206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Pioneer Beach Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 105 user reviews. Phone: (361) 749-6248
CGID2872

Pioneer Beach Resort

Camp Information
Sites
361
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   9   7   9   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$43
Stayed two nights in the 400 numbered section. Sites are narrow and about 70 feet. Hook ups are placed decently in the site and all work correctly. Park is second largest of the established parks in the coastal towns of Port A., Aransas Pass and Rockport. Has its own boardwalk to the beach and big rec hall where they have the activities. It worked for two nights while we came back to area to have work done on the rig but for long term we prefer smaller parks. Price paid was GS discount plus $2.50 per day for cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
This is a very clean and well laid out park. I stayed for the month on Janurary. The staff is very helpful, with assisting me to park in my site, to taking care of anything I asked of them. There is a nice boardwalk down to the beach. The park has a lot of activities and offer breakfast, for a fee, on the week-ends. The water pressure is good, the electric feed is excellent and all the ammenities of the park are great. There is a golf course right across the street from the entrance to the park. The park is located near most attractions around Corpus Christy and the gulf area. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Rate reflects a special offer that allowed me to get 3 nights for the price of 2 for a premium back-in space. I ended up here when Mustang Island SP wall full for part of my stay. I was not disappointed at all. All the roads and pads are concrete. My site also had a nice concrete patio. Hook-ups were well-placed, the WiFi worked great and the restrooms were spotless. There is a nice boardwalk to the beach, as well as other amenities. The entire park exudes a very friendly atmosphere. As I frequent the Port Aransas area, this park may be my new "go-to" location We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Stayed for 4 nights and it wasn't enough. Nice amenities, utilities worked well, level, decent room between sites, all concrete pads and roads, easy in and out. Main reason we came here this time was because of the wide boardwalk across the dunes for golf carts and foot traffic. Access to beach was SO easy! We were there at the beginning of the summer and did not have any issues with after hours noise. Park was clean and well cared for. Enjoyed our stay and will return soon~ We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
This is written as a mixed review of sorts. We booked a premium pull-through site as a weekly rate. The park itself is OK. The sites were close together on our row. It was OK until the holiday group came and it was very busy as I expected. It seem as if a lot of Texans leave their fifth wheels on the property with their golf carts and return on weekends. There was a lot of noise from the gas golf carts, loud music, and a lot of empty cans. We would have preferred a quieter time and never saw anyone around to patrol. The park is close to the beach which was also packed as expected. Be careful with a dog as a week later we are still finding stickers in his coat. There is a beautiful park called Charles Pasture with a boardwalk and trail to see birds etc. I do not think I would stay here as we prefer a quieter experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
This park is located right on Texas 361 and Gulfwind Drive. The resort has a private boardwalk for foot and golf cart access to the Gulf of Mexico. The center of the resort is a group of ponds that are great for bird watchers. The hook-ups are well maintained, and the sites have recently been widened. The premium sites have picnic tables and fixed steps to set against your RV. The bathhouse is cleaned daily, trash collection runs each morning, and a fish cleaning station is in good shape. The staff is friendly and during operating hours you are taken to your spot and guided in. They have extensive rules, but it is clear they are not strongly enforced but as needed for unruly and rude guests. They have a park watch program, hosts and work campers that keep this place well maintained, clean, and friendly. The location is only a few minutes from Mustang Island State Park and Port Aransas, the opposite direction. Twenty minutes south on 361 takes you to Padre Island National Seashore. The rate above reflects the premium back-in with the discount. Off season they do not charge for extra guests over two. Cable and golf cart registration is extra. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Rally rate was $28.00. The park very clean, grass cut and all staff very friendly. There are many winter Texans parked here. Nice pool facilities, huge rally hall and boardwalk over dunes to beach, which was wonderful. Easy drive into town for shopping (1 grocery) and selections of restaurants and across ferry to Aransas Pass. Ferries will carry rv's with tow cars and will ask for weight of rv. I suggest not trying to use ferry in peak traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$33
This is a large park with boardwalk access to the beach and gulf. It has paved roads and sites. One needs to unhook a tow vehicle before going to the site due to turns in the park. The office is well-equipped and staff was pleasant. There is an activity schedule for winter Texans and some meals are served in the common hall. Dogs can be walked throughout the park and are welcome on the beach if leashed. There is a large dog run also. We would definitely stay here again. Discounts are applied if staying a week or longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$36
Just walk over the boardwalk at the park, and you are on the lovely beach. Better yet, drive your golf cart over then drive up the beach to Port Aransas for shopping as many people do. How wonderful! This is not a 55 park so your hot tub visits may provide more interesting than what you are used to. The facilities are good, and I can see why this is a popular park. I loved sitting on the beach at night during a warm evening. You will probably like this park as well but watch out for the tiny red ants. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This is our second winter stay here and we can say without equivocation that this is a well-run CG. The place is clean and trash is picked up daily. There are plenty of seasonal campers and snowbirds who do have bikes, grills and other stuff around their rigs, but the sites are neat and orderly. There are lots of friendly work campers. If it bothers some reviewers that most RVs here are towables rather than Class A's, my suggestion is that they spend the time to read and learn that towables currently comprise 90% of the RV market. As for the size of the sites, as full-timers we can say that these are better than average, particularly with respect to the fact that the CG is in a resort area and is essentially on the beach. The price cited is with a monthly rate for the most expensive pull-though sites; there was a significant reduction in price this year. There are lots of organized activities during the winter months for those who like that sort of thing, but there is no pressure to join in. We have a site overlooking the large birding pond; having a cup of coffee in the morning while watching egrets, herons, and spoonbills is a great way to wake up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Are you looking for full hook-ups, two pools, 66+ cable clear cable channels, everything clean and well kept?? This is it. Internet access is pretty good, they have 5 or 6 towers to connect. We've stayed here a couple of times before. We always have our golf cart as Pioneer has a boardwalk directly to the beach that will accommodate the largest golf carts. No ATVs, motorcycles, mopeds, scooters, etc. which makes it nice. No teenagers zooming around being disrespectful. Speed limit in the park is 5 mph. The park is monitored but not so much that you feel like they are spying on you. Very friendly management. There are quite a few full time residents, but there has never been a problem. The two pools are sparkling clear and stay open late, one until 11:00 p.m. and the larger pool open ALL NIGHT!! probably seasonal, but a big YES! as we've stayed in parks where the pools close at 8:00 p.m. even in the summer. Not here, and by the way the ocean was open 24 - 7 as well. Grounds well maintained, restrooms/showers up to date and clean. We've stayed here a few times, sites in the "West Bank" are off a road that is a more narrow but manageable. See ya next summer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
The owners of this park have tried to re-define the meaning to the term “Resort” but this park is anything but. As soon as we had checked in and were led onto the property we felt that this was one of the less nicer places we have ever stayed at. It is a concrete jungle with no trees or shrubbery to speak of, and they pack the RVs in like they were sardines. The far majority of the rigs were either travel trailers or 5th wheels with less than a handful of Class A's. When we were led to our sight, the staff member guiding us never got out of his golf cart until the back of our rig came into contact with a truck parked along the drive. Although I accept responsibility for having ultimate control, I thought it was the staff members’ job to get us into the site safely, a bad assumption on my part! I guess the staffer's only job was to help me read the big bold numbers for the sites so I parked in the right one. All he could say was that it could have been a lot worse, and his coworker who arrived a few minutes later was heard to say that maybe I needed a smaller RV. This is a place where the majority of campers park and flock here on weekends leaving their rig unattended during the week. Obviously some of the residents are permanent, contrary to the web site, which seems lacking. The beach is a very long walk, difficult if you have small kids and are toting typical beach stuff. If you love ants, this is the place for you. On the plus side, the pools and the laundry areas are very clean and the bags of ice reasonably priced. The office staff was very professional but not friendly, making me realize their focus is solely on the $$ and not on customer satisfaction. We left a day early. We will not return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This is an older park. It has many seasonal and longer stay rigs. It allows golf carts and has activities for children. So on weekends it is busy and active. Look both ways when walking off your site. Did have a Frisbee bounce off the coach but dad took it away after he saw it happen. The usual walk through your site stuff. Most long term sites were in good shape, though some did look their age. An OK time but would look for a more quiet location. We were here for a rally so had no choice. My car and 45 ft rig just fit on site. Note for dogs, the TX stickle burrs are what you have for grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$19
This is one of our favorite parks mostly because it is close to a wonderful beach. I totally disagree with the previous post. The park is well maintained and its workers keep it immaculate. The bathrooms and showers are always spotless. The landscaping this year is poor; not by fault of the park but because of the Texas drought. The sites are spacious with nice patios and plenty of room for a truck or toad. There are a multitude of activities for winter Texans. The office staff tries it best to deal with a very busy season. This was our fourth winter here and we intend to return. The only faults we find are an unheated pool and poor Wi-Fi at times when it is busy. Yes, they did build a dog run, but this was voted as the most needed item by the park guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
We stayed at the Pioneer RV Resort in Port Aransas, Texas for the second time last winter and I would rate the park as mediocre at best. The sites are small and everyone is jammed together so there is little room to park a tow vehicle. They have an insufficient number of rest rooms but they were able to build a dog run instead of addressing the people problem. To make matters worse they had two of the restrooms closed for the entire winter season and the guests were told it was for remodeling but no construction activity was observed. The staff in the front office is also very unfriendly and act like they are doing the guests a favor by allowing them to stay in the park and take money. Customers are also often asked to move to another site for no apparent reason. When they do move the site they vacated is often empty for a long time. There is also inequity in the amount persons are charged because some are given special deals and others are not. The park also has a policy where they charge visitors ten dollars for a daily visitors pass. Considering the very expensive monthly fee this is outrageous. I would only recommend this park to those who enjoy poor customer service, close quarters and a park that smells like a sewer system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
We spent a week here during a time when the area had a "red tide" and bad weather. It rained nearly every day and the surrounding mud flats always had standing pools of water. The resort people keep saying "we need it, we need the rain", but i couldn't understand why since the whole island was only sand and mud flats? It was cold out but the temp did get to 70 degrees for one day however the constant 25 to 35 mph wind took away the pleasantness of that day. The sites are concrete, and large but the type of saw grass that grows here produces thousands of burrs and thistles that blow around the entrance-ways to the RV. Eventually these thistles get inside the RV and one ends up stepping barefoot onto them. After a few painful removal by tweezers operations we decided to wear shoes indoors all the time. Our pet cat didn't like it here. To be fair, we need to return here again during good weather because the people at the resort were very friendly to us and we went to the clubhouse and participated in many activities. They made us feel at home. Unfortunately the resort was only half full when we stayed there in December. The winter Texans there told us of better years where the place was totally filled by Christmas. No such luck this time. A word of note: the maintenance people are especially "ornery" and do not tolerate any parking on the grass and will berate anyone that breaks this rule. I got it twice, even though only one tire was on the grass only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
I spent two months at this park, the rate is based on that fact. I found this park to be as near perfect as possible. Escort to your site, help parking your rig. Restrooms and showers are tile and immaculate and cleaned several times during the day. Trash pick up at your site. Concrete pads and patio, each with picnic table. Sites are wide enough and, as stated, sand with sparse grass. Two heated pools and spa. Daily activities in a huge recreational hall. Friday, Saturday, and Sunday they serve breakfast and lunch. Very good food at below reasonable prices. Office staff are very helpful and aware of all local businesses. A short walk on the boardwalk and you are on the beach. The only negative about Port Aransas is the never ending wind, but then this the Gulf Coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
This is our first long term stay at this campground and we continue to be impressed by how well it is run. There are a large number of work-campers pick up daily trash at sites, police the grounds, etc. The park has been unusually empty for this time of year; no more than half full in December. It probably will pick up a bit in January, but with the slow economy no one is sure. Having so many vacancies does somewhat make up for the narrow sites, though. Most of the campers this time of year are snowbirds and there are a fairly large number of activities each week for them. However, there is no pressure to participate. The park wifi seems better than I remember it six months ago, but that maybe due to the smaller number of campers. The rate shown is for a month on a premium site (plus electricity). One maintenance item that needs improvement is the condition of the grass in the areas between the sites. As a result of the sandy soil and the swarms of birds, the grass is almost non-existent; and that results in sand being tracked into RVs. Not a big deal, but a park as nice as this one should resolve this issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$41
This is a very nice park at the beach, although there are dunes between the sites and the beach with a boardwalk to the beach. (With the wind as it was, that was likely a blessing.) Well-maintained, groomed, beautiful sites. You can drive on the beach (requires $12 permit, good for a year). The beach here is clean, flat, and walkable at all times of day or night. There are two pools in the park, one quite large. Staff helpful; escort to site. Immaculate bathrooms and showers. We stayed for four days and would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
We enjoyed the park & the beach. Pool was nice for kids and not to packed. It's a large park with a lot of RVs and golf carts. We did have to watch for speeding carts with the kids and dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
We LOVED this resort. Everyone was very friendly. The slab sites helped with the sand issues. Very convenient to the beach and the pools are refreshing and clean. We will be staying again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Very nice, well kept park. All sites concrete and appeared to be level. Didn't have any trouble checking in, we had to arrive late after picking up my son from Corpus Christi. Front office friendly, but not over baring. Sites do have picnic tables, cable worked good, as did Wi-Fi. Didn't have any trouble maneuvering the park, we pull a 34' 5th wheel. Golf carts are allowed in the park, we brought ours. Didn't witness any reckless golf cart driving. There is a boardwalk to the beach. Wide enough for the largest golf cart, with pull-out areas on the boardwalk to let pedestrians and golf carts go by. The park has a policy of not allowing rented golf carts on property. I did notice staffers driving around on golf carts either policing the area or fixing things, they always waved with a smile on their faces. There are two pools, we used the larger one closest to the office, good sized pool for an RV park. The pool itself was clean and the area around well maintained. We enjoyed our brief stay and plan on coming back. Sites are what they are, not really closer together than any other park close to a major attraction - this one...THE BEACH! We had plenty of room for our slides, truck and golf cart parking, too windy for awing. Lot's of local wildlife, mostly birds we saw flocks of roseate spoonbills, and my daughter was captivated by the jack rabbits close to the boardwalk entrance. We ate out a couple of times, as there are numerous restaurants near by and grilled some some local seafood we purchased in town. It doesn't get much better than this. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
The sites for the most part are very tight for a large fifth wheel. Campers park trucks and golf carts right next to the road which leaves zero room to maneuver. Golf carts buzz by everywhere even on the boardwalk which makes it necessary for pedestrians to move so they can squeeze by. There are ants and stickers everywhere and although there are two pools they are packed all the time and they are small. The beach is so so, you are allowed to drive on it and there is a lot of trash on the beach itself. Perhaps on a non holiday weekend this would have been better? There are some larger spots but those mostly seem to be dedicated to snowbirds. The people are friendly for the most part, but the gentlemen on golf carts by the front office are grumpy and unhelpful. Some assistance getting our large trailer into their very small site (which I questioned the staff about BEFORE we came), would have been most welcome. As it was we had to ask our neighbors for help and asked another neighbor to move their truck so we wouldn't hit it trying to make our turn. Three people came up to shake my husbands hand the next day. Hardly a relaxing vacation dodging golf carts and picking up trash on the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
This is a well-run park that is clean and well-maintained. The price quoted is based on a weekly rate for a premium site. All roads and sites are paved and have concrete patios. The sites are long enough for a large motorhome and a toad but they are relatively narrow. However, they typical of beach resort campgrounds. There are lots of pull-throughs and getting in and out of sites is easy. The beach is just a short walk over the dunes on the boardwalk. Although it is apparently always a problem, the park management is pro-active with respect to non-residents cutting through the property to access the beach. The free Wi-Fi worked well most of the time; we switched to cellular when the park was crowded on the weekend. Port Aransas is a windy locale, but the dunes do a lot to buffer the campgrounds from the strongest gusts. All-in-all we liked it enough to decide to come back here next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Good place to be close to the beach. Might want to spend the winter there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
This was a beautiful park, lovely wooden walkway to the beach, birding ponds (roseate spoonbills!), all facilities very well-kept, very well-managed place. Our only problem was not their fault. It's quite a ways out from town, and we don't have a tow car. There IS a town shuttle that stops right in front of the office hourly until 5 p.m., with a wonderful local driver who pointed out all sorts of places of interest. We enjoy some night life, though, so ended up paying quite a bit for cabs. Lots of fun bars and restaurants in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
This is one of our favorite parks and we have wintered here for the past three years. The rate reflects the monthly cost. Maintenance and cleanliness of the park is second to none. We love the beach access which is the main reason we return. There are lots of activities. Shopping and dining out are reasonably close. We love it here and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
OK, all the posts are true. This is a nice park, beautifully maintained. Here's the down side: the wind blows nonstop. I repeat nonstop. We paid for a month and left a week early. The wind is just too much. Could not sleep. That's how bad it was. Just be prepared! No shade. Rate based on monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$45
Everything they said it was. $45/night was a bit steep. The only problem was that some of the activities scheduled were for people who had been there all winter, you just couldn't join in. The weather was horrible (rain and a low of 26 degrees). We were a couple of hundred yards from the beach, but could not see it because of the dunes. If you like being around 400 other people, need an activity center, pool, and showers this is the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
This is a top notch RV Park that has beach access. Short walk to the boardwalk access to the beach, and it is fabulous! The facilities are excellent, the sites level and all concrete. This is a great park for using the beach, and the sites are easy to get into for the pull through sites. We would return in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
This is a huge open park with all paved roads and sites. Great beach access via boardwalk. Like all Gulf coast parks it can be very windy. Friendly staff, full amenities and lots of activities in clubhouse. A little too structured for us as you had to sign up ahead of time for them. Laundry facilities are very busy. There are mainly winter residents who kept to themselves. It is pricey for what you get. Wi-fi was just okay. We camped here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
Well-kept campground, large sites, too cold for pools even though they were available. Had to pay for cable TV ($2.50/night). Close to the beach and town of Port Aransas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$15
This is a clean, nice, somewhat cramped RV park. The units are placed too close together. There are two swimming pools and a large clean hot tub. The RV park is in a rural setting and about 4 miles from Port Aransas which is beautiful The one thing that really makes this park a great long term place to stay is that it is with walking distance of the beach and that makes the place right if you like the beach. I have a dog and the solid beach that doubles as a road is a great place to jog-15 mph please. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
Was a nice park. It's a little too high priced, and the staff was pro-winter Texan. Which is great, if you are a winter Texan. Had lots of RV shuffling during our stay. Made us nervous about getting our RV run into. We may come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
This is a very clean, well maintained park just a short walk on a boardwalk to the beach. We had a very nice back-in spot in the back of the park away from the highway noise which, for us, would be very annoying. We stayed here before the arrival of all the Winter Texans so the park was only about half full and we had no close neighbors. The rates were more than we would normally want to spend but we decided to pay the price to be close to the water. We stayed four weeks and the daily rate reflects the added cost of electricity and cable television. We would be hard pressed to stay longer at these rates. The Wi-Fi only worked part of the time. There were several connections available and some worked better than others. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
After lots of research we decided to stay at Pioneer, and I definitely have mixed feelings about it. We opted for an expensive site as I didn't want to be near the highway listening to the cars buzz by. Actually all of the sites are very good so that was a waste of money. While the park has lots of amenities, I felt it was very expensive, and I felt nickel and dimed after having to pay extra for cable and electric on top of the very high price. Our site was facing in a terrible direction for the 30-40 mph winds. Every time we opened our front door it just about ripped off the hinges. While the location is close to the beach and has a nice boardwalk, I think we would have been happier with money in our pockets in a different park. We probably will not go back to this location. There are many other parks in the area that are less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
There is no site selection management. We had a extra long RV Coach park adjacent to our site during our stay, blocking the breeze and view. Many other sites were available to allow RV separation, however, sites were assigned starting from one end to the other with no forethought of type rig. When we complained, the park staff said we could move to another site. They further stated the computer assigns sites. I requested a refund and cut our stay short by one day. Had to argue to get the refund! Also, no picnic table on our site. Some sites had two but I hated to complain and did without. We have been coming here for many years but this will be our last visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
Nice park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Well maintained park and convenient to the beach (just a short walk over the dune). We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
Second time we've stayed here. Long, level pull through sites. Good Wi-Fi and cable although they charge extra for the cable. Mosquitoes were rampant after the recent rain. Bring repellent. Since there are so many choices, I'm not sure I would stay here again until checking out some other parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Park is clean, pleasant and an easy walk to the beach, also convenient to shopping and restaurants in town. There is no shade, however the sites are grassy and level, and they are very close together. The pool is large and enjoyable. I would recommend this park and would probably stay here again, although not in the extremely hot summer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
We have stayed at this park a number of times in the past but probably will not again. The park rules are simply not being enforced. People not picking up after pets and are feeding the birds; it is becoming a problem with droppings everywhere. Many vehicles at a single site and parked on the grass or half in the roadway. We ended up backing half a block with the rig because of vehicles parked half in the street with no one around. Golf carts are everywhere and take the right of way in the streets and the boardwalk to the beach with many being driven by young kids with no supervision. We observed many were parked on the grass or half way in the streets. Cable is now an extra daily charge. WiFi was intermittent but good when it worked. The mosquitoes were horrendous. In Port A, the city sprays nightly. On the plus side, they have a great breakfast on weekends, even though the prices have gone up. In general, it appears the park has peaked and is starting to slide down hill from lack of care by owners and mangers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Nice clean campground. A lot of extra charges. People at office not too friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
This was our fourth Memorial Day weekend in this park but a new rule has been instituted that will probably make this our last stay. Since our kids live in nearby Corpus Christi, we invite them to have dinner with us one evening. The new rule charges all visitors $10 just to enter Pioneer Beach Resort, even if they are only staying a couple of hours. We realize the economy is in a downturn but we cannot abide this over-reaching tactic. Adios Pioneer Beach Resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Like so many others, we used to really enjoy going to this park, but now find the park has lost touch with reality. We had a month long reservation, but experienced a death (my father) in our family one week prior. The refund policy was still followed, so we lost half the month's cost. We did show up 3 weeks later, post funeral, and discovered the cost has gone up and they even charge a petty $2.50/day for cable TV. WiFi is OK, but intermittent. The work campers are friendly, but the real owners are not quite as in touch with their customers. We'd recommend you look around, perhaps Gulf Waters, before finalizing on this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
We stayed in slot 325 which was right next to the boardwalk going to the beach. Great park, clean, good size spaces, lots of nice green grass !! The park was very quiet. We had a nice breeze everyday and will go back ! The Port Aransas shuttle comes to the park every 45 minutes for those that need it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
I personally stayed in the park March of 2009 (wrote review in Nov 2009) and recommended this park to a friend who stayed here in March of 2010. (He does not have an account online and was not very impressed with the park. This is his review.) The Wi-Fi here is a joke. The laundry is way too small. A rattler was killed near the laundry. The on site breakfasts were great. They love to move you around to different sites. Has excessive charges for electricity. There are many activities in the clubhouse. It's a nice walk to and on the beach. Has a great shuttle into town. The hot tub and restrooms were excellent. Other campers were decently friendly. Final statement: This is an ok place, will most likely look for other facilities in the future. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
This is a relatively nice RV park with a few exceptions. The entrance & exit onto the highway is dangerous - there should be a turning lane. Good proximity to the beach. We were here during spring break and it provided great diversion. The sites are concrete and fairly level. They have two pools but neither of them were heated - cold cold cold. This was a huge disappointment. The laundry facilities are older and requires coins. If you don't have enough quarters, you have to drive over to the office and buy some from them. No change machine or detergent dispenser in the laundry room. The garbage bins were overflowing on several occasions and there is only one location (near the office) for the whole park. They drive around daily to pick up garbage however you can't leave the bag on the road because the birds attack it as soon as you put it out. We stayed here for a month and we could count the days that we had less than a 10 mph wind. It blows here all the time. And many times with that wind comes sand and salt. We had our awning out once for an hour or so. The park is close to Port Aransas for groceries (although there is only one grocery store - IGA) and many good restaurants (lots of seafood). There are several WI-FI servers to choose from in the park however the signal is hit and miss most of the time. We were constantly changing servers as the speed changed. People here were very friendly and the park was kept clean. During the winter season they have an inexpensive breakfast & lunch menu in the Rec hall on weekends and lots of the usual activities throughout the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
We almost did not stop here because of the previous review. In thinking about it I can't quite figure out why the reviewer had concerns about who was in what site and how often they moved. It makes me want to review the review more than the campground. That reviewer obviously had issues with something more than what they are saying. This campground is a fair, middle of the road campground. It is a bit too expensive for it's condition and amenities, but it you are paying for being on the beach. As with ANY campground on the beach, it will be windy and you will get a layer of salt on everything. The paved sites are pretty close together and long term residents are allowed to put up their own structures which can be an eyesore. We are paying a daily rate so electricity is not a problem. The Wi-Fi is strong and fast. But we are fairly close to the office. The worst thing about our site is that it is next to the main road so we get a lot of road noise both day and night. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
Our month-long stay was pleasant enough but: the Wi-Fi service in this park is a joke. It’s essentially non-existent. Like the Wi-Fi service, management is non-existent. With the exception of the delightful woman at the breakfast counter, the people who work here don’t seem terribly happy. This place is lacking any “personality”. Rig moving is a frequent occurrence. Practically every day we saw someone move from one site to another: often just one or two sites over. We kept asking ourselves “Why?” Our electric meter didn’t work. We discovered that several in the park don’t work and the way the park dealt with us at check out was to arbitrarily charge us for 10 kwh per day. The mail is delivered to your box the day after it arrives at the park. Seems like an unnecessary delay to us. Packages can be picked up only during a 90-minute window. Prices are going up. Current monthly rate is $100 more than it was when we made our reservation. There were always open sites. This big-rig friendly park has three things going for it. (1) The beach (2) Friendly residents who come back year after year (3) Tasty weekend breakfasts that are a great deal and a great way to meet friendly residents. Assuming the place will be more expensive, and still not have decent Wi-Fi, when we're this way again, we’ll pass next time. Two more things to note about this location. (1) It’s always windy (2) Salt gets everywhere! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
Our site was large but not attractive. There are no trees in the newer section of the park. The grass is completely full of sand burrs. There is a delightful boardwalk to the beach with a large, wonderful beach that allows dogs. There is always a brisk breeze or stronger wind blowing salt spray on everything. After a month we had rust on our steps, on our bikes, on our motorhome brakes, on just about everything that could rust. Too bad because we liked Port Aransas and the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$36
It is a nice park but the some problems with internet service. The staff says the net admin has a program that slows it down on the system. The owners need to think their hiring practices when it comes to management, we stayed at their other park in Palacios and both this and the other one have rude people running the operations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$13
Price is monthly rate ($400/month). They have different rates for pull through vs back in and for spots close to the beach. Our spot was a standard back in spot. Still only a 5 min walk to the beach. Staff was friendly and very helpful when another park gave away our reserved spot. They offered to let us stay for a couple nights and if we decided to sign up for a month they would put the amount toward the monthly rate. Clean, well kept and convenient location. Lots of snowbirds and plenty of activities at the clubhouse. The only major downside is the grass if full of stickers, so no running around barefoot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$36
Excellent park. Only negative is that they liked to move people around for no reason apparent to me. I had three different spots in two weeks and they were all of the generic back in's variety. I found some people seemed to be a little unfriendly, but I found out later that most of those have been here for many winters. They have made their friends already. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
This is our second time hear, this year for 3 weeks. Compared to our 2 week stay last year, our stay is less enjoyable... grounds are not being well kept, less club house activity, some of the office staff is a little snarly. Seems to be a lot less folks here compared to the same time last year. Main attraction is the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
We love this park mostly because of the location next to a fabulous beach. The park is spotlessly maintained, with loads of activities, and a great staff. The restrooms, showers, and laundry facilities are top notch. The sites are all cement with nice patio areas. This is our second time during pre-winter season and it is one of our favorite places. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
Good camping experience! Weather was really hot: 95+ degrees every day which is unusual for this time of year. Appreciated the daily trash pick-up. Friendly folks all over the place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Just finished a week at Pioneer Beach Resort.We have never stayed at any campsite at the beach. We were escorted to our site by a volunteer in a golf cart who help us back in and hook up our cable. The cable was awesome and the site were very clean. The family bath house is the nicest cleanest public bath house I have ever used and we camp at many state and rv parks. Almost everyone has a golfcart and I found that if I had one I would have been using it too! The rv park is big and would find a cart to be useful navigating to and from the boardwalk to the beach.You are just a few minutes from town and shops. There is a trolley/van that will take you there for a minimal amount. Next time I will use that too! I thought our location was perfect it could have only been better if we had a corner spot. I would have given them a "10" if they had more palm trees! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
We had a good site. Close to board walk to the beach. Don't forget your golf cart! The park is huge and I wished I had one! You can drive it on the board walk over to the beach. About a half mile up the island there is a beach access road where you can drive your truck on the beach. Park was packed on the weekend with kids and families. Restrooms were somewhat clean. Laundry room was nice . We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$49
This is a nice park, but expensive. And, then they charge extra for our 3 kids. Desk staff wasn't that friendly, but the guy who escorted us to our site was like a long-lost grandpa. There wasn't much water in their ponds. The grass or lack thereof is a challenge to deal with. Our dog and kids had stickers everywhere. The sites are concrete, and the boardwalk to the beach are positive amenities, but the close sites and grass burrs really detract from the appeal of this place. We have returned because there is no decent competition. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$41
Over priced for a slab of cement almost awning to awning near the beach (rate reflects super site + cable + electric for a week), which was covered with seaweed and unusable other than to walk on if you could find a path. Was told super site simply meant closer to the boardwalk (needs to be cleaned off) and the large pool (which was closed for 2.5 days of the 7 we were there for cleaning and repair). Very hot and humid and windy this time of year and we would not return to Mustang later than April 1 if we come again. Lots of seasonal Winter Texans and weekend local trailers take up sites with annual rental. Great place to come for quiet beach life, as the town is geared to lots of restaurants (Shells and Pelican Landing were the best we found) and expensive beach shops, many of whom are open when they feel like it during this time of year. Trolley to downtown every hour; 2 pools; lots of rules without much observance or consequence; pet friendly but many don't "pick up"; very friendly workampers; would return if rate was better and didn't have to pay for cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
We really loved this park. It is just yards away from the beach, and their Wi-Fi was wonderful. This park was kept very clean, the sites are cement pads, and the laundry room and bathrooms and showers were all very clean at all times. The pool was clean also, and much fun for the family. The only strike I would give them is that they needed to keep their boardwalk clear of sand. The management hosts, and full-time neighbors were all great. This is an awesome place to stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again. (We stayed a month.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This park has it all! Great, friendly staff. Great location. Very nice amenities. Nice, level, cement pads with wide spaces for your slideouts. Easy, short walk to the beach. Very family friendly and safe. Cable hookups for those rare occasions when you have down time. I can't really say anything bad about this park. I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We camped here with an Escapee Rally. The park has paved roadways and parking spots. The rec building and pools are great -- clean and up to date. The walk to the beach is really a plus since you don't have to drive your vehicle to the beach. The drive to Port Aransas is only 4 miles or you can take the trolley. The park staff are doing a great job here. The Wi-Fi is really good with many pick-up points around the park. The new golf course is next door for golfers. We will definitely return in the future. One suggestion, drive thru Corpus Christi and along the road on Mustang Island to reach the park. Skip the ferry unless you don't mind long waits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Nice park! Weather could have been better. Great fishing in the area. Friendly and helpful staff. Many activities in March before the "Winter Texan's" leave for home. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This is a nice park with a private boardwalk leading to the beach. It is about 3 miles south of Port Aransas so you'll need to drive or ride the trolley to get to stores and restaurants. The pull-through sites are just large enough for a big rig and car, and the pads were all concrete with a small patio and picnic table. The pool and spa facilities were very nice, as were the office and common areas. Staff were very friendly and very helpful, which is no small accomplishment in a park as big and busy as this one is! We were there during peak season (spring break) and did not have any problems or inconveniences. We will surely go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Although the park is within walking distance via a private boardwalk, the park has 500 sites and is like a small city. We wanted to camp here for a month but we wound up being shuffled to different campsites every week or so because they were "full" during spring break in March. We noticed many empty premium sites all through the park but were told they were unavailable. If you have a site by "the fence" you will hear the road noise from highway 361--the main road through Port Aransas. During spring break, the place was packed with unruly adolescents and their friends. Many teens drove electric golf carts through the park at top speed. Some raided coolers from adult campsites. And, despite camp quiet hours, many of these spring breakers partied well into the night. If this reflects the "family friendly" label for this park, we'll probably go elsewhere next time. Perhaps the place has a more civilized atmosphere during the fall and winter months when many Winter Texans find refuge from the cold weather states. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$21
Rate is monthly. Great location. Easy beach access and the trolley to town (25 cents) stops hourly. Site are fairly close but still room for slides and lawn chairs on small concrete patio. Good Wi-Fi. Good satellite reception. Good cell phone reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
We stayed here 6 nights while visiting friends in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful. While we were there we looked at the other RV parks in the area and concluded that Pioneer was the nicest for the price. Gulf Waters was probably the nicest but is quite a bit more money. The park was almost full with snowbirds while we were there. Gulf Waters was probably 1/3 full probably because of the price. There is a trolley that comes by hourly that will take you into town. Riding a bike on the beach is just a fantastic experience. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Great facility! Clean, spacious, paved sites. Easy to access pull throughs and convenient hookups. Great location, with a short walk to the beach, and very short drive to the town of Port Aransas. Super friendly staff, and fun planned activities. Pools looked great; we didn't swim because the weather was a bit chilly. Quiet at night; the only sounds are the ocean breezes and waves lapping on the shore. We will stay here again. It is a first rate vacation destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$17
We stayed here for two months this past winter. We had never been to Port Aransas before and fell in love with it. The weather was perfect and the park is located just over the dunes from a fabulous beach. The staff was wonderful and there are lots of planned daily activities. The park is mostly cement but it is pretty and the sites are all level with cement patios. Everything was spotless and we really loved it. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
Very nice park with the main asset being the proximity to the beach. Good social programs including aerobics, golf, Thanksgiving Dinner, weekend breakfasts, etc. Sites are on the small size, with narrow roadways making it somewhat difficult for larger units to manipulate. WiFi & cable work very well. $30 per night includes extra charge for cable... also electrical is extra. If we come back to Texas next winter, we plan to stay here for the month of November. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$42
Great location - only a dune away from the beach. There is a nice boardwalk across the dune as well as a fresh-water rinse station. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The restroom/shower facilities were immaculately clean. The sites were a little close together, and there were a number of sticker-burrs. The park charges $3.00 per person per day for more than 2 people at a site. The rate of $42 per night includes an extra $9.00 we were charged because of our 3 children. We will return, but the price (and published increase effective April 2009 of $4.00 per person over 2 per site) will limit returns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Huge, well maintained, excellent friendly staff. We stayed during offseason so it was practically empty towards the back. All concrete pads/driveways. Food at the rec hall was cheap and worth it when too tired from all day beach/fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This is by far the best place our family has stayed at. This place is perfect for young families. There is plenty to do for the small children, yet is active enough for parents who also like to have a good time. Having the beach within walking beach was great. In our group were people in their 40's 30's 20' teens and small children and everyone enjoyed their stay and couldn't wait to come back. Port Aransas also has so much to offer for everyone looking for summer fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
This is a really nice campground. They do not allow you to request a particular site in the campground to park even if the park is not full! Apparently, they are booked solid through the summer and project an attitude of needing to cooperate with their patrons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
This RV park is HUGE... and for the most part - well-managed, however, the reason I rated it as a "6" is because some of the sites are older, and this is where they put us, and as a result, it was very difficult to get into, and extremely hard to get out of. And, during our stay, one of the permanent residents there was constantly "remodeling" his trailer and was parked in several adjacent slots. It was noisy, and treated as a junk-yard during our entire (7-day) stay. The staff were friendly, the pool well-kept, the hot tub well-managed, and overall, the property is nice. But, due to our "neighbors", this stay was not one of our better experiences. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$48
This is a good location if you wish to visit Port Aransas. There are many pull thru sites with all the necessary hook ups. No trees and a little distance from the beach. However, they do have a built walk way to the beach area. It was very windy while we were here so did get to enjoy being outside at the campsite. One thing we did notice is they seem to put everyone on top of one another. There were many empty campsites but they had all of us side by side at one end of the campground. It would be nice if the staff would give some consideration to this arrangement especially when the park is far from full. We did not use the facilities in the camp ground so no comment there. And we've noticed that the word RV Resort seems to be miss used in many of the camp grounds in that they are far from my idea of a resort. We would stay here again for the convenience of visiting the gulf coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
We loved this park. Very close to the Gulf (just walk across the boardwalk), and also close to Port Aransas, so it was very easy to run into town for a nice seafood dinner. The park is extremely clean, everyone is very helpful, and there are plenty of facilities for all campers. We would highly recommend this facility for anyone visiting the Texas coast. By the way, you can drive on the beach in Port Aransas, so many campers bring their "beach carts" to drive back and forth to the beach from their trailers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We spent the month of March here and could not have been more happy with our choice. But lets face it when you are a short walk from the beach its easy to overlook any of the small complaints, if any, you can find with this park. It does however pay to remember that you are on the ocean and most days were windy. Perhaps a blessing in July and August but a bit annoying in March. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
Wow! This is a great place to stay. Beautiful campground with all paved roads and sites, very nice facilities - two pools, activity center, woodworking center, fish cleaning area, etc. and great staff. If you love birds, you'll love this park. Birding areas are included inside the park with many sites right next to them. Activities are slowing down now that it is April but if you are here in the winter, you will never have a dull moment. You could wear yourself out going to everything. Folks here in the park are real nice and friendly too. The beach is just a short walk (or drive)away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
This is a very nice park with a lot of activities on site. You can walk down the boardwalk to the beach from the park or enjoy one of their two pools. The only drawback for us was that the sites are a little small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
Great park with one or two problems: blind side back-ins and narrow streets which made backing in a problem. Luckily there were no RVs parked across from us! Staff was not overly friendly or knowledgeable: asked for a place to eat and they could not tell us. But they did adjust our daily rate to a weekly rate when we decided to stay 7 nights instead of 4. Laundry was clean and neat. We will probably go back, but request sites away from the highway noise and one easier to get into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
This is one of the nicest RV parks we have ever stayed in. We had an electrical issue upon arrival, and by the time I returned from the office they were out working to fix the problem. A great location with great staff. Plenty of grassy areas and a short walk to the beach. We will defnitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
We are first time campers at this campground; we really enjoyed the park. The large pool was very nice and clean. Maintenance and ground keeping was actively being performed while we were staying at the park. The board walk to the beach was well maintained, the beach access was easy to reach. We would definitely stay at this park again and recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Pretty much your typical RV Park. The one thing that I absolutely hated was the fact that they allowed the golf carts on the board walk to the beach. There is not enough room for a person walking and a golf cart to pass. You either have to jump up on the railing or back step to a bench where you can stand on that to let them pass. In my point of view, they shouldn't allow this. It wasn't as if there were only one or two golf carts in the park either. There were a lot. The sites were nice and level thanks to the cement pads you parked on. The beach is a 5 minute walk tops from anywhere in the park. Clean and well kept. Free high speed internet which was nice also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
This is a nice park with a great location near the beach. The sites are concrete and level, although slightly tight. The restrooms/showers had a ant problem and really need major remodeling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Our first impression made us question our choice of camp ground, as all we saw was a crowded parking lot, that was completely full of RVs. As we walked around, we realized that it is only a short walk to the beach. The sand dunes prohibit you from seeing the beach from your site. The pool was one of the best I've ever seen. We started liking where we were. There were lots of young families like us. The campers were very friendly. The office staff could be a little nicer, but we didn't have any problems. The trolley does stop at this campground. Its a short distance to town. On weekends, the campground kitchen sells burgers and such at a reasonable price. After driving around town, we realized this was the best park. We had a great time and would definitely go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
Pleasant campground, just yards from the Gulf. Beaches are not pristine in this area; tons of washed up seaweed not yet cleaned up. Our perspective is this: The beaches are not taken care of; dogs crap on them, the drunks leave their beer can trash, and driving on them should be stopped. As far as Pioneer is concerned; watch where you step!!! No dog scooping done here! Quiet time at nite not enforced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
The staff were most accommodating, helpful and friendly. We were parked directly across from a pond which was home to various types of birds. The grounds were very clean and the other campers, as usual, were very friendly. We will definitely enjoy returning to this location We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
Wonderful campground. Just a hop, skip and a jump to the water. Beach was just wonderful. Bathrooms and showers very well maintained. Staff was awesome. Very, Very helpful. Grass at the all the sites. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$33
We stayed here for 5 days. A lot to do In the area. And lots of fresh seafood from the docks nearby. The staff there is very helpful with just about anything you might need. It has great beach acess also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$33
We stayed here 3 nights and had a great time. Our site number 325 was right at the boardwalk that goes to the beach. We could hear the ocean surf at our site. The staff was very friendly. The resort is clean and well maintained. Cable TV costs extra, but worth it. WiFi is free and a little slower than our DSL service at home. The premium sites have plenty of room. We would definitely go back. It will be a shame if the resort closes next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$34
Many, many RV Parks to choose from in this area. We picked a good one. The boardwalk to the beach was a great feature and we used it daily. There's really just one road that runs along the island so all the parks are close to the road. I've seen others complain here about road noise, but I think you'd get that at any of the parks on S.H. 361. The sites are quite close together with just a 10 foot swatch of grass separating them. There are no trees whatsoever, that's the price you pay for being 300 yards from the beach. Shower and bathrooms located conveniently throughout the park. There were two swimming pools, which we didn't use in December. The club house calendar was full of activities for snowbirds staying for months. We were just visiting for a few days but made to feel welcome by the staff. We arrived Christmas Day and the office was closed. There was an envelope ready and waiting in the "late arrival" desk - well organized office ! Very good cable TV line up and great, fast WiFi service. There are several WiFi antennas throughout the park. A twenty-five cent trolley to town comes by hourly. Lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$28
This park is an excellent value. The premium sites are worth the additional price if you like to be able to hear the ocean from your rig. They also offer free WIFI throughout the park, which is very rare. There is an additional charge for electric service if you stay a week or longer. Lots of activities at the rec hall, including breakfast and lunch served on the weekends. This is also a great value, since you can have a full breakfast for about $3 per person, and it's a great way to meet other people. They do charge you $10 for a mailbox key if you want to receive mail, but you get that back at checkout. They also give you information on the area at check-in, including a schedule of the trolley that stops at the park every hour during the day. We enjoyed this park so much that we extended our stay an extra week. The park is under contract to a developer and their website does provide information regarding how much longer they'll be taking reservations. One employee did tell us he thought it would be two to three more years before they closed. We hope so, because we'll definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
Hard to beat this place or this time of year for visiting it. Very friendly office staff, grounds, rest rooms all spotless. Nice sized spaces, good hookups, very good wifi included in price. Some signs of deferred maintenance since the place is threatened with closure due to condo conversion. The hot tub badly needs refurbishing and replastering, the pools are not heated but were really refreshing and great for lap swimming. Gorgeous beach of fine sand was so firm you can ride your (fat tire) bikes on it. Really nice boardwalk to the beach also constructed so you can ride your bikes over the dunes to the beach. Loved our stay here and will keep coming back until the condo pirates get it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
Excellent place to kick back, eat seafood and walk the beach. Real nice faciliities and friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
This park was really nice. The people that worked there were pretty helpful. We felt they had a personnel problem and did not feel real welcome by one of their outside workers. But other than that, it was an ok place to visit. Great broadwalk to the beach! Lots of birds to view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
The previous reviewer and I must have been staying in 2 different parks. First of all, there is indeed no shade. There is no shade anywhere in this area of Texas, and especially so on a beach area. Get over it. You want trees, go to Tennessee. You want beach, come here. Second, there was no road noise. The park is set back from the road and the big rig area is even farther back, near the beach. And, the traffic in November is not heavy. Neither my wife nor I heard any road noise, day or night, and we are sensitive to that. Third, the beach is a short walk over a very nice boardwalk across the dunes. The boardwalk is wide, lighted at night, and very well maintained by the owners of the park. Now, as to the park itself. My wife is disabled, so that is something we are very conscious of when it comes to evaluating a park. Pioneer rates high in that category. The showers are in enclosed rooms and very private and include a toilet. We just wish there were more than 2. That did make for waiting at times, unless you wanted to walk to the other building. The park was absolutely level with concrete pads and each site had a good grassy area (which our dog liked). It was very easy for handicap access and my wife was able to get to the beach in her scooter for the first time in years over the boardwalk. The park was very clean and there was little noise. The pool was large and clean. There is a small store on site for the necessaries (milk, soda, etc). On Sundays there is a pancake breakfast which is ok. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Grass is mowed regularly and garbage is picked up daily by park staff at your site. We were not crowded, but then it was not that time of year. Even so, the sites are wide enough so no one should feel hemmed in. One caveat: if you have dogs, watch out for walking them in grass areas surrounding the park as there are scads of cockleburrs to get in the fur and pads. WiFi access was good. As was cell phone reception. Check in and out was easy. The town of Port Aransas was a short 3 miles away. Close enough to get food or other supplies, go for take out barbeque (some of the best I've ever had) or seafood, as well as bait or fishing equipment; and yet far enough so it was not intrusive. A shuttle bus to and from town runs all day long. Fishing was very good right in the surf at the end of the boardwalk. Overall, highly recommended and we plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2005
$27
A large rv park with paved streets & sites. Street noise from the main road adjoining the campground. Restrooms & showers were OK. No shade. Long walk to the beach. Inconvenient to the town of Port Aransas. It is several miles away. There is a city run shuttle service however. I would not want to stay here for more than a day as there is nothing to do (i.e. no shopping close by, not close to water, etc.) I believe this park appeals to snowbirds who just want a place to stay for the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Great park!Very nice and helpful staff. The beach is just short walk over the nice broadwalk.The playground is very small.Good park for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Very nice park. They have 2 pools and a hot tub. The best part to me was being able to just walk over the dunes to the beach via the boardwalk. I loved being so close to the beach. They were very nice and had no problem giving us a refund when we were evacuated due to Hurricane Claudette. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This is by far the best campground we have stayed in. We arrived during their office hours and were escorted to our site via a nice gentleman named Tony. He assisted my husband in backing our travel trailer into the site. They have two beautiful pools, a small playground, boardwalk to the beach, a game room, and laundry. The store had everything you could need. Staff was wonderful. They answered all of my sea shell questions with smiles. Kids had a great time. I would recommend this resort to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$27
This was our maiden trip in a new fifth wheel to unfamilar territory and we were not dissappointed. The park as far as I am concerned could not be out done. The place was spotless! The activities endless and the scenery wonderful. Many of the campers were "Winter Texans" and a joy to be around and converse with, the surf fishing wasn't bad either. All in all we had wonderful time and would recommend this facility to anyone. Also the beach is just over the sand dunes an easy walk over the boardwalk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$28
This was our maiden trip in a new fifth wheel to unfamilar territory and we were not dissappointed. The park as far as I am concerned could not be out done. The place was spotless! The activities endless and the scenery wonderful. Many of the campers were "Winter Texans" and a joy to be around and converse with, the surf fishing wasn't bad either. All in all we had wonderful time and would recommend this facility to anyone. Also the beach is just over the sand dunes an easy walk over the boardwalk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$26
A very clean resort with well kept grounds and bathrooms. 2 swimmimg pools. Free trolley ride every hour into town. Well stocked campground store. Less than 100 yard walk to Gulf of Mexico if you get in the row of sites nearest to the beach. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com