214670 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Livingston State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (936) 365-2201
CGID2833

Lake Livingston State Park

Camp Information
Sites
151
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   9   8   8   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Nice and quiet, with lots of trees and a bike ride away from the lake. Waterfront lots available but were booked up. I have already booked the waterfront for 2 more trips we plan to spend at this park. Can't wait to get there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
This is a beautiful location on the lake and we had a site overlooking the lake. Site were not that level, but the location and view make up for any minor shortcomings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
This is a great state park. Beautiful lake, thick woods, lots of shade, camp sites are not too close together. We stayed in site #67. It was a back in site, but I pulled in forward so we had a view of the lake out the windshield of the MH. Water and electric was on the right (wrong) side of the MH when parked this way, but hose and electric cable reached utility post easily. I did not hook up to sewer because we were only there two nights. The park was nearly empty mid week this time of year. There are lots of down trees in the park so picking up firewood is not a problem. Had a roaring campfire at night, very nice. The only drawback is the parking pads are pretty uneven. It looks like the ground was not prepared properly before the asphalt was put down and they are all a bit wavy and uneven. We managed to get pretty level. It was well worth the effort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Really nice view from premium site 57. Site wasn't real level, it had sewer, but it was up hill from sewer pipe, electrical was close to road (not having extension cord) had to park closer to road. Some one was having family reunion in park and playing rap music, rangers never said turn it down. They patrolled pretty regular, but they didn't stop. I'd stay here again, weekend you just got to see whats up and hunker down. Only are I'd stay is in premium sites by lake, rest of it looks rough. Texas SP amazes me they charge $25 a night and $7. dollars a day for gate others state do it also, but some remove it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Very nice state park. We stayed in the premium sites on the lake for 4 nights. Very spacious but not very level. All else was great. Gorgeous views, quiet, good shade, but we were able to get a decent satellite TV signal. Very enjoyable. Would absolutely recommend and stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$21
Now I remember why I love State Parks. The combination of rate ($21/night) plus very spacious sites and tree cover! This park is awesome. We do a lot of KOA, Jellystone, RV resort type camping. We'll be back here as often as we can. A short drive from Houston and feels like a different part of the country. Beautiful lake, hiking trails, etc. The park is pet friendly. The rangers are laid back (virtually non-existent) and the campers were all seemingly very respectful of each other. If I have to "ding" the park it would be that the bathhouse close to us, while clean and functional was not very spacious, the water pressure was (significantly) lacking and there was no soap at the sink (not just an empty dispenser but no soap). Also the sites were black top and are fairly sloped at the edges making the positioning of the RV somewhat a challenge. But back to the good, this is the only SP I've ever camped in where they actually allow / encourage you to forage for down trees to burn as firewood. There is actually an inordinate amount of down trees which is somewhat puzzling but makes for a nice (free) week-end of constant fires. If you come, visit the faith stables for a horseride and steak dinner. It's nose to tail riding but great for the kids and the dinner was fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
The premium sites are very nice. We were in site 69. There was no one in front so we had a great water view. Sites are level, with full hook ups. They have had a lot of trees die off and have been cut down. Still a very nice park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Great park with lots to do for adults and kids. We stayed in the Yaupon loop this trip and had a nice shady site that required about 3 inches of leveling on one side of the rig. The utilities worked just fine and we could get a few channels with the antenna. Our children enjoyed fishing at the marina and riding their bikes on the trails. There is a pool but it opens only after Memorial weekend and there is no swim beach. We will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Very nice park with plenty of bike trails and natural wooded areas. More amenities than most state parks. We stayed here on Easter weekend and it still didn't seem too crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
The park is a very nice, heavily wooded area. We stayed in the Piney Woods section on a lakefront site. The trees provided very nice shade on a sunny day. The overall sites are large, but the location for the RV was a bit narrow and VERY hard to back into. The roads were not very wide and had deep drainage ditches complicating backing into the spot. Our spot was nowhere near level, adding to the back in problems. To level the rig, the front was almost on the ground while the back was lifted several feet. WiFi was a pleasant surprise. The signal was weak, but worked well, although we were there during the week so it wasn't as crowded as a weekend. Utilities were ok, but placement was a little unusual with sewer far to the front and water behind the rig. The check-in procedure was unusual. Ranger gave me a campsite map and marked available sites. Said not to unhook or drop anything off - pick a site, bring the rig back to the front office, finish the check-in, then go back and unhook. Nice lake. Lot of people fishing. Some boating with several boat ramps in the park. The seawalls on the lake don't seem to be compatible with using the lake for swimming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This is the worst state park visit ever and it starting with the sullen, terse reception upon check-in. It's a beautiful park, set in tall mixed forest. A trail winds through out the park and there is a stable for arranging trail rides. Wi-Fi was weak but usable. Three camping areas, nicely separated with some sites right on the lake. We chose Red Oak to be away from the lake and road. Like most state parks, the sites are generous.  We like state parks for their naturalness. The quiet and dark allow us to sleep with windows open. The Park Host next door had a dozen 8" white light bulbs strung around his site, lighting up the entire woods all night. The neighbor across had multicolor and white strings of lights, also left on all night. Same neighbor left two barking dogs tied out while they were away. Texas State Parks are reluctant to enforce rules, since they want campers' business. By Saturday morning, incoming campers were parked everywhere, even though the rules clearly prohibit parking off pavement.  We would not return to this park.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$29
I'm giving this park an 8 because of the lake front sites. The rate paid reflects the $21 for the lakefront site plus park admission rate of $4/person per day. The back-in site we had sloped down from the road, and the placement of the utilities was strange. Water was well behind the site, had to extend our water hose. Sewer was toward the front of the site which put it at a high point. It wouldn't drain correctly. I had to wait til we left, pull forward to get the rig higher than the sewer connection and then dump the tanks. Other than that, we enjoyed the park and the lake and would probably stay here again. We'd just be more careful choosing a site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Nice park, loved the trees and natural feel of the park. I liked that it didn't feel like a glorified parking lot. It felt like there was some privacy with the space we had between our campsites. Not all campsites had such space between them, but fortunately for us we did. I would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
Overall: Likely would not go there again during the summer months, but maybe in fall when swimming isn't gonna happen any ways. Nice hookups, not the best swimming lake. The Good: It's easy for us to get to near Houston. And the hookups (water, 30 and 50 amp electric, and sewer for our gray/black water tanks) were terrific. Plenty of shade on the site and several restrooms in nice condition (although some joker at the site left a present in both the men and women showers while we were there, but that's not the camp site's fault and they did clean it up the next morning). There is fishing from the retainer wall side walks. My daughter enjoyed catching a catfish. The Bad: We stayed on Yaupon Loop and the roads were terrible. Paved but cracking and unlevel. We saw more than one 5th wheel struggling to get into their slots. No great natural swimming here. Not the best for biking as the roads are rough. There were some trails, but not as much as I'd hoped. There is no beach to the lake at this location; it is a drop off from the retaining wall. Some folks with older kids just jumped in from the retaining wall, but with younger kids and folks trying to fish all along the wall, we didn't do it. There is a pool, but costs extra ($3 for adults, $2 for children). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
I stayed one night. It is not a Big-Rig friendly place. Access roads are very narrow and there are no pull-through sites. If you aren't an expert at backing your big rig, I wouldn't consider this place. Pros: Shady. Cons: Only a few spots can be backed into with something over 30' unless you are a real pro. The access roads are narrow with pretty good drop offs. I had three guys try and help me get my 35' fifth wheel into a spot and nearly had a disaster. The angle of the pads is too sharp for the narrow access road and the pad entrances are narrow with ditches on both sides. I dropped two wheels of the trailer into the culvert and thought the whole thing was going to tip over. If you have a tent or a smaller trailer this would be a good place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
We had a reservation for 2 nights and when we arrived to our assigned site, it was already taken. Then we were told to just "pick one". Office not very organized! Our campsite in Youpon Loop was great: wooded, level, clean, quiet family area and all utilities worked fine. We saw the park rangers patrolling frequently. This was our first time out with our new trailer and we enjoyed this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
All of the previous comments are on target, this is a great scenic state park with the best camping has to offer. There are 3 levels of hook-up sites: W&E, full hookup and "premium" full hookup for an extra $5. The latter are lake front sites and generally worth the extra cost. This campground is heavily treed and the lake sites face north so there is almost NO chance of satellite reception on any site regardless of the loop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
This park is great for fishing, hiking, biking, and/or just enjoying yourself in all of Mother Nature's splendor. There are full hook-ups plentiful and available, which can be hard to find in a state park in Texas. This park is very large and is within ten minutes of the Wal-Mart in Livingston. We stayed in site #25, it was level and although it had rained quite a bit that week it was pretty dry. There is a nice marina and park store and you can also go horse back riding through the park with a guided tour. This is a park we will return to again in the next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$15
This is, for the most part, a scenic and well run park. The staff is friendly and mostly helpful. The unfortunate exception to both these statements is the apparent lack of any effort whatsoever to enforce their dog rules. A significant minority of campers chose to ignore leash requirements. If you enjoy a leisurely, non-confrontational walk with your own dog as do I, this is not the park for you. That's a shame because they have great hiking trails. If you do come here and have slide outs, some sites have inconveniently placed trees so you'll want a first hand look at your site before you register. Also a few sites are seriously out of level. The lakefront sites seem otherwise like a prime location but be prepared to deal with 12 to 18 inches of front to back leveling. Due to the loose dogs, I will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
What a great park. We stayed on the Pin Oak Loop with a big group and had a wonderful 4 night stay. While there be sure to take in some of the many nature trails, especially the 1 mile boardwalk. We'll definitely stay in the park again when we're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
One of the nicer State Parks around. Didn't like the bulkhead around the lake. You can't get down to the water! Water level is about 6 feet below the ground. Otherwise this is a nice park with lots of trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
I recommend Lake Livingston State Park. I have camped there numerous time. I have camped in everything from a tent to a 5th wheel there. I have always enjoyed the stay there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This is a state park and is nicely laid out. The sites are level with good distance between sites. The restrooms on the loop that we stayed at were being remodeled but we were only staying one night so that did not matter to us. The only complaint is that Texas charges a $3 fee per camper per day on top of the fee for the site - why not add it into the site fee?? We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
There is still a lot of clean-up going on in the aftermath of Ike so be prepared to possibly stay in a site with several downed trees. Nonetheless, this park is still great for families with large sites and full hookups in some loops. We personally like the sites overlooking the lake when we can get one, sites can be reserved but you have to get there early to get one right on the lake (otherwise your right across the street with a nice view still). This park has guided horse rides for $25 per person and a nice marina, too. You can rent a boat or chill out fishing from concreted bulkheads. We have spent the last two weekends here and plan to return for the third weekend in a row. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
We would give this park a "10" if not for the on going clean up after "Ike". The camp sites are clean and in good shape. There is full hook-up with 50amp. The grounds still need a lot of work but they will get there. Give this park a visit and you will enjoy your stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This park was okay, but I was expecting better from the previous reviews. First, the premium sites that were "on the lake" were not exactly so. Yes, some of them backed up to the lake, but there was a steep incline between us and the lake, and you could not swim in the area where we were at (It was a big wall, and you could fish, but it would have been nearly impossible to get in and out of the water to swim). In fact, there was no designated swimming area at all in the state park (they told me it was "swim at your own risk" so we didn't), and the pool cost $3 per person to get in (it's privately owned, not part of the state park). Also, the sites were very heavily wooded, so getting in and out of them (even with our just 29' trailer) was challenging. It was entertaining to watch a couple with about a 35' motor home try to manuever into one of the sites. All the sites are back in, and you really have to be careful of the trees. Overall this park was okay, but we will probably try somewhere else in the area next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Solid state park, but not many lake front sites. Our site had lots of poison ivey, but was spacious. I would stay here again, but likely to try somewhere else in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
Nice Park, lots to do with the kids, horseback riding, playground, swimming, canoeing, hiking all part of the facility. Sites are not too close together but easy to get to all parts of the park. Firewood available at check-in for those who do not want to bring their own. Will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$15
Great park with lots of shade: tall pines and hardwoods. Lake was low, but still wonderful. This was our fifth time to camp here. We enjoy the full hook-ups area the best. Avoid the Pin Oak loop as these sites are very close. $15 was for w/e and $21 for full hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
Love this park! Even in 96+ heat the shade made it easy to sit out and enjoy the campgrounds. Lots to do and golfing only 5 minutes away. Sites are far between, but sometimes the trees are alittle close to the pad so take the time to really look at the sites before picking one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$21
Love this park. Has great fishing peir, observation deck, lit for night fishing, lots and lots of wildlife, lake suitable for skiing (though watch for stumps), swimming pool, deep lake for swimming, lots of trails, campfire and country dance at the barn, horses available to rent along with special packages (like ride and breakfast). We had a wonderful time at this campground and will be going back. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com