223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Pedernales Falls State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (830) 868-7304
CGID2812

Pedernales Falls State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   7   7   9   6   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
We picked this park to visit the LBJ National and State parks. The park is in a very hilly part of Hill Country and is remote, about 8 miles to some limited services in Johnson City. Campground is about 30 miles from Austin. All sites in the water/electric camping area are paved. The park was full over Easter weekend, but on Sunday many cleared out. Fee does not include the daily per-person $5 entrance fee which adds up quickly. A Texas park pass waives those charges and pays back quickly with discounts. All sites were back-in, many were not level, but subject to correction. The area of the falls were popular with day users on a sunny afternoon. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This is an older park with approximately 60 trailer sites. The sites aren't quite level, and are narrow - you can fit in a travel trailer with slide outs, but it's a squeeze. The park itself is beautiful, in the rolling Texas hill country. The Pedernales River cuts over uplifted limestone beds, creating 'falls'. I've yet to visit then the river was flowing fast enough to see it, though. There is an excellent bird blind near the falls, and a nice swimming section below them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
What a wonderful St Park. Agree with previous raters that spaces are a bit short, narrow, need leveling (some VERY short, narrow and unlevel) and some tables and fire rings are in strange places (on opposite side from RV door), but the spaces are separated by trees and distance. The hiking is excellent, esp down to and along the river. The falls are spectacular. There are two bird watching blinds staffed by volunteers--do NOT miss this! There is a wonderful winery (Texas Hills) and in town the Silver K restaurant is wonderful. Since it's close to Austin and San Antonio, I suspect it gets crowed at times, but we can't wait to return all year round, but esp during the summer to use the river's picturesque swimming area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Quiet state park. Sites are short and not built for RVs. The table and fire ring are on the back side of RVs. 90% of the sites are very shady and private feeling. The park has nice trails and two bath facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This park is nice. As far as big rig access, yes it can be accessed in a big rig but parking is a different situation. We supposedly had one of the larger sites and with our 38 ft MH I had to park the toad across the front. Most of the spaces would be limited to 28 ft. Good birding location and nice view of the Pedernales river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Very nice and primitive CG. Very well shaded and there are spaces that are spread out and some together if needed. The falls are very peaceful listening to and not for the weary to get down to. Lots of hiking and biking trails. We had a great time during spring break even with CG full. Its a very big park - 5000+ acres. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This is a very old, very primitive campground. The site pads are short (we have a 27" travel trailer and a standard truck) and were just barely to fit. Picnic tables are at each site but are not conveniently situated - 25 or more feet away. The pads were set up where everything is off to the opposite side of where most people normally have their trailer doors. We couldn't open our awning. The park was not mowed but with all the recent flooding in Texas, maybe they were just behind. It was too primitive for us. We found that this campground was way too much in the boonies. Our vacation involved sight-seeing in the Hill Country and everything was a drive - just to get out of the park and on the road. If you want to spend time at the campground and nothing more, it is nice for that, but not to get in and out of regularly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
Good park for adults and teenagers, smaller children did not have a playground. Lots of hiking opportunities. Hikes are pleasant, but the trails are not well marked. Campsites seemed close, but could have just been our neighbors. Park host were helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$26
Great little park out in the boonies. If you have health problems, you can be in trouble. It is 13 miles by road to Johnson City and all they have are two band aids and an asprin. That was my only thought. Everyone was great, it is a nature area so you have to think roughing it (yeah, in an RV) The normal antenna TV was very good, had 7 channels. Only gave it an 8 because of a long walk to the showers and rest rooms. Also a long walk down to the river, but worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$24
12 miles sw of Johnson City. Park entrance is a ways from the actual camping area, winding two lane road take you to the camping area and then down to the falls parking area, did not see any big rigs, however they do have extra vehicle parking. A short 1/4 mile hike is required to view the falls. A swimming and tubing beach along with fishing access are located withing a mile of the campground. RV sites are seperated from each other by oak and cedar, sites could be a little more level. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com