224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Medina Lake was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (830) 751-2406
CGID2825

Thousand Trails / Medina Lake

Camp Information
Sites
387
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   6   9   7   6   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$3
Rate reflects 50 amp daily rate for Thousand Trails members. The pool is great. The pool shower house is the best in the park. The other restroom shower facilities are OK. Cleaner than some of the other TT parks we have been in. The camp sites vary in acceptability. Most are level and many are shady. We stayed in the 50 amp line in the A section (L group). From here we are close to the pool but a mile from the activity center. There is no lake. It's dried up. The activity center is "OK". San Antonio is a hour away. There is a little grocery store not far away. Otherwise its about 15-20 minutes to "stores". We would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$3
We are Thousand Trail members, so we are not charged unless we select a 50 amp site, which costs $3 per day. We have camped at many TT campgrounds and feel strongly that this is one of the best. The bathrooms are clean and functional, which can't be said of some TT parks, particularly in California. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the grounds and sites are large and in good condition. Most sites have full hookups. Negatives--feral cats abound, though that seems to be a common problem with campgrounds in rural areas. And Medina Lake is no more, as both the drought and San Antonio have left it bone dry. But despite the absence of Medina Lake, this Thousand Trails campground is a very nice place to kick back and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$3
Rate TTN 50 AMP. HDTV/Antenna doesn't do much good here. Wi-Fi is marginal but my Clear card pulled a 6-8 bar signal all week. Phones for the most part don't work here. Staff is much reduced but doing a good job. The store is gone but the restaurant is open on weekends. The lake has always been the draw here and now the lake isn't anywhere close to accessible from the CG. There is now a jeep road down the middle of the old lake bed and local ranchers are harvesting crops from the lake bed for the past two years. The CG is practically vacant, some sections totally unoccupied. Deer are not quite as much a problem as 3 years ago but still are all over the place and constantly looking for handouts. Feral cats hang around and some are friendly enough to be handled, all want food and water, but so do the deer. Medina Lake isn't anymore. The only place we saw water was in the far away section miles away toward San Antonio. The CG is quiet and pleasant. CG is close enough to San Antonio for visits to the Alamo and the River Walk (evening and night is best). We enjoyed our stay here, in spite of the unseasonal rains and winds, and we will return when in the area. The Apple Pie store in Bandera is a must stop and The Links at Utopia another. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
We stayed here in 2011 and enjoyed it very much so we returned this year. What a disappointment. ELS needs to spend some $$ in this park. Lots of maintenance needs to be done. In fairness, the lake is now dry, so campers are less. Less campers means less hours allocated to the park, but let's be fair. How much does it take to run a riding mower through the park and cut down the weeds? We were there four days and never once saw a ranger other than at the entrance station. Lots of empty spots so reservations shouldn't be necessary. Lots of maintenance needed in the pool area. The bottom lodge was not open during our stay. Sad.. Verizon 4bars/3g AT&T sporatic but 4 bars 3g. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$6
We have enjoyed Medina Lake. It's a nice and friendly TT park, with plenty of deer. Although Medina Lake is dry, the park is enjoyable. A little maintenance would enhance the park. Roads and access to camp sites is easy and they are generally in good shape. 50 amp electric is good and constant. The Wi-Fi in the clubhouse is usually slow, but workable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
As with most TT parks, the staff is friendly (rating: 10), the grounds/spaces are spacious (rating: 8), but the park is running on a lean budget and the amenities look like they need help (rating: 4).... The pool is huge and the hot tub nice and warm, but the pool fence is leaning badly and there were leaves everywhere on the pool deck and in the pool/hot tub. Many, many of the street lights are out. There is still no water in the lake (not their fault )which is a shame because it looks gorgeous! The deer are a great wake-up, though, and are everywhere! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
Fair full service RV Park. We were in a 50A back in site #F135 with excellent shade. Gravel pad, very deep. Good electric service. Very poor water quality and good pressure. Acceptable sewer hook-up. Facilities in fair condition, could use improvements. We will probably not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
This is a really nice park. Spaces are large and have some landscaping or shrubbery between sites. Lots of little deer around too. The park employees are polite and helpful. The park is well maintained, sites have been mowed, the power is very good on our loop, don't know about the others. Good Verizon 3g, and easy setup for Dish satellite. The activity center is clean and modern, we're going over for breakfast this morning. The park has been quiet at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$1
This is still one of our favourite parks. However, some things have changed over the past 4 years we have come here. Today there is no more water in the lake than you could mop-up with a couple of towels. It is therefore no longer relevant when stating that waterfront sites are available. Also, this year most of the deer have either moved elsewhere or have been removed. There are still a small number left but it's a mere fraction of what was here the years before. Nevertheless, we love it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
Staff and Managers are very friendly and helpful. Beautiful area, although there is no longer water in the lake due to the drought. White-tail deer are everywhere and wait to be fed at your site. Had a great Thanksgiving Dinner potluck and the park provided the turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy and stuffing. Totally enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$3
This is a Thousand Trails park and the rate paid reflects the upgrade to a 50 AMP site. We parked right across from the lake and had a beautiful view. The deer were everywhere! Our site was shaded but we were still able to get satellite coverage. The roads are paved and the RV sites are packed gravel. Our site was nice and level. The lake is down so the ramps were not available to boaters. We loved this park and would definitely return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$3
Deer every where. The TTN Trading Post sells deer corn to feed the resident whitetail population. Access to Medina Lake is limited to one boatramp because the lake level is so low this time of the year. The whitetail are so tame they can be fed from the hand. There are full hookups scattered through the resort, some with 50AMP, and the maps indicate which sites to look for. San Antonio is not far away, and the Alamo Plaza is worth the visit. San Antonio River Walk is pleasant, and you can find good food at a decent price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
Lake Medina Thousand Trails has much going for it. Pluses are: Good roads, level gravel sites with spacious grassy areas. Most sites are woodsy. One area is within view of the lake with about 15-20 sites right on the lake. Water level is erratic, but when it's up, it's a beautiful turquoise. Nice family activity center with small store, cafe, playground, mini-golf, many games, and plenty to do. Has a beautiful pool area. Mostly 30-amp sites, the 50-amp sites have a $3/day surcharge. Some sites are leased or have on-site storage, but there are still many sites to choose from. Very nice, large lakeside tent area. Drawbacks: Deer populate the park unrestricted, and rains bring the smell of deer pooh, although many folks I've met have never noticed it. Management needs to work harder at keeping overhead limbs and underbrush cut back. Laundry and workout room are clean but not conveniently located. Apart from the deer having to dodge the tree limbs, we like Medina and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$1
Once again, Thousand Trails manages to wow us. This rustic feeling resort balances the feeling of being close to nature with modern facilities. We loved the deer that you can feed by hand. We spent time playing pickle ball. We were here over Easter and participated in the events they had. The staff was super! This was a bit out of the way, but close enough that we visited San Antonio a few times and Sea World several times. Our site was wooded and level. Water pressure was adequate. No wi-fi unless you use the lodge and even then it was kind of spotty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
We really like this 1000 trails park. We stay in the upper section, and the sites are large and easy back ins. Full hookup with 30A (50A available some sites $3 night extra). Lots of deer, and walking trails to the lake. We stayed here 2 weeks before we moved on to the west coast. All 1000 trails we've been in show some sign of needing maintenance, this one was no exception but nothing to require a serious downgrade. Recommended park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$3
TT is finally working on improving the internal roads. By our next visit in February 2010 we hope the work in finished. The deer herds are pretty, but huge and create a filthy environment for walking your pets. There is not an area where you can walk without stepping in deer droppings. Camper's are allowed to feed deer (TT sells deer corn) at their camp site. This is not a good idea. Sites near the lake and under the tree cover are totally grass-less. You can imagine the mess when it rains. Internet is only available at the lodge. I was able to get a connection parked next to the building one night after they closed, so. All 50 amp sites will cost you $3 a night. If you are a member and camp in a 30 amp site there is no fee. If you like a woodsy atmosphere, can tolerate the deer droppings, and don't mind the long distance to the lodge (from the areas with less deer population) to get on Wi-Fi then it's not a half bad park. But, it is pretty typical of the TT parks, in the boonies, roads and sites not well maintained, and what I feel could be a health hazard from the deer. Generally, however, sites are ample in length for even big rigs plus a tow vehicle. Roads while not in very good shape (lots of pot holes and ruts) are wide enough not to cause problems in maneuvering into your site. We will return to this park, not because we like it particularly but for other reasons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
Large park with sites spread out over 4 different areas. 220 sites offer full hookups with about 40 of these having 50 amp service (first come first served and $5 a nite additional fee) 167 sites are 30 amp and water only - the R section of these sites is located along the lake. Large club house & cafe with all the activities one is accustomed to having at a TTN park. This park is a bit off the beaten track - about 30 miles to the closest major supermarket ( there is a small market in Lakehills but it's pricey!) As others have stated - do not follow directions on GPS use the ones in the TTN directory. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$5
This is truly a campground and not a resort style RV park. Very woodsy. Deer are everywhere. Being a holiday weekend the campground was full, but there were plenty of activities going on, lots of kid things to do, and the campground was hopping. My GPS routed me down Texas street which is a bit of mistake so read the directions before arriving as the folks at the activity center said lots of RVers get routed down the wrong road. All in all this is a nice campground but certainly not the nicest TT I have stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$1
Not the nicest TT campground, for sure, but yet still nice and rustic and quiet, and met some great campers there. Deer were bountfiul and friendly ... coming from Tennessee and seeing the deer in our own backyard and comparing them to these Texas deer ... well let's just say that not EVERYTHING is bigger in Texas. The fawns in Tennessee are bigger than the deer here. But still very nice to have them come up to you when sitting in a chair at your campsite. We enjoyed this campground as members of TT and it meets quite adequately and we would stay here again. I would like to see them increase the number of 50A sites (we only found a 30A available). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Sites were in disrepair. Roads were not well maintained and dirt sites had not been leveled in some time. 50 Amp service seemed to be only available for those who were signed up for a long term stay. Most sites had only 30 amps. There was no cable and lakefront sites had no sewer. Facilities were very nice and it was fun to see so many deer in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$5
Members and guests free, $5 per extra vehicle. This an excellent park for lakeside getaway, roads are paved but rough, plenty good for biking. Posted speeds are from 5 to 15 mph. Lakeside sites don't have sewer hookups but dump station and honey wagon available. Almost all sites have some if not complete shade. Swimming pool extra large and kiddie pool as well. Deer, ducks, and squirrels abound. Stayed several times in 2003 and 2004. Meals and functions on weekends at clubhouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com