206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Caddo Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (903) 679-3351
CGID2817

Caddo Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   8   9   7   9   5   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
The main thing this park has going for it is the unique beauty of Caddo Lake. This is an old Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) -constructed park in bad need of repair and maintenance. The water around the fishing piers had considerable trash floating in it and no one appeared interested in cleaning it out. The only thing we observed park staff doing was several drive by's each day looking for some violation. Only a government entity would put campsites next to a busy highway when there appear to be acres of other available land. The Armadillo Run Camping area is especially noisy. The amenities promoted on the website - paddle boats, canoes, etc. were no where to be found and this was on a weekend when the park was full. The rate is for water and electricity only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Nice, quiet state park. We have stayed previously in one of the pull-throughs, which are large and have full hookups. This time we stayed in a back-in site with water & electric. The back-in sites are a bit tight, but not too bad. The park is very pretty. We have stayed here before, and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
This is a small Texas state park. If you are 30 ft or longer be sure to get a pull through site. These sites are very nice and private. We really like the quiet and peace here. I suspect the spring and fall would be the best time to come. If you have satellite TV there are too many tall pines to get a signal. Come prepared as there are big grocery stores near. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$15
Nice CG. The 8-10 pull through sites with full hookups were occupied, but we were the only others in the campground. The sites are all short, maybe 40 feet, and at a right angle to the road. Park was built by Civilian Conservation Corps in late 1930's and is laid out for mainly tents and small trailers. It was difficult finding a site long enough for our 34' RV. All the above could be overlooked if not for the highway and train noise. Nice place but wouldn't stay again because of the road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
We spent 3 nights in this lovely park. We chose a water and electric only site and we were glad as those sites are much nicer and more level than the full-service sites. There is a dump station available before you exit the park. We enjoyed watching the squirrels and listening to the calls of the various birds that live here. There were a few TV channels available over the air. Verizon Wireless had a perfect 3G signal however a neighbor with AT&T could not get any service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
The staff was very helpful when we arrived helping us to get a nice shady and level site. We had brought our kayaks with us so they also try to get us near the water. It is very clean, and quiet. We went on an Owl Prowl Friday night that park put on really cool we saw barr owls and listened to them call each other. This park is on our list to re visit several times as it was beautiful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
After spending the previous weekend at North Toledo Bend SP, this was a letdown. I grew up in a town close to this park so I know it well, but staying here in a travel trailer is a different game. The sites were not level, restrooms were not clean, no place for the children to swim. Not a place to stay during the summer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Be alert for this park entrance as "T intersection" just off Texas 43 is a distraction. Large entrance is on the north (left side) just before reaching the corner store and intersection, so go slow. Park is well maintained as most all Texas State Parks. Some of the FHU sites are not level, so be prepared (check with office first). Lots of tours out of Uncertain and other areas available. Wanted to stay longer, but the Easter crowd was coming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
This is an very nice state park in an interesting area. You can rent canoes and go paddle out onto Caddo Lake, or just stay in the park cove and paddle around in the Cypress trees. The nearby town of Uncertain offers a couple of different boat trips out onto the lake, including a wood-fired steamboat. And nearby Jefferson has dozens of antique shops and historic buildings. Sites are all shaded by very tall trees, so don't come here if you want to set up your satellite. Verizon broadband was good, AT&T cell phones did not work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
Beautiful, peaceful park on the Big Cypress River near mysterious Caddo Lake. We had full hookups and a pull through site, which made it all easy. Friendly staff and camp hosts. Restrooms/showers were spotless. Would definitely stay again and it's well-worth taking a couple of days to explore the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$12
Relatively small, out of the way State Park. Great park personnel, advised on the best, most level spaces among all available. Be sure to get a space away from the road (we did) as it's noisy near the highway. Good spacing between sites...appears to be several multi RV spaces along with screened in cabins. Several good over the air TV stations. Very unique surroundings..part pine forest, part cypress bayou. Heavy forest trails, access to mill pond that opens onto river and then on to Caddo Lake. Could only stay one night on a Monday. Not much around, so get any supplies on the way in or drive 10 miles or more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
This park is one of my favorites. It is in the East Texas Pineywoods region about 15 miles east of Marshall, TX. This park is completely covered by the canopy of the towering pine trees. The park is pretty small but most sites are spread out nicely with vegetation separating them. Some of the sites can be tricky to back into since the main road is very narrow through the trees. There are no waterfront RV sites but there are a few tent sites although once you see the swampy surroundings you may not want to be that close to the water. The shower/restroom is clean but very old and small. The main walking trail in the woods is a nice hike and can get steep in some places. The best part of the park is the view from the lighted fishing pier overlooking Mill Pond. The bald cypress and lily pads are stunning. Rent a kayak or canoe and paddle around the area to experience more of the lake's beauty. A fun excursion from Caddo Lake State Park is to drive 5 mile to Uncertain, TX, have a quick breakfast at Crip's Camp and rent a Jon Boat. The motor boat is the best way to see the many sloughs and bayous of the lake. Make sure to get a map of the lake and follow the water markers so you don't get lost. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
Beautiful setting with lots of trees and shade. Even though it was hot and very humid, it was still pretty comfortable. Considering it's a swampy area, you would think there would have been a lot of mosquitoes, but there weren't. We stayed in the electric and water only sites which were not nearly as full as the ones with sewer. The spaces are not too close together. If the family likes to swim, this is not your place. But, if you want a really peaceful unique ecosystem, you must see this: Texas' only natural lake. The rangers conduct nature tours and talks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This park is so pretty and quiet. We just loved it. Due to high water all water activities were suspended so there was not much to do. Even the fishing pier was under water. One of the campground loops was completely closed. The restrooms were clean and well kept. We met some very nice people camping there all of whom said Caddo Lake was one of their favorite parks. The only negative we have is that the pull through sites are very tight and hard to maneuver and it was very frustrating. They need to clear out a little more space at each site. If it had not been for that I would have given them a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This is a beautiful park. The wooded sites are amazing. You have to take the boat ride onto the lake to experience the beauty of the lake. It is like nothing I have ever seen. It is like stepping back in time to a prehistoric movie. The park is well kept and super quiet. This is one of our favorite parks in TX. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$12
Nice park but tight fit for a 40' coach. Roads are narrow and twisty and there are loops for turning around that are a challenge. We were assigned to a 30 amp site but kept popping the circuit breaker even with only the front AC running. We think it was a problem with the electrical stand as we can run the front AC at home on a 20 amp circuit. They moved us to a 50 amp pull-through site but then we could only stay one night we had planned on two nights. Sites are in a forest, black-topped, and widely separated. Fairly noisy, though, even with the separation. Was mostly disappointed for a Texas state park, we've been in lots better -- and we're Texans. Don't know that we'd get back with a coach of our size. Park fee was on top of RV fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
We visited during Easter. We stayed in the Woodpecker Hollow loop in spot 23. The site is an asphalt pull through and did require the use of leveling blocks. Woodpecker Hollow is the full hookup loop. The springtime temperatures were great and no problems with insects at the campground. We went on a hike on the Caddo Forest Trail. We did use insect spray as we entered the forest. The hike was guided by a volunteer (the park host) and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2006
$15
This park was well maintained and the sites were level, but we could not find the lake. I'm a Texan so I know there is a Caddo Lake, but we never saw it. If was quiet. Very quiet with only two other campers in the park when we were there. Spooky. I don't think this is on our list of campgrounds to see again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Great park for relaxing.The lake has a swamp look to it. Do watch out for poison ivy there is a lot. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com