206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Goose Island State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (361) 729-2858
CGID2886

Goose Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   10   10   9   7   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
This is a terrific park - clean, quiet and our site was right next to the bay. And all for just $22/night (plus a $5/person/day entrance fee). Be sure to take advantage of the scheduled activities. We went on one of the morning shore bird walks and really enjoyed it. Ask whether you might save on fees by purchasing a TX state parks annual pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$32
Great, great spot and wished we could have stayed longer! Beautiful bathrooms, and we were parked right by the bathroom bldg. We were In site 12, overlooking the water. Great Wi-Fi near the building! Road our bikes out to the 1,000 year old tree (1 mile) and saw the whooping cranes. Super cool area with all the windswept Southern Live Oak trees. A photographers dream! Stay here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Very nice campground. We camped in the trees to avoid the wind which was smart. Very windy which chased some of the beach campers into the trees as well. The hardy souls stayed out there and seemed to have fun but it's not for me. Blowing sand and spray out there. Very popular for fishing. Pier and boat lands were well used. Very nice park. No Wi-Fi. Busy on the weekend but not unbearable at all. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
What a wonderful, well managed campground!!! I loved it here. I camped in the wooded section. The sites are shaded,well maintained, large and private. They are perfect for small rigs, however, larger ones might find it too tight with too many overhanging limbs. Most of the large rigs use the ocean side sites. They are right on the water but are small crowded and have no shade. This park fills up in the summer so get there early or make reservations. I would gladly camp here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
Wonderful bird guides that do bird walks with campers. Friendly and clean. Great experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
Totally agree with other reviews; Goose Island is a great state park and campground. You can get either ocean or wooded sites and there is free WiFi available. The park is well managed with clean restrooms. Great scenic location with lots of wild life and the Big Tree. A 10 if full hook-ups were available. Also, nearby Rockport has some very good restaurants. POPs on the road to the park looks a little dumpy but servers great seafood. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$21
The rate reflects use of a discount coupon and Texas Pass. As others have noted, birding is great in the wooded area, but the spaces can be tight to get into for bigger rigs. The wooded area also gives better protection from the winds, which can get wild on the bay. We stayed two weeks in the bay section where we had no difficulty backing our 32 foot rig into a site. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and probably would have rated the campground higher except that the numerous airboats frequently (sometimes constantly) coming in and out of the bay could get pretty obnoxious, especially on the weekends. Another irritant … the internet was out of service in our section. With a long hike down to another section along the bay, we could get internet, but it was extremely slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
We camped in the wooded area so we could have a campfire (not allowed on water front sites). Excellent park staff, very clean park, excellent size sites. We met several great folks who have been camping there on the same weekend for the last 10/20 yrs. We were able to get through all turns with a 35' trailer and a long bed truck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
This is a very nice park. We stayed on the bayside. The sites are roomy, which allows you to position your trailer facing the water, if you want. It was quiet and the neighbors were great, except for some loud day campers next door for one day. It was so windy during our stay that we really couldn't fish (not the park's fault). We tried to move to the shaded area of the park, which looked very nice also (with roomy and private sites), but the park was booked for the holiday weekend. The staff here are all very nice and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
We have stayed here several times, always in the wooded sites. There are large trees with low overhanging limbs. Larger rigs need to be careful. The restrooms are kept clean, even on weekends, but they need to be updated. Mosquitoes are both fierce and plentiful so bring plenty of repellant. The park can get pretty crowded on weekends as it is a favorite with Boy Scouts and other groups. We come here for the birding which is outstanding during spring migration. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Excellent state park, with great staff, and an awesome gulf view. We camped on the west bay front #25-#45 RV sites section. Bay front allows you to pull-in, back-in, jack knife-in to maximize your view of gulf or picnic area. Just be careful not to get boxed-in. Lots of fisherman w/ trucks, trailers and boats close to bay front sites. Wooded area for RV and tent camping is much quieter. Lots of mosquitoes in grass area. We drove to Rockport Beach about 10 miles south for swimming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
We have camped at this park twice and loved it both times! We stayed in the wooded area the first time and the bay the second time. Both are incredible. There are low branches so be careful. The office personnel are extremely friendly and helpful. If you're staying more than a few days, buy a State Parks pass and skip the per person entrance fees, then you have the pass for a year and it's good at any Texas State Park. The other campers were mostly "winter Texans" so you run into some very rude people during the winter, but all in all, most people were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
We were in site #31 along the water. Right on the water. Price reflects paying the $6 a day for daily use. We loved this campsite very much. Excellent bird walks in the morning. Staff at kiosk friendly and helpful. We plan to come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$26
Wi-Fi (weak) is available next to each shower-house, and the main office. Half the sites are in the woods and half are on the ocean-bay. Very beautiful well kept park. Friendly staff. We stayed here during the duck hunting season, so the loud airboats woke up the ocean front sites two hours before sunrise, then the snooze alarm went off 1/2 hour before sunrise, when the shooting started. Just noisy, not dangerous. The wooded sites have low hanging branches from the Live Oak trees, so tall rigs must use care. The office person told us which roads to avoid for branches. Sound travels well over the bay, especially at night, we could hear distant heavy machinery running. Fishing was poor in the bay, you need a Texas license if you step in the water, but not if you fish from shore in any state park. Whooping Cranes winter here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
There are 2 bay areas for camping plus wooded areas as well. Stayed in a bayside site: 1 row away from water. Each site has covered picnic table water and electric. You can park your RV any way you want. There was a fishing pier nearby. We could hear airboats leave every morning before dawn which was a little annoying & duck hunters shooting before dawn a couple days. There was also a long fishing pier on the other side of the campground. We really enjoyed the birds in the area. We were able to photograph whooping cranes near the park as well. Loved the park and the area around Rockport/Corpus Christi. Would definitely stay here again. We camped for 7 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This park is very nice. It's beautiful in the trees. It was very hard to move through in our motorhome because of the low trees. It was extremely hot in the woods. Then we had problems with electric hookups. We moved to waterfront where we extended our stay 2 extra days. We would return to waterfront but not to woods with a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
We were very impressed with this park. Some sites are on the beach (although half of those will be closed during 2011 as the park rebuilds the sites) with no shade or protection from the wind (but great bay views), and the rest are in the "woods," which consists of lovely live oaks and thick brush. We opted for the wooded sites to avoid strong sun and winds along the water and had a private site with no view of anyone else. We were surprised to learn that the park was full during the week of our visit, until we learned that three rare whooping cranes were staying nearby and a rare Central American bird was resident in the park. This park has, in addition to the usual campground hosts, "bird hosts" who conduct multiple bird walks during the week. The live oaks intrude on the roadways in the wooded areas of the park, but liberal use of yellow reflectors on the trees helps to avoid damaging the RV. It was easy to set up our satellite dish even in the woods and our internet cards worked well. The park leaves the Wi-Fi on at the entrance station for those who need it, but they have to go there to receive the signal. The price shown does not include the $4 per person per day access fee that Texas charges, but a $60 annual pass pays for itself in a few days with camping discounts. Rockport is 6 miles away across a long bridge. We'd definitely stay here again the next time we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
The park is divided into two distinct camping areas. There is a bay front area and the tree area. We reserved an RV site with 50amp service in the tree area. When we arrived we were told that there were no 50amp sites that would accommodate out 5th wheel. Apparently all the 50amp sites were in the small site area; if you have a 50amp pop-up, you are in business. I believe that the bay front sites have 50amp service, and they are quite large pull through sites. We like the park, and have camped here for many years, but now that our latest 5th wheel likes 50amp service we discovered a small irritation. The state of Texas does NOT require a fishing license for anyone in a state park, so fishing on the pier requires only a hook, line, and sinker. We will return to this park in the future, but we will request a bay front site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$27
You can't get any closer to the Gulf of Mexico without getting your feet wet! This is a very nice state park campground with two areas: in the woods and on the beach. The beach campsites (where we stayed) are very close to the water and the nose of our motorhome was about 20' from the breakwater. There is a small shelter with picnic table at each site which offers protection from rain, wind, and sun. We were able to pickup the Wi-Fi signal because we set up near the washrooms. Many visitors seem to be fishing in the area...the beach is not really that suitable for swimming or beach combing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
This is one of our favorite state parks. Sites are available either on the water or back in the woods. We camped in the woods because it is quieter and there is less wind. This park offered guided bird walks every morning, and three evening programs the week that we were here. A great destination for birders. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This is a very nice park, right on the Gulf. The staff was friendly and the grounds were well kept. It's handy to the Aransas Refuge which was very interesting. We were able to choose waterfront (the park would have loaned us fishing gear), or wooded. We opted for wooded as we didn't want to deal with the strong onshore winds. The wooded sites were well spaced and easy to back into. So far, we are very impressed with the Texas State parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
We stayed one night just for a place to rest. Since it was Sunday, I couldn't make a reservation-just got a recorded message, but it had the phone number for the Park Ranger, so I called and left a message and he actually called back! He was very helpful and friendly and said we could show up whenever, and gave us the code to get in if it was after 10pm and gave us directions since he said the GPS would send us to another location about 6 miles away. His directions worked and we made it just fine. There are wooded sites and bay side. The wooded are $16 and the bay side $20 plus $3/per person for the state park day fee. We stayed at the bay side area and it was okay - nothing special but we do like being by the water. It's on a seawall rather than a slope to the water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
This park has three types of sites available; waterfront, open area, and wooded area. The waterfront sites are a few yards from Copano Bay, and include a 2-sided shelter. The open area is similar to a standard RV park setup. The wooded areas offer a lot of privacy, with a dense copse separating the sites from each other. Sites have water & electric, a fire ring, charcoal grill, and a lantern pole. Some of these wooded area sites can be difficult due to the trees, brush, and narrow roads, so bring your trailer-backing skills with you. Our stay was made less than perfect by hordes of aggressive and hungry mosquitoes, some of which fought their way through dense applications of repellent. Bring plenty! We like this park a lot and will return many times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
This park offers bay front sites with water and electric. Our camper was approximately 18 feet from the water. There are also wooded sites that have great shade and lots of space, but those sites are a quarter mile from the water and have no ocean view. Fishing is free (no license) for state park guests and there is a long, lighted fishing pier available. The Texas Parks and Wildlife employees were helpful and the park was very clean. Every space was reserved several weeks in advance for Spring Break. The park is about 30 minutes from Aransas National Wildlife Refuge, where you can see Whooping Cranes during the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Nightly rate is for bayfront site. Very friendly and helpful staff. Two caviats - 1. If you have a big rig, plan to camp in the bayfront sites. Wooded sites are mostly small. 2. Try to get one of the lower numbered sites on the bayfront. The west end (higher numbers) gets more spray during high winds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
This in another quality Texas State Park with a lot to offer. Two areas comprise the park; the water sites, located on the bay, and Wooded, which are carved out of the heavy woods. We passed on the water sites; a bit cramped, not very level, smelled bad (they're right next to "stinky beach") but have nice views of the bay. The wooded sites were very private, with a small entrance that was a challenge getting a 40' MH into, but opened inside into a large area with fire pit, BBQ, and pad with picnic table. The facilities are extensive, with hiking and nature trails, boat launch and fish cleaning stations, and a large fishing pier. Guided bird tours and photo classes are offered, and the staff is very friendly. This is an excellent park for both the retired community and families. The only improvement would be addition of sewer hookups. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
One of our favorite spots. Wonderful sites right on the bay, it can be very windy, but its worth it for the views and sunsets. Good restrooms. The interior sites are more sheltered and private, but are pretty tight for a large RV. HEB and Wal-Mart are close by. Lots of lovely restaurants. Only 1 negative thing, the air boats leave very early in the am. Take ear plugs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
We made a one-night reservation but stayed for three nights. The rate was $20 for the site and $3 for each person plus a internet reservation fee. Our total cost was $81 for three nights. We camped on the bay and enjoyed the site. You can park at the water's edge. There is no beach, only a sea wall. The water was about 2 feet deep but there were lots of jelly fish (non-sting type). We drove across the bridge toward Rockport and found a great swimming beach on the left. You can't miss it. The sign at the entrance to the park said Mosquito Advisory and they were right. We loaded up on bug spray and enjoyed our stay outside. There was some geocaching in the area so we did that too. Lots of fishing going on if you like that. The Rangers were giving talks and letting kids fish. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
Absolutely beautiful. Great friendly staff. This is the best State Park I have been in in the past year. Texas really does know how to take care of its State Parks. This one is a must do. You won't want to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
We stayed in this park for six nights in March 2008. It is well-known for its fishing and birding opportunities. GISP has two camping areas: the woods (reputed to be buggy) and the waterfront (infamous for its high winds and salt spray). We stayed in the waterfront and, although we felt the winds and our vehicles got some spray, the experience was terrific. We have friends who camped in the woods and had no problem with mosquitoes. The wooded sites are definitely prettier but the waterfront is an adventure. Free bird walks, led by birding hosts, were held four mornings a week. They were very interesting and beginners felt quite comfortable. The diversity of species and the number of birds amazing. We didn’t get involved in shore fishing but many beachfront campers did and, on a busy morning, there would have been at least 50 fishing boats at the launch. Finding a fishing guide at the boat launch looked very easy. The park also has a nature trail worth walking and there is a beautiful, easy bike loop to the famous, 1000 year old Big Tree. Washroom construction was underway and the one beachfront washroom was under stress from a lot of use. GISP is an another excellent state park. Wi-Fi was a bonus but somewhat tempermental. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Reasonably sized, level and very private sites in wooded area. Be sure to accept their offer to look before you select a site. Some can be very tight because they are so densely wooded. Though dense the trees are short enough a dish will work on many sites. The water pressure at my site occasionally exceeded 95 psi so a regulator was a must. I think they were working on the park water system so this might have been temporary. The WiFi only served one of the beach areas and the immediate vicinity of the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
This park offers camping on the ocean - with W/E, shelter, and table. Nice large sites with view. Park is quite a distance from town so stock up prior to arrival. We were able to drive in without a reservation but the TX State Park reservation system is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
This park would be a 10 if they had sewers. Nice large sites. Ours was backing on Aransas Bay, clear view of the south for the satellites. The wooded area would have problems accessing satellite in a lot of spots. Lots of birds to see. Jan/Feb/Mar they have a bird walk four mornings a week. They also had slide shows at the rec centre to explain what is happening at GISP, bird identification, all sorts of things. They even have a book exchange program and very close to Rockport for shopping etc. We enjoyed our stay here and would have stayed longer if they weren't full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
We enjoyed our stay in the wooded section of the park. Parking a large rig with slides can be very difficult in this area due to the large trees. You better be good at back-in maneuvering--else head to the bay sites. Our wooded site was very comfortable once we were in. Our picnic table and fire pit was almost completely hidden and private. Suggest you drive around first and find the best spot for you. Bird watching was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$16
The beach sites are great. Good firm ground, not like some of the other beach camping I've experience. Even the biggest rigs can park water front here. Its not much of a swimming beach. Though I'm not one myself, I was surrounded by fishermen. I found the park in general exceptionally well maintained. On two occasions I saw park staff stop trucks and get out to pick up a single can. The WiFi only works within a couple hundred feet of the main entrance. That only covers a few sites in the wooded area and a picnic table next to the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$14
Very nice park with both wooded sites and bay front sites. The wooded sites can be difficult due to the trees and how they grow, the sites on the outside loop are better and more private. The bay front sites can be very windy. Really nice fishing pier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$15
An enjoyable state park - some sites alittle tight because of the way the trees go, but when you find one that fits, it is a lovely place to be. Had all types of birds singing to us all day long. Sites are very level in the wooded area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com