206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Conroe / Houston North KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (936) 582-1200
CGID2853

Lake Conroe / Houston North KOA

Camp Information
Sites
239
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   5   8   9   8   10   10   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
We were there as part of a 100 coach rally. The park is pleasant enough, but I have two cautions. First, if you have a low black dump, be sure that they know so they don't give you a site that the dump is a foot above the pad. Second, if you are counting on a peaceful time in the indoor pool, be aware that there is no time restricted to adults only. It seemed to get quieter after 9 PM, but we live on EST so that was real late. The park is huge, and so we used our bicycles a lot. Unfortunately, one of ours was damaged when the lock was stolen from it. The lock was probably not locked on. We didn't used to use the locks in private campgrounds. It got removed and the shifter was broken off. The park people apologized. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
We stayed here because there were No Other RV sites in the Houston area. We don't normally stay in a KOA long term, but this was an exception. They advertise park-wide WiFi but it is not available and has been out since November last year with no real plans to restore. The lack of WiFi is not really the issue but the employees are! I was told that if I didn't like the lack of WiFi, I should move out. I had just arrived and paid for a month, with a no refund policy prominently displayed. We have been here several times before but will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$29
In April, 2013, fifteen(15) spaces were reserved for our motorhome group for four nights beginning 11/7/2013. Upon arrival, our group was divided in two distant areas of the park. We protested, but were told that no other spaces were available. No less that ten (10) spaces were available in the first area during our entire stay. All facilities were excellent, but Wi-Fi was non-existent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$37
A KOA parking lot with the occasional tree. Paved, relatively wide access roads. The pull-throughs are concrete with a strip of grass, picnic table, and fire ring. Just barely long enough for a 37' motorhome plus toad - any longer and you would probably have to disconnect the toad. High curbs going onto and out of sites. We did not venture into the back-in area around the pond so it may be different over there. Power OK, did not use water or sewer, Wi-Fi OK (Tengo, stable connection, moderate speed), no problems with satellite access, strong Verizon cell signal. We will consider this campground when next in the area, but will also take another look at the alternatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
This is a large nice park. We attended for a rally. Two small lakes with fishing. Cement pads with full hookups and picnic tables. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
Shore power 20/30/50 is good. Water is 60psi. Sewer is some what up hill and mine was depressed into the ground with concrete around it. The concrete was in the way that a normal sewer hose connector could not be used. I had to just drop the hose into the sewer pipe and hold it down with bricks. This is a very large park. It is nice and the operators are very good and very nice. The interior roads are paved. The sites are concrete and reasonably level. However the interior road is lower at the entrance and exit of the sites making like a curb that you go over when you drive in and leave your site. Nice grass between sites and plenty of room to put out an awning. No trees in the way. They have really nice cabins and a large pond. AT&T Cell phone is fair in most parts. Sprint and Verizon Air cards are good but the campground WiFi is sometimes better. Restrooms are nice and clean. Satellite is easy to pickup. We stayed here a week for a rally so our cost was different than normal rates. Laundry is good. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$39
We ended up staying almost 3 weeks here while getting chiropractic treatment for our dog. The area of the park with pull-throughs is pretty blah, and some of the back-ins can be a bit tricky, but the sites are spacious. This would be a great park kids with lots of activities, basketball and beach volleyball courts, shuffleboard, tossing games, 2 dog parks with agility courses, easily accessible hiking trails, catch and release fishing, heated pool. The staff were very friendly. The two laundries refreshingly clean. About a fourth of the machines were out of service and you have to go to the office for quarters because the coin machines don’t work, but they are reasonably priced. There’s not a lot to do in Montgomery, but the park is very close to a good WalMart Superstore and the vet we used. (Dr. Buchanan, a fantastic vet if you ever need one in Montgomery). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
No trees and rate is rally rate. Park is very clean with well manicured grounds; it is a big property. We have been here before. They allowed a guest with a large pit bull dog on only a very thin leash. I have a small Yorkie, and I was very concerned whenever I was on the grounds with my very small dog. The park is not on Lake Conroe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Pros: Paved streets, level concrete sites, nice and friendly staff, nice clean restrooms and laundry. Close to Lake Conroe and restaurants, Wal-Mart, etc. Cons: Tengo Internet (off more than on). Lake is full of hydrilla. And there is a 6" to 8" curb that you have to run over to get your rig into your site. Park rules say that you are responsible for killing ants on your site and they are everywhere. Dogs allowed to run loose and bark all the time even though the rules say that it is not allowed. Many noisy guests on the weekends in tents and the rental cabins. Parties all night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Price reflects a rally rate. Wide open spaces with good TV and Wi-Fi. Sites are level concrete pads with concrete patios. Very nice staff. The park is clean and has LOTS of stuff for kids such as games and scheduled events (arts & crafts). It could be classified as a destination park although you may need to drive up to an hour to visit some of the local attractions. Located in a historic little town. Location is on a busy state highway, but was not bothered by the road noise at the RV sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
This is a real "RV Resort". Enclosed swimming pool, outdoor movies, playground, horseshoes, shuffleboard, tennis courts, sand volleyball court, and fenced dog walks. This place is a BLAST! Kids have had a great time both times we've been. Lots to do, including well stocked catch and release ponds (caught 19 bass in one day between 3 of us!). A friendly staff has always taken care of us, including letting my daughter paint her craft and letting me pay later, since I forgot my wallet. Extra charges for crafts, ice cream, pancakes and bike rentals, but giving it away would just increase daily rate. We have been here twice with friends and will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
Nice park, but a little off the beaten path, especially if you want to go to, say, Houston, which is 54 miles away. But, the park is clean and has LOTS of stuff for kids. Friendly staff, too. Overall, a very nice place. We have stayed before, and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Wide open spaces with good TV and Wi-Fi. Very nice staff. Hope you have window awnings because it is HOT!!! Site is concrete pad with a bit steep entry with a little twist but level on top. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$42
The physical size of this campground, and associated facilities, is nearly equal to that of a shopping center. Which also means, that except for some landscaped areas and grass between sites, it is all asphalt and concrete. There is ample space between sites. It is absolutely big rig friendly to include the back-in sites. As previous reviews have stated, the amenities are numerous and there is something for all ages. They also have scheduled events. The place would most likely be classified as a destination park even though one needs to drive up to an hour to visit some of the local attractions that are available in this region of the state. Sites are about half back-in and half pull through. My preference are the back-in pads that surround the on site pond. All of the hook-up and accommodations listed on this review page worked very well. No complaints. Satellite and cell signals are easily obtained. I did not find there to be a lot of road noise, but if one is sensitive to that, then ask for a site near the rear of the CG. KOA's usually elicit mixed emotions from reviewers; including opinions of high prices. Considering the overall quality and amenities available in this one, I didn't have an issue with the price. And, I rarely give a five star rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$41
What a gem! Great amenities including a HUGE indoor, heated pool; horseshoe pits; shuffleboard; tennis courts; volleyball court; and multiple dog runs, one of which was big. Only negative was the proximity to 105 with some road noise and lots of sirens. It was, however, New Year's weekend, so we shouldn't have been surprised. Friendly workers topped off a great stay. We will surely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$41
Only negatives are a limited cable TV list and no trash pickup. All the rest are pluses. Would and will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$41
Wow! Super nice and clean. Staff was friendly. The primary downside for us was the traffic noise from hwy 105, but overall this may be the best KOA at which we've ever stayed. Will definitely stay here again whenever we're within 50 miles of Lake Conroe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
We were at a rally which is the reason for the lower rate. This is a top notch park. The sites were level and the amenities great. The people at check in were very nice. We were guided to our site. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
Stayed 2 nights for an event at the event center. Decent park, clean and nice location. The staff was short and seemed overwhelmed. Sites on the hill were not level but workable. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We stayed here with a 4 day RV rally group. Everything mostly was very good but there seemed to be an unusually large amount of young children who behaved well. Wi-Fi was slightly better than average but generally acceptable. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
We enjoyed our stay at Lake Conroe KOA. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the spots are clean, the park is spacious, and the dogs really enjoyed the dog runs! My only complaint is the lack of shade, which could be an issue when the temperatures rise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
Check in was quick, easy, and got a good site selection, and even on memorial day weekend. Sites are level with decent spacing However, that is about all that was good. We asked for a spot near a bathroom, and got it, which ended up being a near unless benefit. They are supposed to have a/c, not at all(read extra hot and extra smelly). There were only a few stalls for use with a lot of people wanting to use them. Of the two showers, one didn't work, so one shower for all the guys. All day saturday the place wasn't touched to be cleaned. Just use your imagination how much it deteriorated. A simple call got a "we will get to it", 12 hours after the sign says its supposed to cleaned it was getting worse. Overall the place probably makes for a decent place to stay and a launch point to points of interest, but in reading this, you need to realize that my wife grades a place almost entirely on the bathrooms. There are nice places we don't return just because of the bathrooms. (did management take memorial weekend off??!!!) We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
When rating this park, we have in mind the "snowbird section" and the friendliness and attentiveness of the assist manager, Ed. We stayed for a week and really liked our spacious back-in site and view from our back window and other friendly snowbirds. The WiFi was in and out. We think the staff is trying hard to make this a winter destination. The daily and weekly fees are too high, but the monthly rate of $425 +electric will no doubt bring us back in the fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
We spent two weeks in this park. There were never more than about 20 occupants at any time although this is a "rally" size park. There is a designated dog run, but it is unfenced and dogs run loose frequently. We stepped out to find fresh dog "gifts" almost daily. I never saw anyone carrying disposal bags even if their dog was leashed. Several machines in the laundry room were out of order the whole time we were here; the lint build-up in the dryers (not the screens but the hoses and vents) required multiple dry times($$). The room was small and overheated very quickly. There was a thermostat but it didn't seem to work. The park was quiet, a grocery store a little over a mile away, restaurants across the road and great fishing at Lake Conroe, a few miles away. We would stay here again, although would try another park first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$43
Nice park long pull/thrus Wi-Fi a little slow but it work fine for us staff was nice would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
This was our first time out in our new travel trailer, and I think it was a good start. The park was clean, it was easy enough to hook everything up, and the staff seemed friendly. The playground area was somewhat old and in disrepair, but the rest of the park was fine. My kids loved fishing off the gazebo that was right behind our site, and my oldest caught 12 fish!! (It was a stocked pond, but he didn't care). We brought our dogs, and were happy that they had a "Kanine Kamp" area where the dogs could be off their leashes and just run around and play. But be careful, our dogs are small, and they figured out how to scoot under the gate and get out. The park is very large, so there were several empty sites near us for the kids to ride bikes on, etc. The price is a little high, but I am hoping it was because it was a holiday weekend. Overall we were very happy with this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
Not sure of the price per night we where at a RV Rally Alfas. This park was great, has nice sites, beautiful pool, and hot tub covered. The only complaint was the Wi-Fi kept disconnecting. Staff was friendly and very nice. Had a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
We stayed here Jan. 21 - Feb. 21, 2008 with our 5 lb Yorkshire dog. At first sight this seems to be a nice park, as a book you cannot judge it by the cover. Fire ants galore, the poison didn't work, except on our dog, she was really sick the entire time! Covered in sores from the ants as well as my husband! No laundry baskets for assistance & the washers smell of mold, gazebos do not look like the photos are in desperate need of TLC, the pool & rec hall need TLC and the staff is very misinformed nor are they friendly. Be very aware of your electricity usage, $.17 per kilowatt! We never used the A/C in the month we were there and our bill was over $100! I used my sewing machine for about 3 hours for the entire month, and we have a laptop. So were did the usage go? The internet service is absolutely horrible, you got maybe 20 minutes. Kicked you out and forget about photos. We never could update our traveling website the entire month. I do not recommend this park for people with dogs under 13 lbs, they will be deathly ill! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
We stayed here for 2 months, and were very happy. The people in the office were very nice and helpful. You need to watch your rates in December and January and February. People will go on south if you get them too high. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Campground and all very clean. Lots of pull thru sites. Two small lakes, playground, Covered heated pool and hot tub. Cable and wi-fi. Lots of restaurants near by. Store on premises. Cement pads with tables. We spent 2 nites there in a travel trailer. Full hoop-up was 25.00 with cable tv. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Very pricey but a wonderful clean park. Concrete streets and pads. This one has everything you could want and the price reflects it. It will take you about 15 to 20 minutes to make it into Conroe. There you can find just about any store or restaurant you will need. A definite stay at again, if we can afford it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
This was once a great park. Now that KOA has taken it over you notice a lot of little things that add up to a big negative. Management is definitely not as friendly as before. The whole atmosphere is different. They are out to get the most money they can with as little effort as possible. The location is still great but there are cheaper and more friendly cg's to be had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Great park, park is now owned by KOA, they have replaced the management at park, they know campgrounds and how to take care of customers. New management is still making changes to park, KOA store with products from Camping World, and they should have the bar and restaurant open soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$33
This RV park has just been sold to KOA. The staff is friendly, but the management is aloof. They do not enforce their pet rules. There were droppings throughout the park, and my leashed dog was attacked by three loose dogs. When I told the manager he said there wasn't anything he would do. The pull through hookups are in the middle of the site, so if your plumbing is in the rear you will need two hoses. I've stayed in this park 4-5 times a year for the past 6 years. I won't be coming back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$31
Very nice campground with level concrete sites. Big heated swimming pool with hot tub and a 1ft "kiddy pool". There is a playground for the kids. They allow fishing in the lake. Friendly and helpful staff. We had an excellent connection with the WiFi. Shopping close by and a cafe on-site. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
This is a great RV resort. Roads are all paved and sites are very large and very flat. Indoor swimming pool and spa are great. Sites near the highway are a little noisy, but the sites at the rear of the resort are very quiet. Super Walmart is less than a mile away. These folks put a lot of money into this resort, and it shows. The weekly and monthly rates are some of the best in central Texas. WiFi was the best I have ever seen, and was free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
Nice clean campground with level concrete sites. Big heated swimmingpool with hottub. Friendly and helpfull staff. Reliable and fast WiFi. Only drawback is steep entry which caused us to scrape the back of our travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This is a very nice park it has a game room with pool tables, ping pong, foosball and it has an indoor heated pool and a nice size hot tub also. All these have entry where you have to enter a number to get in and they are open all hours you can go sit in the hot tub at midnight if you want. We did that and we had a really good time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$31
Brand new park. Every amenity. Huge indoor/outdoor pool. Free billiards, tennis etc. Even has a 15,000 sq. foot Grand Ball room for rallies and square dances. Very nice and friendly. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com