224362 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Mineral Wells State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (940) 328-1171
CGID2849

Lake Mineral Wells State Park

Camp Information
Sites
123
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   8   8   5   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
This is a nice park. The sites are large and well separated. The restrooms were spotless. Unfortunately there isn't anywhere to put your stuff in the shower stalls where it won't get wet except for a small hanger. The lake level is so low due to the drought that the swimming area is unusable. The boat ramp is also closed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
We like this park. They have a dump station available. It is quiet and the sites are roomy. You can fish for free on the lake. You must pay the daily charge of $7 a person for each day you camp. You might be better off buying the Texas park pass for $70 which covers everyone in your vehicle and is good at all parks. We stayed three days this visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Very nice park as sites are spaced far apart and level. We could not see our neighbors on either side due to the trees. TV reception not available due to trees limbs, but will come back. Do not use google maps as they send you to the wrong side of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
We came here for the rock climbing for our grandsons to enjoy. Bring your own gear and be prepared to sign a waiver. Climbing area is closed during wet weather. Live Oak campground has 50 amp hookups and lots of privacy provided by the heavy brush and trees around the campsites. Plateau campground has 30 amp hookups and less brush so the campsites are more open. If you have children you might prefer this area since you can see them if they wander off. Both areas had all campsites paved and level and some sites were waterfront. The bathrooms were OK. Not really clean, but not dirty either, just OK. Had to drive up to the office to get Wi-Fi. Office staff was friendly and helpful, but one employee in the field was unpleasant and kept telling kids to get off the rocks. Go figure. Would have rated this park a 10 if not for this guy and the so so restrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$51
Typical (wonderful) Texas State Park. A great many of the parking sites have been leveled (often a former complaint of LMWSP). The newly leveled sites look great. Power at our site (58 Live Oak) was 50A/30A/15A. Our 30A outlet did not work, so I connected to 50A with an adapter. Sites are VERY private. Park Police are very vigilant and park visitors are a very quality group. The restrooms were typical (nothing to write home about). Some are just restrooms so you may have to walk quite a ways for a shower. The lake is a joy - fishing, boating, kayaking. Trails are all over the place but with a little rain before our arrival, the mountain biking was a muddy mess and those trails are six foot wide horse trails (boring) anyway - wish this park had a single track. The hiking trail on the lake is very nice. The rock climbing was not available due to water on the rocks even days after the rains. This is one of our favorite Texas State Parks. We cannot wait to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Park restroom facilities were down the day we arrived and were not working until 5 p.m. The restrooms were poorly maintained, showers are semi-private. We will stay at a private RV Park when next visiting Mineral Wells. We stayed in the Plateau Camping Area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This park has well-separated sites, some of which are not too level. The Live Oak campground is all 30/50 amps and costs $25 per night; the Plateau campground is 30 amps and costs $20. There is very good walking and bicycling. Shower water was hot and abundant, but the showers are only semi-private. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This is a beautiful state park. There were deer in my front yard and the lake in my back yard. The sites are well done and mostly level. It is quiet and peaceful. I would come back. I recommend sites #59 or 64 for the best lake views. Both would accommodate large rigs. I can see that it would be very busy in the summer. There are good bike and hike trails and rock climbing here. Be sure to visit Clark Botanical Gardens while in the area: the best I have seen across the US. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Great Texas State Park with level sites, lake view, and shade. Park ranger was great helping us find a good spot for our motor home. Very clean park. Kids loved swimming in the lake Restrooms are clean but could use a remodel. We will be back to this great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
I love this park; it's one of my favorite places to visit. While there, spend some time at the climbing wall, it's beautiful and if you go down into the pit (there are stairs) it is a cool respite from the heat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
A nice park with water and electric sites. There is good hiking and biking including a long trailway. There is great boating and fishing for those that like that, including a canyon for the rock climbers. There are eight Geocaches in the park to enhance the experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Another great TX state park. Most sites are level and with lake views. There is a great park store and lots of awesome trails. The rock formations in this park make it worthwhile. We will certainly make another trip here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
Nice texas state park,with lake for fishing. Has camp store which is well stocked, swimming beach. Lots of trees and secluded large camp sites. Sites are level. This is a very busy park over the weekends. Park has nightly weekend events. Would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
State park camping - good space, some trees and shade. Most sites are not on lake front. Concessionaire has bait shop, boat rentals, groceries, ice, and snacks. Great hiking trails, climbing area. Not to be missed is the nightly programs at the amphitheater. Bring your chairs for a free evenings entertainment. When we were there, cowboy poetry, history of the area, music were on the program. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
Beautiful park. Loved the family atmosphere. Would go again but really missed my Internet. Wish they had Wi-G We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$26
This CG is more geared to those who like a more rustic environment. It is heavily wooded but the asphalt roads in and out are in good repair. If you like amenities such as pool, clubhouse and activities, this is not for you. If you like tent camping or RV camping very close to nature, try this place. I thought as an RV'er that this is a little pricey for what you get but it worked well for us just passing through for a one nighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
Great park for a weekend get away. Sites are shady and secluded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
This is a very rustic state park that reminds me, very much, of Palo Duro Canyon without the high canyon cliffs, beautiful vistas and the steep access. The soil is red and sandy, much like Palo Duro, and there are plenty of short mesquite trees, again much like Palo Duro, and the only drawback to me is that there are very few tall oak tree to provide adequate shade during the hot Texas summers, and Mineral Wells is a very warm spot during the summer months. On the weather stations of nearby Fort Worth/Dallas during the summer Mineral Wells in usually one of the warmer places on the map if not the hottest locally. Personally, having grown up in the Texas Panhandle, and going to Palo Duro quite often, I would, most likely, pass on this campground because I prefer more large trees than are here, but that's me. The electrical supply for my 30A Travel Trailer never faltered while we were there and the park was full for this was a holiday weekend... and hot, did I say that Mineral Wells is a hot spot? The roads are paved and you drive across the dam to access the most of the campsites. There is rockclimbing as well and they charge a very modest $3.00 fee, and yes there were some people climbing rocks in >100 degree heat. I didn't, I stayed inside and enjoyed my AC. Camp sites are clean and properly policed as there appears to be very few reminders of previous visitors. The whole North Texas area is in a severe drought and thefore the lake level was low, but one cannot detract from the campground rating because, as I said, the whole North Texas area is under a drought. There is a nature walk and a trail where one can ride their horse. We don't have a horse, but from what I can find out, from people who do, that this is a favorite place to trailer in your horse and give them some exercise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$16
This is a good park for family activities and relaxation. Park staff are friendly and helpful. Sites are paved and sized for medium to small units, but did see some larger ones. Most sites are a little to narrow to use awnings. Good place to do some fishing. We stayed in a pop-up in 2002. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com