223350 User submitted reviews online!!
South Main RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (713) 667-0120
CGID2804

South Main RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   4   8   7   5   7   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Parked here for 2 years, worked at local hospital. Park primarily for hospital patients. Recent management left lots to be desired. New management now. WiFi is almost non-existent. Have had several major water issues. Requested tree pruning 4 times so we could get RV out of site. It was finally done, but only minimally. Cable TV is only slightly better than antenna. Park has lots of traffic noise from Interstate 610, which is very close. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
Stayed here for one night, until we could get the RV into Reliant Park for dog show. No amenities like pool, hot tub etc., but office people were nice, park is gated, as it doesn't look to be in the best part of town. Small dog run area in the back. Park was quiet, people friendly. Would go back in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
This park serves a specific purpose which is providing access to local medical facilities. There is even a shuttle and they have special medical rates. We needed something close to the city and we got it so we cannot complain. However, this is a no frills park in a difficult location, with little to do unless you have a need to be in the city. If you have a need to be "in Houston", this park probably works for you. Otherwise, stay on the West or North side or in Galveston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$38
This park is close to the medical center hospitals and university. Easy access to south main street.Nice people in office. We have been here several times over the years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We were here for a week for the Houston Dog Show at Reliant Center. The park advertises Big Rig Friendly, but as another reviewer posted, it is very very tight. No pull throughs, and had to back and forth it a couple of times to get backed into our site. Pretty much the same thing when leaving the space. Entrance and exit are fine. This is close to Reliant Center which makes it convenient. Other campers were nice, many are there for the hospitals. The grounds are kept up. Dog play area needs some work. Our 15 lb terriers were able to get out between the fence boards. WiFi tends to be slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
We stayed here for 5 days. While they advertise they are big rig friendly, the roads and sites are pretty tight. But, we did see a couple of 45 footers. Our RV is 40 and we felt like we were too big for the park. Probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
Friendly staff. Centrally located. If you are using the Medical Center it is a must stay. Traffic is noisy, sights are tight,speed bumps are murder. Good stay to explore Houston. Pricey for what they offer except location. Would trying and find a park north of Houston the next time. More to see in Houston than you think. Easy on and off of I-610. Sites barely fit a 40' motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
We stayed here to go to MD Anderson Hospital. The park is 10 minutes from the medical facilities and there is a shuttle to and from many of the hospitals. The campground is clean and well kept. The staff was excellent and understanding about the uncertainty of the number of days we would need a site. They also offer a reduced rate for those staying for medical reasons. If we need to return to MDA, we will definitely stay at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Like most urban RV parks, spaces are close; however each has a small spot of grass and a good-size concrete patio plus most of the park is well shaded. Good dog park and Wi-Fi. Very convenient to Reliant Park and medical center. We left our trailer hooked up and opted to walk the mile or so to Reliant Stadium. There is a shuttle bus for the medical center. Staff was very friendly and we would came here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
We stayed here with 7 kids for 3 nights and appreciated the cleanliness, showers (individual toilet, sink, shower- like a bathroom at home) and proximity to Houston. We could be anywhere within a half hour- although any town America is just down the street (WM, Target, Liquor, Home Depot etc etc etc). Good security, easy to get in our 45' bus, but I'd recommend unhooking your towed vehicle at the office. There are no pull through sites. We'll return if in the area- although we did enjoy street camping on the weekend downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
As stated in previous evaluations, this is a great place for adults and those who need the services of the very nearby Medical Center. I was there for a little more than 3 months, and this place suited my needs to a "T". The staff was very friendly and most helpful. The mentioned problem with narrow roads and the tightness is very real and the sites are a little close to each other. Even with these remarks, I would still recommend this place for those with similar needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$33
We are on our second stay in this park. It is not a destination family RV park, so don't expect a club house, swing set or pool. This park has great monthly rates for folks who need to be near the excellent facilities of the Texas Medical Center Hospitals in Houston. The park provides a free shuttle to the major hospitals. The shuttle is also available to take folks shopping. The management is extremely friendly and understanding of the needs of their customers, many of whom are very ill. There are no public bathrooms or showers but there is an immaculate laundry room with ample machines and an outside drying line. $1 for washers and $1 for dryers. All of them work. The campers are also very friendly. Taking a walk through the park one meets other patients being treated at the hospitals. It's like having an instant support group. I don't know what we would have done without South Main RV Park. It is easier to deal with painful treatments when one is in one's own RV instead of a motel. We would look for a less urban setting if we were just sightseeing in the area but this is the closest RV park to the hospitals and the most accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
We found this to be a very clean, secure and well run park. It is a park more geared for adults as there are none of the typical amenities that you would see at a park/resort that caters to the kids. Most of the customers are longer term guests with the management telling me that half are there to utilize the outstanding medical facilities in Houston. A daily shuttle runs from the park to six different heart and cancer clinics/hospitals. As for the layout of the park et.al. South Main is nicely landscaped with gravel pads with adjacent cement patios for every space. I did a walk around of the place. Every space has partial to full shade throughout the day due to the abundant amount of trees. The roads aren't particularly narrow but seem to be because of the requirement to park your tow vehicle/dinghy in front of your rig. We maneuvered our truck/trailer combination without any problems and the park was 95% full with most of the guests there based on the number of tow vehicles/dinghies there. Night time the park is well lighted and has a security fence with a both vehicle and pedestrian entrances. At check in you are given the pass code for access. We felt very safe and secure for the entire time we were here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2005
$28
Very old park that hasn't had any updates in years. Very difficult to park as streets are narrow, plus towed vehicles are parked in front of RVs, thus if there isn't a vacant spot across from you or you aren't on in end or you have something longer than 32 feet, forget it. Also a problem with having enough room with slides. Lots of permanents. Over-priced for what is available. Really needs to be remodeled. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$31
Location was hard to enter from road but once in the park, there is plenty of room for big rigs. The site we had, sloped and it was gravel, we had a difficult time getting it level, as the trailer was sinking in the gravel at critical points. Once settled, it was fine. The office was plenty friendly, provide wireless Internet from sites and also a connection for hardwire in the office for use. It is located next to 610 so noise from freeway was quite noticeable outside, inside not a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com