206704 User submitted reviews online!!
West 40 RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (806) 256-3719
CGID2905

West 40 RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   5   1   7   6   5   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Very basic park that is OK for an overnight stop. It is right next to I-40 about 3 miles west of Shamrock, Texas. It is a field of blowing grass/weeds with gravel spaces. They have some very long pull through spaces that are level and have full hookups. Road noise is constant, but was not an issue for us. Winds do kick up during the day. Wi-Fi is free, but was not working during our stay. OK for a stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$5
Great location for overnight stay. Friendly staff. Parking was in a large grass field. Spots were level. Park very clean. We will stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
This is just an overnight park from my perspective. It is right off the freeway and had huge, long pull through spots, so we could get in there with our 46' coach pulling a car with no issue and big wide turns to get out. We parked at the first spot that was just straight ahead of the entrance. Nice view of a field ahead of us. The place is pretty barren, the water hose bib leaked, the 50 amp power on our side popped the breaker and wouldn't reset, but we just used the one next to it just fine. One of the workers was pumping what seemed to be the septic tank out into the field ahead of us, but there was no smell. It was fine as a place to park overnight and was inexpensive. The fellow at the front desk was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We arrived there late after talking to the very friendly owner. The sites looked very rundown, but the light was very poor. Many electric hook-ups had exposed wires and did not look safe. Tried walking around to find a good site but encountered a smake. Not sure what type as it was dark. We decided to move on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Right on Route 66 near the inspiration for some of the CARS movie scenes. Park is basic, but we really like the owner, and he was very helpful. Wi-fi worked great; restrooms are clean; site is gravel but level. Some playground activity, birdwatching, picnic areas. It is just off I-40 (visual distance). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
Owned by a nice old man whose grandparents settled on this land which is still dirt and grass. Bath was old and well used but fine. Iffy Wi-Fi that comes and goes but the I-40 noise is there to stay. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
This is an adequate park if you are just passing through. It is easy to access from I-40 and located off old Rt. 66, which runs parallel to the Interstate. Some traffic noise but not to bad. Park has pull-through gravel sites and interior dirt roads with no shade. The park facilities are old and in need of repairs and upgrading. The bathrooms and laundry look to be 50 years old and were dirty. Old paneling, cobwebs, poor lighting, no latches on the stalls, no paper towels and no hand soap. There is a swimming pool but it was not open. Little to see and do in the area though Shamrock does have some surviving Route 66 buildings as well as Vern's Steakhouse which is a good meal if you are up for a steak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
This is a good park, out on the prairie. There is a genial owner. Flat, long, nicely spaced, and easily accessible sites with good hook-ups that all work properly. This is a no-frills park, but entirely adequate for a stay. Quite windy, but that is pretty much what you get on the Texas plains. The rate of $26 is for 30 amps; 50 amps is an additional $2. We would certainly stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
I was so pleased to find this easy-access park with full hookups and Wi-Fi. Given the ruralness of the area, I wasn't sure what I'd find, but this park and it's owner were super. It isn't the classiest of parks, and it doesn't have activities, but it had what I was needing: level, easy in/out pull-through site, good utilities, Wi-Fi. And beyond that, I also got a nice friendly greeting. I was pleased with the laundry room, so I went ahead and enjoyed a little RV-keeping while I was here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Nice overnight stop, level sites and good staff. Site have no trees but are very long and a little room between sites, don't feel so crammed. Nice staff and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
Nice host, his campground since 1967. On Historic Route 66 near the town of Shamrock where the Conoco from the movie "Cars" is located. Short drive off the interstate to arrive. The pull throughs were updated and it is a good overnight spot. However, be prepared that the interstate noise is everpresent and the playground equipment is dated, but functional. There are several full-timers there but were no bother. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Very friendly owner checked us in, we just picked the site that we wanted. Road and pad are gravel so a little dusty. Long pull through sites and big rig friendly. Very easy on and off the freeway and despite being close to the freeway the noise is not too bad. Plenty of space and grass around the RV with a picnic table. Bathrooms are old but fairly clean, however no soap or paper towels, and we felt that this campground could really do with some TLC. WiFi and cell are slow. This campground seems to have mainly permanent residents, however they do keep their sites neat. This is a good place for an overnight stop and we would stay here again. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
For some reason, the phone number for K&K and for this resort are the same...We camped at North 40 for one night, and it was good. Site was level enough, nice and wide. No trees where we were, clear view of the Texas stars. Easy on and off the freeway if you were west bound on I-40, if you were east bound, the turn was a little sharp I was told. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
This is a good overnight stop. Manager was very friendly. Hook-ups all worked well. Sites were reasonably level. Wi-Fi was available, but it worked only sporadically. No cable TV, and could only pick up two Oklahoma educational channels on the antenna. Weak Verizon cell phone and data coverage. Quiet even though in sight of I-40. Cash or checks only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Very pleasant park, somewhat remote so Wi-Fi wasn't good. Owner extremely pleasant and interesting to talk with about Route 66 history and local structures. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
Level gravel pull thru with nice electrical box. No TV cable and no antenna reception. Asked @ check in if freezing temps were expected and got a smart, non-answer. Used heated hose but supply line froze. Called to report that we couldn't shut off spigot and was told to pour hot water over it. When told we had no water, the Mr. hung up on me. Called back to tell them we thought they were overpriced for no cable, no wifi and no water, received another smart comment and was hung up on again. Better, cheaper places to stay in either direction. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
No electrical outlets in restrooms nor did any of the doors lock (stall doors or the outside doors.) Cash or check only, no credit cards. Restrooms were clean but had very small showers. Driveway and roads were not paved. Some sites had picnic tables which didn't matter in January, but you might want one in the summer. This was good for an overnight stop, but not recommended for longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Good overnight stop. The road into the park, even though it's paved, is rough. There are full hookups with grassy areas. I-40 is pretty close and noisy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
RV Park is on a very rough service road alongside Hwy 40. Bathrooms are clean, but the shower stalls were very small. I could not turn around in it. There is one row for 50 amp and another row for 30 amp and another for tents and no sewer hook-ups. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Decent RV park. We stayed overnight and will stay again. It needs some work to make it perfect. As mentioned not a lot of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Good overnight basic RV park with 30/50 Amp service on neat stands, new looking water attachments with good pressure and easy in/out access for large rigs in the back. Minimal trees but this is Texas, not NJ. Nice Texas cows in the background and minimal I-40 noise, especially from the back 50 Amp service row. Nice lady owner, doesn't take long term residents, no mobile homes (perms) at all. 1970s playground equipment was exciting for our 7 year old. She's not used to anything but plastic so that was a neat treat. Pool looked clean but so much dust, couldn't see through to bottom, so no go for us. It fit the bill for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Park needs some work. Older couple seems to be having a hard time maintaining it. We stayed here 2 years ago and enjoyed it but found it not up to par this time. The sites are long and wide and was good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
"Plain vanilla" campground, in the middle of nowhere on route 66, but very useful as we were exhausted after 6 hours driving on I-40. Good Wi-Fi access. As we like sleeping with open windows, we wear ear plugs to sleep because of the freeway noise. Welcoming nice old lady who will tell you not to miss the route 66 "monument" in town, impressively restored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
Interesting park out in the middle of nowhere. Thought we had taken a wrong road but finally came across it on the frontage road west of town. Had pretty good Wi-Fi and two television channels with the antenna. Thought the price was high for what you get. The freeway noise did not bother us which was surprising since we were quite close. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This is a quaint park reminiscent of parks from 30 years ago. It is an easy in/easy out park great for an overnight stop off I-40. The owner was welcoming and I'm sure could have told some great tales from years ago. Wi-Fi was good, sites were level. Most of all, the sunset and sunrise were awesome! We would do an overnight stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Although the park had many amenities the very "hot" electrical service was not acceptable. Our digital meter read 136 volts at our site. We tested on our only neighbor's site and got a reading of 138 volts. We went to the office to see if they were aware of the issue and were told to "talk to the electric company.". At that point we asked for our check back and moved on. As they are a Good Sam Park I have reported this issue to Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
This is a great RV Park for a short stay. The access roads are gravel with a little dust, but well laid out allowing easy maneuverability for the big rigs (45+). The numerous pull throughs are level, long and wide enough to accommodate big rigs with tow vehicles. FHU w/50amps at all sites. The Wi-Fi signal was strong at our space which was one of the furthest out. The spaces are gravel with grass areas between that could use some mowing. Picnic tables are provided with some, but not all of the spaces. The traffic noise from I-40 is aggravating at times, but slows at night. The owners are friendly and helpful. This is a no frill, one night stand, RV Park. We will stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Nice overnight park. The host was very welcoming. Got here early and were the only ones, so this was a good place to let the dog off lead and run off some steam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Nice small park for a short stay. Grass surrounds gravel roads and sites. Trees on property, but not near sites. Solid Wi-Fi signal, but no cable TV offered. Long level sites with good placement of utilities. Has a nice staff. Convenient right off of Route 40. Stayed here one night. Paid $27 with Good Sam discount. Nice views of cows grazing and some nice bird sightings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
This is a ho-hum interstate overnight stop. Close to I-40 with the associated road noise. No frills. Level gravel pads, dirt roads. No patio, just grass/dirt beside your rig. Our picnic table collapsed on us. They advertise Wi-Fi, but they had no service when we stayed. WI-FI is our number one amenity as we travel a lot and want to communicate. When I complained I was told that there had been complaints for several days, but they did not know how to fix the system. Apparently they do not know how to call for service, or to inform their guests of the problem upon check-in either. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
Nothing special, but this time of year and just passing through, it's hard to tell. Used Good Sam discount. Park has pleasant staff. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
We stayed overnight in a pull-though spot. The campground is nice with good Wi-Fi reception and cable television. There is a pool. The campground does not take credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Cost reflects Good Sam Discount. The park is right on I-40 but highway noise was not a problem. Nice shade trees in the picnic and tent area but none where the motorhomes or trailers had to park. Pleasant enough place for an overnight stop. Not much around to see or do. It was clean and neat and sits out in the country: cow pasture behind the campground. We would definitely stay here again for a stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is an older park that is actually on old "Route 66" but also right next to I-40. Call ahead if you need a 50 amp pull-through because there are only 10 or 12 of them. These sites have side-by-side hook-ups but are so large that it was not a problem at all. All the 50 amp pull-throughs were full by 6pm, but many smaller 30 amp sites were available. Park is about 4 miles from town and there is nothing between the park and town. Park was clean and well kept, but nothing fancy. Great overnight stop and we will use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
This is a small little campground, but they have done a great job keeping it clean and maintained. The owners are helpful, friendly and live on-site. Individual sites were fairly level. It wasn't very crowded at all. Highway is a bit noisy, but that was expected. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
I can not recommend this campground. The owner asked if we needed 30 or 50 amp. When told we only need 30 amp since we would not need to run the air conditioners, he refused and said only 50 amp for a motorhome. Also, when I asked if the wi-fi was working he said yes. When I told him I just checked before coming into the office and found that there was no wi-fi available - he claimed it was working - he didn't care about what I said. Also, it was raining and the park was a mud hole - I was afraid if we stayed there, in the spot he would put us in, we would need our motorhome towed out the next morning. The park needs a major rework and it is sad that this is a Good Sam park - also he would not give us a Good Sam rate. Most RV parks in this area are in sad shape. We ended up staying in the rest area just inside Oklahoma on I-40. It was okay and others were overnighting there also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$14
I did not stay at this campground, but I did stay at K and K campground in Shamrock, TX. It is at the corner of route 66 and hwy 83. I don't think this park is listed anywhere so this post might be useful to someone. It is a very small park but has room for a big RV. It is run by honor system only. There are no bathrooms, showers or office. Tthere is 30/50 amp sites with water. It is not somewhere you would want to stay more than a night or two. There was a good wi fi signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
A perfectly adequate older campground run as a mom & pop facility. Open spaces, grass sites with a nice area for dogs to run. If coming from the west, get off at exit 157 and drive the frontage road. It'll take you right beside the CG entrance. Nice camp store and highway noise was minimal. Sites are in the open for satellite reception. We'd stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
Nice park when passing through the "panhandle" of Texas. On Historic Route 66 and close to the Town of Shamrock ~ the home town of Bill Mack (XM Satellite radio fame). Park is well maintained. Sites are very large. Owner is very friendly. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
This is not a destination campground, but is a great stopover spot. We had a minor electrical problem (operator error). When we asked for some guidance from the owner he gladly provided some guidance and then immediately drove to our site to make sure things were OK. The sites are graveled and grass. The sites are for the most part level. The only negative we had was that it rained the night we stayed and the next morning there was a mud puddle at our front step This is an older campground but is very well maintained. The owner worked day and night doing routine maintenance. I would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This campground was a delightful "interstate campground" surprise. Clean grounds, beautiful shade trees, swimming pool, playground for the kids.The pull-thru sites were huge - we had a crew cab truck,pulling a 39 ft. RV, pulling a 12 ft. trailer, and still had room to spare. Plenty of room between campsites as well - didn't feel "closed in".Picnic tables at every site. The restrooms and laundry room were clean. Well stocked little store for needed items. The hosts were gracious and helpful. Will without a doubt be our midway stop on our annual Colorado Trip from Arkansas from now on! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This is an OK place to spend the night. iIt has large pull thrus that are easy to get in and out of. The park is older and showing it's age. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We stayed here two nights. Very friendly couple that runs the campground. Nice laundry. A great overnight spot. Situated right on old Route 66. About four miles from the small town of Shamrock. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Actually a 7.5. Great place for overnight. No frills, but BIG sites; spacious, not many campers (3 at the moment). Just what we need for quiet after driving with the side winds ALL DAY long. Friendly owners. Clearly would do it again. Very pleased for out in the middle of nowhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This park was nothing to look at from the entrance. But for an overnight stay going along I -40 is was fine. The spots were very long,large and level. That is all we needed. They did have WI-FI. But I think the price was a little high for the amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
We stayed here during March and it was really windy. The owner was very friendly and since there were only five or six campers that night we were able to pick our own spot. Even though the park looks a bit run down, the restrooms were clean and the wireless internet worked just fine. I would stay here again, as the rates were reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
We stayed here overnight and the owner was very friendly and since we were one of two campers due to the time of year we had our choice of sites. The weather was very cold with snow and major wind so we didn't look around too much but the sites seemed plenty wide and they are major long. I got my truck and 39' 5th wheel and could have gotten another one almost as large in behind. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
We spent one night here. They did not take credit cards. The sites felt like plenty of room on each, but since there was only 1 other RV in the whole place it was hard to tell. A great place for a one-night stop along I-40, but not sure about a longer stay. Did not seem that there was much in the area to see. Very close to the highway, so a bit noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Agree with previous reviewers. A decent place to stop for a night or two. Great place to walk the dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
We found this park by accident and were glad we did. It is a nice little park with long pads, clean with lots of grass. No cable and the hook-ups are side by side but fairly modern. The person who helped us check-in was very nice. To get to the park you have to go off I-40 a couple of miles from the park and travel on the frontage road. They are suppose to have WiFi but it wasn't working at our site. The town of Shamrock is pretty neat, the garage/cafe in "Cars" is on a corner in the town. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
Very nice park, easy access. We will overnight here again. The owner went out of her way to put the NASCAR race on in the laundry room because they don't have cable on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
A great park to spend the night at. Only overnighters stay here. Clean laundry room and store. Very nice owners they have run this park for forty years. Wifi worked good. No cable. Store has video for rent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$23
We liked it here. It is not a destination CG but a great overnighter. Sitting outside with a sarsparilla watching the sun go down over the prairie was great. The owners could not be more nice. Ernest Borgnine stayed here for a moth while filing a movie! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Out on the West Texas Plains, right on old Route 66. Very nice people. Very clean pool. This is a nice experience after all of the big parks we have been in lately. I would definitely stay here anytime I am through here. Wi-Fi worked well with external antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
Nice park to stay on the way to somewhere else, in the middle of no where. Well laided out with easy pull-thru's. Well maintained and clean. Sites not real level, graveled interior. Easy hook-ups. A small store but that's about it. On the plains - windy! Would stay there again, if needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$26
Nice little park, clean and "big-rig friendly". We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$33
Campground is along the interstate, in the wide open. It's best asset is a great view of the Texas plains behind the campground. Very pricey for what you get. Sites are grass and uneven, so are most interior roads. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com