221611 User submitted reviews online!!
South Padre Island KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 90 user reviews. Phone: (956) 761-5665
CGID2910

South Padre Island KOA

Camp Information
Sites
211
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   6   8   7   2   6   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
Superior park compared to other parks on the island. Be aware of many small close-to-neighbor sites and tight maneuvering to park at most sites. The motor home pull thru sites require unhitching the toad. Oversize gravel on many sites and prefab patio surfaces provided on premium sites. Extended grass area for pets, yet many grass burrs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$55
Over-priced for a run-down facility. Patio chairs very worn. Kitchen in commons area roped off; stacked with miscellaneous equipment. Rules not enforced, especially quiet time. An entirely different park in May and June. My review in February a year ago sang its praises! Staff good at cleaning bathrooms, but will drive by trash or a can left in a site. Sites are NOT cleaned up after someone leaves. Only one toilet for all the men in the park due to bathrooms being remodeled. We were not told this. We might have gone to Corpus Christi or Galveston if we knew this. They should have at least had porta potties by the pool. Wireless good after we finally connected; t took a day and a half to get on. Lots of channels for CATV. Sites waaay too close together; ridiculous! Can't keep windows open for ocean breeze because you hear all your neighbors. More pull-throughs should have the patios. If going, get the best sites looking out on the bay with chairs and decks and be self contained and closed up running your air conditioner to drown out the noise at night. Management responsive to my concerns, but they have a long way to go to merit what they charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$58
A bit KOA pricey, but your are paying and staying for the surroundings. The beautiful beach is close by within a nice walk. Staff is friendly and helpful. Spaces are tight but fit our needs for the few nights we stayed. Would recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$79
Upon arriving at the campground we were told that the wifi and pool were broken. We reserved one of the so called premium sites with a bay view and were escorted to the site by a nice man only to find a very narrow site with a hole dug by the road. We barely fit in the site. We were told to park our jeep behind the rig because there was a large hole dug to the right of site where they were making some kind of a repair and no room for the jeep on side of unit. As it was the only game in town we didn't complain . The view was blocked by a very large boat storage building . Also the whole place smelled like sewage, not just low tide and when we were walking our dog we figured out why . The sewage pumping pit was broken also and the hatch was open the whole length of our stay . This Is an over priced campground that can get away with it because they are the only game in town . The south padre island beach is beautiful and you can drive your 4x4 toad over 28 miles one way on the beach for some awesome surf casting and shelling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$46
Nice KOA. Bathroom and laundry facilities were clean. Good location and staff helpful and friendly. Was a bit expensive for us at $46 per nigh: however, we can recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$65
Rate reflects a premier site that looks out over the bay and the cause way. We decided to pay a little extra so that we could have a view of the water from our front window. We also have a view of the cars driving on the road to pier 19. It is off season here, so there aren't many cars. I could see how if it was a busy time of year, it could be annoying. Your front window at these sites stays in the shade all day, so sun blasting in and heating up the coach is not an issue. The "regal row" sites look very nice and look out over the bay also with patio with tables and chairs. Those sites are pull in and there is nothing to disrupt your view of the water. They might be a better choice if it is a busy time of year, but you will get the afternoon sun hitting the front window. The park is paved with white rock pads. Fairly level sites and decent cable channels, power and water pressure. The pool is nice and the hot tub is big and hot. The exercise room has two bikes, four treadmills and some weights and machines. It is adequate. Location of the park is good. Short 5 minute walk to the beach. The pet run is grass and kept clean and cut. I would give this park a higher rating, but the price is just way to high for what you get. There are about 20 campers here now on a nice weekend. I bet if they lowered the rate to 40-50, they would fill this place up. Forty to fifty is more inline to what they should be getting. I can understand getting a premium for spring break and other holidays, but this is September 21st. All in all, a nice place to stay, but you pay a high price for it. I guess life is a beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
I recommend making your reservation directly through the campground instead of the KOA 800 number. They will be able to better put you in a sight based on your wants. We were placed in a site along the main road. We were told that this was a quiet, ocean view site. We could see the bay, but had to sit outside in the back of the truck. There was constant cars, trucks, motorcycles, and delivery trucks going in and out. It was very difficult trying to cross this road to walk my dogs in their dog area. I called it "crossing the freeway". It was very noisy all the time. The dog area and surrounding area had lots of poo in it and there were no warnings about the sticker burrs that lurked in the grass. This campground needs a lot of TLC! It is worn down and dirty. Staff doesn't even check the sites or pick it up in between guests. The large rocks make it difficult to walk on. They also hurt our dogs' feet. The staff makes no effort to enforce any rules. There were campers that had trash and junk stored under their trailers which made the place look trashy. The water was shut off twice during our stay. The restrooms were dirty and the pool had lots of hair floating in it. The only few good things about this KOA is the friendliness of the office staff and the smores they made for the guests on Friday nights. I would recommend staying on the far interior. You will be sandwiched in, but at least its a little quieter. I will never return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$63
South Padre Island KOA is an ok RV park. The roads are paved, but spots are very large rock gravel. The sites were fairly level and were a little close together. In typical KOA fashion, rules are handed out at check in, but not enforced. Many kids running here and there and through our spot even with our big dogs outside with us. Kids out of control in the pool / spa area without any parental supervision. Animals tied out and left unattended. Several piles of dog poo not picked up by other campers. The campground has no means of security so people other than campers come and go as they please. There is a Pier 19 restaurant that shares the drive with the KOA. The dog park is on the other side of the sometimes busy road. I don't believe we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$41
Excellent facility but very expensive. We had a group rate for a week. Free bus service to the city.available at entrance. Would have rated a 10, but had several days with hot water issues in the showers - as in none most of the time. On site management was lacking in response until a KOA corporate inspector showed up unannounced. Fixed next morning We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$65
Staff not so friendly (demeanor as if they have been insulted by others all day) Our 44' RV was difficult to maneuver into space (toad had to be unhitched before driving on internal roads) and had to back out of a drive thru space. Non-premium spaces lacked paved patios. They should have started improvements on expensive spaces first. Internal roads paved and parking spots all oversize gravel - hard walking. Pet yard undersized and lots of sticker burrs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$65
We love coming to this park, we've been here the last two years and plan on coming back, just not during spring break. We've stayed in the pull throughs looking out over the bay and causeway and the view is simply amazing. These sites are not too crowded at least as far as KOA's are concerned, gravel and fairly level, Wi-Fi worked pretty good as well. Staff goes out of the way to make sure everything is perfect. It's expensive but it's South Padre Island and it's worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
Great place to stay. Clean, well organized, friendly staff, and close to everything we came to South Padre to see. Bicycle friendly or use the shuttle. Restaurants and beach just around the corner. Plenty of guest activities. Sunset deck is a big plus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$44
Gets a 9 because of no good WIFI. They suggest you do your computing in the commons area. They are on TengoNet. If we had a Verizon or AT&T data plan, then we would probably stay there forever. My husband thought he didn't like KOAs, but this changed his attitude. Every staff person was friendly and helpful and attentive. They immediately came and checked our TV reception. Also, came and repaired the picnic table right as soon as we reported it. We enjoyed the Friday night music on the deck, and my husband loved the $3 breakfast. Best pancakes ever! Loved being able to walk to Pier 19. Great food and cheap drinks and loved Cactus Willie live music. Lots of clean, modern shower stalls and toilets. The guests were also nice. Easy to bike to the county park and to town. Yikes,Texans don't seem to like bicyclists! We called to get our site, and so we had a great bargain I think for South Padre Island--only $44. She seemed to try and discourage us because they were small, but we were fine for 5 days. Husband says he would upgrade if we were there longer. Great park. Pool warm also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$47
This is a pretty nice park but pricey. There is a nice commons lodge next to the registration area. The staff was very nice and helpful. They have some "events" listed on their calendar. The WiFi is really good in the commons, and the park is serviced by Tengointernet. It worked pretty well but they ask for big projects for you to go to the clubhouse. The park is clean and spotted with lots of palm trees and the adjoining property is a casual restaurant called Pier 19, which is decent food and you get a 10% off coupon for your stay which is nice. You are within a 15 minute walk to two of the top trip advisor restaurants. Nice bike riding and walking around the area. The only drawback is that the sites are pretty tight. There is room for your slide outs but you do hear your neighbors with windows open. We would stay here again, or we might check out the neighboring county park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$80
Very clean and accessible; some sites are real close but easy to maneuver into. Park was exceptionally clean. There was a great store on site and awesome restaurant & bar right next door. Good wi-fi and cable TV. Management was very professional and took care of any issues promptly. Will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$55
This is a VERY expensive campground unless you can commit to a month or more so I expected the best of the best. I was prepared to pay a 'premium' to stay here for a week as a reasonable standard can generally be guaranteed of KOA sites and I wanted time to get my bearings. It was nicely situated less than half a mile from the beach and it was clean, well laid out, with good range of facilities and close to town. However, the Wi-Fi was very poor on various channels and the close proximity to the coast meant it was that extremely windy. After just a week, their was a film of salt on many outside surfaces so it would pay to give your rig a deep clean during and if not, certainly after you move on to prevent rust issues. Winter Texan entertainment was quite lacking - even when compared to smaller sites and that was surprising given the holiday season. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$38
This is a nice facility and right on the water. The Wi-Fi is good. The water around South Padre Island has a high salt content so your vehicle may become a rust bucket if you spend lots of time here. The Pier 19 restaurant has tons of charm. You need to at least visit. For good breakfast try Yummies. This RV park has good facilities and is in a very scenic area. It is worth a stay. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$55
The large gravel on the sites made it a little difficult to manage, but this is a nice park and in a good location if you like to be near the ocean. The pool was nice and staff very friendly. Restaurant and fishing charters are located on site. Washing machines are in need of repair. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$80
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Grounds were clean and up to date. Location is perfect. Nice facility and sites were big enough for our 40 ft motorhome. Parking was a little tight, however. It is a very busy place, and lots of people stay there. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The park is well run and in a spectacular spot. My only gripe is virtually NO water pressure in the showers. The hot water takes a while and when it finally arrives, it dribbles out. Maybe the men's shower have pressure, but the women's do not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
We stayed here two nights and will not come again. The sites are beautiful, but there was no oversight of clientele. The bathrooms had un-flushed, used toilet paper all over the floors. The roadways had food smashed all over them. Even though there were quiet hours there was no enforcement. Some of the equipment in the exercise room was in disrepair. Definitely not worth the price. Not up to KOA standards. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$39
As previously stated this is the best and cleanest park on the island and they do a lot of things right, but that is not to say they can't improve. PROS: Within walking or biking distance to many amenities. Friendly staff. Clean washrooms, pool, hot tub and common buildings. Has garbage pick up. Allows RV/Truck washing at your site. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV. Few sites have patios. CONS, or things to do better: The Wi-Fi dropped or crashed often. The "Premium" sites do not have patios, and are next to a busy road with a lot noisy traffic. Sites are close together, with not a lot of side yard. Sharp rock covers clay. This is a great park but at the high end of the rate scale. It looses points due to the terrible Wi-Fi and small sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$33
We stayed for a month at this park. This is an excellent RV Park. Enjoyed the social activities that were offered...especially enjoyed The Fish Fry and the Luau. Sites tend to be close together. We enjoyed our patio on our site; not all sites have them, however. Location of this park is excellent. We were able to walk and bike almost everywhere we wanted to go. Our only complaint was the Wi-fi. Not the greatest at our site, although you could go to the Commons where is was fine. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$69
This park is without a doubt the nicest, cleanest park on the island. Our site was level, the hookups easily accessed, and we had a lovely view of Luguna Madre across the street. The park had several planned activities for families, we enjoyed the S'mores, Fishing's Future Family Camp, and the very large pool. The office staff was very friendly and offered quite a bit of information on the areas attractions and dining. The only reason I do not rate this park a "10" is due to the very tight sites and the white rock covering the ground that is neither human or pet friendly for walking without shoes on. Minor complaints that will not prevent us from returning next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
This is an excellent RV park. Very clean and very well managed. Sites were a little close, but that is what you get in a resort area. Site had great paver patio area. Palms and other bushes were well kept and trimmed. Hookups were all updated and in good working order. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$69
Rate was a little high with 4 adults. Restrooms, showers, pool, all in great order. Camp was a little empty that weekend but had great neighbors, and staff was visible and willing to help at any opportunity. Some asphalt pads, but most were rock pads which may be uncomfortable. Close to the Pier, and within driving distance of public access beaches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$52
Clean and well kept. Staff very friendly. Garbage pick up at your site was a bonus. Wi-Fi was very good. Safe environment and location. Within walking distance to several restaurants, bars, convenience stores and the beach. Can bike to everything else. Loses points for close sites and expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$62
This is a nice park. A little hard to park a big rig. Its a gravel pit for sites, Big gravel hard to walk on. Small sites not much room to park tow car. We were given a premier spot with out a choice. Pretty narrow sites. friendly staff. Really big pool and hot tub. Good TV and Wi-Fi worked good. I thought it a bit pricey for what you get. I gave an 8 because of the gravel mostly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$27
South Padre Island KOA is a beautiful park. We spent 3 1/2 months at this park. The staff is friendly, helpful and very pleasant. The commons area features seating, tv, pool table and a large kitchen-dining area. The staff cooked and served breakfast on the weekends for a very nominal fee. On the balcony above there is a full workout room that would satisfy everyone. Included are free weights, weight machine, treadmills, bikes and new tv sets. The entire park is white gravel which I was told keeps the bugs down, and it does. The entire park is kept very clean and the staff works hard to keep it that way. I am heading back in December for a 4 mo. stay and would highly reccommend it to anyone. Happy RVing! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
We arrived last minute due to the rather unexpected death of my Mom. We had the opportunity to take a spot at Isla Blanca Park (county park) just a few skips away. However, we have stayed here before and enjoyed it. We arrived at the office here within 30 minutes of closing. I was tired, still dazed from our loss and very long trip. To the point: I give this park a 6 only because the lady at the desk, although nice, was rather pushy, not seemingly to care to take a few extra minutes in giving us choices in availability for the 1st month (of 2) stay. We wound up in a site that is good (close to laundry and restrooms) but NO and I mean NO grass, not one blade, close to us. This is EXTREMELY important to me as I have 2 older dogs. This park is covered in, what I now call boulders. My dogs feet are now cut up from the very large white rocks that cover the ground at the spot. I only wanted a nice spot that grass was easily accessible. I have RA, FM and Lupus. It is hard for me to trek across an entire park and harder on my dogs feet. As well, the restrooms close at 10 p.m., too early for us. Thus, the lower rating. For $810/mo. I thought a little extra time in meeting our needs, kindly, would have been worth it for their financial gain. We could have stayed other places with the same amenities for 1/2 the price. Otherwise, this is a great park. Staff are friendly, park is clean, trash pick-up service, they have added a nice patio at some sites, as well as Wi-Fi. I fear asking for other options closer to grass this 1st month as I was made to feel uncomfortable, although I understand that they are busy. I also feel I am important enough, my dogs are EXTREMELY important enough to have allowed a few extra minutes of time to make us all much more comfortable at a more comfortable spot on availability (the lady at the desk would only look at what was available for 2 months and not for 1 month). Still, I would recommend this park to others, only warning them of the "boulders" and to wear shoes even to exit your RV (this is the beach for goodness sake)! Consider paw protectors for your pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$52
A lovely park with all the amenities. We were there in the off season, and everyone was spaced out with several sites in between all campers, so we were not crowded at all. Everything was immaculate. The laundry is expensive, so try to wash ahead of time. Our only complaint was that the sites were covered with large white gravel, which was very attractive, but we both have bad knees, and walking even from the car to our rig was uncomfortable. Park has several of those annoying speed bumps which rattle your coach. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
This is a very nice park right on the water. No shady sites available, but we didn't mind. Bathrooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We are looking forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$69
This park was nice and clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. But, the spaces were very close together and the roads were somewhat narrow and made it difficult to get our 5th wheel in the space. Also, the campground is on the Bay side of South Padre. There is a restaurant and bar in the back part of the property. The drive for that is shared with the campground. There is a very nice pier but you have to go through the restaurant to get to it. The rates are extremely high for what you get. We didn't notice the park being noisy at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Good value for the money in SPI. As this is a popular tourist area, hotels are $100 plus a night. The park is in an excellent location on the Laguna Madre Bay. There are a few waterfront sites available. There is also a very good seafood restaurant next to the property. There is no shade, and this can be an issue in the summer. The dog walk area is very small. We walked the dogs along the bay from a parking lot next door. All in all, it is a nice park. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This was our fourth time to stay at the KOA South Padre Island. We still like the KOA park, but I must agree with some of the other posts. The park is very crowded, noisy and the rates are sky high now. We stayed a month giving us a better rate, but the normal daily rates are way too high now. We checked some of the local hotels and you can now stay for almost the same price as KOA. If KOA keeps raising the prices we too will have to find another park. We also agree that some of the park staff are not very friendly or even rude. We know many of them and are friends, but it does seem that many don't really even like the guests. For instance, we were swimming one evening when a staff member came in to close the pool. He basically screamed at everyone including a couple of young kids (who almost cried). That's crazy... These people are on vacation and you are proving a service to them. If KOA reads these reviews I hope they take them to heart. If they don't change there ways soon they are going to start losing guests. I've seen campgrounds get a big head and then take a nose dive. Oh, we also had problems with the Wi-Fi. If KOA cannot fix the overall issues, then they must remove it as a feature of the park. We found problems almost every day. We reported them to the office, but were told "not our problem". I hope the General Managers read these reviews. You guys gotta review your operations or things are going to get worse. We've seen an ugly difference over the last couple of years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$52
We found everything extremely clean and all park employees friendly and helpful anytime we needed anything. We used the showers, laundry, and pool a lot. The park is very child friendly as there were planned activities and the pool and playground were great for the kids to meet and play with others their age. We stayed in a 'premiere' site which was paved and though traffic passed daily, we really never heard much noise. Schlitterbaun water park is just down the street and was an awesome day for the whole family. Pier 19 was within walking distance and we found the food good, margaritas strong, and service very friendly. The view of the bay was great and sunsets every night from pier. We highly recommend this as a travel destination and will return as soon as we can. Advice: bring long sewage hose, plenty of sunscreen, and a social attitude as you are close to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$65
This is a nice park, clean, very friendly staff, but the premium beach sites are a joke. There is no beach here. The wi-fi did not work most nights after 5pm. The staff blamed Comcast and said it was this way on the whole island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$65
Very nice campground. Very good staff. Sites are close together but manageable. Great views. Close to town and local amenities. Good local restaurants and beaches. We will stay there again and soon. Thanks We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
We stayed here for 6 months-from Nov 09-May 2010. It was a great experience. We paid $1,000/mo in Jan/Feb and $810/mo Mar-May. (The Bay side sites are more expensive). Not a lot of room between sites, but they do have beautiful shrubs and palms as buffers. The hot tub is great - 102 degrees. The pool at 80 degrees felt chilly, but was good once the air temp got into the 80s. The park, pool area, bathrooms and community/workout room are kept very clean. They have lots of fun activities for the Winter Texans - happy hours, Saturday breakfasts (cheap - $2/3!!) The employees are all very nice and friendly. They have added poured patios to most of the sites now. The white rock is actually great because it keeps the bugs/mosquitoes to a minimum. We have friends in the County Park next door and they complain about bugs, mosquitoes and burrs. It gets busy with kids during Texas week and Semana Santa, and the music from Schlitterbahn next door is really loud. Overall, it's a great place, but is quite expensive, however, you get what you pay for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$53
This is a great KOA park. They had a pull through long enough for our 40' RV and 24' trailer to stay connected, except the sewer connection was too far away and uphill to use. Electric and water were good. Cable TV was spotty and not much selection, but no trees to block satellite either. Spotless clean showers and pool area, laundry, office, work out room, all built inside two very large steel storage tanks. Very pet friendly park with a small but nice leash free area. The roads are paved and wide, easy to navigate the whole park. The sites are white gravel rock, with sharp edges. Hurts your feet to walk on, but keeps the sand and water from being a problem too. The wash and wax service was excellent, our bus looked brand-new. See the office for their card. We stayed a week. Checked out the other 2 parks on the island, and would probably choose the KOA if we stay here again. We suggest Black Beard's Restaurant to eat, it's the best on SPI. Also go to beach access #5, for a small fee you can drive right along the beach for several miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$57
Typical KOA with crowded sites. We were in a premium site but could not see the view because the only place to park the truck was in front and across the site. Could not put the awning out because it would have hit the neighbors RV. The premium sites are designed primarily for Motorhomes where you can enjoy the view out the front window. The road in front of the premium sites goes to a restaurant and is a parade of traffic all day long. Delivery truck at 6:30 am. The dog walking area is very nice. Staff was helpful. We used it, as a base for doing the tourist things, it would never be a destination for us. We would probably not stay here again because we got very little for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$58
Since we were only able to stay 3 nights, we opted for the 'Regal Row' for Motorhomes ONLY which are pull-in sites with a bay view. We had site #112 which is the first site in the row closest to the office. Our front door opened to a private site with 5 lovely palm trees. The children playground was directly in front of us, but since we were there in Feb. it was used very little and not a problem at all. This is a top notch campground. Super friendly atmosphere, helpful courteous staff, and very very very pet friendly. The K9 Playground was wonderful for our two big labs. They enjoyed their stay as much as we did. We had a hot water heater problem and there was an Island RV Repair lady who came right to our site and fixed us up in no time. There are also vendors who come thru daily offering a full wash and wax of your coach. Due to the hot water problem we had, we used the showers and they were spotless and secure. The pool/spa is surrounded by a tall fence with palm trees inside so you have great atmosphere without the South Padre wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$55
This was a KOA rate for a Premium pull-thru site with a bay view for a week. We felt the turns were tight for a 38 foot MH and that was after unhooking the toad. DH objected to a large open storage area behind us that had tables and what looked like building supplies. There was a road directly in front of us with continual traffic, day and night, going to Pier 19 restaurant. The laundry room was small with only 4 washers and 4 dryers and no sink. There was another laundry which I was told was even smaller. This looks like the only campground in the area so that probably explains why the rate was higher than we felt the park warranted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
This was a great park. The staff was happy, friendly, and eager to help with our needs. We would stay here again if we were back in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$53
Great park: clean and well cared for. The staff was friendly. The pool, hot tub and sunset deck are nice. Sites have white rock which although hard on bare feet, keep sand, etc. down. Pet friendly. Showers and laundry facilities were super. Although more costly than the county park, this park is great for a week or so stay. Not sure what the monthly rate is. About a half mile (easy) walk to beach and longer walk to county park and the break water. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We were here in snowbird season and the campground appeared to cater to longer term folks, mostly in motor homes and huge 5th wheels. I would not characterize this as a friendly place--people appeared very involved in their own circles, even at social events scheduled by the campground. We were first assigned a site that had problems with length and soft turf making it hard to unhook. The neighbor said this site was chronically a problem. We were re-assigned but the TV hookup was corroded and managers weren't in a hurry to look into it. On the plus side it was convenient to places on the island and much much nicer than the crowded public park. We would stay here again, but would expect more courtesy for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$50
Note - their nightly rate ranges from $42-64 and we are paying by the month, so not sure how much it is per night right now. Anyways, we have been here for almost one month and are enjoying every minute! It is a very well-kept, safe, family oriented campground. The sites are roomy enough and are covered with white rock which gives a very clean look. It is walking/biking distance to the beach and county park and convenient to lots of restaurants and shopping. The employees are all very friendly. The sunset deck is perfect for dolphin watching and taking in gorgeous sunsets over Laguna Madre. The pool is kept @ 80 degrees and the hot tub nice and hot (@ 102 degrees). Included in the rate is floor and pool aerobics, (3 days a week), and a Tone and stretch class one day a week. They have monthly social gatherings too. We will definitely be back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$54
A very clean and nicely landscaped park. Not enough pull thrus. The back-in are more spacious and nicer. Easy to find and enter. Desk personal were friendly enough, however, their man to guide you to your site has a really bad attitude. First he literally yelled at me for not downloading my toad before entering the park, then got even angrier when he tried to make turn 270 degrees with a tow dolly toad into our site and I wouldn't. It wasn't just me either, I watched him scold out another guest when guiding him to their site. Not sure we'll ever go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$59
This park is located on the bay side of the Island, which was not a problem. We got into the truck and drove to the public beach accesses. During one of the frequent rain showers the electric was off to the campground for 1 hour plus. When I went to the office to inquire about this: one of the desk help was not very cordial; the rest of the staff was very nice and helpful at all times. The park is easy to find and get to, and since we camped off season, not very busy. No complaints: we stayed four nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
This is a great park with a wonderful location. We absolutely love the area and this KOA has a great location with an excellent fish grill behind them. The park staff are great. We stayed here for almost the entire summer with our son and we loved the place. It can get a little noisy on the weekends and sites are fairly close together, but that's what you get at the coast. They have excellent facilities with great Wi-Fi and cable TV. The only complaint I have is the price. Monthly wasn't bad, but they just raised the prices for 2010 and now spots are in the $50+ range!! Not cheap, but a nice park. Remember, you get to fish for free across the bridge in Port Isabel. My son and I did almost every night and it was fantastic! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
We were left a clear map to our clean, white-rocked Regal (premium) front-in site on the bay for our after-hours arrival. The white rocks really helped keep the MH clean and cut down on the heat. We used a couple blocks in front to be level. Super friendly and helpful front desk staff even tracked us down to return a camera we had left behind at the nearby pier restaurant (my thanks). Well-kept grounds and no problems with security. We enjoyed our site’s palm tree, flowering bushes, ocean breeze. Easy to drive to nearby county beach ($4/day permit) for sand and waves (bay side here pretty but not for swimming). Useful store. Good workout facility with treadmills, bikes, free weights, some Nautilus-type equipment. Nice pool. Free Wi-Fi but did not enjoy the Tengo problems. Good water and electric, although watched slightly dipping (never problematic) voltage a couple really hot days. Wished one neighbor would have secured his sewer hookup a little better: loose tippy fitting let some smell out. Free cable TV. Good dog walking areas with waste bags supplied, also a cute exercise area with a couple pieces of dog agility equipment. Trash pickup at site. Super clean restrooms/shower/laundry (4 washers & driers), although on-demand hot water did die one day. We would love to come back. Rate is based on 7 day stay and KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
Well kept and nice view. There is a trolley that picks up from the park. There are many beach areas to choose from. Pool is beautiful and the activities are great. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
Positives: Good location, friendly staff, Wi-Fi. Negatives: Sites are ridiculously close together, no room for tow vehicles. People parked anywhere and everywhere possible. Slide-out butted right up against a palm tree. My neighbor's table was about 18 inches from my sewer connection (which required 36 feet of sewer hose to reach). Large rock pads (not crushed gravel, but egg-sized rocks). Looks like someone decided to convert what should be pull through sites to back-in so more campers could be crammed together. Parts of this park badly need to be re-engineered. If you stay here during peak season, request a premium site. Otherwise, don't expect a view of anything but your neighbor's rig on all four sides. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$67
This campground is not inviting to families. There is no grass. It is all large stone and hurts the feet even with shoes on. You are constantly twisting your ankles. Also, you sit on top of your neighbors campsite. The pool and hot tub are both in need of repair. We mentioned it to the management and were told they were working on it, but it has been this way for some time. It is extremely pricey for what you receive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$70
This is a beautiful park! We were waterfront and that was nice to wake up to in the morning! Great restaurant with fishing trips that leave from their dock. No swimming or beach as this park is on the bay. Isla Blanca is right next door and has good beaches. There is a trolley that picks up from the park and takes you all the way up the island. There are many beach areas to choose from. The restrooms, office, and TV/game room are inside an old water tower. Restrooms were super clean! Pool is beautiful! Rate reflects our entire family with pets. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$48
Nice place and nice restaurant on their pier. Staff was great, good Wi-Fi. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$33
This was a very nice park in a great location! We enjoyed all the amenities, like the pool, spa, and fitness center. The people were great and the location could not have been better! We were parked on a coarse rock pad, which I thought I would not like, but we got used to it and it really helped to keep the coach clean as we did not track in grass, dirt or sand. The only negative is that this park is on a public road, and there is no restriction on access by the public. Our BBQ grill was stolen. After that, we kept everything locked up! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$46
Sites were OK. Sites were large rocks which were tough on my feet. Had 50 amp service with a chipped plug on the pedestal. Seemed to be OK, tho. Staff friendly and helpful. Person will park you. Windy when we were here, but fairly warm. Higher end rvers but nice to each other. Still damage on the island from the last hurricane. Cheaper places to stay (County park next door) with the same hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$69
Stayed in the 'pull in' premium sites with bay view out the windshield. This campground seems to have improved over last year, and everything was perfect. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because the RV pads are rock instead of concrete and getting down to get in my RV compartments killed my knees plus walking outside barefooted took a little getting used to until the outdoor carpet was in place. Other than the rocked RV pads this is a fantastic campground We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
I almost agree 100% with the prior post. We stayed in the expensive premium spots too, right by the dog waste area. Good but not great. The rocked pads and walk ways kill this place. Nice pool and nice commons area. Great restaurant and bar at the fishing pier, but the rocks have to go. If you don't live in the valley, it's a long way to drive to walk around on a lot of rocks. I might try the park at the end of the island next time (closer to the beach), I think it is a municipal park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$47
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Sites are a bit tight but not uncomfortable. Very clean park facilities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$58
We loved this place and it was accessible to everything. The staff was friendly and helpful with everything and you could never ask for a better campground. This was an exceptional KOA and we will certainly stay again. It is a little costly for a campground, but expected to be near the ocean. This is an A++ for a campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$42
Park is clean, staff is great, facilities are terrific. I have nothing but very good things to say about this campground. We stayed here five nights and enjoyed it the entire time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$50
We stayed here for 6 nights during Spring Break. We took advantage of the premium spaces facing the bay. What a view! Site was gravel, but level. Facilities were excellent. Kids stayed busy all the time we were here. We took advantage of the fishing charters at the pier on the property, and other water sports available at the marina next door. Some bad weather made us appreciate the fact that the office & common areas were converted from old liquid storage tanks that would withstand almost anything. Only bad experience was dinner at the pier restaurant. It was a great place for lunch or snack or cocktails, just not prepared for a large dinner rush. Overall it was a great visit. We will return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$46
The earlier reviews are accurate. We stayed on a pull-thru site. They are very narrow and water, sewer and electric for the adjoining site are very close outside your door. I would recommend the back-in sites if you want some elbow room. Excellent views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$46
There are excellent, clean restrooms, and a great staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$57
We stayed in a pull-thru "Regal Row" site at this RV park. The view of the Laguna Madre Bay was beautiful from the front window of our RV. The sites were all rock and grass is limited throughout the park though we did have a small grassy area in front of our RV. The staff was extremely helpful in every way! The park is dog-friendly and has a sandy dog walk area along the bay. There is a restaurant on site. The food was as good as that served at most of the island's other restaurants. The bathrooms, showers and pool were clean. There is a playground for children and a lovely deck for viewing the sunset. The on-site gym workout room and lounge area were attractive. Our visit was during the off-season so we had lots of room around our site; however, the sites would probably have felt close together if we had had other campers on both sides of our RV. I would recommend this RV Park to anyone visiting South Padre Island. There are activities for both adults and children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
The location is good, the swimming pool is nice, restrooms/shower areas are clean, and the staff is friendly; on the downside, quiet time or "picking up after your pet" rules were not enforced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
This is a well kept and attractive, sun drenched RV park on the southern tip of South Padre Island.There are few trees anywhere on the island except palms so make sure your A/C and awning are working and ready to go. South Padre is HOT in the summer! The location is great, right on the bay with a view of the causeway with a fishing pier, which guests can use for free. The kids and I had a great time catching many small fish off this pier at night. The cafe on the pier was quite good as well. It was great to be able to stroll over to the cafe from your campsite in the evening. Weekend days got somewhat crowded as the spots are rather tightly spaced. All the spots are paved or gravelled with large (ping pong ball size) white rocks. This tended to amplify the heat and made walking without shoes unpleasant. Bring your awning mat! Bathrooms were outstanding and clean. The staff was attentive and obviously took good care of the park. The converted water tank buildings were very cool! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$48
We would stay here again, but it is over priced. Cramped sites typical of a KOA. Friendly, quick check-in. WIFI and cable tv. Pool was very crowded and the second day, they couldn't open the pool until 3:00 due to chemical problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
This is a very nice park with clean facilities. Staff was helpful. This park is right on the water, so there is a gorgeous view. This was our 2nd time to stay in the park, and I give it high ratings. No issues to speak of other than the lack of shade, but that is to expected since they are right on the beach. We loved it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$48
This is now a KOA. They are trying to update many of the facilities. The grounds are being cleaned. We were told they could accommodate a 45' rig without difficulty. The site was great with clear view of the bay. However it could not fit our rig and toad. Since they were not full no problem. If full we would have had to park our toad far away from site. Site also sloped significantly in the front. Could get satellite reception. The wind was high so chose not to use Datastorm. If necessary then would worry about general windy conditions being almost constant here on the island. Overall would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
Sites are close together here and the park has an air of the "old style". Roads are paved but all else is 1 1/2" rock that you get to camp on. Location is OK but this park is not our cup of tea. If it were full, it would be a mess! Office staff were very friendly. Hot tub/spa is above ground portable type. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$57
We have stayed here for 2 - 3 months for the last 7 years. It is now a KOA and as Winter Texans it is quite clear we are not wanted. WiFi is poor and the Hot Tub is smaller than most home units. Most of the work campers are very friendly, however this is not the case for all. We are made to feel we are a nuisance rather than a guest. I was told by an Activity Director that I was stupid and too old in my ways to accept change. The Park is nice, very clean, but it is KOA owned and customers are not given the friendly welcome that most privately owned KOA's are known for. If looking for a short stay, this would be fine but expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$65
Expensive but really nice. Staff was super friendly, sites are gravel but very well kept. Picked up our trash at our door each morning. Great location. We drove around the corner to state park and parked almost right on the beach. A lot of winter Texans here. We are younger and only stayed 3 nights but they made us feel right at home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$55
On 12/22/06 this lovely park turned into a KOA. Immediately there was a significant downturn in services to KOA level. This has been a very nice, spotless, friendly park. This area is very, very windy - usually at least 10-15mph, if not more commonly 20-30mph+. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$34
Varied rates (seasonal, standard site, premier, etc) @ $35 - 45 nightly. Free Wi-Fi was slow while we were there (< 20 Mbps) also intermittent (restarting the computer often helped increase connectivity). Nice views at this park - especially on the northwest side facing the laguna and looking toward the causeway bridge and the south side facing Dolphin Cove. We were in site #2 which was fairly nice with one exception - the site is a pull-through but not for a 5th wheel, pulling through with 5th wheel virtually eliminates the view (hook-ups are on the wrong side. Motorhomes are fine, the view is out the front windshield. We fixed the problem by backing into the site and running the utilities under the trailer and out the other side. They don’t normally allow it, but we’ll "let it go this time". Site #1A and #1 are peculiarly shaped. With all three sites occupied( #1A, 1 & 2) - things are entirely too close for comfort (thank God for good neighbors). Nice park, paved roads, easy to maneuver - fairly level gravel sites. Picnic table at each site but no concrete slab. Easy access from Hwy 100. Nice landscaping, but no shade trees. Telephone available in the rec room (the Commons) - can also be used as modem. Propane available from roving truck. Nice choice of free cable channels, reception/picture is often fuzzy. No highway traffic noise, however - there is quite a bit of diesel boat noise from surrounding boat traffic and the on-property deep-sea fishing business. Their first excursion leaves promptly at 7:30 a.m. and depending on the cloud-cover and humidity - the loud, grating rumble can be very tiring to listen to day after day, several times a day. No on-site store or provisions, but lots of nearby shopping (Walmart and H.E.B.) Brownsville (20 miles away) has just about everything - Home Depot, Target, Walmart, drugstores, nice shopping malls and lots more. The park has many planned activities - crafts, music, dancing and of course, eating. This is definitely a destination resort with lots to see & do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$49
Although the weather was stormy when we were here, it is a wonderful campground. We had a waterfront site. The employees were super helpful and the restrooms and laundry were clean. The laundry even had a television and a soap dispenser, which was very handy. There is a great commons room with sofas and a television and a weight room as well as a huge swimming pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
This is the best place to stay on the island. The park is excellent and the staff is wonderful. Most campers are here with their kids, so the bike and scooter traffic is heavy. The green belt along the main driveway is a great fireworks viewing spot. Purchase the season pass to Isla Blanca park because it is the best place to enjoy the surf. My husband fished the bay right out side of our RV and the reds are plentiful. Reserve your spot for your next visit before you leave because getting in this place can be difficult. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2006
$39
We have camped all over this country for many years and this is the smallest asssigned spot we have ever camped in and the most expensive. There isn't room for our 26' travel trailer and our truck which has to park in the road. Also they LOCK the bathrooms between 10:45 pm and 7 am and do not provide any other facilitites for the campers in spite of having coded locks on the door during the daytime which could provide security during the night yet they chose to put a padlock on the door during the night. What do they expect folks to do during the night hours? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$39
First time to south padre island REALLY enjoyed it park is beautiful although a little tight but we were on the beach most of the time so it didn't matter. the staff is very very help full and friendly. the "heated" pool could have been a little warmer!! the office and commons in the water tanks is a cool touch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$45
We stayed here for the better part of a week just prior to the 4th of July weekend. This is a big, somewhat congested park, although we were on the south side of the park in a site that directly overlooked the water, and it was very nice. The only real downside to this park was the general lack of vegetation. The whole park is covered with white rock, and there's only grass in places like the dog walk. Not only does the gravel hurt to walk on, but it also reflects a lot of heat. Other parts of this park were great. The staff was not the best we've ever seen, but they were fine. The pool was wonderful, very clean and very well maintained, and the hot tub was in place and clean. The restaurant is convenient, but not nearly as good as many others on S Padre. All in all, while expensive and far from ideal, this is probably the best bet in S. Padre. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$40
Excellent upscale RV Resort in beautiful location. Great restaurant on site. Close to everything. Will return here in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2004
$37
The park had nice views, good restaurant and an excellent fishing business. South Padre Island was a great place to visit. The weather was warm and the breeze was there nearly every day. We enjoyed our time there although we thought that the management of the park needed to be changed. Things that they advertised, for instance, the hot tub was not even in when we got there. They were not maintaining the pool well. There were often times when the pool was closed and either it was cold or looked full of algae. If you had complaints, the management did nothing about it. It went in one ear and out the other. We felt that the managers did not care about their customers, and we have been going there often. We heard the office manager say, you can leave if you do not like it here. However, their policy was that there were no refunds what so ever. They charge too much for what they have to offer where they park the RV's. You park on stones that are hard to walk on. Their wireless Internet did not work well at times. They only have a few parking sites with water views and we believe they charge more for those sites. We will go back to South Padre Island, but as far as giving this park another chance we will have to wait and see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2004
$40
I stayed here over Memorial Day weedend. I paid for three days in advance. A medical problem came up with one of my children, I called Destinations to cancel. The person I talked to told me that they would not refund any of my money, because it was a holiday week end. I called a week in advance to let them know I was not going to make it. They told me that the manager would call me back, but the manager never did. I was able to make it after all. When I arrived they said I didn't have a reservation, because I had canceled. I told them that the manager never called, so I made up my mind to show up anyway. My reserved site was given to someone else and I was given a smaller site for the same price. They didn't even say they were sorry or anything. The sites are very close together and their is no room for your car. You have to park it on the street. There is no grass anywhere near the sites, they also lock up all the amenities afer dark. So if you need to go to the bathroom or shower, you'll need to go else where. I think it is over priced for such small sites. I will never go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2004
$36
This was our 2nd visit to the park over spring break. Its close to the beach and to some great bay or deep sea fishing. The pool is also heated which is nice for those days it just a little to cool to head to the beach. There is a nice rec room also for those days when its rainy. Its a little hectic over spring break but still a great place to stay on the island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$32
My wife and I had gone to Destination South Padre in 2002 and found that many things they tout on their website to be outright fantasy. The fireworks they talk about belong to a bar halfway down the island and happen only on Friday. Their website makes it appear that the fireworks are theirs and that they happen every night. The pool and hot tub open late and close early. At opening, they spend an hour cleaning at which time you can't go in and at around 21:30 they start trying to run everyone out of the pool area even though closing time isn't until 23:00. The activities spoken of on their website have never been witnessed by me and I have doubt they even take place. This year, 2004, we thought we'd give them another try so we made our reservations. They charged my Master Charge $50.00 to reserve the spot. Last Monday, two weeks before we were to arrive, my daughter broke her leg at a softball game so I contacted Destination South Padre to get my $50.00 back. I spoke to Jolly, who informed me she was just a part time employee and couldn't help me. I asked to speak with the manager and she told me the manager wasn't in and that she would have the manager return my call. I have never been contacted by the manager. I again called, this time I spoke with Mary, the Asst. Manager. She informed me that I had six months to use my time but that it was their policy not to refund the $50.00 no matter what. After going back and forth with Mary, she hung up on me. I asked four different times to speak to the manager and was refused all four times. She further stated that the manager wouldn't return my call or address my complaint. My advise, if you want to go to South Padre, stay at the Isla Blanca Park. They don't charge $50.00 to make a reservation and you can still see the fireworks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$45
Very nice campground, we will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Very nice park. We stayed for about a week and had a good experience with the employees and the general atmosphere in the park. The sites are not exactly waterfront but more water view. The park is on gravel with no concrete pads. Each has a picnic table. The only negative I can say is the price seemed a little high as compared to other sites in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Campground is surrounded on 3 sides by baywater. Beautiful views and sunsets. Very tropical and well-kept grounds. Staff and managment very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms and showers were spotless. Lots of flowers and palm trees. Fishing was great. Playground for children. Pet friendly. Nice big pull-thru sites along with many spacious back-in sites. This park knows how to treat their guests. They make them feel very special. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com