219085 User submitted reviews online!!
Isla Blanca Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (956) 761-5494
CGID2911

Isla Blanca Park

Camp Information
Sites
534
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   5   5   7   7   7   5   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Easy access to beach. Friendly staff and level spots with FHU. We plan on coming back in warmer weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Well organized for a very large county park. Only downer for the dog was the sand burrs in the grassy areas. BTW, dogs are allowed on the beach! This is a good park to be near all the action of South Padre Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
The area gets a 10 but the park needs some TLC. Check-in and site selection for a first time visitor is strange. The employees can't tell you anything about site sizes and some are really narrow, some really short and some are huge. We tried to stay for a longer period but they said our site was reserved. There were numerous empty sites but they didn't offer to let us move either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
If it weren't for the beautiful beach behind this park, it would not be worth a stop. The government employees who run this place obviously know very little about the needs of campers. The sites vary greatly in size and yet they do not ask you how big your rig is when you check in because the computer does not tell them how big each site is. The first two sites we were offered weren't wide enough to put our slides out. We paid an extra $10 a night for a "premium" site, only to discover that the dump station was just 10 feet behind us and there was nothing to block the smell or the noise. The burrs in the grass were a major distraction. We enjoyed the beach. We didn't enjoy the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
This County Park is in a fabulous location on the Gulf on the southern end of South Padre Island. The infrastructure shows age and wear (old hookup facilities) and many unpaved and non level sites. We did not inspect restrooms, etc. Whatever we saw as negative aspects were offset by the available views and activities such as birding, jetty fishing, beach enjoyment, hiking, etc. We would choose to return here as we are able to in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Rate based on weekly charge for premium site next to ship channel. Electricity extra; they don't tell you that when reserving. County-owned park and it shows. Many power post covers are broken. Looks tacky, but all utilities worked. Wi-Fi good, but $20 per week. Large sites with adjacent grass. Many burrs in grass, so grass terrible for dogs. Expansive beach for walking, however. Had standing water after hard rain, but maintenance staff quickly trenched a drain. Location next to beautiful beach is a 10, but burrs, uncut grass and deferred maintenance gets a 7. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Be aware that everything that can rust will rust. The wind is unbearable at times. There are lots of trails for biking and the rec center has nice activities. The winter Texans are great for the most part. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
It’s all about location, location, location when it comes to this campground. It’s a short walk to the beach from most sites and as a result, it’s very popular with snowbirds. Many of the sites are huge with concrete pads. But there are also a couple of rows of sites so tight that you can’t put out two slides. Unfortunately, the office computer doesn’t provide any information on how big a site is and as a result they don’t ask how big your rig is. That results in a crap shoot. The sign-in process is incredibly complicated and to make matters worse, the Visa machine was broken and as a result we had to come up with $200 in cash before we were allowed to enter. We pleaded with the clerk to accept a $50 deposit and we would come back with the balance on Monday when the banks opened, but the answer was a curt: NO. It took us two hours to finally get settled. We wanted to stay for a week ($185 plus $15 deposit for electricity) but the first site we were sent to was so tight we couldn’t get our slides out. It’s over a quarter of a mile back to the office, which had no air conditioning or ventilation. After lining up for 20 minutes a second time, we were offered another site, which was occupied. Back to the office and another line up and the third site was even smaller than the first. Back to the office and another line up and the fourth site was also occupied. We finally asked for a site for only two nights ($35 a night) but the clerk refused to refund us the difference between the $200 we had paid him and the $70 we owed him. He said the city would mail us a refund cheque to our home address, despite the fact that he had been unable to provide us with a site for the week. It went downhill from there. Only a government bureaucrat could make life so complicated for campground guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
We stayed here 3 month and really enjoyed it. The park staff is very nice and helpful. All sites are within a 5 minute walk to the beach. We don't recommend the sites near the treatment plant because when the wind blows towards you it can be pretty bad but this is not a problem when a few sites away. The sites in the middle of the park are larger than the ones around them and most have pads. Their are lots of good channels on cable but the Wi-Fi is a little slow at times. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
We loved this park. We paid the extra to have a space next to the beach. It was a quiet time of the year to visit. The location was very convenient to restaurants and bars. The park is very large with many areas to ride our bicycles. You can walk your dogs on the beach, which was very family friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Park has a nice layout with plenty of space between sites; however, the electricity was not working at two sites we were assigned and the sewer line backed up when flushing. The park could be very nice; however, deferred maintenance has made it unattractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We got the last available site! Most are rented for 6 months. People have added their own decks, patios, trees. It's more of a seasonal park than one for visitors. Not very quiet on a weekend night. Someone was using a skill saw at 9:45 and our neighbor had his music playing until 12:45. Our site didn't have any grass: just sandy dirt. Made it hard to keep the rig clean. It was a very long walk to the beach: 18 minutes. Seemed longer in the heat. We could walk to the main gate in 8 minutes and get the free bus all over the island and to Port Isabel. That was great! Wi-Fi was available but pricey: about $20/week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
DON'T use their website for rates! They've raised all their rates and won't tell you this over the phone. Nightly charge is $35 plus electric! Sandburrs are HORRIBLE! If you have a long- haired dog, be prepared to pick the burrs out hourly. The good news is: currently there are NO jellyfish in the ocean. Maybe the weird weather has affected their migration or breeding cycle. Used to be Isla Blanca was a great value to stay on the Island. No more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
Spent 3 days there to check out new Travel Trailer. Have stayed at this park many times. Have made management and facility changes that were great. Restrooms clean and functional. Great location, site was so level no blocks were needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
This is a nice little park, located close to the beach. Great for biking around. We love it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
You do have to watch for the office which is on the right before you get to the gate. They put us in a place that had not been mowed in weeks and was full of stickers, but they came and mowed the next day and it was OK. The sites are roomy and very level. There was a motorcycle rally going on the last weekend we were here, but they were all quiet after 9:30 at night. My husband got sick and we had to call 911 who was there in less than 10 minutes. The paramedics were great, but I cannot say the same thing for the hospital in Brownsville. We will be going back to the Park again. The beach was cleaned every morning, and although you can't see the surf from your trailer, you can sure hear it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Overall a great experience, except for being evacuated for Hurricane-Tropical Storm Alex!! It is what it is: a county park turned RV park. Has great access to the Island, beach, jetties, and activities. No shade, some sites are EXTREMELY narrow/odd-shaped. Office staff very helpful over the phone finding me a site, and in person giving me a refund for evacuation. I liked the fact that it was close to everything we did. Will definitely stay here again when we visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$29
This is a large park. We called and were quoted $202 plus a $15 electric deposit. As it turns out, this is the premium rate for "Gulf view" sites. We had a Gulf view through one window that wasn't obstructed by the RV next to or behind us. The site was as narrow as we have ever been in. We could not put our awning out because we were too close to the next unit; and we were as far to the other side of the pad as possible. The area is beautiful with many activities. It's just a short walk to the beach. The wind blew strong the week we visited; however, when it let up, the bugs were nasty. They do have many sites more spacious; however, we just didn't know to ask, and they were quite full, so maybe our site was the only one available? Nice experience, but will only return if we can get a better site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$23
The park location is convenient to SPI activities and the camping fees include access to a nice fishing jetty and beach. However the park is not being well maintained and is showing its age. Many utility posts have broken or damaged boxes that have not been replaced or repaired. Previous campers have left unwanted items like rugs and trash which have not been removed. Site size varies greatly. Some are very narrow. One camper near us had their slide several inches under their neighbors awning. Our pull through had two narrow strips of pavement for parking, unfortunately our duels were wider than the strips. No way to fit without part of a tire hanging off. Be aware that check-in is about a block or two before entrance to park. Watch signs carefully. The people at check-in were not rude but were also not helpful. They neglected to give us several very important pieces of info, like the gate code for re-entering the park after dark (!) and the fact that there was an alternative entrance if the 13-foot height clearance was too short for your RV! Height clearance was not posted, we had to ask the gate attendant. Camping locations on the island are very limited. If we returned to area we would look for something on the mainland and do day trips to SPI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
We like this park and return often. It is full for January & February but sometimes a cancellation comes in. Folks from all over the US and Canada mostly in the winter months. Sites have grass and a table. Not pristine but the rates reflect that. Easy walk to the beach and jetty. A one mile bike/hike paved path surrounds the gated grounds. RV repair and wash/wax available from vendors. Electric is charged for one week plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$13
The beach is GREAT! The park is no frills. The grounds were okay, but it seams the "long term" campers plant what they want and customize the sites to their liking. Some sites had tiled patios and other just had minimal concrete to park your rig. Our biggest complaint was the burs in the grass. The kids and the dog were constantly stepping on them and getting them stuck in their feet. It makes you wear your saddles constantly. Make sure you look for the bigger sites when reserving, because some of the sites are very tight, but others are very well spaced. I would stay there again only because of the beach, but my wife is not so convinced because of the all the burs in the grass. The KOA next door looked very nice, but it is on the bay side. We may try it out next time, because you can always drive to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
We really enjoyed staying at Isla Blanca Campground. Our site was next to the statue of Christ by the helipad. It is very, very windy staying right on the beach so beware of that. We never put out our awning but at the same time: it was not too hot because of the wind. We loved being so close to the beach, the restaurants and playing in the ocean. We recommend this park to anyone, no matter their length of stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$13
Rate is based on the monthly rate. We missed the registration office, located right after the KOA park entrance. We were on Turner St., site #C-149, ample space with a concrete patio. This is a one-way street, head-in site, designed to be driven into from the opposite direction, which is closed off. So, getting into the site was awkward for a 40' motorhome. Landscaping needs improvement. The beach area was very crowded during Easter week. The beach and pavilions were cleaned daily. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$17
Perfect location. Overall just average campground. Sites are just OK. Park maintenance is done at minimum. New Internet service is mediocre, at best. Overloads at peak periods. All this being said, we have already reserved our site for next winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
We came in on a Sunday night after the office closed but the gate attendant gave us a map and our choice of 30 sites. None of the sites had an ocean view. There is an extensive cleanup operation going on at the beach but it will take a few more weeks for all the hurricane debris to be picked up. The campground mosquitoes were real bad but biking in town and on the beach was mosquito free. Our Verizon connection worked great and our site had cable. Only 20% of the sites were full but this will change as winter approaches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
We opted for a spot on the end of the road with only 30 amp electricity, but a much better view than the pull throughs in the middle with 50 amp service. After heading in, rather than backing in, we were able to maximize our view of the shipping channel. Lovely! We were snuggled in between 2 of the many 6 month residences, a pie shape site, with big back yard. Only 1 of those was being used and it was a family who lived a few miles away (weekend place). So it seems that if you get a site and like it, you can improve it. Some of these sites are very, very nice, and some are over grown with stickers and weeds. It did feel to us that the employees were "typical civil servants" i.e. they get paid if they do a good job or not and they can't be fired. This is a great place, like camping in a State or Federal Park: without the Hosts. Isla Blanca Park could be a resort, with the right management. We were dismayed to find no recycling in the park. We were told there used to be, but "they" took them away. We inquired about a spot on the island we could go. Not here! One must take one's recycle over the bridge, and a few blocks more to behind the fire station. We did. So I have to give this lovely location a 7. Two points down for lack of maintenance, & one big point down for failing the recycle awareness responsibility test. Our Internet In Motion worked great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$12
Rate reflects monthly rate. Stayed for 3 months, Oct-Dec, will return next fall. Great location, we stayed in section "A" outside the gate next to Dirty Al's. Island has great beach and many fine places to eat. Surf and bay fishing was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
We really loved this park. We went with the expectation that the sites would be close together and there would be little shade: but it's beach camping in a resort area. The park was very clean. The buildings are old, but the bathrooms were kept very clean and well stocked. I wish they had shower curtains for privacy. We camped with our daughter who is under 2 years old and could take her stroller all over the place. My one complaint was the park staff. We called ahead of time to confirm our reservation and were told to call back the next day. They closed earlier than they said: and no one was at the gate. Although it caused us some stress and some added expense on our cell phones: it did not delay us getting a site or getting into the park. I was very impressed with the fishing line recycling stations!!! It's beneficial to sea life, birds, and people. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
Huge place. Almost all seasonals. Most of those folks were hospitable to us transients, but it was clear we were being treated as outsiders! Or even "yankees". No shade at all. Some grass. Sites very level but VERY close together. Beautiful location at the tip of the island, otherwise. One negative encounter with one of the regulars who treated me very rudely one evening when I tried to use the internet connection when I was apparently not supposed to! Like she owned the place and made all the rules, etc. Easy for her to have handled the situation MUCH more politely but that wasn't her style, I guess, to treat a transient that way. She must have thought it was her private campground! Obviously left a bad taste in my mouth, since I still recall it! Otherwise, ok for the 10 days we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$15
This was our first visit to South Padre Island and we'd heard good things about the county park, Isla Blanca. We were not disappointed! It's a wonderful park and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We were a stone's throw from the gulf and a wonderful walking beach. Propane trucks came by daily. Good security. Quiet and safe. Great Verizon cell phone reception so we were able to get on the internet using our cell easily.We opted to not sign up for phone service. Our satellite TV also worked great. We stayed for a month and had to pay our electric bill which turned out to be $20 extra. We were going to stay at Destinations RV Park which is right beside Isla Blanca but it was quite a bit more expensive. When we go back to South Padre, which is a wonderful place, we will definitely stay at Isla Blanca again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com