214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Bayside RV Park (Closed) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (361) 972-3400
CGID2865

Bayside RV Park (Closed)

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
January 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   8   8   4   8   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
This great park has closed as of January, 2013. We will miss the great family of friends we enjoyed so much. Such a shame, the town has lost many of its winter texans and the income they brought into this small town. Many of the snowbirds are staying at another local RV park so they can be together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
We camped here for the Easter weekend. We just wanted to get away, relax, and do some fishing. Having never been to Palacios before, we did not know what to expect. The town is very 'homey'; we loved it. The RV park was more than we anticipated. We were on the bay side and it was wonderful! We just walked outside and fished at our 'backdoor'. The marina/dock is on the other side of the park and you can fish there, too. Even if you don't fish, you can just sit and look at the water; it is so relaxing. The staff is great and the other campers were great. The sites are level and larger than most. We had a wonderful time and are already planning our next trip there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Arrived without reservations, and was a little concerned, but the very helpful staff got us a spot on the ocean for one night (all we wanted anyway). Had to drop our car hauler trailer, but the spot is 30 feet from our coach, so no problem. Free Wi-Fi and it works great! Level spot: all gravel with some grass, but nicely maintained. Nice laundry, also. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
Nice place to camp. Staff, owners, and other campers make you feel welcome and right at home. Some planned activities/dinners and other gatherings. Rate based on monthly stay. We were here for the months of Nov. and Dec. 2011 We would return to this park again without question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
We stayed 2 days in the center pull through row. FHU including good cable. Rate is 12.50 a night with the PA discount. Great value and view. The boats stayed in port due to fuel prices. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Nice location as far as views, but it is right next to a working dock yard, so 7 days a week there is continual noise during the day. Saturday night there was loud music late into the night. Combine that with the shrimp boats sitting and idling their engines off and on all night and one has to be a heavy sleeper; we are not. Verizon worked well, good for satellite, both TV and Data. Looked at the laundry. Though small, it was clean. We will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Big rig sites, all pull thru. Very clean. Great cable TV. Friendly office. Near freeway. 10 mlns to shopping. Verizon worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
Rate is daily rate for 50 amp FHU pull thru site with PA discount. Roads are gravel, pads grass with small amount of gravel, no shade. Pads get soft in wet weather. All sites face the bay with center row being pull-thrus. Office is well inside the park, has large room and small laundry attached. Passport America rate made it a very good value for the money, but as others have alluded or said, Palacios itself is definitely a small town off the beaten path, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Nice quiet park. We only stayed 3 days, but it's cozy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$12
Passport America rate of $12.50 is an excellent value here per earlier reviews. The only downside is that it is indeed in the middle of nowhere and the town really does not have anything to offer. It is a good place to stop over and kick back for a couple of days while passing through, just have your supplies on board as there is only a small local market here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$12
Great deal for the money! Quiet, right on the water, clean, expanded cable, Wi-Fi, really nice bathroom and shower and laundry (they look new), friendly owner, on site managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$12
Big pull-throughs facing the water. Gravel & grass. Good Wi-Fi and services. 2 washers & dryers; did my laundry. We used Passport America - $12.50 - and stayed the max of 3 nights. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
It is a nice park somewhere in the middle of nowhere. But right on the ocean. From our pull through we had a beautiful view over the ocean. The sites are (to) close together. Cable TV is excellent. Wi-Fi is poor. Staff is very friendly. We stayed here three nights but (if you are not a fishing guy) it is just a nice stopover when you are traveling along the coast. Rate is PA which is valuable for three nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
This is a nice park to spent some time in. The other reviews were on the money. The roads and sites are all gravel and dirt mixed. Our pull thru site was very large with water, sewer, cable TV (lots of channels) and 20/50 amp power. No 30 amp in box. No fire ring or table. Nice view of bay. Only self contained units here. The Wi-Fi was free but slow at times, may be missing bandwidth or someone is a KB hog. At times you go into time out or no service. Verizon cell and air card worked well here. You can buy sea food off the boats. Fishing would be good here. Park has a number of places to fish plus a dock. Staff was helpful at check in and people in park were super nice to be around. Seafood places in town were great to eat in. Winds very high at time of visit. Rates were on Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$31
We have left our motorhome there for the last 5 months and drive up whenever we want. Now has cable. Managers are awesome. Owners are awesome. Very friendly park; has a smoke free room with TV, tables for card games or whatever you want to do. People gather nightly for visiting, etc. They have bring a dish gatherings and holiday get-togethers. This is the greatest park we have visited. There is great fishing, a private pier, and boat launch right outside the park. Come on down and enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Since this park has reopened many improvements have been made. Many of the sites have been enlarged to accommodate large rigs plus boats. All fifty amp power, cable TV, Wi-Fi. On the harbor side two one bedroom efficiency bay houses have been added for rental, The center is now all pull thru. Roadways are in excellent condition and the management has really done an outstanding job on the facilities. The rec. hall was busy with, ladies sewing, men working on their hobbies. We had lots of good food and the fishing was good. We will definitely come back to Bayside . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
We were again delighted to find this campground re-opened and flourishing since last year. This place is adjacent to a marina where shrimpers dock and other vessels, large and small, are being worked on. There is a lot to see and great shrimp to eat. The park has a great community room, hook-ups were fine in our row, on the Gulf, and are being restored in other rows. Small park, people are friendly, town is low key. This is our third year here over a period of 10 yrs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Not a place for kids, with no cable and no pool they were getting bored fast. Lots of workers with four wheelers and motorcycles. Tried to call for three hours before finally getting someone on the phone to tell them we were leaving early. The manager wasn't to be found. Not a place I would recommend or go to again. This is just a parking lot on the water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Great view of the bay. The managers were extreemly nice. The amenities were fair(wish they had a swimming pool, but all and all we enjoyed it and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
My wife and I stayed here at Bayside we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The RVer's in the park were friendly. The management was friendly and very helpful. The sites were a little close but it made for some good conversation with your fellow campers. We enjoyed fishing off the jetty and the dock that was reserved for the RVer's at Bayside. I would recommend anyone staying here. It was quite and very peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$13
Previous reviews are correct except that the park does not have cable. I understand the cable provider hit them with a heavy dollar figure for year around service that they weren't able to stomach during the lean summer months. And provider has stuck to their high $$ guns. "Dead" cable connections are in place at each power post. This is a P/A park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This is a nice, quiet park on a peninsula with the Matagorda Bay on one side and the shipyards on the other. You can back in along the bay or the ship lagoons or use the pull-thrus in the center. The sites are nice and long but very close together. You’re almost at your neighbor’s service connections when you come out your front door. This is not a destination park (no pool or playground for the kiddies) but a great park for relaxing and touring the area. Though not a big town, Palacios is close to Port Lavaca where there's plenty to see and do. Dubbed as having the "largest shrimp fleet in Texas", it’s fun to watch the shrimp boats go out and come back each day. If you're a "birder", there are plenty of different birds to be seen when the tide goes out and reveals thousands of oysters in the oyster beds and snails and other goodies for the birds to feast on. One warning though: If you have a long haired dog, beware! Sand burrs abound!! We would definitely recommend this park to others and we will stay here again if we’re in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
Very friendly campground. Hosts are super nice and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and introduce you to the other campers. You can park your rig facing Matagorda Bay [about 20 foot away] and watch the shrimp boats coming and going. Lots of sea birds. Fishing is good at times. Only downside is constant wind. Daily rate is high, but monthly rate of $265 plus electric is great [expect about $70/mo. for electric]. We definitely will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
We had a great time here. The people were very friendly and it was so relaxing. The view was great. My only complaint was the wfi was not always good. We plan on returning this fall or next year for another stay and to see new friends we made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
We were so glad that Bayside opened again. There are still a few things to be fixed, but overall the place is looking great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Views were spectacular and we camped right on the water. The owners made us feel like we were family. Bathrooms and showers were spotless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
We enjoyed our stay at this pleasant waterfront park. The park has reopened after a lengthy closing and the owners and staff are going out of their way to make visitors comfortable. They hosted a free fish fry on Friday which was very enjoyable, and always checked to see that we were enjoying our stay. Sites are large and have a view of the bay with the harbor behind. Many sites allow motorhomes to pull in nose-first for an unobstructed view of the water. Some noise is generated by the shrimp fleet (Texas' largest), but it was quiet at night. They owners are still working to improve the park, and picnic tables and pads are future items. The free WiFi worked very well. Palacios is a small town with a few restaurants, but Bay City and Port Lavaca are each 30 miles away and have Wal-Mart Supercenters and other amenities. This is a good park to stage from for visits to Brazoria, San Bernard, and Aransas National Wildlife Refuges, and overall, the area is a great birding mecca. Although this park still needs some work, the owners and staff make the stay worthwhile. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
This was a favorite campground 8 years ago and we later learned it had been closed, so we were delighted to learn that the proposed condo project fell thru and the campground was re-opened. It is beautiful, you watch the shrimp boats go out and buy great shrimp a day later! The managers are very nice, helpful, the area is interesting and this is a happy place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Very nice park. Right on the waterfront. Fun to watch the fishing boats come and go. Well maintained and staff very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$15
We stayed at the "Bayside RV Camper Park" in Palacios, Texas during the 2003 Christmas week, on our way to Arizona. This was our first stay at this Passport America campground. What a neat out of the way place! The owners were very nice and the ocean wiew was spectacular. We woke up Christmas morning to see dolpins jumping out of the water behind our camper through our 5th wheel's back windows which was backed up to the water's edge. The facility isn't a fancy place but clean & friendly and we recommend at least a one or two night stay. (Not a lot to do but look around and eat shrimp.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com