223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Sonny's RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (979) 773-2243
CGID2831

Sonny's RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   7   7   6   8   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$22
If you're looking for resort type park, this is not the park for you, but we would definitely refer our friends. We wanted some place between the two Presidential Libraries and this was the only one. We didn't expect a whole lot at $20 per RV Park Reviews, (they had to raise their rates), $22 a day was the weekly rate. There were quite a few permanent residents, but the park was very quiet and not messy. The laundry is in the office and only has two washers and dryers, but they are not coin operated. It's on the honor system. Large capacity washers and dryers. Unlike coin operated dryers, they go until your clothes are dry. $1 per load. The park had the best WIFI we've experienced in any of our travels, including some of the more expensive resorts. Fast and reliable. As mentioned before, the entrance road is a little rough, however, if you use the northern most entrance, it is much better. Only reason for not giving it a 10 was the fact it had a lot of stickers for walking our Lhasa Apso. This is Texas, so I guess it's a never ending fight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Friendly owner (woman) met us on golf cart and took us to a long shaded pull-through. Gravel roads with gravel/grass level sites. Pretty grounds, lots of trees and flowers. Conservation swing area is unique and awesome! Great burger at Herk's Store & Grill, must have jalapeƱo bun! Small town, great park for overnight stop, no road noise. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
An OK place to pull off the road for the night and was met when I pulled in and escorted to my site. The hookups all worked. The restroom needed cleaning but for the price it was adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Only game in town. Host drove up on a golf cart and met us on the entrance road. Only info needed was overnight pull thru and last name. Cost $20 cash and woo-ya, he led us to a perfect site to pull out of in the morning. No problem. Easy Peasy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
A nice gentleman on a golf cart welcomes and takes you to the site. I was whining about the site and he said "where would you prefer, we want you to be happy". It wasn't fancy but It was adequate. It has a unique swing set. We liked it here. Not much traffic noise and easy in and out. Big Shell just past here for fuel, diesel, coffee etc. Would certainly stay again when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
The host greeted us immediately upon entrance into the park. However, the entry road was a mite rough and not too well marked. Even in January, the lawn was lush. Sites were grass and gravel with a small concrete pad, but easy for pull through access. Across the hiway is a well equipped country store. Definitely the best bargain in the area at $20 a night. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Nice country RV park. This place is just perfect for an overnight stay on the way home from/or on the way to the Rio Grand Valley. Host met us on his golf cart as we were driving in the front, and led us to our site. $20 for water, sewer, and 50 amp power is not bad. Wi-Fi worked as good or better than any RV park we have visited. Our site didn't have a table, or we would rate as a 9. Country store right across the street has a nice meat market and a great selection of local sausages. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
This is a nice park for resting a few days.The park is under new management and worth the rate. They are making improvements. The utilities were good, the Wi-Fi worked great. The restroom and shower were clean and well kept. Across the highway from the park is a small grocery store with all of the basics. Gravel drive and our site was level. At our site we had very little road noise. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
This park is not a destination but it is a very nice park for resting a few days.The park is under different management and they don't honor the rates in their website or the discounts but it is still worth the rate. All the utilities were great, Verizon air card, and Verizon cell, and their Wi-Fi all worked great. Across the highway from the park is a grocery store with everything you will need. Gravel drive and our site #23 was level. At our site we had very little road noise. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$18
This park is hard to find in the dark because the sign is not lit up however, it is a big sign on the road to watch for. We were greeted by the manager and she escorted us to our site and helped us park. Very friendly, gave us the Wi-Fi code and said have a good evening. The bathroom is very old but it is at least clean. Lots of trees. Off of the road so can barely hear the traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$18
We stayed here about a year ago, and nothing much has changed except the cost has gone up to $18. We were greeted as we turned in the driveway by a gentleman in a golf cart, and he led us to our spot. As they still do not take credit cards we just paid the man who escorted us, and that's all we did to check in. This is not a fancy place, but it is clean and quiet. The sites are gravel and grass, and some have a very small patio, but ours was really cracked. A few sites have a table but most don't. There are some very nice huge oak trees which would be really nice for shade in the summer. There is a small laundry room but that is about it for amenities. There is no pool or cable TV, and I didn't see a playground. I'm sure they welcome children, but there is nothing for them to do. The Wi-Fi worked well last year, but this year the signal was weak. Also the access now requires a password so be sure to ask for it. The escort did not mention this to us, and by the time we tried to get online the office was closed, so we were unable to actually get connected. However, this was our only complaint, and otherwise we think this is a good place for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
This is a decent little mom & pop type RV park. It is not fancy, but the price is great. It has now added Wi-Fi, but there are no other amenities to speak of. There is no TV cable, but you can get several off air stations. There are a few permanent residents, but their areas are well kept. The roads and sites are gravel. Our pull through site was reasonably level and very long. The Wi-Fi was good, but we were parked right by one of the antennas. It is convenient to the main highway through town, but it sits back far enough to reduce road noise. I indicated that the showers/restrooms were clean, but they are pretty worn. If they were improved I could give an 8 rating. One caution, they do not take credit cards. This is a good place for an overnight stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
We stayed for a single night on the way from south Texas, and found it a very comfortable and convenient place to stay. We were met as we drove in, and taken to a nice pull thru site, and were set up in no time at all. The price is still $15 and we will defnintely stay here when traveling through this part of Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Great overnight location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
We stay at this park every year for 2-3 days for the homecoming events. This is not one of the big luxury parks, but it is comfortable and quiet. Service is impeccable. You most definitely can't beat the cost: $15.00 in 2007. Down the street is a small cafe named Linda's with great home country style cooking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Most impressive is the golf cart waiting to instantly take you to a site. No waiting at registration desk!! That's really nice after a 500 mile day. Park has few amenities, but is great for just overnight. Staff very helpful. Supermarket across the street, and gas stations, too. Have stayed here for the past 5 years, but only while passing through for 1 night We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com