206486 User submitted reviews online!!
San Angelo State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (325) 949-4757
CGID2892

San Angelo State Park

Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   7   9   9   9   5   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
Was surprised to discover that the lake had been dry for sometime since my last visit to this park. The conditions are clearly budget cut related. The park is still clean, spacious, level, and home to the friendliest state park staff I've met in 40 plus years of camping. I was in good spot for WiFi service even though I was told not to expect it where I was to be located. The biggest disappointment is the company that used to do trail rides through the park no longer does them. You can still bring your own horses, but it was a feature I used to love about this park. San Angelo has grown up enough now that you are with 3 miles of major shopping and restaurants, but you'd never know it from inside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
There are 2 campgrounds - Northern (with shade), Southern (biggest) no shade. Both campgrounds are flat, paved, clean and spacious. Wi-Fi hotspots are present - just ask. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean and heated. Rate $20/night plus $4 per person per day park fee if you do not have a Texas State Park card. Staff very friendly. The advertised herd of bison was small, 5 calves and 4 females. We didn't see the longhorns (grazing far from view). The petroglyphs were not open for viewing unless you are in an organized tour (hugely disappointing) and we were told the dino tracks were also not available to view. We were lucky enough to have a very knowledgeable Ranger take us. They are Permian tracks (Dimetrodon) and predate dinosaurs. There are only a view places in the world these have been found and San Angelo has the largest area, a long dried riverbed. The tracks are plentiful and fabulous but totally covered in dirt with weeds sprouting from many. This is a world attraction and there is no funding to provide any sort of protection program - tragic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
If you are camping here for the lake you should be aware that it is dry as of late Sept. 2013. There is a lot of info on the web and in the brochure about swimming, fishing etc. but there is no water in the lake. The boat ramp is overgrown with trees. Otherwise it's a quiet park with a number of hiking trails. Sites are very spacious and have covered shelters. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This made a great overnight stop for us, convenient to the freeway and supplies, yet still giving a feeling of being out in nature, although “nature” in this area is a bit on the desolate side. We had the campground practically to ourselves, possibly due to the low level of the lake. Our site was easy to get into. Staff was very friendly. Not one of the prettier Texas parks, but more than adequate for our needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
Great place for an overnight. Very convenient to the highway but far enough away that you don't get traffic noise. Helpful host. Clean, well maintained sites. I camped in the South Area. If you have a big rig you might want to check out the North area. The sites in the South are widely spaced and private. I would camp here again if passing by. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
We stayed here overnight and bought a Texas State Park pass in the morning which took care of the $4 a day entrance fee. We were serenaded the next morning by turkeys, about four Toms looking after a large flock of Hens. The place was clean and quite. It was a Thursday night and beside one other person in a trailer we were to only ones there. I would come here again, especially in the off season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
Very well maintained State Park, electric, water but no sewer hook ups. Road and pad are paved. Wide, level, and long pull throughs, big rig access is excellent. Plenty of space and privacy around the RV, a few trees but not a lot of shade. Plenty of grass, covered picnic table, and wonderful views all around. Bathrooms are old but clean. WiFi and cell are good. HEB, Wal-Mart and Lowes are about 3 miles away, as are some wonderful restaurants, and plenty of sightseeing. This park has security gates, both night and day. Sadly there is little water in the lake, but we would stay here again, its very peaceful, quiet and relaxing. We were in the Red Arroyo camping area. Rate reflects Texas Parks Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
We could not believe the state of this park. We have stayed here many times and it seems like it is just going downhill. The personnel at the office are friendly and helpful. Our site was level. The restrooms I will give a 1, they looked like they had not been cleaned in months. The ladies room was terrible; the sink had trash in it and dirt was all over the sink area. The men's room was dirty with a chicken bone on the floor that the ants had stripped long ago. It appears that there are people actually living in the park. I know an oil boom has hit the area, but one can tell by the items laying around the sites that people are using the park as a living area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
As with most state parks, there's just water/electric hook-up. The folks that checked us in were friendly. Our site was in a nice location. It was very quiet. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$17
Very nice campground with large campsites, widely spaced, easy pull through sites. The "lake" in this park was nearly dried up. The grounds were also very dry. Friendly and helpful staff. There were very few campers this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Friendly staff. Asked if we wanted to be near other campers or away which was nice. Hunting was scheduled for that weekend which did not hinder us in any way. Nice overview of the reservoir which is almost empty. The boat launches are more than a quarter mile from the edge of the water. It was still nice now, will be nicer when the dought is over and the water returns. We planned on 2 nights, then extended our stay because we enjoyed it so much here. We bought the annual Texas Parks pass for $70. Otherwise it can be as much as $7 per person, per day, plus camping fees, depending on the Texas park you are in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
We stayed here one night and enjoyed it. The sites are very spacious and the roads leading into the sites are also very spacious. There is no shade only small trees -- so you can see for miles. The lake is dried up right now but we were told this when we called for a reservation. They tell you it is $18 for the night but don't always tell you there is a $3 per person park fee too. The ranger was very nice and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Nice park. Unfortunately, the lake is no more. The drought and heat has really played havoc with the water this year but, unless you're a farmer or rancher, you don't notice it as much 'til you get to a campground where the lake has dried up. So sad. Texas charges $3 a day per person whether you're camping or not and that is reflected in the rate I posted. We had a nice long level pull-through which was easy in-easy out. Part of the Texas Longhorn herd is here and they also have a bison herd but we didn't see them. We did see some cute little ground squirrels at our site (or kitten was fascinated by them) and prairie dogs across from the cattle pasture. The park is close to town on good roads. San Angelo, the city, has a lot to offer in the line of shopping, restaurants, museums, parks, etc. but since we were there only 2 nights, didn't really get a chance to see any attractions. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others, if you don't need the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Easy access and huge, level sites. Very quiet, good security and great personnel. We'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We stayed here for a week and enjoyed our stay. There is no water in the reservoir so there was hardly anyone at the campground. Very quiet yet close to town for visiting. The State of Texas charges a daily fee on top of the nightly fee so be aware when figuring nightly costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$18
Large well kept park with spacious sites and great views. The lake is almost gone so fishing is not possible. The locals say this used to be quite a park with a large lake. Good for biking and hiking now. Quick to get into town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
Very well patrolled and quiet. 50 amp service was dead at our location. The sites were level and well maintained. We camped here 3 days and would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
The RV sites are very spacious and yield great views in every direction. Too bad the lake is almost gone! There are miles of great hiking, biking, and horse trails; but they have not been well marked. It seems that this park is past it's prime since the lake has been lowered. Too bad, it must have been great at one time. The park is about 5 minutes from town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
This park is a nice place to stop for a day or two. The employees are great and willing to help if there is a problem. There are no sewer hook ups at the sites but a dump station on the way out of the park. It was very quite and there were not many people at the park in October. It is on the edge of San Angelo so it's close to food and shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
We stayed here 4 nights. It is a West Texas natural environment, so semi-arid with few trees. The prickly pear cacti were in bloom and were colorfully spectacular. Great hiking trails. Rangers were very informative and friendly.We loved it and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Nice, safe, quiet place for our one night stay. Sites were dirt, but level; nice picnic tables with roofs. Pleasant surroundings. We stayed in site #1 for a longer RV and a tow. Staff were great, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Update on my review written in July 2008 and deals strictly with the South Shore park - North Shore park is approx 8 miles north on FM2288 near US-87 and rates a separate review (IMO). Nightly rate does not include $3 per person, per day, day use fee (Buy a TX Parks Pass!). Friendly staff, asphalt roads, level back-ins and pull thrus; water and electric on the side or near the rear depending on your site. Over the air HDTV reception gives three local channels and two channels from Abilene. Weather radio and cell reception are excellent. Free wi-fi hotspots are available in town at the library, coffee shops, restaurants, etc. Numerous trails in the park for hiking or biking, lots of birds and wildlife. Not many trees are in the camping areas; i.e, not much shade is available, and it gets HOT during the Spring and Summer. Lake level continues to fall and as of this writing, the lake is at 5% capacity. You can fish and kayak but the lake is not as large as it looks on a map. If you plan any water activities, I strongly suggest you call the park beforehand. Nights are fairly quiet. The park is very convenient to shopping, restaurants, fuel, propane, etc. I suggest you read the reviews of the other camping options in San Angelo and you will see why this park is the best of the bunch. Definitely recommend as a place to stay for a night, week or longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
The rate includes $18 for the campsite plus $6 day-use fee for 2 people. We do not have an annual park pass. With a park pass, the day-use fee is waived. The staff recommended the south section for long, spacious, pull-through sites. A reservation was not necessary during this time of the year; there were many sites to choose from. Verizon extended service was okay for cell and fair for the air card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
This is a former Corp park. It’s spread out over 15 miles with multiple sections with a total of about 125 sites, tents included. I am only reviewing about 40 sites near the south entrance. Those sites are long, level, and wide with picnic shelters and grills. Water and electric was good. Bath houses have some age but are clean and well maintained. No laundry. As previously mentioned in other reviews, the bath houses, playground, and dumpsters are not in close proximity to most sites. The lake level is still low. Boat ramps are unusable, but Texas State Parks allow free fishing if you are camping in them. Access roads are easy in and out. Park is about 3 miles from shopping and major highways which makes for good RON or extended stay. Posted rate does not include a $3/person/day extra charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$13
Update on a prior review made earlier this year. Nightly rate based on extended stay (normal nightly rate is $18 plus day use fee). We stayed from 10 July through the end of Sept. Park offers lots of birding opportunities as well as hiking and biking. Not much shade which is a factor in the summer heat! Not very crowded so if you want peace and quiet, this is the place. Be warned - lake is at 6% capacity so if you plan to come here for water activities, I suggest you look elsewhere or call the office first to get the current lake level. The lake is very small compared to what it looks like on a map. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
As with much of West Texas, this park has little shade. However, the sites are still nice. We stayed in the South Campground, and it is the more developed one of the two. We tried to find a site in the North Campground first, but none of them had fire rings (as far as we could see), only charcoal grills. We wanted to have a ground fire so we headed to the South Campground. There are only a few sites there that provide nice shade (to sit under, the camper is still in the sun). Sites 33, 37, 38, and 40 were the best mostly due to shade and seclusion. The lake is almost always low, which makes the boat ramps unusuable. However, there is good shore access for fishing. I suppose you could swim, but there really are no good swimming areas. The hiking trail is nice and a tad rugged. Horses frequent it. The cabins looked small and overpriced, but we didn't stay in them. I've seen nicer restrooms and showers, but they were generally clean and well maintained. There is a nice little gopher park where you can see a city of gophers running from hole to hole. The kids liked that. Overall this is a nice park, but apart from some hiking, there's not much to do. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
We stayed on the south shore, there was lots of space between sites. The bath house is also far away, so we didn't use it. Some shade trees, but in early March, no leaves! There are some good hikes and trails for mountain biking. New Wal-Mart nearby, also shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Suggest purchase of annual parks pass if you plan on spending any amount of time at a Texas state park. Otherwise you will pay $3 per person per night (at this park, others charge different)- annual pass is $60 and you get some camping discount coupons. Lake is at 9% capacity at South Park; North Park has no lake level. LOTS of trails to explore/bike/horseback ride. Staff very friendly and helpful. Recommend you check with park before arrival as park closes for hunting during certain times of the year. Have always had plenty of choices for sites though! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Nice clean park with large sites and lots of space between each campsite. Campsites are somewhat level, and most didn't find it two hard to level out. People are friendly at the park, and it is close to the city for those who wish to venture in. The city is about 5 minutes away, and it has the amenities of a large city. The lake is generally only 7-11% of capacity (5200 acres is designated for the reservoir). There are not many shaded sites at the south shore entrance. Most of the shaded sites are at the north shore entrance, so if you go during the summer look at the north shore area. These two entrances are about 10 miles apart, and the drawback to north shore is no lake view, but then again; there isn't much of a lake to view. Overall, it is a nice country setting to relax in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$21
We camped in the northern campgrounds (Eagle's Pass) because the Trailer Life directory said it was cheaper than the southern campground (they lied). The rate I quoted (approximate, from memory) includes their "per-person park entry fee." I was pleasantly surprised to find 50A service at a state park. The gate attendant was very helpful in steering us to the perfect spot (and later, told us some fine stories, plus where to get the best BBQ in town). The imported prairie dog town was a nice touch (my dog sure appreciated it). Long walk to the toilet/showers but pleasant with a full moon. Nice quiet campground, too. I will definitely stay there again if I am in San Angelo. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$15
South Shore entrance to park yields wide open spaces between campsites. There is also a resident herd of bison inside a fenced area. The North Shore entrance is in a river bottom with huge pecan trees providing many shady sites. 50 amp service is available. There is one section for equestrian users with corrals and many trails available for riders. The trails are avaiable for hikers and bicycles as well. As with other state parks in Texas, dump stations are available in the different campgrounds, and no firewood can be picked up inside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$10
A typically state park run campsite. If you are looking for isolation with camp spaces really spread out, this is it. You will like having a lot of real estate between sites. No or little shade but great vistas of rolling prarie hills and an almost empty lake bed. Very close to city with amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com