223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Bentsen Palm Village RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (956) 585-5568
CGID2851

Bentsen Palm Village RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   9   7   9   7   9   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Beautiful, park best ever. Close to stores. We stayed in 600 circle pull thrus. Most winter Texans were gone. This is the nicest park we've stayed in. Wide roads, green spaces. In winter would be lots of activities. Great place to winter. Washrooms and laundry clean. All positive about park, very pet friendly. Only negative is smell from sewer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$53
This was our first visit here. Friends of ours bought a place in Retama (owned by the Bentsen Palm Development) next to Bentsen Palm Village so we decided to come and stay for 2 months to check it out. We hadn't been to the Rio Grande Valley in over 10 years, and it really had grown quite a bit. This was really a nice place and laid out pretty well. It had some good amenities: workshop, craft room, laundry, and club house. Mostly they offer monthly stays but if they have space you can get in for a shorter stay. The rate I quoted is based on a daily rate. They take reservations for the longer stays first (4-6 months) so we pretty much got what was left from those staying 3 months or longer. During peak season (January & February) they charge from the 1st of the month and partial months pay for a full month so they really are geared for monthly guests. We got a site in one of the circles and it looked nice, but as it turned out the club house was in our circle and it was VERY noisy. People would park in the circle while attending functions even when they weren't supposed to making it difficult to get our of your site. Even with complaints nobody did anything about it. They typically don't get a lot of rain but his year was different, and many of the sites in our circle flooded. We could not get in or out of our site without sinking into 1 inch or more of water and mud. They offered us some patio pavers to help but it was a mess anyway. As it turned out we bought a lot in Retama and moved over there after the first 2 weeks. They are both the part of the same development but Retama is owned RV lots with coach and port houses and houses. Before we left, Bentsen Palm Village had started offering RV lots with storage sheds for sale as well so it will probably be more owned lots than rental lots as Retama, their sister community is. I got the impression they were trying to get away from rentals while we were there but I'm not sure if it will go 100% owned lots or not. As it is they have owned lots that owners rent out just as they do next door in Retama. It is a nice place but they did not plan the lots with rain in mind because flooding is an issue in the Bentsen Palm side & they seem to be investing more money in developing the Retama side these days....which may be why they are trying to sell lots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Rate based on Monthly rate. If you are staying in Mission this is the best place to stay, period. WiFi was very good, cable limited but good and easy satellite location. Mostly winter Texans staying 3 months so it can be tough to get into. Book Very early. The only negative was there were only 6 lounge chairs at the pool . There are over 200 sites, hello? I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$23
Nightly rate reflects monthly rate discount. Positives: 1) activities, activities, activities! - there was no getting bored at this park (potlucks, picnics, ice cream socials, live music, and MARGARITA NIGHT!) and the people were fantastic. There is a great wood shop with mentored projects and a great crafts program; 2) satisfactory hookups; 3) good WiFi; and 4) very well maintained park. Negatives: 1) we had voltage (power) issues whenever electrical demand increased. A few other RVers with power minders also experienced the same problem, but most RVers did not have this issue. During high demand, our system would shut down (due to low voltage--below 104V) for about 30 seconds every 15 or 20 minutes. It was annoying; 2) rates do not include electricity and it is expensive. Our January electric bill was $125 and our February bill was $140; 3) the water supply has a lot of dissolved minerals. We have a water softener and had to regenerate it about every 5 days; and 4) only the "premium" sites had picnic tables. As upscale as this park is, every site should have a picnic table. In this day and age, almost all decent RV parks provide a picnic table for each site. Bottom line: the positives outweighed the negatives and we would definitely return to this park if we were in the Rio Grande Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$21
Rate reflects monthly rate. On the plus side, this park is wonderfully dark and quiet at night, and there was lots to do. We were put in circle #3 and we had the best time with the people in that circle. They were all super friendly and welcoming. It was very hard to leave them. On the negative side: our first site was underwater when it rained for 2 days, as was our tow vehicle, and other sites in this circle. We were unable to get out. When we asked to move to another site where it was dry, we ended up without power for a day and night as the breaker was gone. They did replace it quickly when we told them of the problem. The washrooms and showers were clean, but are terribly out of date. I don’t know how they got a good rating on them, as they are very sad. There were 3 instances of “illegals” in the park the month we were here. (The last time they came into the park they took some items from some rigs, to use to build a fort to hide in.) We did have a problem with the amount we were charged for electricity. Luckily we had taken pictures, with dates, of the readings when we went into and out of the 2 sites we had. It did take a bit of work to get the refund processed, but it was eventually done with apologies for the errors. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$23
Rate reflects a 4 month stay. This is a beautiful campground and I would have given them a 10 except they do not supply a picnic table at the site unless you have what they call a 'super site'. At the price of a site, they really should provide a table. We could have put it to good use over the 4 months we were here. Lots and lots of activities happening here with friendly staff and fellow RVers. Big sites, easy to get in/out. Beautifully kept. There is really nothing at all negative about it, except of course for the picnic table. Little thing really, but over the course of 4 months, it's a big thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
Rate shown is monthly rate including electric service. This is a beautiful park with most of the amenities you would expect. My wife loved all of the activities. They have the greatest produce available in the area that I have ever had. I did not give it rating of 9 or 10 because of the GRASS BURRS. We travel with a small dog and could not take her out without having to spend several minutes pulling the grass burrs out of her feet and fur. I am sure she (the dog) liked it even less than we did. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Bentsen Palm Village RV Park is located less than 1/2 mile from the state birding park and about 1 mile from a butterfly farm. The review in Feb 2013 wasn't quite accurate as while the site conditions and locations are varied, the pricing is also varied at least the monthly rates. I'm not sure what activities were missed as there were dances, a barbeque, Margarita night, beer tasting, wine tasting, several breakfasts, a few potlucks, music concerts, sewing, horse racing, horse shoes, crafting, quilting, Swedish weaving, and a great wood shop. Every Friday there are two music events for a very reasonable price, usually entertainers from Branson, MO that come to the valley for winter. At least once a week musicians in the park get together for a jam session to which everyone is invited. A vegetable vendor also comes once a week. Sites: there are 4 circles of pull-through sites. The sites in 3 of the circles are asphalt with concrete patios. The 4th circle has concrete pull-throughs and concrete patios. There are also back-in sites that are concrete with concrete patios and what is known as the "super sites". The super sites are back in, double wide concrete with a small "shed" on the site and a large backyard. There are two bath houses and laundries (one at each end of the park). The swimming pool is small for approximately 200 to 250 guests that stay the winter. In previous years the park is full usually by mid-Dec until the end of Feb. BPV won two park awards this year, but an unfortunate end of the season event may cause many previous guests not to return. We won't go into details (which is what soured the guests) but the RV sites in this park are going up for sale. The prices range from the high 20's for back-ins to about 40,000 to 45,000 for the beloved circles and almost $50,000 for the super sites. The circles are enjoyed by many since they become a family within a family. Each circle has an amenity in the center which always makes a great place to meet and greet your neighbors. We have camped at BPV for 2 years for 4+ months in a Class A 40ft. Rate listed is approximate day winter rate based on monthly stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$51
Sites are large but vary greatly even though priced alike. Some have concrete (cleaner) and some paved (crumbly and dirty). Some have nice landscaping and other are very dry, dirty, and have sand burrs that get in pets paws easily. Pool is small, clubhouse is way too small for the number of sites so some may not be allowed to attend all activities, and in spite of the size, people from outside the park are allowed to attend. People are very friendly, but this is likely to change as many are leaving because property owner is trying to sell the sites to private owners. All activities advertised are not available. Facilities are old, and water is turned off frequently, without notice, for repair. Location is close to birding (nature) and butterfly parks. Insecticide is not used in the park which can be an issue for fire ants/mosquitoes. Dog park is nice with small dog area, but small dogs have to walk through the large dog area (no separate entrance) which may be OK going in but a problem getting out if large dog area has since been populated. This is also used by the neighboring park (same property owner selling to private owners,) and there have been issues between the two parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$34
This is a beautiful and well run destination park. It is beside the Birding Center, and you can get free passes to bike in the center. There are many activities and everyone is friendly. Most of the activities are free and they have a wood shop and craft center. The only reason I did not give this park a 10 is that the pool is very small and shallow, with an underwater seat all around it. You cannot swim in the pool. I asked if we could do laps in the Retama pools next door, but they said no, even though they are sister parks. Loved the beautiful landscaping and the people, but we won't return because of the pool. Price reflects the weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$45
Are you kidding me? This has to be, hands down, the nicest RV park we have ever stayed in. Beautiful landscaping, outstanding amenities, quiet and plenty of room between sites. It is also gated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
One of the nicest parks I've stayed in. Earned its 10/10/10 Good Sam rating. Level concrete pads. Good Wi-Fi. Mostly friendly Winter Texans staying on a long-term basis. This is a city park, so do not expect state park wilderness. It's a nice place and I'll go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$21
This resort is a wonderful place to spend the winter. We have never experienced any difficulty making reservations.  The resort is about eight years old.  The sites are large compared to others places we have stayed. All landscape with native Texas plants. Palm trees scattered around. Seems like something is always in bloom.  The resort is pet friendly with a fenced dog park. Activities galore, crafts with instruction if desired, wood shop, potluck dinners, entertainment, barbecues, party's, jam sessions, golf . I could go on and on. The resort is gated and we have never felt insecure. The managers and all the workers are always friendly and willing to help.   We have stayed here several seasons and never been bothered with late night noise or loud party's.  The park is about 3 miles from the main  roads so no street noise and no street lights in the resort. Makes it great for star gazing. The people we have met in this  resort as well as many full time residents in Mission and McAllen  are the friendliest you will find anywhere. Many have become lifelong friends. This is truly a destination resort with top ratings in several campground directories. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
This is an old park that has been taken over by a local builder. The manager was very friendly. The rate quoted is based on a 3 month rate. The sites are spacious. The tiny activity room was not heated or air conditioned. It could not hold many people and half the people who wanted to attend events could not get in. It borders a state park and daily admission is free to this park's residents. There were activities and there were many, many work campers to help with activities. The drawbacks of this park were 1. Getting a reservation. No one would answer the phone and no one would call back. 2. Border patrol were doing their job, but the constant low flying helicopters were disturbing. 3. Though fenced in, coyotes roamed inside the park at night and evidence of their droppings were everywhere. 4. Illegals knocked on one camper's door and asked for help in the middle of the night. 5. Even though this is a 55+ park, campers were very rude with noise late into the night. Parties, yelling, laughing, private bands playing in a volume that carried from one end of the park to the other and some work campers were at those parties so no use complaining. If you want a quiet atmosphere, this is not the place to go. If you want to feel that you are in a safe environment, McAllen/Mission area is not the place to go. AK47's were traded in the closest grocery store parking lot and Border Patrol were often on high speed chases through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$21
This is a beautiful park located just outside the entrance to the Bentsen Rio Grande Valley State Pk. The park is clean and with beautiful native plants between every site to attract the butterflies and birds. The park provides free admission to the State Park which is a World Birding Centre park. For a nominal charge ($10) you can sign up to take a pontoon boat ride on the Rio Grande River piloted by one of the RV park workers. They also offer free kayak boat trips on the river. There are many fun activities to partake in; our favourite was Margarita Wednesdays. For $1 you get a margarita and if you bring an appy to share you can partake in a whole table full of goodies. Xmas Dinner was very nice with the Park cooking the turkey and providing the gravy; each table of 8 then provided the rest of the meal. The pool and hot tub were very clean as was the rest of the park. Note that the pool and Club House are located at one end of the RV park so you might have a walk to go to these amenities depending on your site. We found everyone at the park to be extremely friendly including the managers. The RV park recycles almost everything which we were very glad to see; a rarity for TX and most other states. The Wi-Fi worked well for email but found only worked for Skype with Audio only. The montly rate is $632 for standard pull-thru site. The park has 3 phones located at a number of common areas that are free for long distance calls to Canada and the US which was great. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
This is a wonderful campground but seemed to have problems in the office. Do they know what's going on? We really liked the large site and the fact the everyone was so friendly. But, did not like some the the "new rules" enacted, apparently recently, that included restrictions on laundry usage, and on the state park through-gate usage that had attracted us to stop here. The park gate was an excellent place to get our dogs through to the park walking area but it was locked. For what we paid, we would have expected basic advertised park "frills". These were big disappointments to an otherwise top line park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$38
The nicest park I've seen in the valley. Beautiful landscaping and friendly people. Would have rated higher if their Wi-Fi worked. Considering this park is one of the highest priced in the area I would have expected a reliable Wi-Fi connection. Their website states their Wi-Fi "really works." Not so. If they could fix this problem this would be a 10 rated park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$38
Very nice new park. The pull throughs are in circles so they are of good size and you do not see coaches across from you. Originally planned 8 day but ended up 3 weeks. Very nice club house and excellent office staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$33
This is a beautiful place to stay, especially if one is a birder. Location is next to Bentsen State Park and World Birding Center and has a gate from the park into the park for ease of use by park residents. Flowers and shrubs had recovered from a winter freeze and the blooms made for beautiful sites. Sites are concrete with plenty of space and grass between sites. Two laundry buildings and lots to do during the season. Staff and residents were friendly and answered any questions we had. The dog exercise area is one of the best we have seen. This is a difficult place to get into during the season as it is by far one of the nicest in the Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
This is our third time at this park. Three months this year and the previous year. The park is not getting the TLC that it had been receiving in other years. A lot more needs to be done regarding repairs at sites, landscaping and enforcing guidelines in the areas of parking, pet behavior, etc. Resident organized activities regarding golf and cycling are excellent. Some other comments: Included Cable TV had very limited number of channels. Included Wi-Fi was reliable and the speed was good. HiSpeed Internet was available @ $$$$. Swimming pool was very small. Pets here, however management does not insure that pet guidelines are enforced. The Club House was too small for such a park. No AC and no heat. No kitchen facilities. Has free Long Distance phone from stations in the park. Rate is based on monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
Very nice clean, quiet park at the end of the road. Management was top-notch and very helpful. We didn't have reservations and were initially told they were booked up, but in further conversation they said they had a cancellation and we could have a lot for 3 nights. They even took us to the site in a golf cart to see if we liked it. The surrounding area was the height of poverty, but the park was top-notch. Would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
This is a lovely snowbird park, mostly motor homes and 5th wheels, where most seem to be here for 2-4 mos., and most seem to know each other from previous years. Friendly if you make the effort to socialize. The dog park is terrific, and there are many pet lovers/nature lovers here. Neat and secure in what appears to be an area that needs gated parks. We liked this park and would stay again for a short time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$45
This is a very nice, very large, and quiet RV park located in the popular Rio Grande Valley. Sites are very level, with concrete pads. There is a huge pet area, complete with a dog agility park. The landscaping is very nice and well maintained. The park has bicycles on loan (no charge), which are nice for riding in the adjacent state park which is also a bird watching park. Management was helpful and friendly, as were the other park residents. There is a very nice community of snowbirds/winter Texans who included us in the Park's Christmas dinner (we arrived late afternoon Christmas Eve). It is one of the nicest parks we have stayed in, and will return if we are in the RGV again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$40
The manager was very rude. The park was neat and clean. Concrete pads are close to 90 degrees off the street and rather hard to back onto with a long 5th wheel and long tow vehicle. The lub house is small and unheated. The pool tables were outside under a thatched roof. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
The nightly rate of $20 is based on a month-long stay at a discounted monthly rate. We stayed in a premium site, which had a full concrete pad, and a coach house. These nicely landscaped sites are along the perimeter, and each one has a BBQ grill in the grassy area behind the coach. We really enjoyed this park! The people were great and there were loads of amenities. There were bikes, kayaks and ATVs available for loan. This park is adjacent to the Rio Grande river, and there are plenty of places to go hiking, biking and kayaking. There was a nice clubhouse, fitness center, wood shop, craft room, pool and spa. We will definitely go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
Price is for monthly rental. Really nice up scale park with cement sites and border plantings. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice huge dog run and very friendly residents. Loads of birds at our feeders. Probably the nicest commercial park we've ever been in. Right next door to Bentsen State Park and World Birding Center headquarters, a top birding destination. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$17
This is probably the best landscaped RV resort we have been in our 4 years of full time RV'ing. The sites are concrete with lots of shrubs and grass, well maintained. The staff is very helpful. There are complimentary bicycles and passes to the State Park (excellent birding) that's across the road. The butterfly park is down the road although in season the Resort is full of butterfly's. There are free kayaks to use on the river that's not far away. For long term winter Texan stays there is a complimentary computer modem to use through the on site cable TV. The club house is not the fanciest but there are regular activities for the residents. This rate shown is for a monthly rate plus electric at 16 cents per KWH. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$33
This park is absolutely beautiful, quiet, and clearly a 10 plus with regard to facilities. It is located right next door to Bentsen State Park, the birding and butterfly centers, and they even provide bicycles and kayaks to take advantage of the trails. The sites are beautifully landscaped and paved (mostly concrete). Dog lovers will be hard pressed to find a better off leash area at any park anywhere. There are only a couple of permanent type sites, and lots of returning Winter Texans. The pool is smaller than one would expect. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I rated the park down due to its reservation policies which permit February residents to reserve a specific site for the following year resulting in turning away lots of folks, or causing them to move to a different site and then having vacancies due to cancellations which occur with regularity and with only a minimal penalty. If you're not a returning guest from the previous year, it can be very difficult to get into this park during January or February. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$37
Clean park that is well maintained. Even a big fenced dog playground. Staff has been the best! Plenty of activities. The whole area around BPV is great for walking or riding bikes. State park with world bird center next door. Planned to stay 1 month and ended up here for 3. Price is for their daily rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
This is an excellent park to spend some time in the RGV. All sites are concrete with well manicured grass around that. Flowers and shrubs planted between sites. The back in sites in the 200 number range are a little close together but you can put all slides and awnings out without a problem. I highly recommend this park if you are in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$19
Excellent park for an exteded stay in the Rio Grande Valley. Easy acess and very friendly staff and residents. Paid monthly rates so costs reflect. Some sites could use a little watering. Large fenced dog run. We will stay here again when in the RGV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Superb! Spotless facilities. Beautifully landscaped. What every commercial campground should aspire to but I have to ask myself just how much money it must have taken to develop this place and how their per diem fee can be this low. We found ourselves considering a long term rental here for the winter months. Commercial camping just does not get any better than this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
This may be the nicest natural looking park we have stayed in. It is comfortable with 3 sections of large sites, some shaded, arranged in a circle around a large natural area. There are also newly added jumbo back-in sites. All sites have a concrete patio. The surrounding grounds are well landscaped. This area is a spot popular for migrating birds, hence flowering plants are planted throughout the park. The pool and spa are delightful, as are the very friendly office staff. This is a park to put on you list if you haven't been here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Best park I've ever been in. Mostly new, spotless, great guest services staff and office staff. Love it, love it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Great birding park, nice younger crowd. Walk way,s bike trails, concrete pads, workshop, and most of all friendly people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
The sites are nice. The Rec Hall has NO heat or air conditioning. The outside swimming pool is small. The wifi is slow and sometimes it does not work. The cable TV has a few channels. We would NOT stay there again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$27
This is our second most favorite park in the valley. We liked being outside the birding state park. The area around is developing with new homes and an owner-based park next door. We were lucky to get in for a few nights since most reservations are made a year in advance. The man we first talked to was short and told us they had no openings. I called back minutes later telling the lady we really wanted to visit their place for at least a few nights to see how we liked it. She was very accommodating and got us in. The only complaint we had was the tight roads. It is difficult to back into some of the sites if you have a large RV. We saw several people have problems. Otherwise, a great place to stay with many amenities and nice landscaping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
New campground that rates lower than a resort, but better than a campground. Back-in concrete sites a bit close together. Unique circles of RV's and very large sites also available. Mostly Canadians and mid-westerners spending the winter. Only a couple of park models which are for rent, as well as several "casitas". Nice landscaping, right next to state park right on Rio Grande. Too small swimming pool. Excellent laundry and bathrooms. Woodworking and crafts. Many activities. Probably the nicest RV park in the RGV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$14
Beautifully landscaped park with large, wide, paved pull-thru's and back-ins with patios. We stayed four months (the rate reflects this) and the price was great. Great for birding and butterfly watching, biking, and walking. In November, hundreds of migrating butterflies were around the flowering shrubs on our patio every day. The grounds were immaculate with a crew mowing, trimming and cleaning daily. Didn't use the bathrooms and showers but they appeared to be very clean. Our only complaint was the sometimes poor WIFI if a trailer was parked between you and the repeater. The park would be perfect if you could get broadband on the cable TV. We searched parks from the coast all the way to Mission, and this was by far the best park in the region. Would definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
Bentsen is a walk or bike ride from Bentsen State Park and the World Birding site. Excellent park with lots of room. Hit me with a month of electricity at $158.00 which was excessive. Laundry and showers are clean. Cable channel selection is terrible. Some staff members are rude. However, park is extremely nice with lots of concrete, picnic tables, large fire pits for visiting, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$31
We have been to a lot of RV parks in Texas, and this one rates as the best. It is a new park that caters to winter Texan's. It is located near the Rio Grande River and is VERY quiet at night. No road traffic at all. The sites at all easy to get into, and very spacious. The park has scheduled activities every day, and there is plenty to keep you busy. Our favorite was the Margarita happy hour on Weds. The pool was clean and very warm. The fitness room is open 24/7 and spotless. It even had two satellite TV's to watch while exercising. It is a gated park with the gate locked at 6 PM. You use a key code to enter after six. Makes you feel very secure. This is a park that caters to the 55 and above crowd, and there is not much to do for kids. If we decide to winter in the Rio Grande Valley, this will be the park we choose. It was about 90% full when we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$33
This RV Park was one of the nicest we've ever stayed in. It is located in a rural area Southwest of Mission, Texas. The park is rather unique because the pull through sites are arranged in large circles, the first time I've ever seen this layout. I believe there were four large circles with each one having palm trees, nice landscaping, and some sort of activity within the middle. Our circle housed the Recreation Center. The park was immaculate and well landscaped. The free wireless internet service worked flawlessly and had plenty of signal strength through out the park. It is a pet friendly park and even has a seperate dog run area where you can unleash you pet and let him visit with other dogs. If you like to bike and hike there is the World Birding Center right next door. This was a former State Park but is now locked off from vehicle traffic so you can use the existing roads for biking, hiking, etc. We saw plenty of beautiful birds and butterflies within the area. Be warned that the two mile hiking trail to the Rio Grande river was fairly remote and strenous, but well worth the effort. If you like to golf there are numerous golf courses in the area with very reasonable rates. As you can imagine, you will need to make reservations well in advance. They are taking reservations right now for next year, and rest assured I will be on the list for next January. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$18
New park outside of Bentsen State Park (they no longer allow RV camping). Sites in a circle - good plants for butterflies and maybe in a year or two birds. Still being completed. Wireless internet - deposit allows hard and software. Phone e-mail available. Internet phone available. Everything is new and clean. Staff very nice and helpful. Just outside of Bentsen State Park (without the campground - only a few feeding stations are serviced). Volunteers work very hard to tell you where to go in Park to see birds. Sunsets at the end of March 04 were wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com