217805 User submitted reviews online!!
Copper Breaks State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (940) 839-4331
CGID2879

Copper Breaks State Park

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   2   9   8   10   9   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
Excellent. We really enjoyed staying here. Super quiet, dark skies made easy night star viewing opportunities, large sites, interesting local small towns to visit. Had a great week here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This park is beautiful! We arrived late and the information for late check-in was clearly posted. We left a message and the staff called back immediately and told us to go ahead and set up and they would see us in the morning. The sites were large and fairly level. The bathrooms and showers were clean and well maintained. It was quiet and the scenery on the hiking trails was awesome. We would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to other campers. There is a herd of the Texas longhorns on the premises, but we didn't get a chance to see them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Would not stay here again. Site 16 very unlevel and if you wanted to build a fire in the grill to BBQ, you could not because the fire box had not been cleaned out for a long time. Checked the site across the street same way. Just lazy employees it appears to me - just my opinion. I will say they were very nice people. Saw 4 employees but only saw 3 campsites being used. Why so many employees? The covers over many of the picnic tables were in bad shape. Shingles coming off, not maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Nice quiet "GEM" of a Park with wide open sites. Lots of trails, friendly park staff, only two other campers on Friday night. Excellent place for a group outing! We used it as a stop over but it would be perfect for a nice quiet weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This park isn't overly scenic, but it is quiet and peaceful. It does have very interesting natural and historical exhibits at the headquarters. RV sites don't have any shade for the RVs or vehicles, but there are shade shelters for the tables. Sites are fairly level and don't require much adjustment. Good views of the night sky and lots of deer and rabbits. Beach/swimming area was completely dried up due to the drought. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
We found this park after rejecting a very scarey private campground. The park is clean, quiet, and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We have a Texas State park pass so our entrance fees were waved. There are lots of hiking trails and be sure to ask about the areas interesting history and different geography and natural features. I wish we could have stayed longer but we were very grateful for the one night we spent in this quiet well maintained park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Very nice quiet park with very few campers. Sites are level & large space between sites. A perfect place for star gazing and at night you can hear the coyotes howling. Restrooms & showers are clean. Good hiking trails. Lake was low due to the drought. We were only going to stay 3 nights but extended the stay to 6 nights. Will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
We stopped at Copper Breaks overnight and were delighted with the park. It is a small jewel state park that is underused. Groomed hiking trails were very nice. Few other campers were there. All sites were level and the ranger told us to pick any site if we did not like the one assigned. Will definitely stop there again. It is 10 miles from 287. Worth the drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
A really nice state park with good level sites and good separation. Scenic area when the cottonwood trees are changing colors in the fall. Interesting small museum at the park headquarters. Wild turkeys, deer, coyotes abundant in the area. Friendly park staff. Park also had a star watch with an incredible starry sky. Longhorn Ranch, a great steakhouse, about 10 miles to the west. The park has the official state herd of Texas Longhorns. Hiking and mountain biking available. A good place for a relaxing weekend. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Bare bones campground but worked well for our family. We stayed here for the Perseid meteor shower (touted as "1 of 3 darkest places in Texas") Nice open space for the kids to roam. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Beautiful park. Not many people there. Everyone there was very nice. The lake is down and the stream are completely dry. Good hiking. No Internet and limited cell phone, though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
The hand out, history sheets of the area was great. The only complaint was that to park in the west side of the camping area, requires passing the first entrance and going to the 2nd entrance, or go to the end and back up to turn around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
An unusual state park, indeed, very 1960's era. Sites are nicely spaced and, as previous reviewer noted, complete with very tipi-like shelters. Our experience was shaped by the off-season nature of our visit, the place was almost empty and the wind was howling (up to 40 mph), so we just sort of hunkered down. We did enjoy walking the trails when the wind died down, but do beware the fire ants, which are all over the practically unused trails. If you have small children, the sad little playground won't provide much entertainment. Not sure if we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Fantastic staff went out of the way to accommodate and welcome us. Park is classic stuck-in-time Texas state park but very well maintained. All sites are back-in but very easy access. Since sites are back-in, you'll be disconnecting your towed vehicle but there is plenty of space to park it astride your motorhome. Beautiful geography and wildlife to study. Lots of history to learn about. A great stay. We over nighted and would gladly do it again and even stay longer given the chance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
Nightly rate excludes $2 per person day use fee (BUY A TX STATE PARKS PASS!!) No weekly discount given. We stayed in Comanche Camping Area. Well maintained, excellent museum at office, mostly clean grounds, friendly staff. Over the air TV is tolerable, cell reception is 2-3 bars and wireless is weak. Gravel, back-in sites are somewhat close together, W/E on side and easy to access. Dump station is next to restroom/showers. Showers were NOT cleaned while we stayed (1 week). Innovative picnic table cover; shaped like a modernistic teepee with the lowest end facing West to provide maximum shade. Not much shade otherwise, so in the summer I imagine this place can be H-O-T ! 10+ miles of maintained hiking/biking trails. Excellent scenery, lots of bird, insect and flora to observe/photograph. Town of Quanah, TX is 13 miles North of the park where fuel/food/etc are available, library offers free wi-fi access. DARK and QUIET. With respect to a previous reviewer, there ARE mosquitoes here as well as biting flies. Even with the unclean showers and the costly nightly rate (IMO), this is a good place to stay for a few days or a week at most. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We love this park! The spaces are large and it is easy to get in and out of. The scenery is beautiful and it is very relaxing. Low humidity and fewer bugs than the metroplex. Fabulous chicken fried steak at the Depot Restaurant in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Although the restrooms and showers were not the cleanest (keep in mind It's no commercial campground) this was a unique experience. The campground was almost deserted, only 1 other RV was there. The views were awesome and the quietness was over welling. The park ranger was nice and helpful and full hookups were no problem. A once in a lifetime experience. I only wonder why people always leave their mess behind In these kind of places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We really enjoyed this campground and plan to return. The only disappointment is that you cannot see the lake from the RV campground. If you have kids that want to play in the water be sure to take water shoes as it's a bit mucky. We appreciated the spaciousness of the campsites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$13
Park is approximately eight miles brom either Quanah or Crowell off Us 287 of US 70 respectively. 25 sites have water and electric hookups. All have picnic tables, cabanas/ramadas, fire pits, latern hooks and are level and deep with great separation. Fishing in either "Big Pond" or Cooper Breaks Lake, as well as swimming and picnicing along either lake. CG has some great trails that range from easy to somewhat challenging as well as some great vistas. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com