219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Sur Campground & Cabins was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (831) 667-2322
CGID281

Big Sur Campground & Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$75



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   4   8   8   3   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$75
To clarify about the price, we stayed in a river site ($70) for one night and non-river ($60) for one night, plus an add-on fee of $5 apiece for each of our dogs for each night. Voila, the average was $75. Pretty pricey, like everything else in the area seemed to be, plus they all seem to tack on a dog fee because they can, while not offering anything like a fenced run for dogs. It was certainly a beautiful setting with the sites among the redwoods and very pleasant management. Restrooms/showers received very heavy use and not particularly clean. The complete lack of cell service was a nuisance and for that kind of money it seems they should at least provide Wi-Fi. There's no TV either. It is a lovely setting, of course, but a lot of money when those services are non-existent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$75
Big Sur campground and cabins is a perfect family friendly forest get away. My family of 7 has been coming here for yearly trips each summer for the past 6 years. Very clean, ver friendly, and beautiful location. We always reserve a riverside spot but they seem to be harder to come by please book ahead if you are planning a summer trip call a year in advance for a spot. Free hot showers, fire pits, playground and relaxing in the river are just some of the highlights. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$57
Beautiful setting. Park was very clean, staff was friendly, power was good. Two negatives and one observation: 1) Shared dump station is a) very slow to drain, took over 30 minutes to dump tanks and b) is set in a vault about 2 feet below ground level. Difficult to access. 2) Nighttime lighting of the roads is non-existent. Admittedly I'd prefer to never arrive after dark. This time I did and I couldn't even see the road to the campsite, let alone any obstacles. Damaged my motorhome. 3) Very spotty cell service for ATT. Not the parks fault, just an observation. The area and river are beautiful. I'll be taking the family back (arriving well before dark!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$52
Wonderful campground in Big Sur. The staff is super friendly, facility, bathrooms and showers are spotless. Stayed here off season, so plenty of space. Could get crowded if fully booked. River sites are the best, #100, 99, 13 are top RV sites. We checked out other campgrounds and this is the best in the area if you would like partial hookups. Showers free and warm water (drafty room) and laundry too. Nice playset for the kids. Easy walk to River Inn where there is local pub, restaurant, ice cream and local market. Highly recommend if looking for Big Sur camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$52
Water and electric only available. The dump would be hard to use. Narrow, tight roads: not many spots can accommodate a rig of any size. No cell phone service, no TV, no radio. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Certainly nice to stay among the redwoods. No fault of their's but the cell signal was non-existent. Otherwise, a nice place to stay with RVs mixed in with tents. Gas is not cheap anywhere near so fill up before you get there. No sewer hook ups but they have a nice dump station. Great staff and a unique camp store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$50
We stayed there after a huge rain, the entire camp was a wet mud pit. But somehow they kept the restrooms very clean (even on a busy holiday weekend). The CG is at the bottom of a redwood grove with very tight space between trees, definitely not big rig friendly! We would likely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$55
Very nice website, which was a little misleading for the winter camping. We went in November, during the muddy season. Sites are not level and are full of mud. Our dog after running around for just a few minutes was coated in mud. We missed the lack of Sewer hookups on the site and the only dump station is one you almost have to crawl inside to get to. We have 36' fifth wheel and the first turn is too tight to make and all other turns are TIGHT. It was such a mud pit that we left and lost our deposit. I think non-rainy camping there would be nice. Minimal cell phone service and no internet, be forewarned. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$55
We stayed at Big Sur Campground at the beginning of September and had a great time! It's a beautiful place filled with redwoods. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful and the bathrooms were spotless! We used the campground as a basecamp and traveled to all the amazing sites in the area: north to Carmel, Pebble Beach and Monterey and south to Julia Pfeiffer and Napenthe. Consequently, we didn't hang out much in the campgrounds during the day. When we WERE here, we felt very at home and even though the place was full, it felt like a nice community of like-minded people, not crowded as some reviewers have written. Quiet time was enforced and respected. We loved walking to the restaurant, pub, small shops and art gallery just down the road. Be careful if you decide to walk on Hwy 1 because people drive VERY fast on that road and there are many hidden driveways. We can't wait to go back next year, hopefully when the river is higher so we can tube it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
Great little park in the woods. Very nice setting in the pines. Some sites are not level. Previous reviewer is right, beware when it rains as it will be very muddy. Many sites w/ no hookups and many cabins. I can see this place full in the summer time! Very nice staff and very clean facilities. $1 happy hour ice creams at night. Bring everything you need because not many store with much selection in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
Camped here in February even enduring the mud. The staff was wonderful - very helpful at making sure the sites were ready and helping everyone get situated. When a fellow camper clipped their Airstream door handle, the staff worked to remedy the problem. The bathrooms though old were checked and cleaned what seemed to be every hour. Definitely would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
A nice little campground nestled in a grove of tall Redwoods. BEWARE of rain before or during your stay though, as it does turn into a muddy mess. Very nice, helpful management. Clean bathrooms (despite constant muddy footprints) and plenty of hot water for showers. Dump station on site. A little tight navigating between trees, but can be done. Not a lot of choices in the area that are any better. State park is expensive with no hookups. Andrew Molera SP is gorgeous for day hikes! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2009
$50
When we arrived the campground was a muddy mess. Not only the roads, but the sites themselves. Roads also were very narrow and difficult to maneuver. Considering the high price and lack of amenities I would not suggest staying here. If you want to visit Big Sur area, stay elsewhere and do day trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$60
The kids loved this campground! The grown-ups agree that this is a very pleasant place with very nice people. When we were staying there, a bunch of construction was going on, and it was too cold to tube in the river, but we still had a wonderful time. The playground was first class, with an outstanding slide with rollers. Our kids also had a lot of fun playing at the river. It was a short drive to Pfeiffer Beach (if you can find it), which gives you access to the amazing northern California coastline. The bathrooms were lovely and paneled in—what else—redwood. We didn’t care for the unheated bathrooms with the doors locked open, because you didn’t get much privacy or warmth. Still, the water was nice and hot and had good water pressure. Navigating through the giant trees was a little tricky, but we got in and out okay. The base rate for this campground is $45, and we paid an additional $5 per child per night to get the (expensive) $60 price. At least, this campground had plenty for the kids to do! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Sites were easy to access with out fifth wheel. Bathrooms were kept very clean. Dump station on site made it must that more enjoyable. We will definitely go here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$65
We love this campground! The spots are big and shady and the staff is great. They rent tubes to flow down the river for only $ 1/ hr. They have a playground and basketball court for the kids. We will certainly stay here again next time we're in Big Sur. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This was a very popular place just about every possible site was taken. The cabins were full as well. The bridge construction was a bit noisy. The location was wonderful. The sites were really close together you really got to know your neighbor. The staff was very nice. My kids enjoyed the playground as well as the basketball court. Probably won't go back since it was a bit tight for us but for the location and all the great beaches it was worth our one trip. The bathrooms were constantly being cleaned. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
We had a nice spot on the river and with electric/water hookup. There were a lot of larger groups in tents which made it feel quite busy and a bit noisier. It is a long way on foot to get to walking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$53
The park was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in space 91 after requesting a change from space 93. 93 was overlooking the river and not a good spot if you have small children. Their bridge is currently being rebuilt so there is a lot of construction material like large steel beams right at the entrance but once you get into the park you don't see them. Nice little walk up store to get very basic essentials. They have a great park for the kids and a basketball court. The restrooms and showers were sparkling clean. It is a little expensive and you have to drive to do any hiking or get to the beach. With warmer weather you could have fun at the river right there. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$40
Pretty much as the others have said - friendly place, nice location staff were helpful. Downside is that there are no hikes out of the site - you need to drive to see anything which is a shame (when toad less). The lack of Wi-Fi is a mistake we use it to check out what we want to see in the local area and where we are heading next. The summer wild fires missed here but have caused a few problems in the State Park just south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
This was our second time in this park. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon in our 36' Diesel Pusher. While interior roads are narrow we were easily able to navigate to space 99 and back in. Much to our surprise the park now offers 50amp electrical, which it did not last time (2005). This is a beautifully maintained secluded park. Park was virtually empty due to mid week arrival, and off season, but we love it that way! We will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$58
We tried to get into Pfeiffer State Park first, but our trailer did not fit. So, we moved on and found this campground. It's not bad, but it's rather primitive. I have to agree with the other reviewers, paying nearly $60.00 and not having full hook-ups is too much. We had no phone reception down there either. The playground was nice! And we used the restrooms, but not the showers and they were pretty clean. I don't think we'd stay here again. But at least they had space available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$53
This is a really pretty park deep in a valley of redwoods. The river is gorgeous and you have free access to it to sit by it's side or float in an inner tube, swim (if it happens to be a time of year when it is deep enough) or whatever you want. I will warn you that the roads you have to navigate through the park to get to some of the sites are insanely tight. We have a 25' trailer and we barely made it through. You see a lot of folks struggling with this. Other that that, they have on site laundry, nice, clean restrooms and the staff is really helpful and friendly too. I would recommend it as a great place to stay in Big Sur. There are no trails within this park but you are close to other parks that have extensive hiking and great views of the coast. There is no internet or cell access in this park so if that matters to you it is a drawback. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$58
Nice park but no full hook ups and as tight as the park seemed we didn't try and dump before we left. We had a nice back in spot on the river. The sites are set amongst huge redwoods that make the place seem smaller than it is. Highway noise from Hwy 1 can be heard all day but it quiets down in the evening. I felt it was a little pricey but the scenery was nice. No Wi-Fi or cell coverage so if you want a get away from it all experience you'll get it there. Coming up from the south on Hwy 1 is a bit of a pain but if you're coming from the north the drive isn't bad at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$53
You can't get closer to a redwoods camping experience in a motorhome if you want electricity and water. As indicated there is no cable TV, no WiFi and no sewer hookups. Many of your neighbors will be in tents, some in some pretty nifty looking cabins. The park is gorgeous but can feel a bit cramped when it's full mainly because of so many trees and big rigs. The campsites themselves are reasonably spacious. Minor groceries, decent restaurants and souvenir shops are within walking distance. Kids seem to love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$58
This is a beautiful park, but very crowded I suspect in the summer months. There were no spots available when we camped over a Fri/Sat night stay. It was quite crowded. The facilities are great. We have a 3 and 5 year old who just loved the playground, one of the best if you have small children. The .50 ice cream was a hit on Fri/Sat nights, too. We had what they called their best spot, #99, and while it was nice, I don't think I would have liked any of the others. We backed to the river which was really down (nice with small kids) and had a small grass area behind us which was nice. I thought $58 was pricey for partial hookups, too. One of the most expensive parks we've stayed in, but the location and forest feel is one of a kind. Lots of foreigners visiting which was interesting when chit chatting with people. Many foreigners make it one of their stops along the California coast on their way to SF. Overall nice park, but having visited once, probably wouldn't go back. Not an easy drive either! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$53
Don't be deceived by their website, this place is basically a parking lot in the woods. It's shady and nice, but if you rent a cabin you will have a Cruise America RV right at your campfire. No privacy anywhere. Also, one end of the campground has a playground and the other end has a basketball court. If you want quiet then forget it. Friendly staff, super clean restrooms and redwood shade, but that's it for the price. Next time I'll stay at the state park up the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
My husband and I stayed here on they to see my Daughter in Carmel. It was beautiful. We will stay here again, and recommend this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
The good: Sites are surrounded by shady, cool redwoods. The area is quiet -- even though the highway is nearby, the river drowns out any noise. (Plus the highway gets little use at night.) Great location for nearby recreational activities -- hiking, mountain biking, etc. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly. The not so good: electric and water hookups are kind of far from your rig, but the office has extension cords and hoses if you need them. Some sites are not level, so bring your blocks. The bathrooms are OK but the door is locked open, which makes it cold and drafty. There are no paper towel dispensers in the bathrooms. Some sites can get muddy. Roadways are tight. Lots of kids at playground -- they can be noisy at times. (If you have kids, the playground is a big plus). Make sure you know exactly where this place is -- the turn into the campground comes up suddenly if you are traveling north on Highway 1, and the sign is not easy to see. But overall, a beautiful setting. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
If you are a nature lover, this is the place. This RV park is located on the valley where hundreds of red woods are with river running. I recommend this place than other state park in Big Sur area. This place much more like State Park. We were there when it was raining and it was so beautiful. I wished we could stay there longer. However, the shower was not a great experience. The shower room wasn't heated. Very cold specially when it is raining out.Staffs are very very friendly as well. Still I would definitely go back there and next time I will stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$48
Yes, its tough for a large vehicle to maneuver in, but its an absolutely beautiful setting amongst big redwoods. Very friendly staff, quiet hours enforced. River access, basketball and playground in the campground. State parks for great hikes are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$65
This is a very tight fit for big rigs even though the reservation staff says it is not an issue. Getting through the entry gate with a 40' motorhome takes great care and requires observers. There is no Internet service here whatsoever either via WiFi or cellular service. The park is crowded yet well managed. Our space was next to a huge, propane tank with our fire ring far too close to the tank. The staff is very friendly and the facilities are clean. Unfortunately, I think the fees are very overpriced for the experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
Due to access over a bridge this campground not recommended for big rigs. Our site had electric and water and concrete pad, but most of the other sites (around 5 or 6) were dirt. There is a dump station only; no sewer sites as far as I know. Very scenic with tall redwoods throughout the park. Recent rains the week before made some park roads muddy. Friendly and informative staff. Read the park map carefully to access the sani dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$50
If the river was not so beautiful, we would probably give it a 1 or 2. The owners were friendly and accommodating, the playground for kids was huge and our boys had fun. The sites were incredibly small, on top of each other, and you had to share a 30 amp with your neighbor. The dump station was near our site, so we heard a lot of extra noise. The redwood trees were beautiful, but there was no place to hike unless you drove a ways, and we didn't tow a car, so we were out of luck. We were only there one night, so it wasn't the worst, but we would probably not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Beautiful setting. Easy access. Would definitely stay here again!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$34
Had a site directly on the river, very pretty place. Had to share the 30AMP, but there was no one next to us so it didn't matter. Nice playground, and they rent tubes to float down the river in. They seem to generate their own electricity, so there is a noisy generator on. Dump station is conveniently located. Staff is very accommodating, they even have a supply of small things that you might forget (e.g. can opener) that you can borrow at no charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
Second time there, we'll go again. Campground is deep in a canyon - direct sunlight drops off early in the afternoon. The site we had this time (11) was confusing. An older, larger site was split in two. Site 10 has to drive through site 11! There is only one 30-amp circuit for 10 and 11 to share. However, the site has an excellent view of the river, and our son spent happy hours at the nearby playground. Saw a couple 34-footers in the camp, but that is really pushing it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$34
This is a nice clean campground. The staff is nice. The restrooms and showers are clean. The sites are dirt and being spring ours was muddy. Lucky for us the mud wasn't in the way. Some may get themselves stuck. There is a nice playground for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$32
We had a campsite that was on the Big Sur River. The campground is very pretty and the people working there were friendly. Each campsite has a fire pit. There is a really nice playground if you happen to have smaller children. There is also a nice restaurant within walking distance. The campground is on Highway 1 which is very windy as it follows the coast. It makes up for this by being exceptionally pretty. Overall we had a great time and we would like to go back sometime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2004
$34
Spent one night here over Thanksgiving weekend, on way back from Bodega Bay. Very nice and friendly staff. Walking distance to the Big Sur River Inn Restaurant. Would stay here again. Right on the Big Sur River, and surrounded by forest: lots of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$50
Excellent and Beautiful. Very Friendly. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$37
Glad we didn't miss this one. What a great location. Was worth the drive. There are a lot of great walking trails and vista views of the ocean. Local shops are close by. Will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$34
The above rate is for three adults and two kids. The campground is nice but a little close to Hwy1. If you get the river-front sites (there are 3 RV sites that's right by the entrance bridge), you will hear the highway noise but it's not too bad since Hwy1 is a small two-lane highway anyway. No ocean access but the little river is crystal clear and fun for wading around. (Kind of cold even in late September.) A good base to operate from and visit other places in Big Sur. It is one of the few places in Big Sur with a dumping station and electrical/water hookups. Excellent clean free showers and bathrooms. Plenty of hot water. Will visit again. Most importantly, there is a nice playground. Kept the kids busy for hours. No individual sewer hookups anywhere, but there is a dumping station. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com