223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Pilot Knoll Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (940) 455-2228
CGID2800

Pilot Knoll Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   5   7   5   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Very clean and small park with lots of trees and water. Very friendly staff always willing to help out. We were in site 19 and was able to see the lake out the front and back of the rig. Easy park to get to and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Stayed here while visiting relatives in Dallas. Nice, well-maintained campground in a city park located on the shore of Lewisville Lake. Paved roads and level gravel sites. Restrooms/showers are clean. No cable TV or Wi-Fi. Gated access for security. Shopping/restaurants located about a mile away. Quiet, very pleasant park with lots of shade. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Campground managers / hosts are very friendly and helpful. Due to family circumstances they worked with us to allow us to extend our stay longer than their 14 day policy. Verizon Jet Pack worked well at this campground. If you are going to be returning after the gate closes, make sure ask for the code. Restrooms were always clean, although they are a bit old. No price difference for 50 vs. 30 amp sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This is an exceptional city park. Huge sites, even for our 35' class A. Each site has a separate patio area. Beautiful lake view sites. Contrary to previous comments, there are no true waterfront sites, in that the sites stop short of the water, allowing everyone access to the lake. It would be nice to have sewer connections, but for visits of less than a week ( or driving up to dump) it is very doable. Even though there are plenty of shade trees, some sites offer clear view for satellites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Pilot Knoll Park and the City of Highland Village have elected to no longer accept the National Parks & Wildlife All Access passes. These passes provided retired military with service related disability compenasation to stay for 50% off. I guess this shows how much the City of Highland Village cares about the retired military. This year they also increased the rate to $25 per night. This increase and the requirement to pay Active.com a $2 fee to make reservations, have increased my costs from $9 per night to $27 per night. This park is not worth paying triple the cost for. Pilot Knoll Park is also becoming a little too run down and could use some improvements. There is no Wi-FI and poor TV reception. The other problem is the guests seem to think they can go anywhere. If you have a lakeside campsite, you can expect people to come into your site with their chairs, coolers and grills and "occupy" your campsite. I think I will find a better place to spend my recreational money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Had a level site, nice area with picnic table and fire pit. Our site was on the point so we had water on two sides, and could watch the sunset and sun rise. They had lifted the burn ban, so we were able to have a camp fire. Very clean and well kept. Restrooms were typical of COE but were clean. We will stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Beware of Snakes. That sign was posted everywhere. Snakes??? And there were snakes! They would crawl out of the water at night to warm up on the pavement at night. So...walking a dog at night is an adventure. The roads were paved. The lake is lovely. Lots of trees. Lots of stickers, dirt and debris gets tracked in - I don't like to 'rough it' and camping there is the way it is. Not again. Ever. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9
We were in #36 and stayed for 16 days. The park is always quiet during the week, but fills up on weekends. We had better Verizon service this time. Both cell and MiFi. We always enjoy staying here. They have completed the new road #2499 which runs right in front of the park. It makes it very easy coming from South from Swisher Rd or heading North from 407. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Very nice campground. Sites are very large. Nearly every site had shade and only a few were not on the lake. Many birds. No walking trails but the walk around the campground and to the park is fine. Roads are paved, sites are gravel. Most sites are fairly level. Rated 8 because there was no sewer hookups and no WiFi. Also, the dump station needs an overhaul as sewage is dumped into a pit and then has to be washed into the sewer pipe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$9
We have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed our time here. The park is clean and easily accessible. This is one of our favorite parks in the metroplex. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
The WWW says the CG is closed due to high lake levels. We did not call further to make resv. ===================== This information is wrong. I called the correct phone number 940-455-2228 and campground is open with no problems. Also the website address was wrong as well as the phone number. Correct web address and phone in place now. Admin We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
We thought this was a very friendly park. The hosts were exceptionally nice and very helpful. The gate is locked after 10 p.m. with no way in! Lots of room with very nice views. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$12
Excellent park. All sites are either on the lake or have great lake views. The only reason it was not a 10 was because they lock the front gate at 10pm and if you are outside after that, you are not getting in (ie, padlock on gate, not a combination lock) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$12
Nice campground west on 407 in Highland Village, Texas. Large sites, level, each site unique. On the shores of Lake Lewisville; it also has a corral for those who want to bring their horses! No sewer, but has dump station in the park. Call for reservations, especially in the summer, as this place fills up fast. Playground for kids right next to showers and restrooms. Plenty of shady sites. The ones on the waterfront go first, so call early. We try to camp there at least 4-5 times a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com