215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Ancient Oaks RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (361) 729-5051
CGID2885

Ancient Oaks RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   8   10   8   5   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Very nice park for the price, based on monthly rate of $300.00. The staff is friendly and busy keeping the park clean. There are some older park models that detract a bit for the over all ambience, other wise I would have rated it much higher. The Oak trees are beautiful and you can't beat the location to the city of Rockport and Corpus Christi. Spaces are large and roomy. They have newer concrete pads but the older grass sites are just fine for a $75.00 savings. We looked around at other RV parks while here and are glad we found this one. There are a couple that are more modern and nicer in Fulton but this park is fine for us. This is a large park compared to the others too, with much bigger RV spaces. Roads are a bit narrow at some points and the entrance has a tree in the middle of the road that could disappear as far as I'm concerned in order to widen it, but ok in a 40' motorhome like ours. There are permanent residence here living in manufactured and park model homes, and coexist with campers just fine. Nice lounge and pool, plus a camp store as well. The exercise room needs work. I would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
As others said, older park. Definitely want to get on new concrete pads if a big rig. Wi-Fi is Tengo and slow. "New" exercise room has equipment I was afraid to get on because of age and condition. Rate is weekly on new pads. Plenty of treeless spaces. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
This is an old KOA park with some upgrades. The bathrooms have been refurbished with tile but the shower stalls are KOA "snug". Park was near full with what appear to be long stay sunbirds. As an overnighter, we got placed in the back of the park in the original section. The internal roads are paved, but the spaces in the old section are grass with many of them not particularly level. New section has concrete pads and seem roomier. Services are split with sewer on opposite side of water and power. Web speed was okay once you navigate Tengo system. Good selection of cable channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Good park. Wi-Fi speed was good. Has lots of cable TV channels. Beautiful area with lots to see, or just to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This was a wonderful park. Staff was very efficient and cheerful. We were shown sites available for our choice and led down to the site we chose. Large concrete sites available for a higher fee. Pool was clean, as was hot tub. We were only about 2 miles from a beautiful beach, and lots of fishing places. All shopping was within 5 minute drive. We would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
Easy access to the park. Check in was easy and they drove you to pick your spot. All grass sites with some trees. Water pressure was good. We could use our Verizon phone and Dish . We were in the older portion of the park. They do have newer sites with cement pads. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
Wow! I cannot support other higher ratings from other reviewers. We were assigned to one of the truly "Ancient" sites, sewer on one side, power and water on the other. After getting relocated to a site with hookups all on one side, all we had to deal with was long power and TV extension cords, sand (no grass) all around the rig, and raucous birds in the "Ancient Oaks" around us. We will not be returning this truly ancient, ex-KOA campground. By the way, the cable TV was not HS and frequently was noisy. And the Wi-Fi really did work, about 25% of the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
I gave this CG a "10" and it certainly deserves a high rating. The staff was excellent, though this CG is very busy this time of year. An oasis for warmer temperatures, we left Louisiana with 23° temperatures to here at 50-60°. If I were looking for things to complain about, the entrance is not a large one and if over anxious campers want to block it, they can and do. The only problem we had was with the clientele, some of whom were very rude. The staff did an excellent job of dealing with them. This park has a calendar of things to do, something going on every day including Sunday with a non-denominational church service. The internet worked well, the Cable TV has an ample supply of stations. I would camp here again. 99% of the other campers were very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Rate is based on weekly rate of 180.00. A wide variety of sites in this park from lots of trees to no trees, large and small. They are good about showing you the sites and letting you pick the site you like if it is avail. They have a nice doggie park where you can sit and let your dogs run and play ( all fenced ). They have good cable tv but pay wireless internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
Very nice RV park but management needs a little education on how to work with the RVers. That's the only reason I didn't give it a higher rating. Some friends stayed here with us and decided they liked it enough to stay an extra week. They checked with the office to see about an extension of time and, after personnel there hemmed and hawed around for about 20 minutes, they finally told our friends to check back in an hour. Well, during that hour, they found another RV park so moved on. We heard several other campers complain about management, too. That said, they have installed new sites (level, concrete pads) but with no shade. The older sites are not paved but are level and shady. Very nice. Some are longer than others so be sure to indicate the length of rv you have when you reserve your spot. Interior roads a bit narrow but the big Class A’s didn’t appear to have any trouble navigating them. Bathrooms and laundry very clean. Didn’t use the heated pool or hot tub but, although the pool looked a bit on the small side, it was clean. There is an exercise room but the lights didn’t work and there were no instructions on how to use the equipment. Had we gone to an exercise class that was offered, though, we might have learned how to use it. Potluck dinners once a week; crafts, bingo, and other activities. The TV service was good and the high speed Wi-Fi worked well for us. Our dog really appreciated the large dog run. Lots of squirrels to keep you amused and the broad-tailed grackles (or whatever) will provide you with never-ending squawks, whistles, chirps and various other delightful sounds. If you’re parked under a tree, they’ll also give you reason to wash your RV! Even with the management problems, we would stay here again and would recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
We spent 4 nights here. We did not check out modem hookups or telephone hookup but did check everything else including their club house which is an older house complete with kitchen, restrooms, game room, etc. This is an older park but well kept and we enjoyed out stay. The TV service was good and the high speed Wi-Fi worked well for us. The restroom is recently remodeled, all tile, clean and outer doors has a coded lock. Laundry room was well equipped with 12 washers and dryers that all worked. Pool and hot tub looked nice but we didn't use them. One major improvement would be paving of individual pads. Interior roads are paved and newest sites being built have concrete pads. This is the last park in Rockport, on the left. The only store we saw in walking distance was a Dollar Store. The staff we interacted with were all friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$10
The web site registration did not work. I left 3 messages via telephone and none were returned by the staff, this should have told me something. Overall the park was fine, with a new dog run, pool, etc. I stayed 2 months, and paid electric bills that were 50% to 80% higher than I've ever had before. The management's response was pay up or leave. During the 2 month stay 6 other campers and I finally choose to leave, which hard to do in south Texas in Jan. and Feb. Some campsites had older electric meters, but mine was the new and improved model. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
This is a very nice park. Staff were friendly and helpful. The park is clean and well maintained. It's location is ideal because it is only 3 blocks to the water and downtown. The sites are roomy and the trees provide nice shade at many of the sites. The only complaint we had is that the sites are definitely set up better for bigger rigs with the water, electric and cable on one end and the sewer pretty far away on the other. We really had to maneuver about and stretch things to get a full hook-up. The pool is on the small side and closes at 10 p.m. It would be nice if there was no closing time or a much later time so we could have adults-only time in the pool and hot tub area. All in all a really nice place to spend time in Rockport and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$24
The staff was very friendly, they assisted us to our site. The campground is very clean and offered us everything that we look for at a campground. They had a very nice Rec Hall that offered a variety of activities. We talked to and made friends with several other campers, which were also very happy with this park. We, as well as many others, plan on returning and possibly making this one of our winter homes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
When we arrived I went straight where I should have turned to the left. I stopped because I wasn't sure where our spot was and the office was closed, as we got in around 7:00 PM. Two men in a golf cart arrived shortly after that and told me to follow them, but to look out for the low branch over the road. I looked back and found the top of my travel trailer less than a foot from the branch. I worked my way around it and followed the golf cart to the spot. I was going to have to make a U turn on the property to get to my pull through site, but first stopped at our spot to drop off the wife and kids, who had to go to the bathroom. While off loading them the golf cart went down to the end of the road and waited for me. I noticed an older man walk towards the golf cart and the driver of the cart and older man began to argue. The driver of the golf cart came flying out of the cart and confronted the older man, who ended up being slapped in the face and then grabbed by the head. The two men disappeared and a few minutes later the older man returned driving the cart, got me turned around, and into my spot. The campsites seem bunched together and the roads are tight to say the least. The electricity and water is between two sites so one trailer is on the hookup side and the other has to hookup by dragging under the trailer to the off side. In my brother in laws case, who was next to us, he had to plug in his electricity in the front of his camper. Thankfully he had an extension cord. The sewer hook up was slightly below ground level and covered by a split rubber plug and rock. About 2 AM on Sunday morning the wife woke me up saying the AC had turned off. I checked the breakers in the trailer and then at the post, both were fine. Then I noticed the burnt smell, the plug had shorted. Nothing like a trip to Wal-Mart at 2:30 AM for a 30 amp extension cord. We were able to hook up to a vacant site with the extension cord. On the way back from Wal-Mart I noticed something new on the marquis out front, "CAMP WORKER NEEDED". Guess the younger guy from the fight was fired. We were glad to see checkout time come around on Sunday. As we were leaving the wife went in and voiced our displeasure with the campground. We won't stay there again. The older man involved in the fight earlier did come to our campsite on Friday evening and apologized for the altercation we had witnessed. There are several permanent/semi permanent setups, some trailers and some mobile homes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
New owners (friendly) took over in fall of 2004. Owners are making many improvements. A very nice family atmosphere . I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2004
$12
The park was a Passport America participant. Upon registering were were taken to our campsite and set up. the park is a mixture of seasonal and non-seasonal campers. The site was large enough to put out our slide and awning and had full service. The amenities were plentiful. The pool was a real treat as our daughter and her boyfriend were in a tent and had to cool off by going swimming. The washroom and laundry was clean and a good size. It appeared as though the owners were selling the park. It did need some TLC but we figured this was due to the selling of the park. We really enjoyed the time we spent at this park and recommend it to anyone who is planning on visiting the Texas Gulf Coast in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$21
A lot of pernament set ups and park models. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com