223474 User submitted reviews online!!
On The Beach RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (361) 749-4909
CGID2871

On The Beach RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   5   10   8   10   8   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
This park is a very short walk from the beach. The stretch of beach near it is much less crowded as cars are not allowed to be parked by it. We walked to the beach in less than 5 minutes. The sites are tight and close. The park was built many years ago when RVs were smaller. Each site has a grassy area and it's own paved or bricked patio. The park was well landscaped and workers were seen every day doing work to keep it well maintained. I read the previous reviews. I did not find any of the complaints voiced previously. The Wi-Fi worked seamlessly. We were able to connect and stay connected with no problem. The managers were friendly and helpful. The laundry worked just fine and was clean. We didn't check out the bathhouse as we use our own facilities. We thoroughly enjoyed the laid back park and the laid back town. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
We stayed here in 2011 and loved it. Our campsite was right next to the sand dune #H7. Friendly folks all thru the park. Spring breakers were coming in on March 8th so we left. It was gonna be getting busy. Loved this place and will recommend it to others. We would definitely stay here again. (The rate reflects a 30 night stay of $580.00) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Due to some confusion on their part, our pull through site became a back in with all hook ups on the wrong side. Very tight, short sites. WiFi doesn't work, cable TV not good, washers in laundry room do not work well. Work campers where very nice, manager was what we expected. We lived on the island in the 70's and come down here often, so our expectations of convenience and customer service were not high. We were not disappointed. We will not stay here again. Rate was based on weekly rate. Island mentality, take it or leave it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
We camped in a 32' trailer, and the site was perfect. We had our three large dogs with us. As long as you pick up after your pet, all is well and no additional charge. Sites are full of grass with a picnic table and concrete slab at every site. Walk over the sand dune and you are at the beach. Also a walkway and beach is right across the road. We look forward to booking our next stay here. A+ We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$60
Nice campground. Stayed here for Sand Fest and had a great time. Pros: clean and well landscaped, relatively level, utilities worked fine, excellent location to beach and to town. Cons: limited parking, interior sites tight, have them guide you to your site =tight turns and limited space ( with 20' truck and 30' of trailer, I was a little nervous) , never could connect on to wi-fi, make sure you have utility extensions for water, sewer, and electric. All in all, we enjoyed the same and would return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$65
Best location to beach as 50yard walk! Had ocean view location for our coach! Only regret as I wish I would stayed 2 weeks! Very friendly campers and staff was outstanding! Watered their grounds daily and took care of the area! Will return soon as it was convenient to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$55
It gets an 8 for its location. This is an old, rustic park with very small sites. Hard to maneuver. However, grass at most of the sites, and flowers and plants are a nice touch. There was only one bathroom and shower combo. Man checking us in did not mention that it needed a key and a $5 deposit so I had to go back to the office. This was the most we ever paid for a site. However, husband does not like to stay in the big 1000 unit large parks like the ones in town. People staying there seemed very nice and friendly. Bernies on Wednesday night is fun. WiFI was nonexistent. We were able to get on an unsecured wifi from another source for most of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$42
Beautiful park right next to the beach on the Gulf. Well maintained park with flowering landscaping. Narrow, gravel sites, but manageable. Very helpful staff. Nice laundry room. Only complaint, free Wi-Fi connection was inconsistent. Dog friendly (provides waste bags), but additional $1 per pet per night. If you like the beach, this is the best park in the Port Aransas area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
I am not exactly sure about the nightly rate but believe it was around $35.00. This park was reasonably clean, staff was ok, but it was grossly overcrowded. There was barely 10 feet between us and the trailer next to us, their sewer connection was very close to us, as ours was to the guy on the other side. The end of our trailer stuck out in the very narrow road as did some others. If we hadn't gotten here before most of the other campers I don't believe we would have ever been able to get into the space. But it was just a sand dune away from the ocean and about 1/2 to 3/4 miles away from Sand Fest Activities. We are not likely to ever stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
Excellent Park! Small, located right "on the beach" of the Gulf of Mexico. Our campsite was facing the Gulf with a sand dune between us and the water. The sound of the surf crashing ashore was very calming, We were pulling a toad so the car dolly spent its vacation on the other side of the park. Good TV, the WI-FI was there but sometimes not very good at our site (as far as you could get away from the office). When we were leaving, the manager asked if he could go out and check our air pressure in the tires. Down right friendly folks at "On the Beach" RV Campground. We were here for two months with the fee figuring out to about $15 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$48
This is a small RV park and has a lot of full timers. There was even a family with children living in two trailer across from us, and one of them was a fema trailer. Our lot was E6 and was a pull through. It is one of the few that had an ocean view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They are constantly watering, and doing yard work. Walked to the beach every day except for the 24 hours we rented a golf cart, which we used to go everywhere. The lot sizes are very narrow. There was no one next to us, and I am glad as our slide was over their picnic table. It was quiet at night. The wi-fi was weak and slow. We would stay here again in the same spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Location Location Location! The biggest selling point is that this campground is right on the beach. Most sites don't have an actual ocean view due to the dunes, but it's a short walk to a beautiful beach. There are no major bells and whistles. The sites were level even though they were a combination of grass and gravel. The bathroom was nothing special, but it served it's purpose. There is only 1 shower. The outdoor shower was terrific for washing the sand off after a day at the beach. The staff here was very friendly - some a bit more knowledgeable about the area than others. The grounds were basic and nice - crews out watering the grass, etc. to keep the park in good shape. The Wi-Fi was a bit sketchy and laundry a bit old, but not showstoppers if you're looking for a nice place on the water in this area. Sunrise is beautiful - just a few steps from your front door. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Great park right on the Ocean. Some sites are tight to get in and out of. Very well maintained park. Restrooms and shower were very clean. Staff was outstanding. Fantastic tent area behind the office. Park stays very full in the summer so call early. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Note that the rate listed is based on the monthly rate. I gave it a 3 because it is by the beach and does have full hookups, but it's not a place we would stay again. The sites and streets (rock) are very narrow and very hard to negotiate. The Wi-Fi generally did not work, unless you went to the rec hall. The laundry room is very small, with ancient dryers that didn't work well; only 4 washers and 4 dryers, which isn't adequate when considering all the extra beach towels and swimsuits. While you may find the owner/wife friendly, they may turn on you. After 10 days, we had to move as we were "too close to the planter"--which is where they told us to park. In our month's stay, we were not the only ones who had to move because of petty reasons. Unless you are in a motorhome, do not park your RV along the edge on the south or west, as these sites are set up "backward" as far as which side the patio and hookups are on. These sites were designed for motorhomes pulling in nose first. Unless you have a very small unit, you will have to park your tow vehicle or toad away from the RV on the east side of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
This is the 3rd year we have stayed here for a month in February. The night is based on a monthly rate including the electric charge. Staff for the most part is friendly enough as are the neighboring campers. The sites are much too close together (maybe 7-8 feet). This year the motorhome next to us were very rude by leaving their windows open and TV blaring so we could hear it in our camper even with the AC on and windows closed. They came around on the back side and cleaned out their storage spaces in our area and were just generally not respective of our personal space (which was extremely limited anyway because of how close the sites are together). The best thing is that the campground is right on the beach, but it was very windy several days and everything was full of sand from the beach. You can't leave your windows open because the sand blows. We enjoy being next to the beach, however, the space limitations and recent price increase (to $625 plus electricity) have made us choose another campground next year. For a weekend it would be a fine campground if you spend all your time on the beach and not outside your camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$57
A bit pricey at $57 plus $1 extra per night for pets, but it really is on the beach. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$55
We stayed here in our MH over Thanksgiving 2010 and it was excellent. Very clean and pleasant staff. The weather was great, the beach was great, and I recommend it if you want some R&R. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
There were many snowbirds camping there for the winter. Some of the RV's were older and not maintained, while others were newer diesel pushers. The spots are gravel and fairly level. The Wi-Fi was great and free. The TV cable service was fuzzy, but OK. I've never paid extra for having a small dog before, maybe it's normal in Texas? Very close to the beach, a short and easy walk to the access road. I will stay here again! Very nice people and everyone was friendly. Washers and driers need to be replaced. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We love this park. It is an older park, but we love being so close to the ocean. The managers are so nice and the people very friendly. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We stayed here over a weekend while celebrating my father-in-law's birthday at the beach. If you're in Port Aransas, it's hard to beat the location of this park, as the beach is right on the other side of the sand dunes at the end of the park. The people, including the management (owners?), were generally friendly. Full hook-ups were convenient. We didn't use them, but we appreciated the availability of the fish cleaning hut and wash-off shower at the entrance from the beach. All that said, know that the sites are pretty tight and can be spotty when it comes to being level - make sure you bring those levelers with you. All in all, not a bad place to camp out for a couple days while being a beach bum. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
At On The Beach RV Park, the staff are very friendly. Always willing to help with the simplest or most complex things, even in the middle of the night!!! The landscaping is breath taking there are no sand-burs in the grass and the ornaments and decorations give the park a very lovely atmosphere. I find this park to be extremely family orientated and helpful. The view of the gulf is gorgeous as well as the rest of the park. The bathrooms are extremely clean. The kids had a great time romping around on the soft grass and all around having fun. In all the campgrounds in the south coast of Texas I have stayed at, I find this one to be at the very top! My husband and kids seam to agree as well. We hope to come back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$12
Good value for the money. We had a pretty wide site, but most of them were a lot smaller. Most unusual: they encourage washing of units and cars to "water the grass". This was great!! Best parts: The beach is steps away, wide, hardly any people, and great for walking. There is a wonderful little beach town close by with great restaurants and shops. The free ferry to the mainland takes you to larger stores if you need that. The clubhouse was pretty small for pot-lucks, but everyone was really friendly. Staff was variable: some were friendly, some not. We really didn't interact much with them. It isn't to your advantage to pay more for a beach-view lot: the dunes block most of the views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2009
$44
I was very disappointed with this park. It was extremely crowded and the spaces were extremely tight. Mostly filled with full-timers: understandable at the coast in the winter time. Upon arrival we were shown on paper where to go. Not a problem. Pulling into our site we were met by the same lady, monitoring us to ensure we parked and "set up" properly. The site was hardly big enough for our 5th wheel (28ft) and we were asked to park our truck elsewhere, however the park claims not to be responsible for damages if they occur. Those with slides on both sides of their trailers are almost touching their neighbors: ridiculously tight! The bathrooms were always locked: have to get a key from the office. The washers and dryers worked, but were old and rusted. The pricing of the sites was insane. The view is no different anywhere you park. You can't see past the huge sand dunes to the water. The beach is within feet from the park: that is where we spent most of our time. This park is not family friendly and does not give a warm welcome: we felt monitored and were approached for petty things, yet we had to deal with a barking dog next door for the two days we were here. We will not return: the price is not worth the hook-ups considering one can camp on the beach for free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Before checking in, I asked if I paid for one night and then decided to stay longer if I could get the weekly rate to include the first night and was told yes. When I tried to book a week, the next day (different lady) I was told that I could pay for a week, but the 40 dollars I had already paid could not count toward a weekly rate. I was told that the weekly rate was 165, but then I was charged 190, when I questioned this I was told I was in a higher spot. It is confusing which are standard, premium and deluxe sites. I didn't see a difference in the sites. Next I was charged a $30 electricity deposit. Altogether the nightly rate when booking by the week came to about $32 per night. While in the office a customer called to inquire about monthly bookings and the office girl told him that all of the reservable monthly sites were gone, but there was still lots of empty sites in the campground. The park is clean and the people here are nice, they are making improvements in landscaping. A 5 dollar deposit for a key to the bathrooms and showers. It is a tight squeeze to get a big rig in a site, but can be accomplished and they were happy to help us park. This RV park is definitely the closest to the beach within the area, just yards to the beach. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
We have camped here twice, most recently in April 2009. The office staff has always been friendly and helpful. The biggest plus is the proximity to the beach. The biggest negative is the cramped sites and lack of parking. All in all, we would return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
The sites in this park are very close together. It rained the whole time we were there, and we couldn't open our awning because we were too close to our neighbor. Also our slide out was very close to the neighbor. It's a very noisy park because it's close to the roadway. The staff is not well organized. We had problems with all 3 reservations that we had. The owner was quite rude. We will never stay there again. We booked at Pioneer for next year. Two thumbs down for On The Beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
Campsites are very close together. Had to move our vehicle a few times to accommodate our neighbors coming in or leaving. If you want to be close to the beach, this is a good spot though. You don't have to walk far to feel the sand between your toes. However, we went there during spring break and the noise at night on the beach and the beach access road was pretty loud from the music from cars. Not a horrible experience if you just want to stay a few days. We will probably scope out different parks in the area before trying this one again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
It was interesting to read a recent review of this park that stated it was a neat little place to stay, or some such wording. Sorry, but we could not agree less! We stayed at this park in site F4 for a month, or what we thought was for a month. We checked in on December 20 and checked out on January 20. According to the office staff, those dates constitute a month and a day. So, we ended up paying for a full month and the alleged extra day, and an extra day's fee for our pet. Oh yes, they nickel and dime you to death at On The Beach! The sites are unbelievably close together, and are a challenge to enter and exit, especially when one is pulling a 34-foot travel trailer behind a 20-foot long one-ton truck! There was absolutely no way we could have had our awning out because it would have certainly touched the motorhome parked next to us. Oh sure, it's wonderful being 150 yards from the beach, but that's the only positive that can be written about this park. The owners and park workers (other RVers) blatantly cater to the RVers who are there for the entire winter, and certainly to those who've made On The Beach their winter home for a few years (we're still wondering why that is). Those who do stay for the winter are really into socializing on a daily basis, and if one does not get involved in their Happy Hour get togethers (some people just don't imbibe), or movie night or Ladies Lunch Out ventures, that's pretty much the last time they even speak to you. The other major, major problem with this park was with their WiFi that they claim they have available. Well, it didn't work properly for three-and-a-half of the four weeks (and a day) we stayed there! My wife and I have individual laptops, and it cost us a total of $40 for the entire time we were there. Because their wireless internet was not working properly (they assured us, on a daily basis, that it was being repaired) we thought we might be entitled to a partial refund. Nope. There are many other nicer looking, better laid out parks in Port Aransas and, in hindsight, we likely should have stayed in one of the other parks. If we ever return to this area, we will definitely not stay at On The Beach. We'd strongly recommend you look for an alternative as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
Older design with perceived ' smaller ' situation, this park falls into the 'really neat' category ! NOT for overly fussy, perfectionist types who tediously demand the ' all ducks in a row' community type exhibits. This park is perfect for the area - its toes touch the beach, it's breezy, its pleasantly informal and indeed has a recreational personality. It's clients are typically mature but pleasantly down to earth. Yes, it can be sandy, stony, breezy & other ' negatives', but it IS at a beach. For those who know how to truly relax, how to truly be near a beach and how to adjust their attitude & tolerance levels, this park is great ! For those who want the boring, overly organized, pigeons-in-a-box, golf course appearance, 'retirement home' atmosphere ... this park is not for you ! We see this type of complainer posting, sadly, online reviews that are severely incorrect in their total misjudgement of this ' neat' little park that is indeed " on the Beach ". I suggest to serious folks who aren't too wrapped in their own veneer to simply discard the recent two or three sour grape attacks posted online about this park. Yes - a little tight here and there, but all in all a relaxed, nifty little spot that is truly near the water. This, from a quite long timer who has good things to say about only a handful of parks nation wide ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
This is the park you want if you want to be very close to the beach. We had site B 12 and it was great. Nice view of the beach and gulf. Work campers in the office were friendly and helpful. This is definitely an older park but is very much like most parks right on the beach. Sites are pretty close together but with no immediate neighbors, that was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
Absolutely the worst RV park I have ever seen, or stayed. The staff is extremely rude. The grounds are poorly kept. The sites are far too close together and as far as I can tell, in thirty years, they have NEVER bothered to upgrade anything. Yes, it is very close to the beach, however, you will pay dearly for this - as the sounds at night are very loud. You will hear people shouting and a lot of vehicle traffic. The park was vandalized/robbed TWICE while I was there (once each night). We were asked to move our fifth wheel while we were there, however the staff failed to realize they were asking us to move into a site which was inadequate -from a 50amp service to a 30amp service... And once we pointed this out, they reluctantly gave us back our money. We promptly moved to another RV park Finally, there is no concrete to be found at On-The-Beach RV park, and each site is so close together that if the staff doesn't help you, you will not be able to maneuver the alleys/roads... much less park your trailer. Horrible is the best word I can use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
We came very close to staying here, but were so turned off by the attitude of the staff that we opted to stay elsewhere. The first thing we noticed is that they are very disorganized, sloppy about record keeping, one has to constantly correct them. I actually found myself wondering if they were perpetually intoxicated. Second, there is no evidence of gratitude for your business. You get the feeling they feel they're doing their guests a favor. The dealbreaker was their extremely high and rigid cancellation fees (even with 30 days notice). They assured us they're always nearly full so they can clearly fill the spaces. They really cash in on cancellations. I'm ok with stict policies (with the exception of their extreme cancellation fees) if you have your house in order and understand that your guests *are* your business but the overall vibe of this place was so bad that we decided we didn't want to support this park. We won't be recommending it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
I was surprised to read the prior reviews. We camped at this campground this past June & absolutely loved it! It is literally 'on the beach' & on the quaint, rustic side. While the sites are a little small, we had no problem fitting our 36 ft, 4 slide 5th wheel into a site & was even able to use our awning easily. The staff were work campers & they were very friendly & informative! They were leaving in August so no doubt, new people are working the desk now. To get to the beach, you walk to the back of the campground to where there's a gate & then follow along a wooden decked sidewalk till you arrive at the beach - believe me, it's right there! We could walk from the beach to our campsite in a minute. We had a wonderful time during our stay & we will be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$26
Close to Gulf, sites small but acceptable, Staff very good, we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2006
$27
Campsites are way too close together, packed in like sardines. Too close to even put out your awning. Good for overnight stay only, not long term. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
We actually kept our camper here all summer. Very close to the ocean. The sites are not level, they are made of shell and don't look that great. But its VERY close to the ocean and the staff is very friendly. We had a great time here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We booked a stay here but upon arrival changed our minds and went elsewhere. The roads are not paved. They are made of crushed oyster shell. The sites are crushed oyster shell with a concrete patio/picnic pad. The grass was sparse. The sites were tight as were the roads in the park. Class A's, I think would have a difficult time. All this dirt and oyster shell translates into one thing: dust. No thanks. It's only saving grace is that it's on the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We camped for the first time at this park. The park was very clean it had concrete pads in front of the camp sites and picnic tables. The roads were a little tight to turn and park, most were pull-thru. The restroom/shower was clean but only one shower/toilet in the mens. Stones throw from the beach. Lady that checked us in was real nice Norma was her name I think. We will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com