214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Texas Sundown Ranch RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (940) 458-5979
CGID2900

Texas Sundown Ranch RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
August 2009
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   4   7   1   5   7   4   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
This park has very dusty roads. The sites are long, however there are no shade trees. It is convenient to the Dallas/Ft Worth area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
We stopped here for one night and used our Passport America to get the $17 rate. The checkin was easy and we were given a long pull through as we were leaving in the morning and didn't want to unhitch the towed. Very satellite friendly, WiFi is available but not free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We stayed at this campground last September and it had CATV. That's gone now and many of the amenities such as newspaper boxes are gone. Upkeep of the roadways is lacking; there are lots of potholes and debris in the area. The place looks run down. Next time we'll try Lake Ray Roberts for a short stay through north Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
Not bad at all. Dusty roads, but they were watering them most every day. Park is wide open and therefore is subjected to some pretty high winds. Very large sites. Nice facilities and a large pool. Has a nine hole golf course on the property and the green fees are ZERO, Zip, nada, free!! Many of the sites are occupied by long term residents, but while we were there the park was only about one third full and you could get a site far away from everyone. We would return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$26
This park is going downhill. The dusty gravel roads are a problem when they don't have drivers that obey the speed limit, which they don't. The boom boxes go at all times of the evening and loud vehicle radio vibrate your coach. They try to keep the dust down by wetting the main drive into the park, but that does nothing for the site roads. They have a lot of permanent residences that enjoy the spirits every night. We won't stay here ever again. We were scheduled to stay two weeks but only made it one week...Wal-Mart would be better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
We stayed here a few months while I worked in Lewisville. I refer to this place as the "SANGER SANDBOX", as road and sites are gravel and extremely dusty. A lot of oilfield workers here and even though speed limit in park is 10mph most residents drive 20/30mph in and out of park in their big dually trucks. They have two trash dumpters that pretty mush stay overflowing with trash. There's game room but kids broke pool sticks and ping pong tables. I have to say folks in office very nice and bathroom and showers clean. The dust is so bad I just can't give it a better rating for long term stay. OK for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Used Passport America. Clean, quiet and off of interstate but back far enough to quiet. Interior roads need work, potholes and dusty. Pool was enjoyable. Would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
This park has the potential of being a nice park, but the interior roads are full of pot holes and sites are in bad need of mowing. This park needs a maintenance person really bad. We paid for a month, but don't think we'll be staying that long. I don't think I'll come back as this park has turned into a real disappointment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Restrooms cranky and dark. Was told on pamphlet that it has cable TV and Wi-Fi, No TV on site, Wi-Fi was poor and weak, paid money for nothing on that. Mostly live on site campers here. Very long walk to any of buildings and dumpster. Dusty gravel road that has not been graded in YEARS, shook loose things in side RV. Lots of pot holes. Will NOT stay here again and do not advise it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
We stayed 3 nights at this park. Traveling north on I-35, there were no signs indicating where to exit. We missed the exit, and had to turn back. The driveway to the park was in disrepair with numerous pot holes. At check-in, the host was not friendly nor helpful. She did not explain any of the amenities. Only gave us a copy of the park site. The copy had been copied over and over so many times, it was illegible. Some parts were cutoff completely. The cable service was almost non-existent. The people in the site next to us walked their large sized poodle and never once cleaned up the waste, so we had to be careful where we stepped. There were children riding around the park on 4-wheelers exceeding the speed limit causing a nuisance. The recreation/laundry facility was very nice and fairly clean. We did not use the pool, but it appeared clean and well kept. The name Sundown is very appropriate. The sunsets are absolutely breathtaking from the park. The location is excellent and convenient to the surrounding areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
One half of the park is fairly nice: all gravel roads and sites, lots of pot holes. Most pull through sites are very long, but narrow. We are here because of a rally. We are in the "trailer trash" section of the park, lots of weeds, some mowed yesterday, lots of long grass/weeds left behind. We overlook a run-down mobile home (private residence) with lots of trash in the yard area. The area right across from us is a "junk yard" full of abandoned RV's, rusted equipment of all sorts, very tall grass/weeds and trash. There is a garage of sorts just up a ways that has trash and rusted metal and various parts all around. The nicer section of the park has mostly grass, well trimmed and fairly level sites. The trailer trash section have very uneven ground around the sites, sites are not level, sites are half gravel, half weeds. I was ready to go get in the spa to relax, but it is green. The pool is clear and appears to be clean. The noise from I-35 is very loud, there are no buffers. I would not be staying here another night if we had not already paid for our rally fee. I would not recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$10
The rate reflects their monthly charge. They have added WiFi since the last time we were here and it is managed by an outside agency. It works well and made our stay much more comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful in all that we asked. The park is 12 miles from Denton, and only 5 miles from Camping World. For touring Dallas or Fort Worth, it is 40 minutes away. We will return to this park whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
A large roomy campground. The biggest Big Rig will fit. Rate above is a rally rate. I think there is fishing in the rear of the park. On the negative side there is no warning arriving from the north on I-35, so you overshoot and have to double back; there is NO shade and a Texas summer at 102 is grim, but not the park's fault. Would be great in October. Cable TV is about 12 channels, of which three were Spanish speaking. Staff is very nice. Will go back but in the Spring, Fall or Winter. A quiet park. Will return when it is cooler. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2005
$34
I waited such a long time to get to stay at this park and all they did was dash all my expectations. The people running this park go out of there way to be rude. During my six day stay at this park i could never really understand the pricing. I payed three times due to schedule delays and actually paid three different daily rates. One of the worst qualities about this park in my eyes are the roads or should I just say the maze of pot holes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$29
We stayed here for two full months, taking advantage of the reduced price for weekly and monthly stays. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The sites are mostly level and the park sits on the top of a hill, surrounded by wide open fields. The sunrises and sunsets are beautiful. There is a restaurant on site, but it is only opened on Saturday nights and for Sunday brunch. LP gas is available for purchase on the campground. There is a 9 hole golf course on the grounds and you have your choice of walking or riding. The laundry is located off the game room which is very convenient. You can shoot a game of billiards, or play some table tennis, or even use the exercise equipment while waiting for your clothes to wash and dry! They have puzzles and games in there, as well. In the office area, there is a TV room featuring a big screen TV which can be viewed while lazing in the over-stuffed leather couches. Scattered around the buildings and grounds are quite a few bronze works by Frederick Remington. The staff even let me take pictures of the place and post them on our travel blog. We were here during the winter, so we were unable to use the pool or jacuzzi, but we will give them a shot when we come back through this area. Oh yeah, the showers work just fine. You do need to wait for the hot water to reach the showerhead, but for less than a minute, which I do not find unreasonable. There is only one handle on the temperature control, so I am not sure how anyone could say that they were reversed? Also, signs are posted in each shower room stating how to operate the faucet and advising to wait for the hot water to reach the shower. We would recommend this campground to anyone and it is where we will stay each time we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$15
The roads are not great. But other than that I found the place very nice. If it had been summer I think it would have been ever nicer. The Passport America price was great for the grounds/services supplied. The lobby staff treated us very nice, as did the grounds crew when I had to move a table. Someone has invested a lot of money in this location and it shows. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$28
A nice park. Why didn't the lady that submitted the first comments bathe her children in her travel trailer where she could have had hot water rather than complaining about the facilities at the park? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$28
We stayed in campground twice on our last trip to Texas. The campground is flat with gravel mostly pull thru sites. They have a 9 hole golf course and a large meeting rooms. The pool was small but nice and they had a game room with a few games. The problem I had was with the shower and staff. Our first night was nice, I got up the next morning to go take a shower. NO HOT WATER. I bathed my 7 and 3 year olds in ice cold water. We left without saying anything. On our way home my husband convinced me it was a fluke and we should try again as it is convenient to get to. He mentioned at check in the water problem of last week. The gentlemen replied, several people had complained that night. The next morning NO HOT WATER. I went to the front desk to complain and a couple (I assume the owners but am not sure they weren't the ones behind the desk) said they knew there was hot water they had the instant heating you just had to let it run for a while. I had let the water run for 3 minutes before I came to the office. They met me at the shower. He turned the shower nozzle to the cold side and after several minutes got hot water. (the faucet was installed backwards) I suggested that they put up a sign advising of the time it takes to get hot water. She replied they assumed people are intelligent enough to know you have to let the water run to get cold water out of pipes before you get hot. I've never stayed in a campground that I had to wait 3 to 5 minutes to get hot water. I am not stupid. I am a 34 year old CPA. My father has this type of water heater in his home and doesn't have to wait 5 minutes for hot water. How much water is this wasting daily? The woman kept on. I told her I wouldn't have been so upset if it hadn't happened a week ago also. She kept on and inferred that intelligent people could figure it out and she was sure there was hot water last week too. I told her this would be our last stop here and she said good. That sealed the deal for me. It is sad that such a nice facility has such crappy people. I can't in good faith recommend this facility based on the attitude of the people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com