223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Corpus Christi State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (361) 547-2635
CGID2846

Lake Corpus Christi State Park

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   5   7   8   9   7   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
The sites here are a little close but we did meet friendly neighbors. There was a lot of trash in the brush behind our campsite. The cardinals, green jays, and squirrels were entertaining. There are no bike trails in the park but plenty of paved roads to ride on. They are in the planning stage for bike and nature trails. Lake Corpus Christi is down about 26 feet according to the locals. Mathis is close by and has an HEB grocery. We had lunch at Smolink's BBQ and thought it was very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Good experiences. We had an awesome spot; however, due to no rain in Texas, there was no water to enjoy. We had plenty of room outside and enjoyed the full hookup. There was an HEB nearby to shop, but unfortunately not a lot else to do, but it was very relaxing and just hung out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$16
All RV sites are pull-through, no internet, showers in the full hook-up loop but no showers in the E/W loop, 1 dump station, tent camping. Sites are not necessarily level even though they all have concrete slabs. All sites have a picnic table (most covered) and ground level BBQ/fire pit combo. Interior roads are paved and in excellent condition. $16/N for E/W, $20/N for E/W/S, plus $4/day/person park access fee. As the campground surrounds a lake, fishing (no license), biking, swimming and canoe/kayaking (no rentals) are possible. In the village of Mathis (5 miles) there is a small HEB grocery store as well as gas stations that sell diesel; Corpus Christi is a 45 min drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Full Hook-up sites are limited in number when all are available to campers but unfortunately 4 of the sites are occupied by Park Hosts. These sites are all pull throughs which the majority of RVs (40 feet or less) can get into without difficulty. There are miles of paved roads that you can ride your bike on which I really enjoyed. There are many access points to the lake which has dropped significantly due to the drought. The park is close to Mathis where you can buy the essentials. Corpus Christi is about 30 minutes drive away. Be aware that there is a $4 per person per day fee on top of the camping fee; we are TX State Park Pass holders so this fee did not apply. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Beautiful park. Great for biking and all water sports. Able to have a campfire. About 45 minutes to Corpus Christi which was a drive. Price is $20 to camp, but have to pay additional $8 a day for 2 people. Usually park entrance fees are for 3 to 10 days. So even though it was full hookup, was surprised at the extra cost. Not too much in the immediate area. Would return to park if staying put. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$24
This campground is very nice, the setting is beautiful by the lake, and the pull-thru sites are long and spacious. As someone else mentioned, the sand spurs are a real problem - we had a big open field right behind our site, but our dogs couldn't go anywhere near it without getting their feet covered in sand spurs. My only other issue with this campground is that you are not only charged for the campsite, but also the entrance fees for the park for each camper for each day you are there - I've never heard of this in a state park before. We'd probably still stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
We only stayed one night and had a water and electric, pull through site near the lake. It was a bit on the small side. More restrooms are needed for the campground. It was off season, but nice area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
Just a warning to anybody with a large dog. This park is covered in sand spurs and we ended up having to re-hitch and move on as there was nowhere we could walk the dog. She took four steps and we then spent 30 minutes pulling the thorns out of her paws. We were sad as the park and lake looked absolutely beautiful and not at all crowded, but there was no way the dog could even walk from the rig to the road (about 15 feet) so we left. I'm rating it as if we had stayed without a dog but just thought dog-owners should be aware. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$15
Rate reflects Texas State Park Pass ($60).Good deal if staying at a State Park more than 6X a year. Park is clean and quite nice. Good Verizon signals and great for walking or biking. It's everything they advertise as most Texas Parks are. Plus free fishing, no license required, at any Texas State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Nice state park with access to Lake Corpus Christi. Staff was very friendly and helpful The park was not very busy during the week but by Saturday when we left the campsites were full and day sites were filling up. Definitely a popular place with good reason. Enjoyed our visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
We stayed here for 3 nights, and we felt like we were "camping" or on vacation during our Winter Escape from WI. Some of the sites were not so well developed. The site we chose was not built for a 5th-wheel. As we drove into it the pitch of the cement slab was great enough that the overshot of the 5th wheel touched the pick-up box. (No damage, just a little paint exchange.) There was adequate space around the sites that you didn't feel like people were "stacked" on top of each other. We don't have a TX Park sticker, so we had to pay $4 per day/per vehicle. That was our choice but it still makes it expensive to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Great park! Nice pull-thrus great wildlife. People at the office were very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$14
We stayed here for 4 days and enjoyed the park very much. The sites are pretty basic and some are hard to pull into especially if you have a larger rig. My advice would be to pay the park entrance fee and drive around and pick out an empty site that you like then go back and tell them which one you want. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
Beautiful area with large campsites and lots of room between campers. Very peaceful setting with lots of room for walking and bicycle riding. We spent 2 nights here on our way home from Coastal Bend area. Would definitely return and would stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
Rangers all very nice, almost all pullthru u shaped campsites that need some leveling but all have a nice cover and picnic tables. Will be back for sure!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
The sites are terribly small; most are too short, and some are even too narrow for comfort when entering/leaving. We have a travel trailer, and fifth-wheels had an advantage: they could turn sharper, so the length of the cresent-shaped pull-through sites was not as problematic for them. With one exception, the staff was pleasant and helpful, and the location is very pretty, with an abundance of wildlife. The $18 rate is misleading: there is a $4 per day, per person "entry fee," which is levied even if you do not leave/re-enter during a given day. For the money,next time we'll stay at the exceptional KOA on the other side of the lake! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
For a state park, this facility is not at the top of our list. We have visited Garner SP and Inks Lake SP recently, and would rate those parks much higher on our list. The main concern is with limited facilities. Very limited showers, and the cleanliness of the restrooms is questionable. This is mainly due to the fact that the campground is very close to the daily public use areas for this SP, so the restrooms get a ton of traffic. Nice lake for fishing and boating. If they improve the bathrooms, we may head back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Excellent RV park - tons of wildlife throughout and pull-through sites were convenient, staff was extremely outgoing and friendly. All full hook-up sites were very nice and most had covered picnic tables and grills. Lake was a bit chilly but swimming area would be nice once it warms up. 30-45 minute drive to Corpus - about an hour or so to Port Aransas. Would definitely visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
This state park is large and sits on a 12 mile long lake. Sites are small in size and 40' units may not work well on all sites. Best sites are on lake and have no hook ups. Lot of fishing people here. It would be best to look at your site if possible before you pick one. Very quite here. Number of sites have low trees over parking pads and can be a problem. Fire ants are a big problem on some sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This park was peaceful, not crowded. Good location from Corpus Christi. Staff was friendly. Concrete slab, pull-through sites made the camper easy to park. The lake was close-by and fun for swimming. However, the entire area is covered in sandburrs. This made doing anything fun with the kids outside impossible. A pet would surely be miserable! It put a huge damper on our weekend. I doubt we will go back to this park for this reason. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$13
Big sites. Big fishing lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com