215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Caverns of Sonora RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (325) 387-3105
CGID2908

Caverns of Sonora RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   8   7   7   7   4   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Convenience to the beautiful cavern was the selling point for us. The sites were basically primitive with electric and water only. Level. If they just did a little bit of maintenance, this place would be really beautiful. Peacocks and deer running around. Not much else to do around town. There was a full-timer who took up 4 spots and had a bunch of junk strewn around the "nicest area". Wi-Fi was available, but very spotty. No phone service via AT&T. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
We stayed here just to tour the caverns, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed them. The camping area is minimal at best. Just gravel and dirt. Utilities were acceptable. The store and sandwich counter is interesting. One night was plenty to see the caverns and grab dinner in the small town of Sonora. It's worth the stop off of the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Basic park with 20/30/50 amp power and water available. Pull-thru sites were on the narrow side, but plenty wide enough to extend our slides. No shade in the pull-thrus for the coach, but our spot was next to a large shade tree so were able to put our chairs under it to get out of the sun. The REAL attraction to this park though are the caverns and the quiet rural setting with peacocks and guinea hens roaming around. We arrived early enough in the day to take the 2 hour cave tour after setting up camp. Local, knowledgeable, passionate guide lead a small group of us through this very interesting cave complex. See Trip Advisor for reviews about the cave tour. We would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Nice little campground, as advertised, no black water dump on-site, but also none within several miles. Caverns were well worth the stay. If you stay here check the power before you pull in. Not all posts have 50amp. That being said, it is a must see and the campground is just too convenient not to use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Very rustic property. It is Texas Hill Country. The attraction is the guided tour of the Sonora Cave which is spectacular and was well worth our overnight. Only guided tours offered and the guide was very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed this cave tour. Tours are optional, but guided tours are $20 per person. Pull throughs are $20 per night. Electric box is ancient, but 50 amps worked. Pull throughs are gravel and weeds. Mosquitos at night. Turkeys, guinea hens and deer late in the afternoon. Gift shop is all modern. DelicIous home made fudge for sale. Did not go into baths or showers. Road off I-10 to cave is about 6-7 miles, but well marked with signs. There is one steep up and down hill to go over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This no-frills campground is acceptable for an overnight stay. The outdated restrooms were not super clean, but were acceptable, with the actual toilets being very clean. The showers need a really good cleaning. The staff was very pleasant. We did not tour the caverns. The view from the campsite was pleasant, but we were glad the place was not full as RV's are parked side-by-side. Peacocks and guinea hens run free, hawking for a handout. Lots of birds were present. We would overnight here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
This is a place to stop for an overnight. I would say this is primitive camping, although water and electric are available. Camp sites are gravel and weeds, restrooms and showers were filthy. You will not find the pictures on the internet when you arrive. I don't know how old those are but definitely not those standards today. We did not go on the cavern tour, $20 a person on top of the camping fee was too much. Cavern entrance fee should be reduced for campers that are paying to stay in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Quiet; excellent; great people; privately owned caverns on a working ranch. This was so peaceful. We would definitely stay again. No sewer hook-up but not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Pull through site with water and electric. Decent view, close to the gift shop and tours of the caverns. Good for an overnight stay, and a chance to see the caverns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Quiet little RV park attached to the caverns. You have to be looking to find it as it is about 6 miles off the freeway. Grassy, level spots, plenty of peace and quiet while we were there, and of course, stars at night. Lots of stars. I don't know that we would stay here again, but only as it is not close to anything except the caverns. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
The entrance into the park is rather steep, but is worth the few seconds of white knuckle driving into the facility. Though 7 miles off IH 10, the pull through spots were adequate, even for large rigs. However, if the park had been full, you would have been exceedingly close to your neighbors. The caverns is the obvious reason for staying at the park, but the guinea fowl provide extra entertainment. We would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Nice place to stop when travelling through west Texas. Sites are a bit tight, but not too bad. Extremely quiet at night, great star gazing. Derr and guinea hens grazing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Good access from main road. Sites are very close together and access is a bit tight for our 39' fifth wheel, but no problem, especially as there was only one other rv in the whole campground while we were there. Nice, quiet and secluded campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Wonderful, peaceful spot. Road is great all the way to the park. Sites are no frills with good water and power. There is no dump, but one is located just out on I-10 at the picnic area. Lots of wildlife here and beautiful surroundings. The cave is a must see. Pull throughs are tight, but were very doable in our 43' with a tow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Great overnight stay. Clean park. Secluded. Quiet. Wildlife viewings. Tour the prettiest caves in America. No other decent park on I-10 and found this by accident. Really loved it. It is 7 miles off Interstate, but road is all paved and good. Definitely will stay there again on trip across Texas. We stayed 2 nights because of storms. Motorhome 37' with tow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Pretty far from freeway but worth it. This is a real sleeper: pun intended. Pretty place with oak trees. We did not visit the caverns, only overnighted. Restrooms were basic but clean. No restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
This is not a fancy park, but you can't beat the location and wildlife. It's about 6 miles from I-10 and a good place to stop in the middle of Texas. The park is gravel and located on a working ranch. At night the deer, and guinea hens and a turkey come to visit. Very quite. Showers were not as clean as one would like. This is easy to get into with smaller rigs like ours, however if we had been in our old 5th wheel (40 ft.) I would have been nervous. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Wonderful respite from the grind of the road. Quiet, fresh air, lots of stars. Four miles from the interstate. Perfect for those who are satisfied with some nice nature, country air and a little electricity. 3G works fine here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This was a wonderful find, a nice surprise. This campground is a Passport America member, and the price was quite good, $20.00 or less? It is not fancy, but very comfortable and in a pretty area. It is well worth the stopover - do make sure to take the tour of the cave, fascinating! We really enjoyed our stay and recommend this property. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
We really liked this campground. Although they did not have sewer or a dump station, it was very nice. The pull-thru sites are very narrow, only about 15' wide with posts around the hook-ups. In fact, we took up 2 spaces because we had to park our car in the one next to ours. If there was another RV next to us, we may not have been able to put our slides out - but there were very few campers there and we would recommend going. The back-in sites appeared wider. There is a gift store, but it rather sparse. They have free dog kennels, which is a nice convenience, but one person left their dog in it for over 2 hours and it barked the whole time, we could hear it from our campsite. It got very hot and we stayed inside with the A/C during the day, took the 8am tour. Went for long walks down the road at night. Really enjoyed the prevalent deer, birds, and beautiful pair of peacocks that roam the grounds. They also have guinea hens roaming around and one lone female turkey. There is a huge manmade gourd nest facility for the purple martins being used by several types of birds. We stayed 3 days. They don't offer wifi, but we got in on their unsecured wifi signal from the office and it worked pretty well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
I stayed here for one night. The pull through site was very convenient and the hookups easy to access. I did not get to see the caverns due to time constraints, but I will definitely go back for that, and probably spend a few days next time. The place is far removed from the interstate (7 miles), and is very quiet and secluded. If you are looking for a beautiful setting with some peace and quiet, this is the place. Manager Bill was very helpful and friendly. Good gift shop, with the best looking fudge you've ever seen. You will see a pair of peacocks, a flock of guineas, and lots of deer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
The caverns are a wonderful sight to see but the parking for a pull-through site is a little tight. The gravel/pavement is fairly level and the hooks (water and electric) are fairly easy to access. This is a nice place for overnight stay, but nothing long term. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
Nice little campground with lots of wildlife. The caverns are AWESOME and certainly worth the side trip off the interstate even if you don't camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
Nice stopover point off I-10 in central Texas. If you need a place to stay while passing through in this area, there's not much else around and the Caverns offer a quiet option. Peacocks and deer roam the campground. No dump station. Verizon phone worked fine; Verizon Internet was slow but usable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
The caverns are what makes this campground unique. We have camped here four times and toured the caverns three. They are beautiful. Like walking through a 2 mile geode. Gravel, level pull-throughs with elec/water but NO DUMP due to the caverns. Very nice gift shop and knowledgeable guides. Will stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
This is a very basic park, in place only because of the caverns. Water and electric only. No sewer, dump, Wi-Fi, or cable. Verizon broadband was weak and slow, but usable with an external antenna. Sites are pull-throughs which are somewhat narrow and short, but there was only one other RV in the park, so not a problem. Staff was friendly. The cave is magnificent and well worth seeing. Otherwise this is not really much reason to stop here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
Nothing wrong with this campground. It's clean, and out in the middle of nowhere. There is no TV signal out this far. There is no sewer connection. Bare minimum with no shade. Has gravel, un-even pads. Pretty good sized hill you have to go up and down to get to the site. It's clean, just no frills. There are only 13 pull-through sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
This is a great campground. Located next to Sonora Caves which are wonderful. It's off the freeway about 6 miles, then up and down a "big" hill. It was Very Quiet. Was all gravel, but O.K. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
A very basic park but worth a stop. Stop early enough to allow time to visit the caverns; they are spectacular. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Excellent value if you are looking for an over night stop in the "boonies" of Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
This park is only here for the cave. There were separate tent and RV camping areas. About 12 pull through sites side by side in a row with a few trees on either end. Gravel sites, level, easy enough to navigate. We had to buy 2 slots, one for the motorhome and one for the trailer. Electric and water only. Fills up quickly and is empty the next morning. Good for overnight. The cave is definitely worth seeing. It was the most decorated cave we have seen yet, better than Carlsbad for shear beauty. Amazing, incredible, breathtaking are words that do not do justice for that cave. A Must-See Bucket-List item for sure. Friendly staff, nice gift shop. A good restaurant close by would make it perfect. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
The campground is paved and fairly level with Electric and water hookup. We got there after dark but there was adequate lighting to get leveled and hooked up. There was a shower and bathroom near the Caverns store area but because we got there after closing did not know they were there until going on the Cavern Tour. The bathroom was clean when used before the Cavern Tour. The Caverns of Sonora made the trip off of the Interstate well worth the drive and we would stay again if in the area. I would recommend the touring the Caverns even if not spending the night in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
Sites are pull through that are very close together, and not very long. This was not a problem as there were only 2 other RV's there at the time. The electrical is 50 amp, but very wobbly scary wiring. No dump station was a minus for us. This is a nice place to stop for a night so you can see the caverns, but there is no restaurant nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$15
We were tired of driving and I checked this website and found the CG. The park was empty so we could choose our site. There is an area with a few trees around, or an area that is very open and the sites are right next to each other. The sites are stony, but level. The restroom house had 2 toilets and 1 shower. They weren't filthy but could use a good cleaning. We didn't get any TV reception (we don't have satellite), but had good phone reception. Overall, very quiet and we would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
We got in with our 40' rig and SUV, but it wasn't a roomy site. There were just 2 other campers during our stay so we didn't feel crowded. There is no dump station on site; however, the staff says the dump station is located at the next rest stop on the Interstate. The RV park is located within easy walking distance of the cavern tours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
The pull through sites were okay, but not what I would really call big rig accessible. We have a 40' m/h towing a Ford F150 p/u and found the sites short and narrow. Also, some of the electrical hookups were open on one side, all 4 prongs hot and what we would consider sloppy electrical work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$13
This is a very small out of the way park. We wanted to visit the caverns, so spent the night here, and we were the only ones there with small deer roaming around and bats feasting on the bugs around the nightlight! Needless to say it was VERY quiet, which was nice. They have no amenities other than water and power, and there is only 2 spots with shade. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com