it all, but Big Bear is just a few miles away for anything you might need. We really love and enjoy this place! And the camp hosts here are the best! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
This was our first visit to this campground. We stayed in the RV section that has full hookups. Everything in this campground, including the pads, are sloping towards the lake. The pads that are parallel to the lake are level whereas the pads that are perpendicular to the lake are sloped. This isn't an issue for trailers but is for motorhomes. The lake is a five minute walk away and there are bike trails around the campground and along the lake. Be sure to stop at the North Shore Cafe in Fawnskin for a hamburger. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$50
Excellent park..staff was super friendly and very hospitable. Be advised that the sites near the highway are about 75 to 100' away. Luckily the traffic wasn't too bad. The visitor center was cool, look online for activities. There is about 4 miles of paved bike trails that go through the park. On our next stay we will probably bring the dog. Not all sites are hook ups, and showers and restrooms look good. Close to town, Big Bear Lake, and the Pacific Ridge trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
We stayed here in the Snowberry RV loop. Site was spacious, clean, and shaded. Although the campground was full it got quiet early. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Nice place. Good shade on the southern portion (closer to the lake) of the campground. Will definitely go here again. One of the cleanest campgrounds we've ever been to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Very friendly and cheerful staff -- campground is well maintained. Lots of shade (big trees), but not a lot of privacy because there isn't much shrubbery between sites. Sites are pretty well separated -- there's much more room between them then at a typical private RV park. The Discovery Center, about a half-mile away, has good free WiFi 24/7. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
This was a great park. Will return again. Nicest people.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
We loved our stay here. The sites are a little tight for larger rigs but manageable. We had no trouble with our electric here like I had read in a previous review. This campground offered only the basics and is typical of what I've come to expect from the government run campgrounds. That is, they all seem in need of a little TLC. That said, we loved the area and as far as we are concerned it is the nicest place in southern California to get away from it all. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$52
This is a beautiful park and we would stay here again if we went to Big Bear. You definitely feel like you're in the wilderness. The staff was very friendly. The only drawbacks were the double-wide site we got (for 2 motorhomes) was not wide enough to comfortably fit both of our motorhomes. It took several attempts to fit in the RVs and then we were told that all RVs had to be "back end" first. So, I would only use the double wide sites (you're paying for 2 sites in one) if you want extra room for a large motorhome. Otherwise, if going with someone, just pick 2 sites next to each other. Remember that the road to Big Bear is very curvy - if you get motion sickness, take something before this trip. Very tight turns at certain places along the road to get to Big Bear with lots of impatient sedan/SUV drivers tailgating you until the next turn-out. With a 39' motorhome, we will probably not take it back to Big Bear as a result. But, if you don't mind the trip, this campground is a nice one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$33
Love the location and have visited for the past 5 years. Only complaint is fluctuating 30amp power in the "Snowberry Loop" (the full hookup site). Stayed for a week in July 03 and was getting only 94-100 amps (volts?) so could not use A/C. Park management proclaims "it should be ok" but obviously a problem so be aware if you stay there. Otherwise it is a fantastic, forest environment and only a short drive to Big Bear community. Great hiking in the nearby Holcum Valley, a gold mining area in the early 1900s. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$33
This campground is clean and has friendly people staying there. Very woodsy feel. If you want hookups, you can not stay lakeside but the walk to the lake isn't that far. If you plan on doing thing in town, make sure you have a vehicle there that you can drive. We have stayed at this campground for the past three years. One year we went for the fourth of July and had a blast! We walked to the lake for their fireworks show and didn't have to deal with finding parking! I recommend this campsite for whoever wants to go to Big Bear. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com