214755 User submitted reviews online!!
South Llano River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (325) 446-3994
CGID2816

South Llano River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   8   8   8   10   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
This is a very pleasant and quiet campground with lots of birds. I really like this campground and had stayed here before, but I really needed cell service this time. I was misled by an earlier post that mentioned that they were able to get Verizon cell service, but I was barely able to send out a couple of text messages via roaming. There was no data service at all. I had to leave early the next morning to make my business call down the highway. I would not have any problems coming back here again when I did not need cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
Great park. Really wished we could have stayed longer. Walking trails....and armadillos!!! Washrooms were spotless and great campground hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
Another nice Texas State Park! Fishing, hiking, geocaching, kayaking, birding and wildlife viewing abound. Four bird blinds are serviced by volunteers. Sites are paved, level and most have shade. Park staff and volunteers were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
Nice quiet campground with very nice park host and rangers. Fee includes park pass. No TV unless you have satellite. Only negative is not much privacy between sites. Had site 6 which was nice but sunny and out in middle. Next time would pick a site on the other side of the loop. This time there was a Casita group that had filled the campground. Great place to see wildlife. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
We used this park for an overnight. The park hosts were very friendly and helpful. It's about 10 miles off the interstate. A very quiet and serene area with large oak trees and well maintained. This would be a great park if you enjoy nature trails and a peaceful setting. My only complaint was the $20 fee for camping plus the $8 entrance fee. We didn't purchase the Texas park pass (about $75) which would have saved some, but just thought the cost was high when compared to other states. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
A very pleasant park. We only needed an overnight stop, but this would be a great place to spend some time. This was our first stay in a Texas state park and we didn’t realize entrance fees would be tacked on to the camping fee, something which hadn’t happened in state parks in other states. The Texas park pass is expensive ($70), but quickly pays for itself in waived entrance fees and the coupons for a few reduced camping fees, a good deal if one is going to be staying in very many Texas state parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
A wonderful Texas state park with nicely spaced campsites, some with paved slabs. There are lots of walking trails in the preserve area and down to the South Llano river. There is a bird sanctuary and blinds to observe the birds. Very friendly ranger who let us pick our own spot. We did not have any Verizon cell service here, the only negative. Rate is with the Texas state park pass so we did not have to pay the per person daily entrance fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
This is a lovely park with lots of hiking & biking trails and great birding. We loved watching the beautiful colourful birds at the numerous bird blinds the park has built. The RV sites are spacious and private. The washrooms and showers were very nice although there aren't enough of them (only 2 showers in each of the Rest Rooms). Weekends are busy times even in October so I recommend making a reservation. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
It's been about 8 years since we last visited, and the park remains a good place to visit. Well maintained with plenty of wildlife to view, this park on the western edge of the Texas Hill Country is a great place to bring the family. The South Llano River flows along the edge of the park, and it's wonderfully relaxing to play in it during the hot spring and summer days. Rio Grande turkeys roost in the park, and the trees are full of a large variety of birds (including hundreds of humming birds). The sites are large, well maintained and clean. The bathrooms were spotless. The camp sites on the upper area are lightly shaded by mesquite and have a lot of breezes, while those in the lower area a densely shaded by pecans, but have less wind coming through them. If you stay here, try to take a day and drive 60 miles west on I-10 to Sonora and visit the caverns there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
We stayed here in record heat before trees leafed out; should be much cooler later in season. Also the spacious sites would be more private when foliage leafs out. There are no sites close to the river. Great staff at check-in; however a bit overbearing afterwards. Shortly after we set up, a ranger stopped by and politely asked us to back up our towed so that it was all on blacktop. No problem. Then, 30 minutes later another ranger asked us to move the car to a parking area because parking it across the front of the site damages the blacktop. But remarkably, our 1.5 ton Honda CRV was a hazard to the blacktop while our 13-ton MH was not. Excellent bird watching. Do not follow GPS; we did and found ourselves touring an outpost of Texas Tech. Instead, get on US377 and follow the signs to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
It is a wonderful park!! So glad we found it. We planned an overnight and ended up staying 3 days. All sites are big and comfortable, with lots of trees. We had a back corner site and had deer and 30 - 50 wild turkey come right through our site every morning. The Tom's are breathtaking! We look forward to returning on another trip. The entrance fee was $18.00 per day, however you also pay $3.00 per person per day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
This park is absolutely beautiful. Very secluded sites with 30 amp electric and water. Verizon voice and internet was weak, ATT voice was OK. Tons of hiking trails, a river to swim and fish in, and wildlife everywhere. Turkey, deer, and armadillo walking through our site as we sat here. Very friendly and informative staff. This will be one of our top picks when looking for a quiet and pretty place to stay in Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
You can stay at the KOA for $40/night right next to I-10, or you can drive about 5mi and stay here in a beautiful place with wild turkey and deer for $17. We've visited many TX state parks and as far as trailer sites this is one of the nicest. If you are looking, this park as a destination keep in mind that most of it, including almost all river access, is closed (and I mean closed to everyone on foot, bike, car, or horse) from Oct-Apr for the turkey roost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Very nice, clean park; typical of Texas State Parks, maybe a cut above. The price reflects using the Texas St. Park Pass to cover the entrance fee, and the use of one 50% discount coupon. We had a very nice, secluded site, #21. Lots of opportunities for biking, wildlife and bird watching. A large portion of the park is a designated Turkey Roost area and was closed to hiking. We did catch a glimpse of some wild turkeys and their resident herd of Black Buck Antelope, as well as deer, armadillos etc. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
There are so many nice things to say about this park, it is hard to know where to begin. Sites are level and shaded. Wildlife is abundant and there are bird blinds at the outskirts of the campground to maximize the experience. The place is quiet and easy to access from I-10. Well you get the point. Stay an extra day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Beautiful state park. It has shade trees, level cement pads, clean park, and very friendly staff, lots of great hiking trails. The bird blinds are awesome. There is a catch and release lake. Lots of wildlife. If you want quite, this is it! About a 15 minutes from I-10 but well worth it. $17 was the cost of the site but there is a $3/person park entrance fee. For the two of us, $23 total. We will definitely be back. The is no laundry facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This is a very nice state park with lots of wildlife (deer, turkey, armadillo). There are four separate bird blinds with feeders, so if you are a bird watcher or photographer this is a great place. At&T cell phones worked well, but I couldn't get my Verizon broadband to work, even with an external antenna and amplifier. Hosts were very friendly, and we didn't run across the "militant" park rangers that others have mentioned. We were there on weeknights, so there were few folks in the park, and it was very quiet. We enjoyed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is a great SP with clean facilities, nice staff and fun in the Llano River. The only thing that falls short of this being a 10 was the park ranger who is beyond militant about their rules. We travel in a toy hauler with street bikes and had them in the grass under a tree. He made us move our truck to overflow so we could get the bikes back on the pavement. They also were a bit too harsh on our neighbors (who already asked us to tell them if they were too loud) after 10pm. We didn't hear them at all and the ranger told them to quiet down. We also had some kid in a truck, pass another truck in the park on a curve and we almost had to go off-road on our motorcycle. We followed him, pointed him out to the ranger and the ranger said, "Too bad I didn't see it." So they were way too militant about their rules but not interested in dealing with dangerous driving. The park would be a 10 if it weren't for those odd interactions with the ranger. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
Very family oriented park. Has shade trees, level cement pads, clean restrooms, and very friendly check-in staff. Head park ranger is a little zealot, but all others are very friendly and helpful. You can rent tubes and take a float trip down the Llano river. Has nice hiking trails and a catch and release lake you can use for free. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
This is a beautiful, relatively secluded state park. The staff is friendly and helpful, the sites are spacious and the restrooms were spotless. Unfortunately, the turkeys were roosting, so most of the river access was closed at this time. The bird blind is a comfortable place to see a variety of species, with helpful lists and pictures inside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
We camped here in a tent trailer during the week, and there were maybe 6 other sites occupied in the whole park. The sites are a little close together for my liking, but that would only be an issue if the park were full, plus there was vegetation separating them in some sites. Most sites have total or partial shade, with large oak trees and native shrubs abounding. The sites are mostly level, all have very nice covered picnic tables and fire rings. The bathrooms were, by far, the cleanest and nicest I've seen at a Texas State Park. They were very well maintained. The park feels secluded, although you can hear the nearby highway pretty easily, so that kind of ruins the nature feeling. The park staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They have a neat little room at the park headquarters for kids with skulls and pelts from wild animals of the area. They also have activity books and coloring pages. The bird blinds were a fun aside. They feed the birds every morning and provide nice covered blinds for you to observe them. The scenic overlook was nice, and swimming/picnic area was nice as well. The swimming area is a tad overgrown, and probably wouldn't accommodate a ton of people, but was fun for the kids. There was also lots of wildlife to observe including deer, rabbits, turkeys, cardinals, and antelope (kept in a ranch near the entrance). The park is almost always booked on the weekends during the spring and summer, so go during the week if you want privacy and space. This was a great park we plan on visiting again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
We had been regulars at this park. The park supervisor must have changed and so did the atmosphere of this park. The staff patrolled often, which it good, but seemed only to look for things to fuss at people about. They came around at 9:30 PM and told you that at 10:00 you couldn't make a sound, then at 10:00 if you were still out they came again and let you know to only whisper, no radios were allowed past then. They also were on the hill at the swimming hole with binos looking for "violations" and handing out tickets. We will not return until the staff does. Otherwise, a nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
CG is clean, well kept and secure. Park rangers patrolled often. Camp hosts were very available if needed. Bathrooms were clean with paved sidewalks from some of the campsites to them. Sites were paved and level and hookups easy to get to. River is too far away for a short jaunt to fish. NO TV reception on antenna. AT&T cell phone at 5 bars. Many campers strolling through CG during day but quiet at night. We enjoyed our stay. Will probably not return, but try other Texas state parks. Variety is spice of life. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Nightly rate does not reflect $3 per person, per day park use fee: buy a TX Parks Pass! Clean, quiet, extremely well maintained park with a friendly and helpful staff. A jewel of the TX Parks System! Asphalt roads and sites, sites are level back-ins and in varying lengths. Water and electric connections are near the front. There is NO over-the-air TV reception. You must use a satellite dish. Alltel cell is 1-2 bars and weather radio reception is excellent. The park has four year round bird viewing blinds. LOTS of birds are resident and many more pass through while migrating. Turkey and deer abound. NOTE: from Oct 1st through April 1st, part of the park is closed for turkey roosting. The closed area includes some easy trails and walkways by the river; however, river access for fishing is available year round. The park rents tubes in the warmer months. There are miles of hiking and fat tire biking trails of varying length and difficulty that are always open. There is also a gravel bike/hike trail suitable for all bikes, open year round. The park is extremely popular during the weekends and summer months, at other times, there are few campers. Call ahead for site availability. Junction is 5 miles away for food, fuel, propane, etc. The town's excellent public library offers free Wi-Fi and an outstanding book exchange. This is my seventh visit over the years and each time I stay, I see improvements. Definitely a "destination park." I upgraded my previous ratings from "9" to "10" and give it my highest recommendation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$12
Very quite, friendly camp ground. Lots and lots of wildlife. (turkeys & deer abound) Great trails, bird watching blinds, fun swimming hole. We went with friends and had a great time. We will return. I think the late fall would be great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
We stayed here overnight while passing thru. Park was clean, had asphalt pads and roads and sites were generally well spaced. Most of the tables were covered and most of the sites had some shade. As with most Texas State Parks, a number of the sites would not be suitable for big rigs. The park is located adjacent to a wildlife management area, so there are plenty of deer and turkey in the park. The park also has several miles of river frontage suitable for tubing or fishing. We would definitely stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$11
This is a green, shady state park on the South Llano river. A virtual oasis in the hot desert region located on the border between Central and West Texas. There is no TV, no Wi-Fi, no sewer and only minimal cell phone service. There is plenty of wildlife both near the camp sites and in the turkey roosting areas down by the river. There are plenty of hiking trails, and you can find one to suit the length of time you want to spend walking. You can rent tubes for floating on the river. It's a completely restful place. They fill up on weekends so call ahead to get your name on their list. About half the sites have shelters over the picnic tables so look for them if that's important to you. All picnic tables are on concrete pads. Interior roads are all paved and all sites are mostly level concrete pads. Most sites are shaded. The restrooms are the cleanest we've ever seen in a state park in any state. They have a handy double dump station on the way out of the park. The office staff here is exceptionally helpful. We plan to return here. With our discounts we ended up paying $11.25 per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
We came for two days and stayed ten. We really enjoyed the quiet, the wildlife watching: right from the RV, and the bike riding. We would most definitely return, but only after April first when the entire park and adjoining Wildlife Management Area are fully opened. Prior to this time much is closed as the numerous wild turkeys are roosting. Wildlife Area provides some rugged mountain biking, but there are miles of flat, easy biking near the campground. The bird blinds are great. Saw many colorful birds and got some great pictures. Enjoyed nature hikes and talks lead by the naturalist. We've stayed in 8 Texas State Parks on this trip and this was our favorite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$19
This campground is located 4 miles south of Junction, TX about 0.5 miles from the South Llano River. It is secluded and away from road noise. It is wooded and provides shade for most sites although it does not obstruct the view for satellite TV. The interior roads and sites are paved. The sites are spaced far apart and each has water, electricity, picnic table, fire ring, and a light pole. All sites are back-in but are angled, making parking easy. Large RVs will fit into most sites but there may not be enough room for the tow vehicle or the towed vehicle. Wildlife is abundant and hummingbirds were everywhere at this time of year (April 15). There is an adjacent Wildlife Management Area with miles of hiking and biking trails. There is a separate walk-in tent area in the Wildlife Management Area with a large nearby parking lot. The campground fee is $15 but each person must pay a entry fee of $2. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Excellent birding park, always clean and neat. River tubing is popular, biking and hiking. Be advised there is NO OVER THE AIR TV reception; must use Dish/DirecTV. Alltel cell worked fine, good WTX. LOTS of greenery, birds, deer and turkey. Plenty of hiking/biking. Spring through Fall weekends are crowded and you MUST have a reservation, but weekdays are fine. Negative (IMO). Management allows tents in RV sites, which I don't agree with. There is a tent specific area but has no electric: so. Definitely recommend as a place to stay for days or weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$14
This is a great place to enjoy wild life and hike the more than 18 miles of trails. The RV sites are roomy and well spaced out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Awesome campground! Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of wildlife including deer, turkey and many different species of birds. Bird watchers will really appreciate the well maintained bird blinds. Great hike and bike trails. Tubing on the South Llano River is a blast. Very family oriented park with many very nice, shaded back-in RV sites. The only reason I didn't give this campground a 10 was that an enormous storm caused the river to flow over the bridge at the entrance of the park causing the staff to close the park for 24 hours... no one in and no one out (except for an emergency exit road that could not accommodate towed trailers or motorhomes). While extremely rare, it can happen. This is our favorite campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$19
We were surprised regarding how nice the park was. It's a little bit of ways from the Interstate (10 miles approx.) but, easy to get to. It has paved roads and paved, level sites. The restrooms are very clean. The park is well worth staying in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$24
6 miles west of Junction Texas on the Llano River. All sites average 45 feet in length and are seperated by oak trees. More than enough room for awnings without interfering with the site next to yours. Deer and turkey walk freely through your campsite; well marked trails to wildlife viewing blinds. Day use area that allows tubing and swimming on the Llano River is 1 mile from camping area. We enjoyed the experience so much we will return over the Christmas holiday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com