220873 User submitted reviews online!!
Bentsen Grove Resort (55+ park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (956) 585-7011
CGID2850

Bentsen Grove Resort (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
800
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   5   6   8   9   7   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
This was our fourth stay at Bentsen Grove because of the spacious level sites, good facilities, park amenities including an indoor pool, and lots of activities and shows. The winter Texans here are friendly and helpful; management tries to please. Our dogs give the new dog run a 10. The fee WiFi is iratic but usable. This is our home when visiting the RGV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
This is mainly a Winter Texan park. They have two pools, one of them is indoors, as well as an indoor hottub. This is a big plus because of all the rainly days the cold fronts keep bringing to the valley. Most people are friendly here, and I noticed that this resort had a much older crowd, as not many people were in their 50s or 60s even. There were many activities, a lot of card playing and a weekly dance. The park roads are paved but narrow and backing into some of the spots is tricky. The resort has two sides separated by a county road where traffic usually goes 40 mph. We did not like this and limited our activities to one side only. Also, I was told that the line dance teaching has suffered since a particular male dance teacher left last year. Some people have gone to other parks because of this. The park has potluck dinners and lunch specials weekly. For an old resort, Bentson Grove is still thriving. It is showing some signs of decay but maintenance seems very good. The have big auctions here too. Oh, and there are citrus trees all over on the various sites. You can pick and eat your own oranges, lemons, and grapefruit if you are lucky enough to have a tree on your site. Some residents, like the one on 514 let you pick from his tree. And there is a beautiful public lemon tree near lot 521. We saw Canadians helping themselves here many times. The rates are very cheap, ($550 month) and still cheaper if you pick overflow (at $425 month.) In all, this place is still a bargain if you overlook the negatives. It's not the best, but okay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$17
Bentsen is a common name in Mission parks derived from a famous Senator, Lloyd Bentsen. Reading the reviews below for this park and other "bentsen" parks shows lots of confusion. This one has loads of activities. It used to be premier and packed, but as new parks have appeared it has begun to show its age. It is still an excellent choice for golfers, musicians, crafters, cloggers, etc. The RV sites do vary in quality but are spacious no matter what the composition. Recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
Rate is based on a 3 month stay. Sites are perpendicular to roads and can be difficult to back in to. Very few pull through sites. Wi-Fi costs extra and was slow to moderate speed. You are expected to mow/maintain your own lot. Lots of activities, but newcomers are not welcomed at all. I talked to one couple that was here for their 5th year, who had given up trying to break into the cliques. I will return to this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$18
Rate based on a 3 month stay. What other reviews don't say is that this resort does not allow alcohol in any of their buildings. Not what I would expect from a 55+ park. Cable channels are limited and customer service is non-existent. Wi-Fi is fairly good, but expensive. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
Actually has 800 to 850 total sites. Many have park models or larger on them. The $17 is based on the monthly rate. I am not sure what a "resort" is, but if this park is a resort, then we saw several "luxury resorts" while touring the valley. It is upscale compared to many we drove by. We liked it enough in our 30 day stay that we booked 3 months for next year. More activities than many other parks. We have friends that have stayed here for 3 years. We liked it because it was at the far west side of the Rio Grande Valley. Map Source shows it is actually in Palmview, TX. There were bike trails and the birding center just down the road. The weather, especially wind, appeared to be better than if you were over on the Gulf Coast. Good 3G data card service. We did not try the Wi-Fi but my understanding was that it was not free. Someone flagged this park as "family friendly." Like most of the parks in the valley, this park is geared to the 55 and older crowd and they might allow children to visit for a short period, but while we were there we never saw a child. VERY FEW pull through sites. We did not see any where you could pull in and not have to unhook. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
This our second stay at this RV park because of the spacious level sites, great facilities, park amenities including an indoor pool, and lots of activities and shows. The winter Texans here are very friendly and helpful. The fee WiFi has improved. This is our home when visiting the RGV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
In general the park is very nice but positioned in a somewhat questionable area with lots of traffic and seemingly no police enforcement. The lots along the western side are very noisy because of traffic on Watson Road which is more race track the street. In addition, the lots are never cleaned or raked before your arrival and they expect you to do the maintenance. And as is the case with many parks in this area, the wireless is terrible and unusable at least half the time and the phone number for customer service never responds to calls. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
A nice and very friendly place. Lots of things going on. However the roads and sites are bit dated. Mostly older park models with spaces for RVs interspersed through out the park. The RV sites are gravel/dirt and the levelers/stabilizers tend to sink in 3-6 inches so you definitely need to use some sort of extra wide pads. Also, when backing in you definitely need a copilot as there are trees that could cause a problem in most sites. The staff will help you with this without hesitation. The security seemed to be good. Nearby to one of the Bird sanctuaries, in fact one could ride your bike there with ease. We would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$17
Rate is based on a monthly rate. Electricity is extra (for monthly stays) and expensive at $.17 per KW. Cable is extra. Rates are based on site size. We parked in a larger site with enough space between neighbors. RV sites are interspersed with park models and mobile homes. This is an older park in which some sites are across a 2-lane highway. No problem with Verizon cell and Verizon air card. There is a wide variety of activities during the winter months. The winter Texans were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$21
Shore Services: 30 & 50amp good service, Sewer good, Water @ 30 psi, a little weak for us; WiFi: Weak - Didn't use it.This internet is not free cost about $24 per month. We Used our Sprint Air Card.; AT&T Cell Phone: Strong; Sprint Air Card: EVDO -80 to -84. Used small antenna got -78; Cable: Good; Site: Not real tight could put out awining. Plenty of room front and back; Site Size: about 20 x 70. Mainly dirt and some grass.; Roads: Paved; Restrooms: didn't use; Laundry: Good; Long term tentants: This is mainly a Snow Bird park like most in this area. Directv Satellite: From our site good signal. 59 - 179; Discounts: Good Sam only; Stayed a week & 3 days; Payment: Check or Cash No Credit cards; Additional Charges: Refundable deposit for entry card and dog walk card. Do not use your GPS to make your way here. Call the park and get directions. Entrance is at Lat 26.21900 & Long -98.37332. Streets & Trips 2009 has a good location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
A very dated park in need of refurbishing. We camped on the "west side" of the park. A lot of overgrown tree limbs and potholes in the blacktop. A full schedule of activities is available. We camped here because we couldn't get into our first choice down the road near the Bensten State Park. The upside is the great grapefruit trees scattered throughout the park--the pickins are delicious! A good park if others are full in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
Great park for the RVG, with all the facilities including indoor pool, lots of activities and exercise room. Good friendly and helpful staff. Most of the residents are winter Texans; who were very nice, friendly and helpful. We plan on a longer stay next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
We paid $530 for one month plus electricity. They accept cash or check but no credit cards. This is an over 55 park with lots of activities catering to winter Texans. There is a weekly activity schedule, assigned mail boxes, and a key card to access some places. A work-kamper took us around on a golf cart so we could pick our site. Some of sites needed the trees trimmed and others just didn't allow enough turning radius for a large rig. We picked our site and then found that the service was only 30amp. The staff had us upgraded to 50amp within 24 hours. Our neighbors awning (when extended) is about 7 feet from the side of our rig. The sites are mainly filled by park models and the RV's fill in on the empty places. The wi-fi is an extra charge and is very poor. They are "working on it". We would stay here again when visiting the Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
If you are looking for a place to stay awhile, this place is great. It is a 55+ park. They cater to Winter Texans. The many activities and friendly folks bring us back in our fifth wheel year after year. They are in the process of updating some sites to better accommodate the new RV's. The nightly rate I quoted is an estimated one based on a long term stay. I highly recommend this park to those who want to stay awhile. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$12
Bentsen Grove was an orange grove once upon a time. Each site has its own citrus fruit tree of some kind. We have stayed here for extended winter stays 3 years now. I agree with the review that at first blush this place is a "trailer" park as many sites have been taken over by park models, trailers, and even double-wides, but they are interested in us RV-ers as we are their future, after all. What we like most about this place is the people -- the activities (lots of golf and music groups) and the camaraderie. It is a 55 and over park, and because it has been around awhile there are some old-timers, but young folks are welcome for limited stays, and my husband and I love all ages -- the greatest generation and us baby-boomers! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$12
In contrast to the previous reviewer, we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bentsen Grove Resort. We are staying 2 months this winter and will likely stay 3 months next winter. The various facilities are plentiful and well maintained. We found the office staff extremely friendly and helpful. Regarding children, although the park is listed as a 55+ community, they welcome children and grandchildren for visits. We love it here and plan to come back each winter, but stay longer to enjoy the mild Texas winters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$22
They advertise for RVers in the big directories, but the sign outside say it all "Trailer Park". This place offers a lot if you are a seasonal camper staying 3-6 months, but it has no business advertising as an RV park for short timers (a month or less). We made reservations several months ahead, but were not advised that the office is closed ALL day Sunday. (And closed most of Saturday, unhandy since lots of us travel on weekends to avoid traffic and construction). They can be closed any day they want, but they didn't tell us they would be closed the day we arrived. In the parking lot were 2 other dazed new arrivees, all trying to figure out what to do. We are used to having a packet of info with name, site number, how to get there, rules, hints, etc. waiting when the office is closed. NOTHING HERE. Though it wasn't their job, the very kind residents of this Trailer Park (not an RV Park, in my opinion), helped us decode various symbols on our confirmation form to find our site. The reservation form was out because the directions for arrival were poor and we had to make a big U-turn in the middle of the road (because our phone call to the office was not answered, of course). When we went in to register on Monday, we didn't get the Good Sam discount we had been quoted over the phone. They claimed we had requested a different lot that costs the same, but has no discounts (figure that logic!). My wife is Ms. Meticulous and would have noted all that...they didn't tell us that. They suggested we could just move if we wanted the discount. These jokers (especially one) have NEVER been in a RV in their lives, have never leveled, unhooked a trailer hooked up utilities, etc. "Just move if you want the discount." is an insult. These folks NEVER said they were sorry about any problems we had. Stay away from this place and tell your friends to do so until they change the management. Nice park, great residents, unfortunately run by idiots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com