206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Palm Canyon Hotel and RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (760) 767-5341
CGID289

Palm Canyon Hotel and RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   4   8   8   7   7   7   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
This is a great park. All staff are friendly and easy to work with. The park is in need of cosmetic updating but it's comfortable and has beautiful views. Lots of potential. Nice clean pool & hot tub. Great place for family vacations. Very dog friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
This is a bank owned property, but check in staff working for the management company and are very nice and helpful. They allowed us to use two back ins as a pull,through. Like the other comments, it is not well maintained. No soap in the bathrooms. No heat in the bathrooms. Paper towel dispenser coming off the wall. Both female and male bathrooms marginal. One of the pools and spa closed. It is convenient to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
I’d like to give this place more stars because I used to come here in the '90s, before we had an RV, to stay in the hotel. I enjoyed it and have good memories. That was then. Now I think 4 stars is generous. The place has suffered considerably since then, and now it is a picture of deferred maintenance and neglect. It’s sad. It needs a new owner to put a million dollars into it, plow under the campground, and start over. Peeling paint abounds and one walkway is cordoned off because it is too broken to use. It looks like a place that is on the way down and out. First the good points: I think it’s the cheapest place in town (our rate is for a month stay). I thoroughly enjoyed the hot spa each night. The laundry is handy (but small and busy as the entire town uses it since the town laundromat closed). Staff is friendly and helpful. The showers are big and pour out tons of hot water (no low-flow shower heads here). Now the bad: The campground is a huge ugly field of dirt and sand broken only by the last sad remnants of landscaping: dead and dying trees and shrubs. Its just a vast, charmless sea of dirt. When the wind blows the sand sandblasts. (We know: one windstorm removed the paint from the front of our RV and frosted the windshield! And we hate to think what a sea of mud it must be after a rare rainstorm. The ground is badly rutted in places. (I fell while crossing one too slowly on my bike but the gash on my leg healed in a week.) Our plastic picnic table was cracked (most aren’t). There is a water surcharge added to your bill, but ironically one sink faucet ran continuously the entire month we were here. (We reported it twice; it may still be running.) The two swimming pools aren’t heated, which makes them useless in the winter, and there were only two lounge chairs by the Rv'ers pool (bring your own). Wi-Fi doesn’t reach into the campground. The restrooms are cement, 2X4, and formerly painted plywood with no charm and they’re serviced irregularly. (One soap dispenser remained empty for several days). There was dog excrement in our campsite when we pulled in (a negative first impression). Elsewhere I saw the stuff lying in common areas and not picked up for days. In summary, we’re very sorry we stayed here a month (the wind damage was very expensive). We have no intention of ever returning. Stay here if you must, but if a strong windstorm occurs you’ll be very sorry. (Other places in town, including the park campground a mile away, suffered no sandblasting damage.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Have to agree with other posts that the Campground is in need of upgrading however, that being said, there was evidence of a large amount of landscape cleanup going on (salt cedars getting a haircut on the south side of the park) & the rest room/showers appear to have been spruced up/painted. Restaurant is a hidden gem with wonderful southwest offerings. Front desk staff was very helpful & accommodating; spa was hot - didn't try the pool or laundry. Sites are somewhat uneven on sand but you can wiggle your unit around to make it work. Fantastic location right next to Anza Borrego State Park & 1 mile up the hill from Christmas Circle - the heart of town - where I participated in a bike ride. We also went up to the lovely little town of Julian for some apple cider & pie & were snowed on! Although I would return to the town in a heartbeat (I love all the interesting geologic stuff from Box Canyon to the Salton Sea) I have to admin spouse was not as impressed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
We camped here 3 nights over Easter weekend. We were a family of 4 adults and 2 dogs. We planned on meeting friends for a total group of 15 people for a Saturday night dinner. The hotel was hosting a wedding at the same time, but they were very accommodating in allowing our friends to park in our site and no extra charge for all of the extra people and vehicles. Due to elevated fire risk, we were not allowed to have any open flame, but using our Weber BBQ was OK. I was surprised that they had both grey and sewage hookups available at our site. The showers were very nice and clean. The RV pool and jacuzzi was nice the first night, but after the wedding guests stayed up until 3am partying around the pool, it was looking pretty nasty the next day. I guess there was no curfew for pool use. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. $43 is a fantastic deal compared to the state parks that cost $60 per night near the beaches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$34
We stayed one night here because the Springs was full and they suggested this. Average campground. We had a spot near the back and it was tight backing in. They have a heated hotel pool which we used and also the hot tub. There are no other activities for kids though. We walked and biked to the visitors center where there is adjacent desert to ride bikes, walk dogs etc. Nice restaurant and store. Front desk was helpful and friendly. They have an amphitheater and a place for fire rings for groups. My motorhome overheated and Tito's in town is a great mechanic and reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$34
Very good location right next to entrance of the State Park Museum, central place to visit. Museum is a walkable distance, but at least 1 mile. The sites are gravel, not paved. There are some trees. Some sites are significantly easier to use for larger rigs, so be sure to ask for one if you are over 25-28 feet. Some 50 amp and some 30 amp. There are extensive grounds with hotel / motel type rooms. Buildings are western style. There is a nice restaurant and bar. There are some meeting rooms which are available for nominal rates. We enjoyed our stay here as part of a small rally. This is a very good park to have that type of function. We stayed here the second week in March, which is just ideal as a time to visit. A beautiful area, with wildflowers this time of year, and also perfect weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
Easy access from the main highway. Packed sand interior roads with some trees. Maneuvering is tight and spaces are very close. All utilities worked properly. Nice hotel, restaurant and store. the park is located close to all attractions in the area and is a great place for a base camp to explore the Colorado desert area. A short walk to town. The park is usually full on weekends during the "season" and is used by several large groups. There are other parks in the area including the state park; however, this park is the best value for the price. Biking, hiking, 4 wheeling activities, or just gazing at the magnificent desert sky make this a park worth the return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$36
A previous review of a person saying: "Nicest commercial RV park ever stayed in," was for wrong park. I suspect it was for the Springs At Borrego which we drove through. The best word to describe The Palm Canyon is average. Sites are close together. Most of park is on a gradual slant that may need some leveling but we didn't for short stay. We had a back-in site against row of trees provided some shade. Some hiking trails behind the park. Short bike ride to SP visitor center or into town in other direction. Clean newly painted restrooms with plenty of showers with looks of more work in progress. Have 2 pools and 2 spas. One is heated but could've been warmer. Pool/spa in need of some resurfacing. Nice exercise equipment as part of hotel that RV guest may use. Advertise having basketball but is located in a parking lot with cars park on court. Have a Sunday food and drink special at Hotel bar where you can get $1.00 burgers or 3 tacos for $2 and $2.00 Margaritas. $5.00 a day for WiFi at site or free in lobby. Over all we enjoyed or stay especially visiting Anza Borrego during one of the better years for wildflower viewing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$32
Hookups all worked. Back In site not level. Felt like parking in a sand pit. Good WIFI in adjoining hotel lobby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
Decent park. Can confirm previous posts. Sites are tight and densely packed. Services all worked well. We were there for Thanksgiving and it was pretty crowded. Great weather. Couldn't ask for a better location to access Anza-Borrego SP. Right across the street from the park's main entrance. Riding stables down the street were excellent. Had a dinner in the Steakhouse which was decent but service was s-l-o-w even though it wasn't crowded. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Nice clean park, but the sites are very tight (20X40). Office staff is friendly and helpful. All services were centrally located and worked properly. Bathrooms and showers were large and clean. There is a hotel, nice restaurant and friendly saloon located on the property. We stayed here over the Thanksgiving weekend and almost all sites were filled, but by Monday afternoon the place was almost empty. At times other than a holiday weekend, the park would be very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com